Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burn a fiver a day

• 12-01-2017 2:16pm
    Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭

A mate of mine has started burning a five euro note every day as a rejection of the capitalist system. He's always on at me and the lads to join in and reckons if the country did this for a few months things would change.

I think he is insane. Is what he is doing illegal? Could the gardai stop this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Spoof thread Im sure....

But destroying legal tender is very much illegal.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'd be more impressed if he smelted a 2 euro coin every day.

• Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭Mr Whom

ED E wrote: »
    Spoof thread Im sure....

Well nothing spoof about it. I think he's a nutcase but people do what people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Give it to me and I'll promise to burn it for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Mr Whom wrote:

Are you thinking of reporting it? If it's real then he's a bit of a gob****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

Why doesn't he put it in a blunt and smoke it with homies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

my mate Dave...

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Jodotman wrote: »
    Why doesn't he put it in a blunt and smoke it with homies

Rather give it to the homeless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'd be more impressed if he smelted a 2 euro coin every day.

Smelt it into grape shot, buy muskets, overthrow government in a coup, make all the good changes and end capitalism, realize that running a country is not that easy, become dictator, get overthrown by the Haely Rae's, Ireland becomes the republic of Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Mr Whom wrote: »
    A mate of mine has started burning a five euro note every day as a rejection of the capitalist system. He's always on at me and the lads to join in and reckons if the country did this for a few months things would change.

Nothing quite like the communist who's so rich they can afford to burn money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tell him not to be a cheapo and to burn twenties instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

ED E wrote: »
    Spoof thread Im sure....

It's actually not illegal here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's not a very good way of protesting capitalism.

Rejecting capitalism is pretty easy, just buy as little stuff as possible. When you do buy something forget the price and look for the best product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I can smell the unemployment off him from here. Scruffy beard and hates 'the man'. What a prize cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Yes it's illegal , no the gards wont be too interested to be honest and yes he's a whackjob

The first clue there is that is saying stuff like he rejects the capitalist system, i have found most people who trot out this line to be either at best screaming hysterical socialists or at worst members of the tinfoil hat brigade who believe the Illuminati are causing global warming and the 1%/ elites want to eat their soul or some such sh!t.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Money to burn? Does he have a trust fund from Daddy?

Such a hardline socialist.:rolleyes: Would it not be better to donate the fiver to charity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Could buy a pint a day with that fiver and have enough change for two pints on a Sunday. Some men just want to watch the world pints burn...

silverharp wrote: »
    my mate Dave...

It's RODNEY. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

I was at a party back in 2005 where a few of the lads decided it'd be some craic to get pictures of them lighting up fancy cigars with a burning E50 note. I don't think they were protesting the capitalist system though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Only a fever? That's hardly a protest.

Protesting against capitalism? Where did he get the fiver from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Still cheaper than smoking, I might take it up myself!
    9rSCij.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's not a very good way of protesting capitalism.

Rejecting capitalism is pretty easy, just buy as little stuff as possible. When you do buy something forget the price and look for the best product.

I think you mean consumerism i.e. pointless excess.

Capitalism simply means the provision of a reward for risk taking and initiative that leads to success. Alternative systems prohibit rewards for such.

Your friend is a moron, OP.

He need to come up with another, more visible and less laughable form of protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Silane

The ECB are printing 80 billion a month, your mate is burning fivers? My money is on the capitalist system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Easily the most pointless protest ever. If you are going to stick it to the man then burning a fiver in your living room is probably not too effective.

topper75 wrote: »
    I think you mean consumerism i.e. pointless excess.

Capitalism simply means the provision of a reward for risk taking and initiative that leads to success.
    No it doesn't, it means do everything within your power to trade for a profit and let the market decide the outcome.

At its most basic it's unfettered trading. Nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

His movement needs a catchier name, the burn a five euro note every day as a rejection of the capitalist system doesn't really roll off the tongue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Silane

He should really be burning 35 euro in one day, by burning 5 euro a day he has to spend more on lighters, that just fuels the capitalist system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

That'll teach those pesky capitalists!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Nothing quite like the communist who's so rich they can afford to burn money

Communists burning money... Well at least it makes a change from them printing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

What happens if your idiot friend hasn't got a fiver does he burn a tenner and then miss the following day? I'm presuming he's unemployed/unemployable given his very low intelligence levels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

A mate of mine has started burning a five euro note every day as a rejection of the capitalist system.

Pictures or it didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

"Lads we're missing a haaape of fivers."
    - The ECB next December, presumably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

If the Central Bank hear about this they will just print an extra fiver a day.
    Best to keep it quiet for maximum effectiveness.

If he wants the protest to go viral he should get someone to video him doing it outside the Central Bank in Dame Street (before they move to North Wall Quay).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

ScumLord wrote: »
    No it doesn't, it means do everything within your power to trade for a profit and let the market decide the outcome.

At its most basic it's unfettered trading. Nothing more.

Trading happens anyway. Capitalism acknowledges that the investment risk (if successful) deserves a payment of profit - just the same as labour deserves wages.

So that whole rubles thing back in the USSR - what was all that about?
    China? Cuba? N Korea? All used money/cash.

I definitely think you are conflating consumerism and capitalism.

topper75 wrote: »
    Trading happens anyway. Capitalism acknowledges that the investment risk (if successful) deserves a payment of profit - just the same as labour deserves wages.
    Trading is a behaviour of humans in the same way pissing on things is a behaviour of dogs. It's been around since the dawn of humanity. Capitalism is a formalised version of that behavior, and it's fairly recent. It's sort of a justification for colonial powers to pillage all around them.

Capitalism is an extremely crude system that replaces personal trading with trading for profit, which can only happen with money. It's not intended to do anything other than insert money into the equation and justify any action if it's for profit.
    I definitely think you are conflating consumerism and capitalism.
    Probably, but I don't think there's much of a distinction between them. Capitalism is just a description of trade with money. Consumerism is just a continuation of that in that we've become completely dependant on making and buying stuff. Neither of them have anything loftier than making money in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Money facilitates exchange.
    If I wanted to trade my rabbit for your cow we can do a straight swop. But we probably would not and would have stagnation in the rabbit economy and the cow economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

Tell your mate he could get a packet of liga and a bottleen of cow and gate milk for his fiver for himself and he will sleep better at night with a full tum tum the big baba.
    Also pretty sure that kids shouldn't have access to matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It only qualifies if he's wearing a top hat, chortling and lighting a cigar with the fiver while a couple of lithograph factories belch smoke in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Silane wrote: »
    He should really be burning 35 euro in one day, by burning 5 euro a day he has to spend more on lighters, that just fuels the capitalist system.

Perhaps he stole his lighter from a geezer comrade at a AAA meeting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Fiver a day? So thats 1825 euro a year, whose got that to waste?

A complete and utter Fúcking idiot. :mad: Could he not just give it to people that actually need it? His statement will do nothing only infuriate people and that is before we get into the illegality of it.

Disgraceful carry on. Dont follow it OP and id also review who you keep company with if I were you. €35 euro a week....Im sick reading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

He's nowhere near as hardcore as The Justified Ancients of Mumu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Burning money is the exact same as handing it back to the bank that printed it. So in your mates case, he's just giving a fiver back to the EU every day? What a spanner.

• Site Banned Posts: 4 Lowi

Fiver a day? So thats 1825 euro a year, whose got that to waste?

Some lad in the dole

• Site Banned Posts: 4 Lowi

Senna wrote: »
    Burning money is the exact same as handing it back to the bank that printed it. So in your mates case, he's just giving a fiver back to the EU every day? What a spanner.

But how do the EU know it's burnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Senna wrote: »

I was thinking that myself, it's only becomes legal tender when it's distributed to banks. What a fcuking numpty.