Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cards n Things SQ SC - gone.

• 24-01-2017 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭

I see their gone and JD sports will be moving in there.

I think they will be a missed in giving an overall balance to shopping choices there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭iseegirls

From what I heard, the new owners of City Square want big retail areas with big retail names. In their eyes - Cards n' Things wasn't big for them, so they happily let JD Sports merge into their store.
    They didn't offer Cards n' Things any other area in the centre, even though there are numerous empty buildings. CnT even inquired about taking the Burger King unit (as that will be moving upstairs to the new food market), but it was a no.
    Disappointing as it was a nice store, may have lost its way in recent years, but before the recession hit - the place would be absolutely packed on weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭azimuth17

The whole centre is getting a makeover, with small units being closed and merged to create bigger units. You can see at the Burger King entrance from Peter Street that all the units next to the Brasserie are to be demolished. Not a cent was spent on City Square for years so a bit of investment to create something new is welcome I suppose. Be nice if its all done for next Christmas.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

The next unit closing in Edinburgh Woollen Mills, they will be closing in early feb and that unit along with the one next to it, the old Specsavers unit are also being merged into one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Jaysus it'll turn out like McDonagh in Kilkenny. Big building but absolutely nothing in it because it's less shops just bigger units for existing retailers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Sully wrote: »
    Jaysus it'll turn out like McDonagh in Kilkenny. Big building but absolutely nothing in it because it's less shops just bigger units for existing retailers.

bigger is always better yea know!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Time

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    bigger is always better yea know!:rolleyes:

Well to be fair, City Square couldn't be much worse.

Do we know if they have anyone to go into their new big unit when it's built where brasserie was? Heard H&M before, unsure though it's a given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

There are a few spots suitable for a shops like them. Are they going to re open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭aaaaaaaahhhhhh

Could we do with an Easons in the complex?
    I like the idea of an Easons there, but if it took a large portion of business from the Book Center, I think we could do without.

Could we do with an Easons in the complex?
    I like the idea of an Easons there, but if it took a large portion of business from the Book Center, I think we could do without.

I believe that Eason has a book deal with The Book Centre, wherby they supply all their books. There would be of little benefit to them then to open a shop in direct opposition to a store whom they supply books to.
    Wouldn't stop any other book shop from opening though, or a decent newsagent.

Given Easons and the other book shop in Dungarvan (largely school ones) are both operate if they did open in Waterford they should do just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,276 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

iseegirls wrote: »
    Do we know if they have anyone to go into their new big unit when it's built where brasserie was? Heard H&M before, unsure though it's a given

Still strong talk to H&M in the front of the new look centre, encompassing the former Brasserie part

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Given Easons and the other book shop in Dungarvan (largely school ones) are both operate if they did open in Waterford they should do just fine.

I'm amazed that Waterford city doesn't already have an Easons shop considering many much smaller towns across the country have one.

ongarboy wrote: »
    I'm amazed that Waterford city doesn't already have an Easons shop considering many much smaller towns across the country have one.

rather see a local operator to be honest but id say its a risky enough venture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Again as said above Easons have a deal with the book center, therefore no need for them to come into Waterford, and if they did and the book center went with another supplier, locals would probably still choose the book center over easons.

In the end then they would probably close down and their deal with the book center would be gone.

Too risky for them, and pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭goochy

remember a lot of easons are franchises and would say fit out costs are high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

The book centre is twice as good as most easons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

i'd love to see Golden Discs get a bigger store in City Square. Failing that a store that would offer some competition for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

johndoe99 wrote: »
    i'd love to see Golden Discs get a bigger store in City Square. Failing that a store that would offer some competition for them.

I'd imagine the market for purchasing physical music or film product declines more and more with each passing year as the majority now increasingly stream or download or simply buy such product much cheaper online so I can't see such stores expanding with physical bricks and mortar shops. HMV has all but disappeared globally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I'd imagine the market for purchasing physical music or film product declines more and more with each passing year as the majority now increasingly stream or download or simply buy such product much cheaper online so I can't see such stores expanding with physical bricks and mortar shops. HMV has all but disappeared globally.

Growing demand for vinyls though

Burger King closed unannounced it seems, seeing the staff knew nothing about it until they arrived into work this morning and receiving their notice. On the News & Star Facebook page.

Must be more to it I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,480 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Burger King closed unannounced it seems, seeing the staff knew nothing about it until they arrived into work this morning and receiving their notice. On the News & Star Facebook page.

Must be more to it I'd say.

Very surprised at this and anytime I'd passed there it was at most 55% full the whole time, it was located in the perfect area. I wonder what will happen now as regards food places in the redevelopment of the shopping centre ???

Would love a food court with a wide selection similar too the shopping center in newbridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭JohnC.

Yeah, it was weird. Fella at work said the place was open and someone arrived in and asked everyone to leave and shut the doors. Looks like they were very quick to take down all the signs and everything in the windows. Even the door handles were removed when I passed by in the afternoon.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Would love a food court with a wide selection similar too the shopping center in newbridge

There is some sort of food court going in upstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Very surprised at this and anytime I'd passed there it was at most 55% full the whole time, it was located in the perfect area. I wonder what will happen now as regards food places in the redevelopment of the shopping centre ???

That's what you'll have in city sq before year end

JohnC. wrote: »
    Yeah, it was weird. Fella at work said the place was open and someone arrived in and asked everyone to leave and shut the doors. Looks like they were very quick to take down all the signs and everything in the windows. Even the door handles were removed when I passed by in the afternoon.

sounds like bailiffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭niallo76

Nooooooo,no mo double bacon cheeseburger!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭dzilla

burger king are probably focusing more on the service station market. I wouldnt be surprised to see another Applegreen garage popping up in Waterford and a big burger king in it, Leo Hartes old petrol station site would be perfect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

dzilla wrote: »
    burger king are probably focusing more on the service station market. I wouldnt be surprised to see another Applegreen garage popping up in Waterford and a big burger king in it, Leo Hartes old petrol station site would be perfect

Wheres Leo Hartes old station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

It was an ESSO station on the Tramore Rd by Pierce Hire, it closed in the early nineties I think

https://goo.gl/maps/aDeq9cMXPJE2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

shockwave wrote: »
    It was an ESSO station on the Tramore Rd by Pierce Hire, it closed in the early nineties I think

Ah yeah i was thinking that was it,great location but maybe not big enough for applegreen and burger king

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭somebaldyfela

No,it was still open in the early noughties..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭dzilla

No,it was still open in the early noughties..

Closed in September 2005.

The plan was for a drive through Supermacs there in 2006 so probably a suitable size

Burger King franchise operator OKR Group put out a statement about the closure.
    It is with regret that Burger King announce the closure of its unit in the City Square, SC in Waterford.

This closure is due to the expiry of our lease, as the landlord is redeveloping the unit occupied by Burger King.

We would like to thank our staff and customers for their support and loyalty over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Burger King franchise operator OKR Group put out a statement about the closure.

I still find that very odd, no notice of closure, just went in and closed within a couple of hours during a business day.

I noticed Bookstation will be opening in the combined former Edinburgh Woolen Mills/Specsavers. I see they do books and stationary, but do they do papers and the like that Cards and Things used to?

Wonder were Cards'n'Things even given the option of that move to that part?

or they were told they were coming and decided to cut their losses now rather than lather.

I noticed Bookstation will be opening in the combined former Edinburgh Woolen Mills/Specsavers. I see they do books and stationary, but do they do papers and the like that Cards and Things used to?

Never heard of bookstation, is that a franchise, moving from somewhere else in city or is it just a new shop, could it be same people as cards and things?

....Just checked, they're all around country.Good to see it anyway, yesterday they saying chopped restaurant o opening too. Also heard mclearys opening up another place in the morriss extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

I wish Babestation would set up there :)

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    or they were told they were coming and decided to cut their losses now rather than lather.

From when I talked to the staff in CnT at the time, they said the management were searching for other units in City Square, but CS were not giving them any unit to move into.

Could be one side of the story there now, so could be seen that CS knew Bookstation were coming - and made sure CnT were gone. Or CnT management just didn't want to relocate and close up.

The rent for that unit was astronomical at the time: http://www.irishtimes.com/business/commercial-property/us-fund-pays-21m-for-waterford-s-city-square-1.2218404
    The highest contracted rent of €258,250 was agreed by stationer Cards 'n Things but has been abated to €160,000.

Can't believe they managed to pay that rent and the staff and other bills by selling cards, magazines and books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Can't believe they managed to pay that rent and the staff and other bills by selling cards, magazines and books.

Somehow I can actually. Were you ever in there when there wasn't a queue? I don't know how much retailers are paid per Lotto ticket, but they seemed to do a roaring trade in those alone.

fricatus wrote: »
    Were you ever in there when there wasn't a queue?

I can actually, because I worked there for my sins for few years when in college
    In the boom, the place was great (as were all shops), recession hit and apart from Saturday afternoon - the place was dead. They had moves of tills, magazines, books, stationary changed several times. Books were being replaced by rubbish in the center of the shop. The sweets selected was reduced (it used to wrap itself around the tills in the middle). Fresh icecream cones gone because they couldn't afford to fix the machine.

Unsure regarding how much money was made off lotto, but there are good margins for cards. But with the recession came more pound/euro stores, dealz, Mr price which sell cards so cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I can actually, because I worked there for my sins for few years when in college
    In the boom, the place was great (as were all shops), recession hit and apart from Saturday afternoon - the place was dead. They had moves of tills, magazines, books, stationary changed several times. Books were being replaced by rubbish in the center of the shop. The sweets selected was reduced (it used to wrap itself around the tills in the middle). Fresh icecream cones gone because they couldn't afford to fix the machine.

Unsure regarding how much money was made off lotto, but there are good margins for cards. But with the recession came more pound/euro stores, dealz, Mr price which sell cards so cheap.

Was the money good there? I'm sure it would be ok for a student or part time but there were a few heads down there that were permanent so I figured the money cant be so bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Not from Waterford but have knowedge of commercial property dealings there.

JD wanted bigger store, Card n things were happy to vacate as the market for magazines, papers and confectionery has changed over the years and they were no longer trading profitably at that location. Retail commission on lottery is 5% - nice, but there are many costs too including extra security, cost of cash lodgements etc. so not as lucrative as you may think.

Combined rent of two stores is actually lower than what the centre was getting as two seperate stores, (details available on commercial lease register) but shopping centres are very much looking at an overall picture rather than just one or two leases.

Bookstation only started looking when they heard CnT were going and have taken a 15 year lease. CnT and bookstation have no connection, but owner of CnT has an interest/shareholding in Homestore and More and that's where his energies are focussed on. Bookstation have about 15 stores around Ireland.

4-5 food offerings will be in a new foodcourt there. Not certain, but probably the Burger King will be one of those.

One of the new main units has been tentatively agreed with a major fashion retailer. The centre is also looking at merging a couple of other smaller units to make for one larger unit.

Currently there are several retailers looking to move into Waterford city, but there's a distinct lack of quality retail space with any units available either far too small or in poor structural condition.

Nice one ceiling fly...Good info there, fair play...we 've been hearing that for years about lack of suitable units...hopefully planned building starts on that soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

At a guess I would say there are about 15 major Irish and international retailers looking for immediate space in Waterford City. (within next 12-18 months) I'm working in the background with one and they hope to agree terms soon on a unit to open in late summer. They wanted to open in March, but absolutely nothing was available that suited.

Most of the retailers who are looking need 250 sqm+ of space and many want 400sqm as they have a "planogram" they need to follow, many will simply wait until the new developments at city square & michael street are available.

The Christmas and Summer festivals have been one of the drivers in getting Waterford on the "watch list", hence its very much city centre focussed demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Currently there are several retailers looking to move into Waterford city, but there's a distinct lack of quality retail space with any units available either far too small or in poor structural condition.

As far as you can tell are these companies seeking city centre locales specifically or are they just after the right property anywhere within the ring road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Max Powers wrote: »
    Never heard of bookstation, is that a franchise, moving from somewhere else in city or is it just a new shop, could it be same people as cards and things?

....Just checked, they're all around country.Good to see it anyway, yesterday they saying chopped restaurant o opening too. Also heard mclearys opening up another place in the morriss extension.

Chopped?? Please say that is a definite!

Also, mclearys opening in the morris's extension - mclearys the restaurant? in the hardware store's extension? Am I thinking of the right places?
    CeilingFly wrote: »
    At a guess I would say there are about 15 major Irish and international retailers looking for immediate space in Waterford City. (within next 12-18 months) I'm working in the background with one and they hope to agree terms soon on a unit to open in late summer. They wanted to open in March, but absolutely nothing was available that suited.

Most of the retailers who are looking need 250 sqm+ of space and many want 400sqm as they have a "planogram" they need to follow, many will simply wait until the new developments at city square & michael street are available.

The Christmas and Summer festivals have been one of the drivers in getting Waterford on the "watch list", hence its very much city centre focussed demand.

Any chance any of these lads fancy going a few kms over the bridge...? :p

erica74 wrote: »
    Chopped?? Please say that is a definite!

Yes, this is a definite. Was in the media yesterday. No idea where though in Waterford.