Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Handicap Fancy

• 13-01-2017 6:49pm

Lets have it gents. What is your fancy priced Handicap fancy?

Last year I remember Johns Spirit being put up at big prices and the price collapsing but only for him to run poorly.

This year I've backed Cause of Causes. I missed the huge prices but have had a small bet @25-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ivanovich Gorbatov looks like he is a plot for the County Hurdle tho he has an OR of 150 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Course form always a big plus in these hcapps- Don't be backing any of Mullins chasers in hcapps lads;he is 0-85 for a reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

kfallon wrote: »
    Ivanovich Gorbatov looks like he is a plot for the County Hurdle tho he has an OR of 150 I think.

Agree with this, they will get a few lbs off with another stopped run in the irish champion hurdle,

Not a plot but Haymount is my idea of the 4m winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

TheTorment wrote: »
    Lets have it gents. What is your fancy priced Handicap fancy?

Last year I remember Johns Spirit being put up at big prices and the price collapsing but only for him to run poorly.

This year I've backed Cause of Causes. I missed the huge prices but have had a small bet @25-1.

Be careful because the National's been circled since last year for this boy i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

You can get 20/1 ew with Hills any race which is good seeing as he around that just for the coral and county, could go either.

Blaklion if he goes the Ultima.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Meath Centre Forward

Desoto County has a 2 mile handicap hurdle in him. He really should have won at Christmas but I'm sure he'll be lined up for something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Not being stopped at all and is no plot. Won a brutal triumph. Not the green and gold style to not give one of their a handicap run before hand.
    The only reason he will be running is to keep the weight down for another runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Kauto wrote:
    Not being stopped at all and is no plot. Won a brutal triumph. Not the green and gold style to not give one of their a handicap run before hand. The only reason he will be running is to keep the weight down for another runner.

That's what I'd be thinking. I'd be a lot more interested I the likes of Squatour, Campeador and Blazer for County/Coral Cup who've 'disappointed' over fences this season.

Thought Mall Dini jumped really well there, qualifies for a handicap mark now after 3 third places over fences. Previous festival winner I'm hoping he'll turn up in the 2m 4f Novice Handicap on the Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Just Cameron in the grand annual, has run respectably in the last 2 champ chases

kfallon wrote:
    Thought Mall Dini jumped really well there, qualifies for a handicap mark now after 3 third places over fences. Previous festival winner I'm hoping he'll turn up in the 2m 4f Novice Handicap on the Tuesday

Ditto. Same connections have Presenting Percy for Pertemps 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Just Cameron in the grand annual, has run respectably in the last 2 champ chases
    i like that horse but if he wins today hell be on a high mark.

aidankkk wrote: »
    i like that horse but if he wins today hell be on a high mark.

he put in a great performance and won .. not sure what to think he'll be about 155 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Ivanovich Gorbatov wouldn't win the County off his mark in a million years, the fact he's a bit of a hound doesn't help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

lemush wrote: »
    Ivanovich Gorbatov wouldn't win the County off his mark in a million years, the fact he's a bit of a hound doesn't help either.

I wouldn't be surprised if he turned up in the Champion Hurdle if the Mullins big-guns don't turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Heartbreak City, 14/1 Coral Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Vyta Du Roc. Down to a dangerous mark of 139.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Vyta Du Roc. Down to a dangerous mark of 139.

That was well backed for the Hennessy too

Think he ran off 145 in the Hennessy and wasnt beaten far. Few sketchy jumps put in irrc. Wasnt beaten far in last seasons RSA either.

Phil Smith's on ATR doing another ask the handicapper show this morning, i'm not a massive fan of his or hir reasoning behind some marks but fair play to him for going on and answering questions rather than hiding behind his computer.

His arrogance is the reason why he can pluck marks from thin air and still go on that show. He enjoys playing God and that show is his stage.

His arrogance is the reason why he can pluck marks from thin air and still go on that show. He enjoys playing God and that seems to revel in trying to outsmart Champman and those who question his work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Anyone know if Phil Smith is arrogant?

Johner wrote: »
    Anyone know if Phil Smith is arrogant?

:D:D

Hargam is another one sky rocketing down the ratings. Although owners aren't known for a plot job!!!!

Anyone with half a brain can see why hes handicapping the likes of elliots mege fortune, he doesnt want the piss taken out of him Elliot is known for it so dont blame him.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Anyone with half a brain can see why hes handicapping the likes of elliots mege fortune, he doesnt want the piss taken out of him Elliot is known for it so dont blame him.

So is that what handicapping is meant to be? Pick a trainer and adjust a rating accordingly? :rolleyes:

With crooks like Elliot I support that stance tbh, might not be a popular opinion but I support it.

I'd definitely not have Elliott down as a "crook" as you like to put it, sure he's excellent at plotting them up and runs horses in unsuitable races to get a mark but unlike some others it's very rare if ever i'd see one of his and think that's blatantly being stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Mall Dini has had some nice spins around. 20s for the 3m 1f novice handicap chase on the first day.

Sit tight, that Loonatic Phil Smith could go one of 2 ways, give him a measly rating that will leave the horse too low to get in (wouldn't really blame him for that) or could give him a ridiculously high mark based on last years hurdle win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Custom Cut

Sit tight, that Loonatic Phil Smith could go one of 2 ways, give him a measly rating that will leave the horse too low to get in (wouldn't really blame him for that) or could give him a ridiculously high mark based on last years hurdle win.

He won't be getting a low mark anyway as the form of his chase debut is pretty good. He probably went up to something like 146 over hurdles after the win last year and I'd say that's more or less the chase mark he'll get.

Custom Cut wrote: »
    He won't be getting a low mark anyway as the form of his chase debut is pretty good. He probably went up to something like 146 over hurdles after the win last year and I'd say that's more or less the chase mark he'll get.

Wouldn't put anything past him, 150's possible, i'd forgotten the run behind Coney island and Willies horse, yeah it'd take some explaining if he got a measly rating after being in as close proximity to CI in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Custom Cut wrote: »

Id say thats realistic, and I would make him Nap material if he's close to 20s off 146.

He's one I've had my eye on too Johner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Hargam is another one sky rocketing down the ratings. Although owners aren't known for a plot job!!!!

Absolute dog that horse imo

Everyone and their mother has spotted Maldini will be massively underpriced in a handicap now I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Maldini Was broadcast on final furlong podcast yesterday along with a few others.

Just do him any race 14/1 lads with Hills. He could go 4 miler, Ultima or Kim Muir. That 14/1 allows eachway too.

Champers on Ice if he goes for the 3 mile handicap chase. Nowhere near ready today and flew home over a trip which is way too sharp for him.

Nice form boost for Might bite there.

Old Guard ran a nice race yesterday. He'll be close in whatever handicap he runs in at the festival. Coral Cup looks the best option for me . I think he will be of about 149 of which Diamond King won last year. He is certainly a better horse on his best form. Ill be waiting till nrnb on those handicaps and having a bet on each one he is entered in.

Holywell was a joy to watch yesterday, pushed along after the 2nd and tailed off with about a mile to go. Maybe dropped a couple of lb to a mark of 150 (3lbs lower than last year) and off he goes to the 3m handicap on the Tuesday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Gamebred wrote: »
    Nice form boost for Might bite there.

Seen a quote somewhere where they said he may skip Cheltenham as they wont get a prep in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭dave81

Champers on Ice is IMO laid out for 3 mile chase. He was only running yesterday to drive down the mark I reckon. He stayed on well in Warwick behind American @ 3 miles. If he gets any half decent weight (he will still be near the top weight) he won't be beaten. A very, very strong chance for a lightly raced horse with course experience, and just shy of top class (at 3+ miles). He will win a few big races but he needs 3 miles at the very least to look any way decent.

dave81 wrote:
    Champers on Ice is IMO laid out for 3 mile chase. He was only running yesterday to drive down the mark I reckon. He stayed on well in Warwick behind American @ 3 miles. If he gets any half decent weight (he will still be near the top weight) he won't be beaten. A very, very strong chance for a lightly raced horse with course experience, and just shy of top class (at 3+ miles). He will win a few big races but he needs 3 miles at the very least to look any way decent.

Fancy him but thinking 3 mile may be even on short side for him.

Posted already about Champers on Ice. 3 miles is fine for him even on good ground. Hes a 150+ rated animal over hurdles imo (only beaten 3 lengths in last seasons neptune by Unowhatimeanharry whos now hot fav for the world hurdle) and should be on a mark of around 140 after Saturdays spin. He has about a stone in hand on his very best form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Posted already about Champers on Ice. 3 miles is fine for him even on good ground. Hes a 150+ rated animal over hurdles imo (only beaten 3 lengths in last seasons neptune by Unowhatimeanharry whos now hot fav for the world hurdle) and should be on a mark of around 140 after Saturdays spin. He has about a stone in hand on his very best form.

I see Powers are going 20's for the National Hunt Chase