Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you grumpy?

• 24-01-2017 7:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭

My name is Bambi985 and I'm a professional grump.

my default mood is pissed off and on any given day everyone & everything annoys me, the only variable is to which extent. I spend about 70 - 80% of my day trying hard not to show it, either in front of clients and colleagues at work, or to a lesser extent with my boyfriend, family and friends outside the office.

It's getting worse as I'm getting older too. I'm finding it harder and harder to overlook the little daily nuisances. The unnecessary annoyances. Pushy people on public transport. Babies crying on planes. The bloody cost of things. Ridiculous requests in the office. Sh1tty wifi anywhere. People being asshats for no good reason.

despite it all Ill never be an asshat for no reason. Most people would describe me as "affable", "pleasant", "friendly", "polite", "nice" or any number of bland cliches, despite the incandescent rage that lurks within. i'm looking forward to the day that I finally lose the social filter and deep-dive into insufferable arsehole best avoided at all costs. Hopefully it's not too far away.

Are you grumpy AH?

No, I've a sunny enough nature. I'm quite happy-go-lucky and I'm easy to get along with. It takes a lot to really annoy me and I really rarely lose my patience or my temper.

Life is much easier that way. Must be tough being wound up by everything all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Fcuk off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's kind of a useless and ultimately exhausting way to live your life - even if people do ask for it sometimes - but I have an unfortunate propensity towards it.

I do think I'm definitely mellowing out with age though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Grumpy without morning coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

No, I'm Sneezy. I'm a quarter of an inch taller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

No I'm naturally very optimistic. I do find I can get a bit drained if i am surrounded by people who are always complaining or dont see the fun in anything though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I am grumpy as hell 90% of the time. The older I get the worse it is. I seethe inside with intolerance and scorn while outwardly trying to remain calm and look pleasant. It is a terrible strain on a body. Sometimes I fantasise about losing it completely in public and imagine the reaction I would get :)

Lorelli! wrote: »
    No I'm naturally very optimistic. I do find I can get a bit drained if i am surrounded by people who are always complaining or dont see the fun in anything though.

Negativity is very draining alright, I know a person who's never said anything good or optimistic about anything or anyone in my presence. I can't imagine him having much happiness in his life, and it sucks the life out of you to be around the sheer negativity for long.

It can't be a great way to live either, being irritated by minor things to that degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Birneybau wrote: »
    Fcuk off

DONT CALL ME SHIRLEY!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

OP is fun at parties I bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I can be but I'm improving. I've noticed that after years of studying the human condition, I understand others more. Understanding and walking a mile in their shoes so to speak, helps a lot. Most people do things for a personal reason that I am just no aware of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Bambi985 wrote: »
    My name is Bambi985 and I'm a professional grump.

my default mood is pissed off and on any given day everyone & everything annoys me, the only variable is to which extent. I spend about 70 - 80% of my day trying hard not to show it, either in front of clients and colleagues at work, or to a lesser extent with my boyfriend, family and friends outside the office.

It's getting worse as I'm getting older too. I'm finding it harder and harder to overlook the little daily nuisances. The unnecessary annoyances. Pushy people on public transport. Babies crying on planes. The bloody cost of things. Ridiculous requests in the office. Sh1tty wifi anywhere. People being asshats for no good reason.

despite it all Ill never be an asshat for no reason. Most people would describe me as "affable", "pleasant", "friendly", "polite", "nice" or any number of bland cliches, despite the incandescent rage that lurks within. i'm looking forward to the day that I finally lose the social filter and deep-dive into insufferable arsehole best avoided at all costs. Hopefully it's not too far away.

Are you grumpy AH?

NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Andthatsanotherthing,

What d'ya think of people telling you to not be Grumpy ?

anyroadnup, I reckon OP ( Bambi ) is Grumpie and not Grumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

as fúck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

LirW wrote: »
    OP is fun at parties I bet.

Because that's all that matters, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Subacio

kfallon wrote: »
    as fúck

Grumpy has its advantages though. A default scowl causes less wrinkles than smiling, so I find I look younger than most of my happy peers. It's like releasing your inner botox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Nah. I get grumpy sometimes but I'm not grumpy. Generally I'm pretty cheery.

I don't really see the point of it. The grumpier you are the grumpier you'll be, and for what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I was given Mr Grumpy socks for christmas so probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Yes, usually first thing in the morning!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah, just like you OP. How could you not be when you're surrounded by clowns all day every day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Yeah, just like you OP. How could you not be when you're surrounded by clowns all day every day?

They mustn't be very good clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Firblog

Some times I waken up grumpy

But I more often than not i just let her sleep on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I've gotten fierce mellow in the last while. Couldn't be arsed being grumpy and if I am I snap out of it pretty quick.

Unless I'm driving. Then everyone is an utterly stupid dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Are you grumpy AH?

Grumpy Moi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

My name is Darkpagandeath and I'm a sex addict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

No point in being grumpy all the time. It's a choice. If you are grumpy about being grumpy then you can cancel it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Yes absolutely but not most of the time.

When I get stressed, hungry, or drunk (and worse both or worst of all, all three) I become a grumpy bastard. Horrible. I always end up regretting it afterwards. Trying my best to limit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Candie wrote: »
    No, I've a sunny enough nature. I'm quite happy-go-lucky and I'm easy to get along with. It takes a lot to really annoy me and I really rarely lose my patience or my temper.

ya and even that annoys me. if i was around you i'd probably have to grit my teeth and count to ten very slowly in my head. morning people and/or insufferably chirpy, "cheer up" folks grind my gears the most.

*grumpy cat face*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

The missus says I am yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Dean_Kirwan

Grumpy without morning coffee
    Even more grumpy after coffee, because of caffeine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Yes. I find it gets people to leave me alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I probably would be. But my mood swings erratically throughout the day. I seem to run on extremely happy or angry. All other emotions take a complete backseat, so when I feel sad, or lonely or jealous, I find it very very difficult to get out of that slump. The most trivial of things can prompt a barrage of a rant, and I've been known to fly off the handle at someone suggesting to me to "have a nice day" when they know full well I'm highly strung. But - 10 minutes later I'll be back in a good mood until something else gets my back up

I could easily be but what's the point? Life is hard enough at times without making it more tough with your own mood and outlook. The things we get wound up about are very ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Candie wrote: »

Life is much easier that way. Must be tough being wound up by everything all the time.

You need to take some Despondex.

ya and even that annoys me. if i was around you i'd probably have to grit my teeth and count to ten very slowly in my head. morning people and/or insufferably chirpy, "cheer up" folks grind my gears the most.

*grumpy cat face*

My neighbour for the last 20 yrs is a lovely woman. She is always really cheerful and upbeat even first thing in the mornings. I have never heard her give out or seen her scowl. Much as I like her it does freak me out a little and I'd love to see her lose the plot over something. Perpetually cheery people make me a bit suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭YourSuperior

More misanthropic than generally grumpy. I just hate that feeling of having to conform and pretend to agree with other people's everyday view of the world - the normal stuff.

Like the time I passed the TV and saw all the silly people cheering Obama in Dublin and a relative is like "look Obama, Dublin yay!" I just said "ok great" and proceeded to do whatever it was I was engaged in. That got a funny look - but I couldn't be bothered to explain why I don't care much for the leader of an oligarchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

I'm referred to by several family members and by my GF as 'a grump.' So it seems I must be one. As a matter of fact, I have indeed been called 'a misanthrope' on many an occasion. And so I began to see myself as such. Then one day I decided I was rather more 'a malcontent' than 'a misanthrope', and so instantly felt better about my misanthropic grumpiness.

i think as you get older you lose ability to see the world through the prism of "wouldn't it be great if" or "I hope X (wonderful thing) happens" or "that person is rather unpleasant for unknown reasons therefore it must be my fault"

Instead it becomes "well this will result in the usual aul bullsh1t" and "inevitably Y will take the piss" and "oh lovely, another dickhead"

or at least thats how most days tend to play out in my head.

i'm sure with more age the need to be nice and disguise the complete contempt for most things will dissipate too. Then i'll be the absolute craic at parties :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

No, I'm continiously shimmering with anger, which occasionally flashes into rage. I'm beginning to worry about it, but mostly I think I need a good long outdoor holiday with lovely heat and beautiful calm tranquil scenery away from idiots, news, lazy journalism, badly behaving liars & nonchalant cheats, screaming mothers, indifferent gaurds & a judicial system that encourages criminals, and a legal system that facilitates their life of crime and ensures it pays. I need to lay on a beach under a palm tree drinking cocktails & being served tropical food on a third world tab for a month, and then I will calm down.
    But grumpy, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

yeah i can be, I get mood swings. I can go from being fine to grumpy as hell in seconds, usually happens if something happens to alter my plans or something like that. It's totally irrational and stupid, but at the time I can't help it. I'm trying to get better with it.

Sometimes when I'm in a bad mood, I actually enjoy it. I just want to be left alone in my grumpiness. But it sucks, because I know it affects the others in the house so I force myself out if it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Reminds me of the old Beatles "Eleanor Rigby" song, and the way she keeps her face by the door to put on when she meets folk... Some of the most positive folk I know have terrible problems but would never inflict their moods on others.

I know I rarely let it be seen I am in pain etc; that is my problem, shared with my family, so I am almost always fine when I am out. Outwardly so. Very conscious of the change as I drive down the mountain!.

But folk today, working etc, seem to live lives of intolerable stress. I do not think grumpy is the right word; overstressed, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

Grumpy at 5.22 in the morning when I cant sleep, as I live in the noisiest house in the world when the wind blows (and its a newish house) or when the neighbours dogs bark all night..
    Generally no...honest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

My default expression makes me look grumpy, even when I'm not. Like that cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

I'm quite a cheerful person but I have RBF so I look grumpy when I'm not

Graces7 wrote: »

But folk today, working etc, seem to live lives of intolerable stress. I do not think grumpy is the right word; overstressed, yes.

I'm not sure I could describe myself as overstressed. ive had a busy career certainly, and work brings its own pressures but by a country mile the things that annoy me the most are the little irritants throughout the day resulting mainly from other humans being unreasonable and/or inconsiderate when they needn't be.

maybe it's all skewed by the fact that i live in london where getting from A to B presents itself with 5 giant holes in the head that you didn't anticipate when you set out the door and there's enough people per square metre that everyone tends to detach and think of themselves only and f*ck everyone else. unneccessary rudeness, unreasonable prices, blood boiling delays are etched into every day. you expect the worst of people and of things as a default setting and are usually proved right!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^^

maybe you just need to get laid?

are you sexless??

philstar wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^

maybe you just need to get laid?

are you sexless??

nope, i've got more than my share. thanks for the offer though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I am not a morning person and tend to wake up grumpy. It takes a bit of coffee, sugar and time before I am firing on all cylinders and feeling normal.

That said, I do love giving out about stuff. And I think I am good at giving out.

Winterlong wrote: »
    I am not a morning person and tend to wake up grumpy. It takes a bit of coffee, sugar and time before I am firing on all cylinders and feeling normal.

That said, I do love giving out about stuff. And I think I am good at giving out.

And giving out is good for you. Don't bottle it up, let the stress out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I'm more irritable than grumpy.

Irritable is grumpy for a reason rather than just randomly.

That said little things irritate me. Slow feckers wandering in aisles and corridors without a care for those who aren't in a daze, selfish inconsiderate driving, bad customer service etc. Those all get on my tits pretty badly.