Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Champions Cup Final May 13th, Travel and Build Up

• 17-01-2017 11:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭

Decided to gamble on the final, really hoping an Irish team (or Clermont) make it. I am a bit disappointed the Challenge Cup final is also in Murrayfield, because it'll be underwhelming.

Is anyone else feeling the draw of Edinburgh, anyone ever been to one of these as a Neutral before, is it decent craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

errlloyd wrote: »
    Decided to gamble on the final, really hoping an Irish team (or Clermont) make it. I am a bit disappointed the Challenge Cup final is also in Murrayfield, because it'll be underwhelming.

Is anyone else feeling the draw of Edinburgh, anyone ever been to one of these as a Neutral before, is it decent craic?

Was at Toulon v Saracens in Cardiff back in 2014 at the HC Final.

Had the Leinster jersey on as did a rake of Leinster fans. Was great fun, city was buzzing before and after, French fans were great craic and I'd do it again if I could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Edinburgh is always good craic
    I know some lads who go to all the finals, they say it's brilliant
    May as well go to the Challenge Cup final as well if you are there
    Im half tempted to go along to it myself regardless who makes it, but after blowing £400 on Hamilton tickets and away Toulouse this weekend so I'll see what happens from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Book your room soon, man. Edinburgh's a wretch for accommodation at the best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Book your room soon, man. Edinburgh's a wretch for accommodation at the best of times.

Rooms and flights are done as I felt they were the most elastic. It's a group of 10-15, so just waiting on the final number before buying tickets, but there are still loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

its the 13th

Riskymove wrote: »
    its the 13th

For the record, that was a typo in the title and my flights are for the correct date.

If a mod could change, I'd hate someone else to book flights with this date in their sub concious and mess them up because of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Dazzler0911

Heading up from London for both the Challenge and Champions Cup finals. There's a group of about 40+ of us heading up from the rugby club. Thursday night in Glasgow to warm things up. Should be a cracking weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Decided at the weekend to travel regardless

Flights booked dub-gla with Aer Lingus Friday to Sunday €110 a head
    AirBnB booked for 2 nights €100 a head
    Match tickets bought £50 a head ( if Munster get there I'll buy better ones)

Will either train it or hire a care from Glasgow to Edinburgh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Boscoirl wrote: »
    Decided at the weekend to travel regardless

Flights booked dub-gla with Aer Lingus Friday to Sunday €110 a head
    AirBnB booked for 2 nights €100 a head
    Match tickets bought £50 a head ( if Munster get there I'll buy better ones)

Easier to train, loads of trains even late at night, and you don't need a designated driver. Also, if I've learned anything from reading Ian Rankin novels, parking in Edinburgh is a pain in the ass...

Missus has hotel booked in Edinburgh expecting Connacht to make it. I love her optimism! Especially as it's about 5 weeks after the baby is due :D

Boscoirl wrote: »

We're staying a apartment hotels with parking and about 15 of us are going. Looked at the price of the shuttle, train and tram from the airport to our place and it was about 44e return per person. Can rent a car for about 60e total. So I think we will rent 3 cars and just use them for Glasgow - Edinburgh and then back.

Who are the 3 poor sods who get the short straw - never mind not being able to drink, having to drive a load of ye pissheads an hour back to Glasgow at stupid o'clock listening to "stop the bus I want a wee wee"? :pac:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Who are the 3 poor sods who get the short straw - never mind not being able to drink, having to drive a load of ye pissheads an hour back to Glasgow at stupid o'clock listening to "stop the bus I want a wee wee"? :pac:

We have a very cosy Sunday evening flight back to Dublin, think we're gonna stick with the culture on Sunday.

Ah I read it wrong, thought ye were staying in Glasgow.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Ah I read it wrong, thought ye were staying in Glasgow.

We went to the Montpellier away game and stayed in Lyon! TGV to the game and back, worked out okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

We are staying in Edinburgh too, plus one of our group doesnt drink very often and normally volunteers to drive, saying that she got stuck in to it in Glasgow at the weekend, so We'll leave it up to her to make a call on it. from looking at it, train or car hire for 4 is similarly priced, the difference would be taxi's at either end of the train,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 limhorse1

Booked everything over the last few weeks can't wait hoping we can do the business in Dublin now 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'm looking at flying to Newcastle and getting the train to Edinburgh. Glasgow and Edinburgh flights have gone too expensive.

We thought the same with the flights gone mad money we are getting the eurolines bus Dublin to Edinburgh for 75 euro each

I'm looking at flying to Newcastle and getting the train to Edinburgh. Glasgow and Edinburgh flights have gone too expensive.

If you haven't booked accommodation yet I'd be looking into that first prices are rising by the day if both Irish teams get through another few weeks and you'll be lucky to get a park bench lol

limhorse1 wrote: »
    If you haven't booked accommodation yet I'd be looking into that first prices are rising by the day if both Irish teams get through another few weeks and you'll be lucky to get a park bench lol

Which is why I'm booking it before the semi-finals! Even if Munster and Leinster both lose we can still have fun with the Clermont fans.

We booked the Edinburgh business park ibis budget got it for 288 euro when booked through actor hotels for 2 nights for 2 people still think there rooms available if its any help was the most reasonable we could find bout 15 minutes out but team stop right outside the door

I have no idea how to hedge the semi finals.

Do I bet ON and all Irish final - knowing that if that were to happen I would need to be well resourced in order to keep up with the heinous amount of alcohol I would consume.

OR

Do I bet on a Saracens v Clermont final - as a way of emotionally hedging myself against the strong possibility of seeing no Irish team in the final.

We booked the Edinburgh business park ibis budget got it for 288 euro when booked through actor hotels for 2 nights for 2 people still think there rooms available if its any help was the most reasonable we could find bout 15 minutes out but team stop right outside the door

it will be an epic weekend if both go through

if the final is Munster vs Leinster not only will it be epic.... but kickstarts a forthnight of epicness as they will both be in Pro12 playoffs...possibly playing each other again.....and possibly in the final in the Aviva two weeks after Edinburgh!!!!!

I have no idea how to hedge the semi finals.

Do I bet ON and all Irish final - knowing that if that were to happen I would need to be well resourced in order to keep up with the heinous amount of alcohol I would consume.

OR

Do I bet on a Saracens v Clermont final - as a way of emotionally hedging myself against the strong possibility of seeing no Irish team in the final.

I decided if munster are there and I can't get there I will cry so booked early if all else fails be a good weekend of rugby and beer which can't be faulted either

if the final is Munster vs Leinster not only will it be epic.... but kickstarts a forthnight of epicness as they will both be in Pro12 playoffs...possibly playing each other again.....and possibly in the final in the Aviva two weeks after Edinburgh!!!!!

It's gonna be messy lol

I've it done on a budget but got match tickets ,accommodation and travel to Edinburgh for 569 euro for 2 all I need now is the same for drink lol

We should get a completely unmoderated two week build up thread if Leinster and Munster go through.

We could have the ROG v SEXTON debate to end all debates.

We should get a completely unmoderated two week build up thread if Leinster and Munster go through.

We could have the ROG v SEXTON debate to end all debates.

No debate not knocking Sexton but rog was the finest out half this country has ever seen

bG6LEBz.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Somebody think of the mods

bG6LEBz.jpg

this may have to become a new thread in time to come

I wonder why we haven't already got one, it may be because of this post in the charter thread.
    Ak wrote:
    SPECIAL SECTION - Leinster/Munster

On this forum there is a fair bit of natural tribalism. We are not against that, it's very good and part of the game. Unfortunately, some people don't know how to handle it. constant arguing, bickering, bitching etc will result in bans. If a thread is pulled off topic by this behaviour all participants will be banned. Instead of getting involved and getting banned, report the posts.

Furthermore, DO NOT start a ROG vs Sexton debate. Consider this your first and final warning - we've all heard this argument about a thousand times and it is not fun.

I wonder why we haven't already got one, it may be because of this post in the charter thread.

Nuff said thanks lad think I'm gonna be physically sick with anticipation waiting for a result of the semi should be a cracking match as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

For anyone looking at accommodation, keep in mind Air BnB and BnB themselves.
    They can be slow to identify game weekends, a quick check on Air BnB means that indeed looks to be the case.

An Uber from Glasgow to Edinburgh works out about £50-£70 pound too. Not bad if you didn't want the hassle of plane trains and automobiles.

Just got a BnB for 200 for 2 nights. 15 minute bus from Waverley. The accommodation is being eaten up.

razorblunt wrote: »
    For anyone looking at accommodation, keep in mind Air BnB and BnB themselves.
    They can be slow to identify game weekends, a quick check on Air BnB means that indeed looks to be the case.

An Uber from Glasgow to Edinburgh works out about £50-£70 pound too. Not bad if you didn't want the hassle of plane trains and automobiles.

Looked at a few myself they were quite reasonable at the moment the weekend that's in didn't fancy arriving in pissed to someone's house at 4 in the morning though

Just got a BnB for 200 for 2 nights. 15 minute bus from Waverley. The accommodation is being eaten up.

That's very good look into the trams as well you can get a day pass for something like 3.60 and there's a stop near murrayfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Just got the hostel booked. Flights booked back in January. Now we just need a Leinster win in France.

Somebody think of the mods

#PrayforMods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭legohouse

Have my Golden tickets for finals since last year :)
    Found this link for accommodation when you click through to book your champions cup final tickets last night
    https://cabs.conventionedinburgh.com/ei/getdemo.ei?id=150588&s=_7OS0QAL25
    Managed to book a twin room for Sat night in Jurys Inn (right beside train station) for £159 inc breakfast - great value
    Flights in sat morning into Newcastle back out Sun night - Edinburgh flights wayyy too dear,
    2 hours Train up and back to Edinburgh - easier than hiring car - cheaper if you book in advance

Just got the hostel booked. Flights booked back in January. Now we just need a Leinster win in France.

I hope its the opposite result would be great crack to have both in the final though be great for Irish rugby too after all the whinging the French and English did to get it restructured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭legohouse

My golden tickets for the finals arrived today
    Here's hoping for a Leinster v Munster Final!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I presume they will have more tickets on sale once the semis are done and dusted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Just booked accommodation, #ScrewTheMockers. I'll cheer on Leinster (in a Munster jersey) if I have to. :) I didn't want to wait until after the semis, the prices are pretty ridiculous as it is.

Some form of planes, trains and automobiles will always get me there. Match tickets should(??) be sorted via the MRSC. Operation Invade Edinburgh* is ready to kick into gear.

(* catchier, more secretive name required)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

clsmooth wrote: »
    I presume they will have more tickets on sale once the semis are done and dusted?

I think a certain number of tickets are held back for the the two clubs in the finals - certainly that was the way when Leinster were in finals before - I got my tickets by lottery.

vienne86 wrote: »
    I think a certain number of tickets are held back for the the two clubs in the finals - certainly that was the way when Leinster were in finals before - I got my tickets by lottery.

I'm pretty sure I got tickets for Cardiff and London just after the semis when it was the Heiniken Cup. Accomodation seems the big issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

clsmooth wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I got tickets for Cardiff and London just after the semis when it was the Heiniken Cup. Accomodation seems the big issue

IIRC, they take them off general sale just before the semis. They go back on general sale once the clubs in the final are known

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

IIRC, they take them off general sale just before the semis. They go back on general sale once the clubs in the final are known
    I have just checked - I bought my ticket for the final in Twickenham via my Leinster season ticket account - they ran a lottery. Also Joe Walsh Tours had a few tickets for people buying their travel packages.

Booked an Air B&B for 2 people, £40 for the night. 3 miles from Murrayfield, £27 refundable if cancelled before 06th May. I've done my part, just hope Leinster and Munster do theirs :eek: