Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aer Lingus Pilot Lisa Cusack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Yeah fair play to her, she had the dream and got there. Very inspirational and good to show what it takes to make it so others go in with their eyes open.

Was surprised to read that she turned around when the engine cut out at 800ft. When I was training in Weston they said never ever turn around as you'll lose your energy. Depends on what was in front of her at the time I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

That's a really inspirational and honest story. Young girls (and boys also!) looking at their career options and what it takes to achieve them could learn a lot from her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Wow, very inspirational and good on her. Certainly makes me think I gave up to early when the going got tough financially. Flight training is something I've being considering making a return to and that may just plush me there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

It's a great story and a good "stop playing the victim and do something" angle for a certain specific category of youth.

Without taking anything from the young pilot's achievements, the article might sound a bit unfair and "rubbing salt in the wounds" towards the many others who put in similar efforts and failed; Not everyone is just "lazy"... plenty of people didn't encounter "many acts of kindness", just plenty of blockades and being told off and to just "let it go and get a job in an office!"; Not to mention all the others with similar stories of sacrifice and success which don't get recognized by a national newspaper :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I loved the story, it's written by her and with honesty and the passion she has comes across in every word. I always dreamed of being a pilot for as long as I can remember. When I was younger, I took lessons at Waterford and Kilkenny - had a few part-time jobs to pay for it. Applied for all the the airlines, did the aptitude tests etc. Alas it wasn't to be.

When I had a modest sum from an SSIA a few years back, I was ready to pull the pin and train at Waterford by remortgaging the house to make up the balance - having family down there, so accommodation would have not been a problem. Alas mortgage, family and nervousness of shelling out a six figure sum got in the way. I'd heard a few good stores - a neighbour trained in the same place and now flies commercially - and a few horror stores, another neighbour remortgaged their house to fund their son's training, who completed his flight training and couldn't get a job. They were lumbered with a huge debt.

It can sometimes be a case of determination, luck and the planets aligning. In the case of this young lady, kudos for her in sweating it out an pursuing her dream. Is still have those days where I gaze upwards and wonder what might have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭martinsvi

John_Mc wrote: »
    Yeah fair play to her, she had the dream and got there. Very inspirational and good to show what it takes to make it so others go in with their eyes open.

Was surprised to read that she turned around when the engine cut out at 800ft. When I was training in Weston they said never ever turn around as you'll lose your energy. Depends on what was in front of her at the time I suppose!

you don't turn around if engine has failed just after take off.. 800 ft however is enough to do a nice teardrop with a silent engine and some airfields will have you start the cross wind leg at 500ft, so at 800ft you are in even better position to return..

anyway, irrelevant.. What I really liked about this story is that she kept going despite her failures and didn't give up. When you read testimonials for flight schools of a brilliant young cadets, they paint a pretty picture of how someone just walked into their school, got a licence just like that and was flying a shiny jet a day later.. it's a nice reality check for everybody I think..

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    It's a great story and a good "stop playing the victim and do something" angle for a certain specific category of youth.

Without taking anything from the young pilot's achievements, the article might sound a bit unfair and "rubbing salt in the wounds" towards the many others who put in similar efforts and failed; Not everyone is just "lazy"... plenty of people didn't encounter "many acts of kindness", just plenty of blockades and being told off and to just "let it go and get a job in an office!"; Not to mention all the others with similar stories of sacrifice and success which don't get recognized by a national newspaper :)

think of it from a sports perspective - you can have 2 people sweating the same amount of hours in the gym, eating the same breakfast cereal, completing the same exercises, yet one is born with freakishly large hands and he goes out and wins the Olympic gold in swimming, whilst the other one fails to qualify for the race.. how is that fair? Well the same way this young lady had something that other candidates didn't. Be it aptitude, perseverance, personality or just a stoke of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

martinsvi wrote: »
    think of it from a sports perspective - you can have 2 people sweating the same amount of hours in the gym, eating the same breakfast cereal, completing the same exercises, yet one is born with freakishly large hands and he goes out and wins the Olympic gold in swimming, whilst the other one fails to qualify for the race.. how is that fair? Well the same way this young lady had something that other candidates didn't. Be it aptitude, perseverance, personality or just a stoke of luck

Exactly, I was just referring to the slight "anybody who doesn't make it is just making excuses" tone that seems to permeate from the story...or rather, the comments.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Exactly, I was just referring to the slight "anybody who doesn't make it is just making excuses" tone that seems to permeate from the story...or rather, the comments.
    Thats true. The reality is that there are many others who may have tried just as hard to achieve their dream job but never made it. Perhaps they just didnt have the 'spark' that got them the coveted spot in that airline cadetship.
    It doesnt mean that they didnt do their best, or that they werent good enough. It just means that they werent in the top 12-18 positions.

This story is a great one and I have heard a couple like it over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭plodder

Inspirational story. This part in particular, which has nothing to do with aviation.
    What subjects could I pick for my Leaving Certificate that might help? Physics, maths and engineering kept popping up. There was just one problem: in my opinion, I was only average at all of these subjects - an excuse widely used by the younger generation today ("I'm rubbish at maths", etc), who often accept it instead of asking for help.

I asked for, and received, extra tuition in both physics and maths. The additional support made me realise that I actually wasn't as bad as I thought; I just needed to put in a little extra work.
    Credit to her school as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

The most important piece of info is missing, is she still baking muffins or what???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

The core aspect is that she had a plan and stuck to it, was very focused and knew that getting a network of contacts helps enormously. What is ironic is that it's in the Indo, which is no friend of Aer Lingus.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Bussywussy

Stovepipe wrote: »
    What is ironic is that it's in the Indo, which is no friend of Aer Lingus.....

Yet they still sell O'Bribes rag onboard

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Bussywussy wrote: »
    What is ironic is that it's in the Indo, which is no friend of Aer Lingus.....

Yet they still sell O'Bribes rag onboard
    God knows why, I've heard the Indo pay airlines to supply their rag to passengers, don't know how true it is

The newpaper is sold for a small sum, in the order of thirty cents a copy,just to get access to the travelling public, which is ironic considering that they have to pass a few newsstands to get to the aircraft. Other organisations would have a similar deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I applied in '97 and got the last 25 or so and didn't make it. Got to the same stage in '98, and got to the final assessment with BA in '98 and again didn't get in. The torture of coming home from college every day throughout the various phases hoping there'd be a letter on the table I'll never forget!

20 years after first applying I went and got my PPL last year and now I'm shopping shopping for a plane (well, a share in one).

Kind of happy how it worked out. Much more preferable to decide where to go rather than be told :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I remember her when she worked for Sky handling working the ramp etc, A really nice down to earth girl real bubbly always smiling even when things were going tough and the pressure be on to turn the aircraft around.
    I remember her telling me about going to the US for the PPL think she went to Kissimee FL as I had flown out of Ormond beach, Myself personally I think its great to see people with such drive even when the numbers are stacked against them not giving up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

What a gal........ Well done Lisa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

If you are willing to work hard, believe in yourself and never give up...you can absolutely be anything you want to be.
    It's a nice sentiment but I just don't think it's true.
    Fair play to her for putting in the hard work and getting to where she did.
    But for every success story they're countless other equally determined and hard working people who don't make it, through no fault of their own.
    Getting an Aer Lingus Cadetship is the pilot training equivalent of winning the lottery.
    The "never give up" attitude really does depend on you actually being successful.
    I doubt we'll see the Indo do a story on broke, heavily indebted pilots, working jobs they hate just to save up enough to renew the MEIR for the 3rd/4th time.
    Never give up, but know when to quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

It's a nice sentiment but I just don't think it's true.
    Fair play to her for putting in the hard work and getting to where she did.
    But for every success story they're countless other equally determined and hard working people who don't make it, through no fault of their own.
    Getting an Aer Lingus Cadetship is the pilot training equivalent of winning the lottery.
    The "never give up" attitude really does depend on you actually being successful.
    I doubt we'll see the Indo do a story on broke, heavily indebted pilots, working jobs they hate just to save up enough to renew the MEIR for the 3rd/4th time.
    Never give up, but know when to quit.

Indeed. Not to take from her achievements but I think in terms of pilot training, a real success story would be about someone who self funded and trained independently, perhaps instructed to build hours/make money, started off at regionals/LCCs and worked their way up to the flag carriers. As you've pointed out, there are countless people out there who couldn't finish training or find a flying job through no fault of their own and who had to make the decision to give up rather than invest more money in what can be a financial blackhole. The Aer Lingus cadetship really is the golden ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭1123heavy

Indeed. Not to take from her achievements but I think in terms of pilot training, a real success story would be about someone who self funded and trained independently, perhaps instructed to build hours/make money, started off at regionals/LCCs and worked their way up to the flag carriers.

On point.

I actually thought that's what I was going to read, especially with the headline saying she funded her own training (Aer Lingus is fully funded though?) ... of course they meant her ppl which does not cost much at all, certainly not setting up a business.

I must say though, when reading it I had a big smile cos I know just what it would mean to get the Aer Lingus cadetship and seeing someone who clearly wanted it actually get it is always nice to see.

It's certainly likely to boost the numbers of applicants to the next aer lingus cadetship with many people suddenly deciding they've always actually wanted to be a pilot.

The one thing about this article however is that it may give the public the impression that to become a pilot you've to apply to a cadet programme, whilst that is true to an extent, I'm not sure if that's how the majority get in ... indeed the story for most pilots is an awful lot less glamorous. Can we expect to see the story of someone who had to pay £30,000 for 500 hrs in a B737 out the arse end of Turkey? That's how this game is going at the current rate ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭pepe the prawn

1123heavy wrote: »

Can we expect to see the story of someone who had to pay £30,000 for 500 hrs in a B737 out the arse end of Turkey? That's how this game is going at the current rate ...

Whilst this was unfortunately true for a period of time, thankfully it seems to be gone back to a more natural approach now in that pilots are sending in their CV's to Ryanair, Stobart, Norwegian etc, and getting called for interviews in relatively short time frames. Payment for the type rating by the pilot is still happening, but I can't see that ever changing for new pilots, it's the industry standard now for that first job with many employers, and to be honest, I can actually see the commercial sense behind it (for new low hour pilots)

Hiring of newly qualified low hour pilots hasn't been this good for donkeys years. So for now at least, the prospect of Pay2Fly in respect of the 500 hour bundles is not as common as it once was.

Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

On point.

I actually thought that's what I was going to read, especially with the headline saying she funded her own training (Aer Lingus is fully funded though?) ... of course they meant her ppl which does not cost much at all, certainly not setting up a business.

I must say though, when reading it I had a big smile cos I know just what it would mean to get the Aer Lingus cadetship and seeing someone who clearly wanted it actually get it is always nice to see.

It's certainly likely to boost the numbers of applicants to the next aer lingus cadetship with many people suddenly deciding they've always actually wanted to be a pilot.

The one thing about this article however is that it may give the public the impression that to become a pilot you've to apply to a cadet programme, whilst that is true to an extent, I'm not sure if that's how the majority get in ... indeed the story for most pilots is an awful lot less glamorous. Can we expect to see the story of someone who had to pay £30,000 for 500 hrs in a B737 out the arse end of Turkey? That's how this game is going at the current rate ...

This hour building!!!!! Is this cheap labour or are the planes being flown empty ?

especially with the headline saying she funded her own training (Aer Lingus is fully funded though?) ...

first couple of cadet programmes after the recession were only partly funded by Aerlingus. You still had to cough up roughly 25k for the opportunity.. They went fully sponsored only in 2015 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 sashaw

Great story! I also think that Willie Walsh is doing a great job back at AL since IAG bought them. Lots of great new direct routes to The USA - SF, Wash DC, Miami etc :)

adam88 wrote: »
    This hour building!!!!! Is this cheap labour or are the planes being flown empty ?

not sure what you mean? Hour building is the part where a student pilot or PPL holder builds hours on single engine planes before they can start their CPL/ME/IR training. The 500 hours on a B737 referred to by 1123Heavy is so called "line training", also known as "pay to fly" - low hour first officers would pay money to airlines so they allow them to fly scheduled passenger flights.. it's not even cheap labor, it's even below that.. however it's not happening as much these days, as the recruitment situation has improved.. some few years ago that was the only way to get jet hours..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

sashaw wrote: »
    Great story! I also think that Willie Walsh is doing a great job back at AL since IAG bought them. Lots of great new direct routes to The USA - SF, Wash DC, Miami etc :)

San Francisco and Washington started before IAG bought them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭basill

When I started out many moons ago the flying magazines were full of schemes in the US for "hour builders". You had ridiculous situations of 2 people renting a twin engine and 1 of them wearing a hood whilst they both clocked up the hours.

Also under the old US visa waiver laws you could pay an hourly rate to sit in the RHS of anything from a King Air up to a light/medium jet. The US FARs allowed you to log the seat time even though you had no experience on the aircraft and you flew off the priviledges of the skipper in the LHS.

None of this time would have "legally" been able to be logged back in Europe under what were then the JAR rules (now EASA) as you would have needed a type rating and IR but many folks would have kept 2 log books in anycase.

The point being that hour building and working for free has been around for years. Most parachute/gliding clubs pay a per diem at most to their pilots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭duskyjoe

Total thread drift.....jazuz poor Lisa must be morto with the length of the thread .

Some of the parachute/gliding establishments here and worldwide paid the pilot in breakfasts. It wasn't uncommon for pilots to live in a grubby caravan on the airfield for the season and act as unpaid watchman at night, as well as unofficial mechanic/refueller/dispatcher. I met regional pilots in the US, flying EMB 120s, who shared a house. Sixteen of them.they all worked second jobs just to live. For every pilot who hits the lotto jackpot and gets a cadetship (and more luck to them!) , there's always more who have slogged it out from the bottom of the food chain.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,451 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

She (Lisa) will be on the Ryan Tubridy show this morning on RTE Radio 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

Why is this inspirational? Fair play to her but in this day and age it's not such a biggie. Woman becomes a pilot. Take Scandinavian Airlines for example who have over 20% of female pilots.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    She (Lisa) will be on the Ryan Tubridy show this morning on RTE Radio 1.
    This is quite silly now, fair play to her but interviewing on RTE1? Women get the cadet ship with Aer Lingus and BA every year, some with a ppl funded through various means, it is definitely an achievment but most certainly not worth the disproportionate attention

Why is this inspirational? Fair play to her but in this day and age it's not such a biggie. Woman becomes a pilot. Take Scandinavian Airlines for example who have over 20% of female pilots.
    Think you're missing the whole point. The fact she is a woman has almost nothing to do with the story.

plodder wrote: »
    Think you're missing the whole point. The fact she is a woman has almost nothing to do with the story.

So if this was a young guy it would get the same reaction? I doubt it. Pretty sure Mr Tubridy wouldn't give a toss about it.

You asked why was it inspirational, insinuating some link to her being a woman. I’m saying her achievement is remarkable irrespective of her gender. It's hardly her fault if her story is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭basill

Its PR. Social Media and all that buzz. AL love that stuff and good news stories. The push will be coming from inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

You can be sure EI as a large advertiser with RTE will have pushed this story and fair play to whoever though it through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I think its inspirational, she had a dream from a very young age and despite setbacks along the way (that would have made others quit) she didn't give up and achieved her goal. I think her gender is irrelevant. A nice news story, I would prefer to read something like this over the usual doom and gloom out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

She's done something that many of us blokes have dreamed of but never quite managed. I'm as jealous as hell but I'm honest enough to admit it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

plodder wrote: »

She's been Aer Lingus' poster girl for years and they've been making a bit of noise lately about the percentage of female pilots they employ as well as putting them in the public eye every chance they get. Nothing wrong with that of course, but I think the fact that she's a woman is the sole reason the story is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

Lads,
    A person has a dream. They go for it. Along the way certain things occur i.e. aircraft issue, big money raised and little home business started and a couple of knocks along the way from which the person gets back up. A feel good; good news story in a mad world! Employer and media like it. So what!!!!

But to some fifteen or sixteen year old young lad or girl the article might have said "if l put my mind to something, I can do it!!

Can't people just wish her well and see the hope it might give to another!!

We should be more concerned of issues such as our countrys' downward movement on the Transparency International Index for the second year on the trot. See http://transparency.ie/news_events/corruption-perceptions-index-2016

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Wonder how much Aer Lingus have put into this pr campaign.

I don't know, I can understand what the noise was for when Grainne Cronin became a pilot, being somewhat a pioneer ... it's the norm now though

Gamebred wrote: »
    Wonder how much Aer Lingus have put into this pr campaign.
    "pr campaign". It's an article in a newspaper, written, I presume by the woman herself.

So, I'd say it cost Aer Lingus maybe the price of a phone call to Independent Newspapers.

Maybe she even got paid for it ....

I wonder will Tubs be interested in getting this girl on his show.

http://www.thelocal.se/jobs/article/sweden-gets-its-first-female-fighter-pilot-in-over-25-years

I don't know, I can understand what the noise was for when Grainne Cronin became a pilot, being somewhat a pioneer ... it's the norm now though

I wouldn't say it's the norm...female pilots are very rare, they exist of course but are rare, over at Easyjet there is a huge push to attract more female pilots for example, they are really trying to lessen the gender imbalance for this career, a quick google of the easyjet Amy Johnson scheme will show you info on their plan

I disagree; there is no shortage of female pilots globally, (except in those countries that for certain religious reasons don't allow women to compete for flying jobs) and EI has about 50 now and there's probably the same in FR and Cityjet. ATC also has no shortage of female staff, and equally so in cabin crew, load planning and office based engineering planning and in every other kind of airline job...except engineering on the ramp and in the hangar. Now that's where there is a real shortage; In EI, we have none on the ramp and none in the hangar. Not a one, not even as apprentices. The other Irish airlines have a handful between them. Why? I suspect that it is not being touted as a job to young girls in TY and those coming up to college age.

No one is arguing that there is any kind of shortage of female pilots... they are arguing that the percentage of women working as career pilots is very very low, and that's true, compared to other careers.
    I'm sure there are other examples like engineering as you mentioned. Right now some airlines (easyjet being one) are really pushing their commitment to increase their percentage of female pilots in their workforce, this also doubles as free and positive PR. I think some posters here are pointing out that this is also the case for EI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Locker10a wrote: »
    I'm sure there are other examples like engineering as you mentioned..

With a few, very notable, exceptions - every stereotypically male career has very few women in it. Teaching, primary care doctors and solicitors are the few careers that were "male" maybe 40 years ago and most recruits are female now.

The education system needs to encourage future recruits for everything that gender doesn't matter - as well as there not being many girls going to be a pilot now there's very few boys going to be a teacher; and more female medical students go for GP training when more male go for specialisation.