Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks the concerts that never happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

What point are you trying to make?

The reason there was no gig is down to Garth himself, not sure what "Dublin" has to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A big thank you to the local residents who put a stop to this grubby spectacle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Now i know how the contestants on Bullseye felt when they missed out on the speedboat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Now i know how the contestants on Bullseye felt when they missed out on the speedboat.

You only ever get the holiday if you win. If you lose they show you "here's what you could have won" and it's the car or boat, but Jims a big liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

jimd2 wrote: »
    What point are you trying to make?

The reason there was no gig is down to Garth himself, not sure what "Dublin" has to do with it.

No it wasn't. It was Dublin City Council who cancelled half of them. And Garth cancelled the rest of them because you don't sell tickets to cancel on people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The Raptor wrote: »
    No it wasn't. It was Dublin City Council who cancelled half of them. And Garth cancelled the rest of them because you don't sell tickets to cancel on people like that.

He was allowed two, he booked more without permission. He's a tosser.

Grayson wrote: »
    He was allowed two, he booked more without permission. He's a tosser.

It wasn't him that booked without permission. It was the promotor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Do we really have to go through this bollocks again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Seriously Garth Brooks? I mean I get the Yanks liking him - they voted in Trump after all. But to discover so many people in Ireland were willing to pay money for that drivel left me more disappointed in us as a nation than the entire political career of Bertie Ahern.

El Weirdo wrote: »

Well we don't have to discuss who was right or wrong. Wish people would understand that it wasn't Garth's fault. It was Dublin.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well we don't have to discuss who was right or wrong. Wish people would understand that it wasn't Garth's fault. It was Dublin.

Well as a Dubliner, on behalf of Dublin may I just say.....meh.

Your second sentence completely contradicts your first sentence.

El Weirdo wrote: »

Only worse thing I can think of is some yahoo going on a binge posting videos of The Smiths. . .

Seriously Garth Brooks? I mean I get the Yanks liking him - they voted in Trump after all. But to discover so many people in Ireland were willing to pay money for that drivel left me more disappointed in us as a nation than the entire political career of Bertie Ahern.

You called it drivel? How so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

You only ever get the holiday if you win. If you lose they show you "here's what you could have won" and it's the car or boat, but Jims a big liar.

"You've won a speedboat. Have fun with that in Doncaster"

Only worse thing I can think of is some yahoo going on a binge posting videos of The Smiths. . .
    I haven't done that for ages.

Zaph wrote: »
    Well as a Dubliner, on behalf of Dublin may I just say.....meh.

Thank you for understanding.

It was Dublin.

You're welcome Ireland.

Look if the turf-eaters want him to play in a field in Ballygobackwards, let them, but that rubbish should never be allowed to infest the fair streets of our nation's capitol.

You're welcome Ireland.

Look if the turf-eaters want him to play in a field in Ballygobackwards, let them, but that rubbish should never be allowed to infest the fair streets of our nation's capitol.

Hi mucker, I don't want the bastards kicking over my windrows. :(

Dublin is welcome to Garth and his fans

You're welcome Ireland.

But it's OK to have drug addicts infest Dublin's fair city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

All capital cities have drug addicts, it's hardly exclusive to Dublin ffs.

Do we really need another Garth Brooks thread? You posted at length in the other one ages back, nothing has changed since then.

Do you remember when he went a bit weird and changed his name?

I fail to see what that has to do with some overrated hat act not being allowed to play as much as he wanted to and then throwing a hissy fit as a result. Seriously, if there wasn't a single drug addict in Dublin I don't know what the Dublin-haters would be able to use as an example of how sh*tty our city is. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭m1ck007

400,000 tickets sold, a good percentage of the population. Hardly drivel.

All capital cities have drug addicts, it's hardly exclusive to Dublin ffs.

Do we really need another Garth Brooks thread? You posted at length in the other one ages back, nothing has changed since then.

Except the rest of the capital cities allow concerts and they allow country people in.

But they are our drug addicts not some pissed up yahoos in pink cowboy hats rolling off the country buses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

And Garth cancelled the rest of them because you don't sell tickets to cancel on people like that. his bluff was called as his 'all or none' bluster wasn't anywhere near as threatening as he liked to think.

I fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Do you remember when he went a bit weird and changed his name?

Chris Gaines. A bit of an Emo. (Actually since he was mean to be Australian, a bit of an emu really).

The state of you, Garth!

A wee birdie told me he wouldn't play Trump's inauguration as artistes are expected to waive the fee.

Wee birdies can be wrong though I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

You're welcome Ireland.

Not a fan of Brooks but sure Dublin is better off with U2 who haven't had an album in years and that tool Bono still hasn't found what he's looking for :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Except the rest of the capital cities allow concerts and they allow country people in.

Dublin city allows concerts too, which is why we have numerous venues such as the Three Arena, Vicar Street, the Academy, the Olympia, etc.

They allowed him to play, just not as many nights as he wanted. He threw a fit and refused to do any. That's not DCC's fault, that's his production team's fault for not getting permission before announcing so many dates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Deja vu thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭m1ck007

But they are our drug addicts not some pissed up yahoos in pink cowboy hats rolling off the country buses

🙄 Your fellow countrymen and women, roughly 400.000 of us. I have been a lifelong fan of GB and i dont drink. Dont stereotype us please.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Not a fan of Brooks but sure Dublin is better off with U2 who haven't had an album in years and that tool Bono still hasn't found what he's looking for :rolleyes:

And they don't pay tax.

Dublin city allows concerts too, which is why we have numerous venues such as the Three Arena, Vicar Street, the Academy, the Olympia, etc.

They allowed him to play, just not as many nights as he wanted. He threw a fit and refused to do any. That's not DCC's fault, that's his production team's fault for not getting permission before announcing so many dates.

How do they get permission with backwards concert licensing laws where they have to sell tickets before applying for the license?

Sure it's like the learner drivers. They're allowed to drive their own cars on the road.

m1ck007 wrote: »
    🙄 Your fellow countrymen and women, roughly 400.000 of us. I have been a lifelong fan of GB and i dont drink. Dont stereotype us please.

400,000 carrot crunchers

No self respecting urbanite would listen to that twaddle

And they don't pay tax.

Again I fail to see what relevance U2's tax affairs are to a number of Garth Brooks concerts not going ahead.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Chris Gaines. A bit of an Emo. (Actually since he was mean to be Australian, a bit of an emu really).

The state of you, Garth!

Jaysus! He actually looks kinda, dare I say it, hot!

This is the real reason for your obsession isn't Raptor. You fancy Garth :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,455 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

He will be back someday no doubt. He still loves us apparently

The whole scenario was joke, him wanting to crawl or swim here and beg the govener of Ireland too let him play all his Croke Park gig's. The Irish government trying to get Obama involved, death threats been given to some Croke Park residents. When he announced the gig's (3 years ago dis Friday) it was for 2 nights and there was no mention of 3 more nights been added. Aiken and GBs management got greedy and in turn ****ed up the whole thing. In fairness a lot of parties are to blame for the whole thing.

Had tickets to the first night and the excitement of the gigs helped a bit to come to the terms of my mother's passing (gig's were announced the day my mam was buried) so them being cancelled hurt a bit but time is a great healer and I witnessed a lot of quality gig's since July 2014.

A grand tour of Ireland playing a number of venues like Nowlan Park Kilkenny, PUC Cork, Thomond Park Limerick etc would be perfect and would put the whole 2014 farce too bed. A few nights in the 3arena and the SSE arena Belfast would not surprise me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

400,000 carrot crunchers

No self respecting urbanite would listen to that twaddle
    American country music v's Dublin city, do you honestly think they give two fcuks about Dublin? Most of them never even heard of the place ;)

Jaysus! He actually looks kinda, dare I say it, hot!

This is the real reason for your obsession isn't Raptor. You fancy Garth :p

Yep, very much so. His ass in tight jeans.

Ah now. This is a family site.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

It was the promoters'/venue owners' faults that the first 2 gigs were cancelled (because they had a legal agreement to only do 3 shows a year and announced 7 or 8 in 2014). It was Garth Brooks' fault that the other 3 were cancelled because he threw all his toys out of the pram. And the whole thing was also partially down to our bizarre licensing laws because in a reasonable scenario, the permission for the extra shows should have been denied before people had actually paid for tickets.

The government getting involved was pretty pathetic though.

I worked in accommodation booking at the time and it was bloody painful that week! Cancellations, then people trying to un-cancel, then cancelling again with no notice...

Thanks alot Dublin.

You're welcome! :)

Country people have always been welcome in Dublin. Provided you have the correct documentation and a current visa.

Brooks didn't play a few concerts in Dublin - two years ago or more at this stage?

It's time to move on and try pull the remnants of your life together and get past it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Very true. Thank you for caring about my feelings.

Ah now. This is a family site.

:p

He's even hotter in this picture. Yum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

The GAA and easy listening country music are still significant parts of a ruralism that isn't represented online. It exists, and is without the withering cynicism that represents most of the discourse that takes place online. Living life through sport, community and songs about love.

He's even hotter in this picture. Yum

I do like hairy man beasts but it's frickin Garth Brooks. Nah he's all yours OP :p

Still can't believe that Miley Cyrus is his daughter.