Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chores you hate doing.

• 15-01-2017 8:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

What chores do you like least?

Right now I have to take in turf, which is a fcukin pain as the stack is more secure than the pentagon. Also fcuk hoovering and gardening.And clipping my toe nails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Cleaning the windows..absolutely hate it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Colser wrote: »
    Cleaning the windows..absolutely hate it .

Love cleaning the outside windows, but hate doing the inside windows. Dunno why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭budweiser6

Putting on duvet covers :(

Hoovering.

It would actually hang like a cloud over ever Saturday, the mix of hangover and hoovering.

Now I don't go out and we get a cleaner in once a week for 3 hours. It's a happier equilibrium...

As for gardening, I don't mind cutting the lawn, but weeding is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Hoovering.

It would actually hang like a cloud over ever Saturday, the mix of hangover and hoovering.

Now I don't go out and we get a cleaner in once a week for 3 hours. It's a happier equilibrium...

As for gardening, I don't mind cutting the lawn, but weeding is awful.
    Yeah weeding is the worst for me. You never get them all. No job satisfaction at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Painting.

Painted the inside of the house last summer and never realised how tedious it was going to be.

Cleaning the oven would be another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ironing

It never ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Painting.

Painted the inside of the house last summer and never realised how tedious it was going to be.

Yes. Particularly painting the white ceiling white.

I hate the fact that if I start some job like painting I have to do it perfectly. I spend ages doing things the wife would do in five minutes. That's why I let her do things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,027 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Hanging the washing out on the line to dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Ciano35

Taking out the bins, can't somebody else do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Cleaning the oven is the worst, inaccessible

I don't mind cleaning the toilet, I feel it's a good thing to do and i feel better for doing it.

My toilet sounds like it's real dirty now, not particularly dirty I'll have you know. =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Ironing, I hate it.
    Every time I open the hot press and see a big load of clothes to be ironed I know it is going to be such a chore for the wife!

imme wrote: »
    Cleaning the oven is the worst, inaccessible

Go with pyro-clean next time- it will release you from the slavery that is oven cleaning- I haven't cleaned an oven in over 6 years; i just press a button and in 2 hours my oven is spotless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Go with pyro-clean next time- it will release you from the slavery that is oven cleaning- I haven't cleaned an oven in over 6 years; i just press a button and in 2 hours my oven is spotless.
    Yeah, pyroclean all the way.
    Unfortunately, my oven died recently and you simply cannot get a double pyroclean oven. I had to go for one with catalytic side liners and a washable liner for the bottom. Working so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I strongly agree with every single post. I hate them all :/:D

Lately I've started to really despise taking up the ashes from the fire. Dust gets everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

budweiser6 wrote: »

I find putting on the sheet is worse, do one side, try the other and it pops out.
    I hate drying dishes, but I do not mind washing them.
    Hanging out/taking in washing is awful, but ironing is fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Ironing. Absolutely hate it and frustrates the hell out of me.

Also changing the sheets and duvets on the bed.

failinis wrote: »
    I find putting on the sheet is worse, do one side, try the other and it pops out.
    I hate drying dishes, but I do not mind washing them.
    Hanging out/taking in washing is awful, but ironing is fine.

What's your number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭BrianG23

Cleaning the missus. Takes hours!

Lorelli! wrote: »
    I strongly agree with every single single post. I hate them all :/:D

Lately I've started to really despise taking up the ashes from the fire. Dust gets everywhere.
    Yeah taking out the ashes is a bit annoying too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

The oven, without a doubt. Just about anything else I can tolerate, but the oven breaks me. I get a lot of use out of it, so it looks every bit of it.

I use oven liners to try limit the damage, but it takes a couple of rounds of the intoxicating Mr Muscle to get it up to some standard of cleanliness. I've used oven pride, and all all those other things, but some stuff still needs a hand scrub. In the heat of the moment I've fantasized about throwing a stick of dynamite in the oven and closing the door.

Estrellita wrote: »
    The oven, without a doubt. Just about anything else I can tolerate, but the oven breaks me. I get a lot of use out of it, so it looks every bit of it.

I use oven liners to try limit the damage, but it takes a couple of rounds of the intoxicating Mr Muscle to get it up to some standard of cleanliness. I've used oven pride, and all all those other things, but some stuff still needs a hand scrub. In the heat of the moment I've fantasized about throwing a stick of dynamite in the oven and closing the door.

Check this out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NOYCt6xhE4w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

Advbrd wrote: »

That must have felt sooooo good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Ironing

Ironing (always seems to take forever) and oven cleaning are the worst, I don't mind hoovering or cleaning the bathroom though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Brushing grandpa's teeth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I won't cut my own toenails. That's disgusting beyond belief.
    Hate ironing. Hate the garden too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭kefir32

have a dishwasher which is a lifesaver, but obviously pots and pans need to be scrubbed manually. I do scrambled eggs a few times a week and its the worst thing to remove from the saucepan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Gathering up leaves in the garden

Hate ironing. Hate the garden too.

How do they get cut then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    How do they get cut then.

Scratching posts, FTW!

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    What chores do you like least?

Right now I have to take in turf, which is a fcukin pain as the stack is more secure than the pentagon. Also fcuk hoovering and gardening.And clipping my toe nails.

Ill bring in your turf, if you take out my ashes!

Satriale wrote: »
    Ill bring in your turf, if you take out my ashes!
    Deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

kefir32 wrote: »
    have a dishwasher which is a lifesaver, but obviously pots and pans need to be scrubbed manually. I do scrambled eggs a few times a week and its the worst thing to remove from the saucepan.

Scramble them in a non stick frying pan and use a spatula. Never sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Scramble them in a non stick frying pan and use a spatula. Never sticks.

I'm going to try this ...I use a washing up brush to clean scrambled egg and porridge pots and it turns my stomach when the food sticks to the brush.

BTW if this works it will be the second tip I've taken from you...keep them coming ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Colser wrote: »
    I'm going to try this ...I use a washing up brush to clean scrambled egg and porridge pots and it turns my stomach when the food sticks to the brush.

BTW if this works it will be the second tip I've taken from you...keep them coming ðŸ˜

What was the other one LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,866 ✭✭✭Damien360

Ironing

It never ends.

I actually love it. My wife couldn't iron to save her life. I put on good headphones, crank up the volume, and tune into Deezer. Kids and herself don't get 2 syllables out of me when I am ironing but they do get the odd impromptu karaoke song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Dusting hate hate it. The smell of the polish, the feel of the cloth, moving everything just to put it back in same place. Horrible job, would rather scrub a bathroom than do the dusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

budweiser6 wrote: »

Used to hate this til i learned the 2min trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Ya wha??
    I'd be hard pushed to cut someone else's toenails for them, they'd want to be well infirm before I'd even consider it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Emptying the dishwasher.

Washing clothes, drying clothes, putting away clothes.

I delegate when it comes to those jobs. I'm going to have to start putting them away myself again after listening to my husband give out about someone else having his favourite work shirt in their wardrobe. I pulled all wardrobes apart and eventually found the fecking thing happily hanging in his own wardrobe.

Hate mopping too

Used to hate this til i learned the 2min trick.

Make tea for the Mrs while she does it ?

Satriale wrote: »
    Make tea for the Mrs while she does it ?

Nope! :D

She actually hates it so much that i get to trade for most of my unfavoured stuff. I do wait til she's not around though cos there's no way she'd trade if she saw how little time it takes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,866 ✭✭✭Damien360

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Emptying the dishwasher.

Forgot that one. Hate it so much, I prefer to wash the dishes myself and put them away straight away, much to my wife's annoyance. She also hates emptying the damn thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Riding the missus

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Ya wha??
    I'd be hard pushed to cut someone else's toenails for them, they'd want to be well infirm before I'd even consider it!
    Yeah to me feet are almost as dirty as arseholes. Not a hope would I be trimming someone else's toenails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wtf do people be ironing?

The only thing I could imagine ironing is a shirt and I've by and large stopped wearing them.

Problem solved.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Cleaning the shower trap *puke, puke*
    A job always mysteriously left to me :(

Oh... Another one... One of my OH's sons, who doesn't live with us but visits regularly, always manages to pee everywhere except actually into the toilet bowl... Then buggers off home leaving pee all around the hinges of the toilet seat. He's old enough now to aim right, and has been warned about it time and time again. Ick. Just Ick.

I'm not a fan of any household chores, but the bathroom has become my arch-nemesis :o

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Riding the missus

Al_Bundy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭BrianG23

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Wtf do people be ironing?

The only thing I could imagine ironing is a shirt and I've by and large stopped wearing them.

Problem solved.

I did but neighbors kept staring at the ole pecker whenever I left me hovel