Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been fired?

• 12-01-2017 11:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30

In my late teens, I did the overnight shift at a 24hr garage. It was fairly dead most nights so used to hook up the PS2 to the tv behind the till for cctv. Boss caught me one evening and fecked ye out the door.
    Anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^

mean boss, no sense of fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I got the overnight shift once and was kicked out at 5 am in the morning, and it was snowing. You always remember the one's that didn't go well.

In my late teens, I did the overnight shift at a 24hr garage. It was fairly dead most nights so used to hook up the PS2 to the tv behind the till for cctv. Boss caught me one evening and fecked ye out the door.
    Anyone else?

I hate people (bosses) like that. What was the harm.

Why would you be expected to stare at an empty shop for hours on end. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why would you be expected to stare at an empty shop for hours on end. :rolleyes:

"If you're leaning you should be cleaning."

Always work to be done in a garage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 OxfordColours

Worked as a cleaner for an airline. I used to get pissed off with lads throwing left-behind passports in the bin, or taking cash from a wallet (and then binned). Or people smoking in the planes even though they were airside. Reported it twice, day after the second time I was told that maybe I'd find something more suitable elsewhere.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

He used the CCTV monitor to play PS2. Do you really not see how a boss might not be too happy about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Got fired from a high class Bureau De Change in London back in the 90's. Everyone got fired though because Mr Hennerty was a bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I was a human cannonball in a circus. Got fired from that more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Red Kev wrote: »
    I was a human cannonball in a circus. Got fired from that more than once.

Boom boom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Got fired from a high class Bureau De Change in London back in the 90's. Everyone got fired though because Mr Hennerty was a bastard.

You were treating the place like some two-bit nipple peep show in Rio de Janiero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭wistfuleyes

Yes I have. Worked in retail and made a huge error on an order. Got me fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Got fired from my first two part time jobs as a teenager.

Job 1. Lounge boy. Dress code was the same as the barmen. Black slacks, white shirt. Only difference was that they wore a black tie. Lounge staff had to wear a dickie bow. Endacl ain't wearin' no dickie bow no way for nobody! Got away with it for the first two or three shifts. Wasn't rostered in after that...

Job 2. Kitchen porter in a (at the time) fairly well-regarded restaurant. Threw a frying pan at a chef, and then got into a fight with him. No score draw. In fairness, he was a fully grown man, and I was a skinny 16 year old. Context: As anybody who's ever worked in kitchens will confirm, there's always one cnut. Right, the story.... A main function of a KP is to keep the pots pans and utensils washed and ready to go for the chefs. As a courtesy, if a hot pan, right off the gas, is being fired down for washing, the chef will shout 'hot'. Just to let the KP know. Common courtesy, right? You can can use a cloth to pick it up, etc. Avoid unnecessary burns an' all that... Our KC (kitchen cnut) would sometimes shout 'hot'. Sometimes not. Irrespective of whether the pan was hot or not. And stand there with a big cheesy grin to see the reaction. Sometime during my second week I picked up a scalding hot frying pan, burned the hand off myself, saw red, and flung it at him catching the side of his head.

I wasn't asked back. Not sure what happened the KC. T'was a long time ago. He's probably retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Ive been working since I was 10 years old. I'm 54 now. Ive never been fired. Ive always tried to do the best I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,610 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

15/16 years ago a very young and silly me was working for a family run business. Millionaires but absolutely tight beyond belief with their money... I had a job where I would be out helping a truck driver from 6am until 10-12pm at night so i couldn't clock in like regular workers so I was paid a basic 8 hours min wage for my 16 hour days...Sometimes not even getting paid for Saturday's. The weeks were VERY long and the pay was basic.

I brought it up with the owner a few times and was assured I'd be back payed. I just wasn't getting paid because I couldnt physically clock in and out when the factory was closed but he was making a note of how much I was owed.

After many months and multiple visits to the owner I wanted to know where my money was and asked owner again ...And he denied I was owed anything and basically piss off. He told me the clock in machine says 8 hours so that's what I'm getting...

Owed thousands and being young and stupid I decided the only way I was getting my money was by being a bollocks back to the owner so I plonked myself in his seat and refused to leave. After a few hours of awkwardness I ended up getting a few hundred off the owner in petty cash and on the way out he lost two of his doors which suddenly and without explanation got smashed and fell from where they were hanging in his office.

P45 two weeks later.

Peregrine wrote: »
    He used the CCTV monitor to play PS2. Do you really not see how a boss might not be too happy about that?

Not really. If the CCTV is still recording, but he just can't view it, then so what?

Be a different story if he completely killed the CCTV system just to play Crash Bandicoot, but it doesnt sound like that is what he was at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Never been fired unless you count being made redundant. Never quit a job either. Literally every place I've ever worked has closed down. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

When I was 17 I got fired from a retail job. I was put working on the till and at the time I was an extremely shy teenager who had zero confidence. The fear and overthinking of interacting with random people and not messing up on the till caused me to mess up on the till! They had to fire me and even at the time I knew it was well deserved.

The only thing I will say tho is the main manager of the store was a right rude dick to staff members. But he got another manager to fire me as I asked "this is coming from XXXX, right?" and they said yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I worked in a Delhi in a supermarket years ago. One night after cleaning the whole place I left one of the fridges open with all the meat inside.
    I got a phone call not to come back as they had to throw everything out as a precaution. I hated the job anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Never fired....though did storm outta a job after a massive bust up

Never came againest me luckily enough as they were well known to be dicks to work for (found this out after) and at an interview....the boss in my next job all he said was im suprised you lasted so long there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Made redundant once - it was in the US. All very clinical, like a mafia hit!!!

I arrived into the office one morning and security had a message for me to go see my boss who was in one of the ground floor meeting rooms. Walked in thinking it was some on-the-fly, last minute client meeting to be met with him and a couple of other suits.

Got the spiel about the organisation making changes, different direction, my skillset not optimal.....blah, blah blah, then handed a cheque (which was, to be fair, for a generous amount), a letter reminding me of the "no discussion" and "non-compete" clauses in my contract and box of my personal stuff cleared from my desk.

15 minutes after walking into the building and wondering whose turn it was for the coffee run I was back outside with a box, a letter, a cheque and no job!

Helpfully, the security guard told me which bar everyone else had gone to!

The other mad thing was the boss was also getting canned, he knew it but he still had to go through and fire everyone else first before getting turfed out himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I worked in a Delhi in a supermarket years ago. One night after cleaning the whole place I left one of the fridges open with all the meat inside.
    I got a phone call not to come back as they had to throw everything out as a precaution. I hated the job anyway

Probably a good move - that would have been some commute for you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,773 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I worked for a cowboy in uni. The kind of fella who would be late with pay and hope you'd get desperate enough to accept less than your owed. Everyone was on minimum wage and He switched from weekly to monthly payment for exactly that reason.

He and the manager were on holiday so I stepped up and did a load of work that had been piling up, spent loads of time getting things right -getting people on the system, making them do their e training and did a stock take and itinerary of what was needed to do the job properly.

He came back with a story about how the business was in trouble and he was being taken over. He must have forgotten that he had been bragging about this deal to me for months in the lead up.

So he delayed our month's payment for 3 weeks, so everyone was waiting 7 weeks since last payday, always promising he would be in tomorrow, tomorrow. When he arrived, he called everyone into his office one by one and asked how much we thought we were owed, and how much would we settle for. Most people said somewhere from 60-80%.

One of the lads called me from the other shop to tell me what he was doing. So when it was my turn I greeted him with a big smile before he got to give his speech about how the business was failing and said I was delighted that he had come to pay me the agreed rate for all the hours worked. I told him the amount and he went mental! Called me every name under the sun, told me I wouldn't be invited back if I wasn't a team player, willing to chip in to save the business.

I just told him the amount that I would accept and he took out a wad of cash and put my pay on the table and told me that if I took it I'd be finished. I took it, counted it in front of him and said "thanks" and offered a handshake. He went spare and ranted a bit.

I left knowing I was finishing in uni in a little over a month so I had to concentrate on finishing uni work anyway.

The best bit was that on the way home I found 20 quid on the ground!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Funnily enough the only time I nearly got fired wasn't even my fault. Crazy supervisor woman when training me in, told me that I shouldn't do a specific task because it was a bit complicated. A few weeks later I get chewed up because it hadn't been done one day and it put the company at risk of thousands of quid worth of fines. Crazy supervisor asked for me to be let go, but the management told her to cop on. And then I still had to work with her for another year. She was some bitch.

In my younger years though I did plenty of things in part-time jobs that would have gotten me fired if anyone found out. Brought a pile of mates back to the office to continue drinking one night after all the pubs had closed. Which moved to the roof in the end before we left. Spent most of the employment breaking/guessing admin passwords so that I could get internet access and download stuff through the "huge" (in 2002) 2mb line that the company used for mission-critical services. I also snooped on my bosses' emails in that job because I could.

Somehow though I didn't get fired. Some of the stuff other staff were getting up to was worse :D

I'm a much more straight-laced employee nowadays, luckily never been fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Tec Diver

I got made redundant in September 2015, does that count?
    After three plus years on the IT Security team I had trained in a few new hires located in the far east. Once they were trained up, and two weeks short of 10 years with the company I was let go, by phone call too.
    The good news, is that I started my own company and ended up being offered a better full time job, which I'm still in today (so far). :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

All bar 3 jobs I've ever had I was fired.

Started Working for the first time in 2001.

I've worked in 2001,2003 to 2008 & 2012 to 2016

In 2016 I was fired from 2 jobs,quit 2 jobs.

Longest job I've ever held down was 21 months and was only spared the sack on multiple occasions by the trade union.

Not proud of it but I've been described as "not being a people person"

Have a job offer on the table now as of yesterday, only thing alarming the potential new employer is "you don't tend to stay very long in jobs"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Have been let go in my early years, but for the most part of my life I worked for myself, And as I did **** that up I kinda fired myself.

Me to Me , your fired get your lazy drunken ass outa here, Me, what did I do....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

Ive been working since I was 10 years old. I'm 54 now. Ive never been fired. Ive always tried to do the best I can.

Working at what? Professional arse kisser?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

Back in '94 I quit a job, breaking two office windows on the way out by flinging stuff through them. If I'd come back, I would definitely have been fired.

Was made redundant 14 years ago, along with almost everyone else who worked at that location. Was treated well at the time, with a good payout.

Nine years ago I was in a job that I hated with a boss that I despised. Was looking to move, but I wasn't putting enough effort in and nothing was happening. So I decided to take the piss. Screwed up things for clients, slacked off big time.

Nothing happened. So I upped my game, falsifying records, submitting false sales leads (I didn't work in Sales, so I didn't make any money out of them), closing customer cases and sending emails with pictures around to people. I eventually got a verbal warning and I was working out what to do next when they found the false stuff and then there was an investigation. I admitted to the whole lot and they fired me. Took almost a month though.

So I got to go home to the missus with a story that was better than saying I quit and I wasn't disqualified from claiming the dole. It was the best that I could do.

Have done lots of other stuff when I was younger that should have resulted in some form of action, but apologised and got on with it. I've always been good at what I'm doing, as long as I'm able to tolerate it. There was never any malice, just stupidity. I've grown up a bit since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Hana98

I was fired by a reputable place because I asked for the employee's tax number so I wouldn't be put on emergency tax. They wouldn't give it to me and I was fired for persisting with getting it. I know it wasn't cash in hand because another employee said he was on emergency tax for ages. I got a better job anyway. So I'm sort of glad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

In my first job as a waitress (17/18) I got fired on my third day for not being "yuppy" enough. Whatever that means. Pretty appalling looking back as they really didn't give me a fair shot. At the time I was completely crushed though :( A few weeks later I got another job in a different hotel which I really liked (free food, young staff, nice bosses) so it probably worked out for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I was never fired , got let go a few times over the years always from just a general downturn in work.

Except for one time , I was let go for being " too old " at 25.

That would be fine if I was a pole dancer or stripper , but no I was an alarm engineer.

I lauged in the "gob****es" face that I worked for , walked out the door ,rang a friend on an office phone about a position , started working the following week and stayed working with that employer for 14 years.
    I also left the company van outside my house and posted the keys back to him a week later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Think I've been sacked from every job I've had.

My proudest achievement is getting sacked from the same job 4 times in 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Me no but I know a guy who has been sacked from the same pub 3 times for coming in drunk. They keep taking him back when he promises to go on the dry but it only takes him a few weeks to mess up again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

I got fired from a popular Grafton st clothes shop after 4 days.

I hate being asked if I'm ok with sizes in a shop so I tended not to do that to people which didn't go down well. I was also seeing a new girl at the time so was always out the back texting. He called me in and told me that "I wasn't gel-ling well" with the team so I wasn't going to be kept on. I got on great with everyone apart from him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Christy Moore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Got fired from 1 job, Burgerking. I was in college circa 2002 towards the end of the academic year, and it was a 10 minute walk to BK. Used to go there all the time, savage burgers for a fast food joint. Anyway, i got a job, had a few weeks under my belt. Everything was going fine, free food, minimum wages which was better than nothing. Anyway, my best friend from school had to repeat the leaving due to failing maths (in fairness, the teacher was so **** that i used to complete the questions for him). So my friend passed the second time round, and i went to the pub for a few with him. Queue 6 hours later, falling out of the pub rat-arsed at 12.30am. Got a lift home but decided to raid the parents drink cabinet and took a full bottle of Jameson. Decided to drink it while walking up the road to meet my then-missus. Met her half way up the road, walked back to mine with the friend and herself, finished the bottle of Jameson and fell asleep with my head in the fireplace (no fire).

Queue being woke up at 07.30 by the mother to bring me into work. I was only asleep a few hours at that stage, so i was still langers. She made me drink coffee (which i detest), made me shower as the soot for the fireplace was all up the right side of my face. I remember just looking into the water for about 15 minutes. Got out and i was still covered in soot. Managed to convince the mother to not let me go to work. Was fired the following day. I was honest, told the manager why i didn't come in as i was unexpectedly drunk. Everything was civil. She asked if i wanted to work the rest of the day, i declined, took about €60 worth of food out to my brother and his family who came in to collect me. Last freebie from Burgerking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

In my first job as a waitress (17/18) I got fired on my third day for not being "yuppy" enough. Whatever that means.

not enough pieces of flair I'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I was made redundant in 1999 and spent a few weeks on the scratcher. I was just as happy, to be perfectly straight with you. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

loyatemu wrote: »
    not enough pieces of flair I'd guess.

I had to google what this meant... :o

I once had a waiter ask me "how are the first few bites" literally after I took my first bite. Like why?! So if that is yuppiness I want no part of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Yup I've been fired at least 4 times. Even managed to get fired by the government. Turned out I had bad depression for years and never noticed. Now I swallow a pill a day and I'm fine and earning the most money I've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭chrissb8

"If you're leaning you should be cleaning."

Always work to be done in a garage.

It's a finite space with only a number of jobs. I can't imagine with no customers coming in there would be little more to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Got the bullet a couple of times, most memorable was when I was working on a large building site for a Well known house Builder, there were 2 foremen, one was a gentleman, the other was an obnoxious príck, anyway after months of fighting with him over the most ridiculous of things, I was working one monday morning, sick as a dog from the gargle and he started at me again, so I lumped him one, he got up and the 2 of us had a bit of a go-to, as you do, the other foreman had to stop us from battering each other, I was then told my aptitude for the job was all wrong and not to come back, got offered a job the next day and had no regrets about anything. Did enjoy thumping him though

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭davo2001

uch wrote: »
    Got the bullet a couple of times, most memorable was when I was working on a large building site for a Well known house Builder, there were 2 foremen, one was a gentleman, the other was an obnoxious príck, anyway after months of fighting with him over the most ridiculous of things, I was working one monday morning, sick as a dog from the gargle and he started at me again, so I lumped him one, he got up and the 2 of us had a bit of a go-to, as you do, the other foreman had to stop us from battering each other, I was then told my aptitude for the job was all wrong and not to come back, got offered a job the next day and had no regrets about anything. Did enjoy thumping him though

Sounds like you 100% deserved it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Jawgap wrote: »
    Probably a good move - that would have been some commute for you :D

Haha I can't spell I'll admit it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

many years ago, when i was just 18, I worked in a local fast food place. styled after mcdonalds but nowhere near as big. Started on 3 shifts per week but was a hard worker so went up to 5 pretty quick.
    They had a system where you would get one weekend off per month, notified in advance so you could plan a night out etc. This meant no shift friday,saturday or sunday.
    For 5 months I did not get my weekend off, each time a particular person would phone in with a stupid excuse to avoid her weekend shift. Finally at the start of march the boss swore to me I would be off the next weekend no matter what. I made my plans, then got a call at 7pm on a saturday to ask could I come in, she had phoned in sick again.
    So boss told me I would deffo have the next weekend off, despite it being st patricks weekend. Rota goes up on thursday evening and am working saturday night. What was worse was the other girl was on the shift but tippexed it out and put me in instead. I went to boss and she said I had to work it.
    I pointed out the lack of weekend off, the fact that other girl never worked a single weekend shift in 6 months and the fact she had something like 3 aunties,3 grandfathers,2 grandmothers and a cat die in those 6 months.
    Was given the choice, show up or be sacked....I went to the pub lol.

The thing is that I was very,very popular with the supervisors, so I got a staff discount everytime I went in there for the next ten years. I see that old boss sometimes working in a local hardware store as a checkout girl. She changed jobs and thought she would climb the ladder in the new place. Shame my aunt works there as her boss....karma's a bitch.

as for the girl who kept ringing in to avoid work, they ended up sacking her a few weeks later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I worked in a phone shop in a dead part of town where you would be lucky to see a customer once a week. The owner arrived unannounced one day and caught me playing solitaire plus I ignored his existence!

P45......:P

He actually died the week after come to think of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

There are quite a few "needless to say, I had the last laugh" stories in this thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Yes once, was working in a Restaurant during my school days. I would work Sat/Sun then during the summer usually 4 or 5 days a week. Was there about probably 4 years without any problems, decent working environment, people got along.

A new restaurant opened up the road and it pretty much killed the business, day in and day out there was nothing to do, constantly just cleaning without any busy periods. I made it known I wasn't happy with what I was doing and told the owners straight up there was no work to be done. It was kind of a build up of denial on all our parts.

They told me not to come back and I didn't. My pop went in the next day and had some words, there was often days when it used to be busy I wouldn't get any breaks at all, and the pay was really bad. I was being paid cash in hand.

Couple of months later they closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Never fired, made redundant twice from the same company that I am back with now, and been let go from a casual job shortly before it went into receivership.
    Ive been lucky cause I've caused 1 company I've worked for a hell of a lot down to stupid mistakes but they never really got to bothered by it.