Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you borrow it , probably comes home broken .

• 13-01-2017 1:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭

We have a policy of not lending out thing or not borrowing stuff any more because if we loan it in , it brakes or if we loan it out it comes back broken .
    Some guys would shock you .if I break something belonging to someone , I will repair it but will be kicking my ass .
    Once I loaned my dehorning crate and gas to a neighbour .months later in the pub a friend in conversion asked whos dehorning my calves .I do it my self .why don't you get john x to for you., he's really cheap .
    Shock horror .my gear out around the county and my gas drum empty .

John x for hire . Tool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

Any time a neighbour asks to borrow something I ask can I get a loan of their wife. That clears them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭oneten

Any time a neighbour asks to borrow something I ask can I get a loan of their wife. That clears them.

Have you an agitator ?
    Where are you based ?
    We can work out a deal.
    She's good for stirring sh1t , just can't get her in the bloody tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

"Neither a borrower nor a lender be" problem sorted. Only thing thats ever lent out here is the cow lifter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    "Neither a borrower nor a lender be" problem sorted. Only thing thats ever lent out here is the cow lifter

I got 2 or 3 neighbours and we happily borrow and lend the whole time to each other. I certainly don't fancy going out and spending 10/20k for stuff I'll only use 2 or 3times a year. Obviously we try not to take the piss, it's certainly not in any of our interests to hand back something broken and have the other neighbour tell us to fook off in future ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Loaned out a silage trailer . Few days later he came to borrow spare wheel for it .
    When he returned the trailer there it was , the burst open tyre in the back .
    Never to get it again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

3 neighbours here, no bother lending to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Your neighbours must all have lovely wives :)

3 neighbours here, no bother lending to each other.
    We used to have a lad would "borrow" loads of things all would come back broken, would have to go to his yard to get things back and then we'd see other things he had "borrowed" without asking for them. They used to send the young lad up to ask for things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

2 neighbours here with one in particular with which stuff goes back and forth all the time. Our spinner does both farms and he has a tanker I don't so any few loads outside of the contractor we work away with that. Dad helped them out when much more serious things than borrowing stuff was happening and they did the same here, won't ever be getting upset about a flat tyre anyway when there are a lot more important things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

"Can I have a lend of your chainsaw"?

"Will you lend me someone to fix it"?

Answer a question with a question must have originated in Kerry

Used to borrow the cousins hay bob.and called to get it .was told it was loaned to x farmer , when round there to be told he lent it on to y farmer .called round there to see new hay bob in yard .Looked down the land to see the lad turning away with our one . Went down said hey Johnny what the fcuk , you have a brand new one in the yard and I have travelled the county today to get ours back .
    Tis too rough for mine .
    No wonder kerry cow is gone crazy

ford2600 wrote: »
    "Can I have a lend of your chainsaw"?

"Will you lend me someone to fix it"?

Answer a question with a question must have originated in Kerry
    Someone asked to borrow my father's chainsaw.
    The neighbor wouldn't have been the best with machines or health and safety so my father offered to do the job for him.
    My father ended up in court many years later as a witness in a boundary dispute because of it.
    Nothing came out of the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I lent out my haybob to a neighbor last year, told him that it had a flat tyre and was welcome to it if he wanted to go to the trouble of fixing it. When it came back he had not just mended the wheel but replaced several tines AND straightened a bit that I bent a couple of years ago. Now that's the kind of lad who will have no bother getting anything of mine - especially if its something I've already damaged myself!!

KatyMac wrote:
    I lent out my haybob to a neighbor last year, told him that it had a flat tyre and was welcome to it if he wanted to go to the trouble of fixing it. When it came back he had not just mended the wheel but replaced several tines AND straightened a bit that I bent a couple of years ago. Now that's the kind of lad who will have no bother getting anything of mine - especially if its something I've already damaged myself!!

Yes have had those good neighbour too .rare as hens teeth .I suppose that's how I would operate and that what then pisses me about the bad ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I'd never lend a chainsaw to anyone. They're too bloody dangerous in the wrong hands. If they knew how to use it then, you'd have to ask what's wrong with their own and why is it out of action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Lent wee single axle trailer to a neighbour who had gotten the offer of timber, came back with both wheels flat needing two new tyres and tubes, he said tyres must have been bad.

Another guy borrowed the builders trailer once for same purpose, when I needed it it was sitting at his garage door full to the gills of rings. Pushed it across the yard as far away from garage as possible to where his wife parked her car and threw out all the rings - he was mad as hell having to narrow them back across the yard to the garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

Considers several non politically correct replies......

Sam Kade wrote: »

They have lovely bottoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You are right. Why would a lad bring that on themselves!? Get it hard to get on with their own sometimes!

'Well happy new year to everyone and peace to all mankind..........except if you want to borrow something then you can f**k right off' seems to be the message! :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

whelan2 wrote: »
    "Neither a borrower nor a lender be" problem sorted

Full quote here

Give thy thoughts no tongue,
    Nor any unproportion'd thought his act.
    Be thou familiar, but by no means vulgar.
    Those friends thou hast, and their adoption tried,
    Grapple them to thy soul with hoops of steel;
    But do not dull thy palm with entertainment
    Of each new-hatch'd, unfledged comrade. Beware
    Of entrance to a quarrel; but being in,
    Bear't that the opposed may beware of thee.
    Give every man thy ear, but few thy voice;
    Take each man's censure, but reserve thy judgment.
    Costly thy habit as thy purse can buy,
    But not express'd in fancy; rich, not gaudy;
    For the apparel oft proclaims the man,
    And they in France of the best rank and station
    Are of a most select and generous, chief in that.
    Neither a borrower nor a lender be;
    For loan oft loses both itself and friend,
    And borrowing dulls the edge of husbandry.
    This above all: to thine own self be true,
    And it must follow, as the night the day,
    Thou canst not then be false to any man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Very lucky around here will happily lend and borrow off a few neighbours.

We lent our cattle trailer to a lad and one of the wheels went flat when he was driving back to his own yard.
    I saw the tyre the week before in the yard and knew the wheel needed replacing I just didn't get around to it.

The lad that borrowed it brought it to tyre centre and was told couldn't be fixed, so he bought a new tyres for the trailer.

Under no circumstances would he take money for the tyre as he said he was using it whe n it happened.
    For all the horror stories on here most people are very decent , I never mind lending gear, you never know the day you will need a dig out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

kerry cow wrote: »
    We have a policy of not lending out thing or not borrowing stuff any more because if we loan it in , it brakes or if we loan it out it comes back broken .
    Some guys would shock you .if I break something belonging to someone , I will repair it but will be kicking my ass .
    Once I loaned my dehorning crate and gas to a neighbour .months later in the pub a friend in conversion asked whos dehorning my calves .I do it my self .why don't you get john x to for you., he's really cheap .
    Shock horror .my gear out around the county and my gas drum empty .

John x for hire . Tool

similar story with us, well over 20 years ago. loaned a guy a hay bob then he went contracting with it. It was returned with one of the spools buckled.

we only loan the very odd thing out to one or two people, but its rare. some people would break iron, and have no respect for machines.

It's very simple, let me explain. The fella who does the borrowing has nothing because he can't keep nothing. A rough operator, bend a crowbar in a bog those fellas.
    The diesel Avensis fella with a 50 year old home made single axle trailor with 2 bald perished tyres, broken lights and the wiring scraping along the ground.

It's a bit like when you have ever thing you can look in the shed and you have nothing .sure there's fellas around here who buy nothing but borrow everything .why would you buy anything when you can borrow it .makes steam ahead come out my ears .It ok lads I have learned to cope .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Used to borrow the cousins hay bob.and called to get it .was told it was loaned to x farmer , when round there to be told he lent it on to y farmer .called round there to see new hay bob in yard .Looked down the land to see the lad turning away with our one . Went down said hey Johnny what the fcuk , you have a brand new one in the yard and I have travelled the county today to get ours back .
    Tis too rough for mine .
    No wonder kerry cow is gone crazy

In this story - you are the person borrowing... :)

So was the fact you went to borrow something, and it wasnt there for you to borrow that drove you over the edge? ;)

So was the fact you went to borrow something, and it wasnt there for you to borrow that drove you over the edge?

In this story - you are the person borrowing...

Yes I swap with my first cousin only .and the fact that some one borrowed a haybob that I partly own and then lends it on to someone else .yes I was pissed

It's a bit like when you have ever thing you can look in the shed and you have nothing .sure there's fellas around here who buy nothing but borrow everything .why would you buy anything when you can borrow it .makes steam ahead come out my ears .It ok lads I have learned to cope .
    Some fcukers are brazen out when they borrow things and bring them back in sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I lent the tractor to a neighbour recently and got it back with a broken light. I said it to young lad that returned it and heard nothing since. Pissed me off big time. Now it's not the money, just the principle of it.

It's called respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Don't borrow nor lend around here but rarely off one man. A stock trailer once a year maybe if ours is out of action for one reason or another. Try to have our own gear where possible or hire in. If someone wants to borrow something, I make it clear I don't lend but I'll go with the machine for a fair fee. I'm the type that will wash the tractor on a Sunday and put in a new air freshener etc etc.
    Was partly the reason I got rid of an excavator some time ago, lads wanting it on self drive and the "loan of it" for a few days.
    Lent a chainsaw to a relative once and it came home bucked, straight petrol and piston scored and seized. I keep that ****ty little yoke now to lend that doesn't start.

I often notice the lads borrowing can be better off than myself. I've thousands upon thousands invested in my own tools and equipment for my own comfort and these miserable besterds expect them for nothing lol

Gave a lend of a calf trailer to a woman who bought calves off me years ago. Shortly after she was diagnosed with cancer. She died and my trailer is in her yard 3 years.

Muckit wrote: »
    It's called respect.

What's that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

It's very simple, let me explain. The fella who does the borrowing has nothing because he can't keep nothing. A rough operator, bend a crowbar in a bog those fellas. The diesel Avensis fella with a 50 year old home made single axle trailor with 2 bald perished tyres, broken lights and the wiring scraping along the ground.

My brother-in-law to a T. Can't look after his own stuff, used to borrow mine and once I'd chase him up to get it back would find it in pieces. No respect, the mind boggles as to their thinking.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

You have to know the person. Some are good and others not just as good but I'd try to help out anyone within reason, it's a short life and anyone that comes to me usually has helped me in times gone past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i have a rule if i need to borrow something more than once then i need to buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Couple of good neighbours that I would lend anything to no problem.

Local tool shop told me one day a guy walks in looking to buy a 38 socket .His yoke broken down out the road . Shop had no 38 to sell but had a set with one in it . Told the guy he would give him the lone of it, but PLEASE DON'T CATCH ME he says .
    Took the socket Never seen again .
    Now he has a set to sell with no 38 .
    Said will never help anyone again regardless .

Local tool shop told me one day a guy walks in looking to buy a 38 socket .His yoke broken down out the road . Shop had no 38 to sell but had a set with one in it . Told the guy he would give him the lone of it, but PLEASE DON'T CATCH ME he says .
    Took the socket Never seen again .
    Now he has a set to sell with no 38 .
    Said will never help anyone again regardless .
    I was working with a farmer a few years ago, ploughing rented ground. A bolt loosened in the steering and made sh1te of the hydraulic hose to the steering. I had to do a field repair with what tools I had (MacGyver job). I got the hose repaired at a local engineer, I was missing an allen socket to put the bolt back on and I begged the repair man to give me a loan of his which he did fair dues. When I finished up that evening I told the farmer whatever you do take back the socket as I promised him I would return it. About a month later I was spreading fertilizer for the same farmer and there was the socket in the tool box :mad:

But surely twas on you to return it? Twas you borrowed it...

I know you told the farmer to do it, but still...

Did you return when you found it after the month?

But surely twas on you to return it? Twas you borrowed it...

I know you told the farmer to do it, but still...

Did you return when you found it after the month?
    Why would you think it was my place to return it, ? I was working for the farmer and informed him to return it, which I assumed he would, could you get any fairer than that? I spent enough time and petrol getting the repair done in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Works grand here with 3 different neighbours. They'd borrow the cattle box or stake driver whenever they need it or the tipper trailer no problem. One lad asked if he could borrow the baler one time. I quickly told him where he could go. On the other had we might borrow a dump trailer or harrie once or twice a year off a neighbour. Hire the dung spreader off the cousin as I do a good bit of hire work for him. I prefer to hire a bit of machinery off someone rather than borrow it as if something does go wrong due to wear and tear you can sort it out easily enough rather than footing a missive bill due to someone elses fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

My grandmother used to say "lend your a**e and s**t through your ribs"
    Apt here.

Why would you think it was my place to return it, ? I was working for the farmer and informed him to return it, which I assumed he would, could you get any fairer than that? I spent enough time and petrol getting the repair done in the first place.

Because you said 'l' a lot in your post...

I got the hose repaired
    I was missing an allen socket
    I begged the repair man to give me a loan of his
    I promised him
    I would return it

So I would have thought it was on you to return what you had borrowed...

Because you said 'l' a lot in your post...

I got the hose repaired
    I was missing an allen socket
    I begged the repair man to give me a loan of his
    I promised him
    I would return it

So I would have thought it was on you to return what you had borrowed...
    Silly me what a bollocks I am I should have returned it :( I get all my own repairs done with the same man from that time I got the socket but he never recognised me since :) I guess he gained more than he lost, still I put my trust in the farmer to return it.

But you borrowed something, and then trusted someone else to return it...

I would have thought you should have returned it yourself...

But it's great that you made a friend, that's a beautiful heart warming twist to the story ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Mod note.. Right lads, back on topic, please and thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

colm_mcm wrote: »
    My grandmother used to say "lend your a**e and s**t through your ribs"
    Apt here.

Your granny must have been some craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Are any of ye following the farmers journal on snapchat? One of their reporter's is out in France visiting a farmer owned machinery co op between I think 40-50 farmers. It'd be interesting to see how it works

The French spend half the day in bed and the other half on the wine so what work they do in the day is very little.