Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Al Porter - Lunchtimes on Today FM Mod warning post #1 / #558

• 25-01-2017 11:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

So he starts on February 13 and outside that we don't know much more details.

Mod:
    Yes there has been made some accusations against a presenter and no you can't discuss them because everything you post about the subject can, and will, be held against boards (and yourself if they decide to sue you) as libel until proven in court basically. Sucks for us but such are the laws of Ireland and unlike major news papers boards do not have an standing army of attorneys to deal with such legal cases. Hence a whole lot of deleted posts and bringing up the subject until further notice will lead to cards and bans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Mother.
    Of.
    Jesus.

Watch the listernship run for the hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,697 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I hadn't heard who it was as I wasn't able to check till now. Al porter ? Well that's someone I didn't expect. Huh. Well there ye go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Horse84

Who the feck is Al Porter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

I'll be avoiding that like the plague. Radio is gone to complete pot in this country.
    Newstalk and Today FM in particular are just woeful and getting woeful-er

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 wherearemykeys

Today FM Management are clearly not listening to their listeners. Dermot and Dave are hard work between 9-12 and now we have Al

Ryan Tubs is really growing on me. Pity his show isnt longer. An hour is too short. I'm stuck after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭blue4ever

vkid wrote: »
    I'll be avoiding that like the plague. Radio is gone to complete pot in this country.
    Newstalk and Today FM in particular are just woeful and getting woeful-er

I blame their parents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

porter and darcy after each other. like a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Not sure how I can shudder via the means of boards, but *shudder*.

He used be on with Colm Hayes on 2fm a few years ago, he made me actively switch off the radio. I'd go with silence over Al Porter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,697 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Today FM and Newstalk aren't connecting with me presenter wise these days. Communicorp are heading in a direction that doesn't appeal. It's just Sean Moncrieff and Pat Kenny that I find listenable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

His double act with Colm Hayes was one of the worst of 2FM's atrocities - and there's been no shortage of cock ups in 2FM in recent years so that says it all... Absolute garbage radio. I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I've been listening to Today FM all day every weekday and often on weekends for 17 years now. With all the changes it looks like that is about to change.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭The Parish Priest.

I think Al Porter is a fake and an attention seeking hore but I can kinda see the logic in giving him the job, when he joined Colm Hayes as a sidekick on 2fm drive, JNLR numbers grow rapidly from 101k to 117k also he is from dublin, on tv a lot and likely popular with the snapchat Generation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,731 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I would have preferred Hector if it was a choice between the two of them and a loaded gun held to my head.

Who is the current PD at Today FM? What happened to radio people getting radio gigs?

• Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭Mr Whom

Oh wow! He's awful. Only useful think he ever did was end Colm Hayes' career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Mr Whom wrote: »
    Oh wow! He's awful. Only useful think he ever did was end Colm Hayes' career

I suppose we should be thankful for something then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

there literally isnt one person that said i'm looking forward to him on the radio yet someone in Today FM actually sanctioned this?? its like the eurovision episode in Fr Ted. Anyone would think they want the station to go down the pan......hah aaaahhhhaaaaa what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭The_Wanderer

My god. I cannot stand Al Porter. Funny as a rock. I apologise to the rock. The very few timesI heard him on 2fm it did my head in.

I'll be sticking with 2fm for my lunchtime hour. Was looking with interest as to who would get the gig as I might have switched. I can just about listen to Tracey Clifford. I just can't warm to her presenting style.

I wonder what ever happened to Al's often made statements of his new show on 2fm which never materialised?

Come back Tony Fenton.....you're sadly missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭thesaurus2

Who is the current PD at Today FM? What happened to radio people getting radio gigs?

Get this, Colm O'Sullivan is the PD, and he has 2 (yes, 2) assistant PD's - Joe Donnolly of TXFM is one of them. How it takes 3 people to do that job is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

That's going to be some show.... Not.

They will let anything on the airwaves these days.

Bit like that yoke that would dress up as something out of this world and do the bingo.
    Same one still at it but now mostly in a suit.

That lad al thinks here hilarious but my god is he rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I think Al Porter is a fake and an attention seeking hore but I can kinda see the logic in giving him the job, when he joined Colm Hayes as a sidekick on 2fm drive, JNLR numbers grow rapidly from 101k to 117k also he is from dublin, on tv a lot and likely popular with the snapchat Generation

Now riddle me this... where are the snapchat generation between 12 and 2.30 on weekdays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    there literally isnt one person that said i'm looking forward to him on the radio yet someone in Today FM actually sanctioned this?? its like the eurovision episode in Fr Ted. Anyone would think they want the station to go down the pan......hah aaaahhhhaaaaa what

A bit unfair. Quite a few people posting on their Facebook page saying they're looking forward to it. Never take negative internet comments as any sort of an indication of anything. The people who hate the decision will post comments, those that like it a lot might post a comment, those that see and think "Hmm, that could be good." won't comment, so you'll get a skewed view of anything if you just look at internet fallout.
    thesaurus2 wrote: »
    Get this, Colm O'Sullivan is the PD, and he has 2 (yes, 2) assistant PD's - Joe Donnolly of TXFM is one of them. How it takes 3 people to do that job is beyond me.

And they're hiring a Senior PD to be Colm's boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Two and half hours of Al Porter a day? Good Jaysus.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    A bit unfair. Quite a few people posting on their Facebook page saying they're looking forward to it. Never take negative internet comments as any sort of an indication of anything. The people who hate the decision will post comments, those that like it a lot might post a comment, those that see and think "Hmm, that could be good." won't comment, so you'll get a skewed view of anything if you just look at internet fallout.

And they're hiring a Senior PD to be Colm's boss.

Ah no wonder radio in this country is the way it is..So 4 pd's in total?
    Thats nearly a pd per daytime presenter....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

No women need apply, as usual......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Good god, he'll probably have panti bliss on every day

Ah no wonder radio in this country is the way it is..So 4 pd's in total?
    Thats nearly a pd per daytime presenter....

Well the job spec reads as if it's a PD who'll have control over both Today FM and NT. So it's possible they're being hired and then the PD of each station will be gone so you'd have a Senior PD over both stations with APDs in each station.

Or it could be three layers of management, who knows these days. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭robo

I see on Twitter that Pam is gonna produce the show

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭Bargain Blake

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Well the job spec reads as if it's a PD who'll have control over both Today FM and NT. So it's possible they're being hired and then the PD of each station will be gone so you'd have a Senior PD over both stations with APDs in each station.

Or it could be three layers of management, who knows these days. :P

I assume this is in addition to Andy Ashton, the group PD?

Dunno. Could be. Or could be in place of. Advert specifically says it's for the Nationals, so one would assume the Group PD is across all the stations...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Another prime example of how out of touch the media/tv/radio are with the public in Ireland these days.

Al Porter is as funny as a dose of the ****s.

I guess aged 23 Al porter will be the youngest ever presenter on Today Fm, definitely on the daytime schedule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'll give him a chance at least, to see what kind of show he does.

Will it be the Al we see on the Cutting Edge round table discussion show, where he's articulate, smart, empathetic and old beyond his years?

Or will it just be a pile of c0ck innuendos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

NIMAN wrote: »
    I'll give him a chance at least, to see what kind of show he does.

Will it be the Al we see on the Cutting Edge round table discussion show, where he's articulate, smart, empathetic and old beyond his years?

Or will it just be a pile of c0ck innuendos?

Yeah, most of the time Ive seen him its been just short bursts where he is squeezing in as many gags as possible, but I think he is no idiot and might surprise a few people.

He is only 24 too - didn't know that til today

NIMAN wrote: »

I can't believe people were gullible enough to fall for that act

Tombo2001 wrote:

**** sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jesus, I think I've been confusing Al Porter with somebody else. I thought he was a bald guy in his 40s.

Bloody hell, it's amazing how far out of the loop I've fallen since I stopped watching Irish television and listening to national radio on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Duggie2012 wrote: »

A mixture of positives and negatives on the Today FM Facebook page. So, some ARE looking forward to him. Most not so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭sligono1

ive just changed my presets on all my radios from today fm to blank noise,i know it will be more entertaining. Seriously this is a complete joke this lad.when will today fm learn. Thought Denis o Brien was smarter than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

My arse he is

He actually is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

It's another very sad day for Irish radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Tombo2001 wrote: »

I count 11 (including 2 for Dermot and Dave) men versus 6 women. It's hardly time to chain oneself to the doors of Today FM to demand a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭KReid

I can't believe people were gullible enough to fall for that act

I don't think it's easy for someone who's not intelligent to pretend they are...

My view would be that the AL Porter on cutting edge is more the real one, and the comedian is a persona.

Wonder how much hes getting paid, schedule means that he won't be able to do much stand up stuff, and he was getting gigs in the UK recently.

Porters a smart lad, but as you say his approach will dictate how well he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

What training/ qualifications would one need to do his job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

What training/ qualifications would one need to do his job?

Usually college degree and more if they feel the need. Some worked up from very young age also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

ligerdub wrote: »
    I count 11 (including 2 for Dermot and Dave) men versus 6 women. It's hardly time to chain oneself to the doors of Today FM to demand a change.

To be fair, most people listen to the radio between 7 and 7 (i.e. the workday). Based on this, not 1 woman will be presenting then which is a little odd if you think about it.

dulpit wrote: »
    To be fair, most people listen to the radio between 7 and 7 (i.e. the workday). Based on this, not 1 woman will be presenting then which is a little odd if you think about it.

Apart from Louise Duffy on daytime from 2014/2016, Today fm never had a woman on the 7am/7pm schedule since 1998, so I don't know why anyone was expecting a woman to get lunchtime

dulpit wrote: »

Check out the TV during those hours and see who hosts the most prominent shows on there.

Also, and my apologies for speaking in stereotypes, but intuitively I think men have a higher propensity to have an interest in radio compared to women.