Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught shoplifting

• 02-01-2017 1:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

Hi I'm 18 and I was caught shoplifting and I was brought to the police station and givin a court date I'm so scared and sorry for what I did please help what should I do I'm lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭dazza161989

If you do the crime u gotta do the time.....Saying that you will get a suspended sentence and fined about €300. You will have a criminal record for life though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

If you do the crime u gotta do the time.....Saying that you will get a suspended sentence and fined about €300. You will have a criminal record for life though!!

Very unlikely unless he shop-lifted something extremely expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Get a solicitor,what you try and lift?You might just get fined / pay into poor box and warning depends on the judge.
    Also you get in trouble before with the police or in court before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Nene1234 wrote: »
    Hi I'm 18 and I was caught shoplifting and I was brought to the police station and givin a court date I'm so scared and sorry for what I did please help what should I do I'm lost

Put your hands up and say your sorry. Depends then on the judge. If convicted say goodbye to prospective jobs in gardai, defence forces etc. May possibly impact you on visas for US Australia etc.

Augme wrote: »

Surely it would depend on the judge? OP.. at the court, be apologetic, be genuine. You've messed up and there is a slight chance you might get a criminal record, which at 18 would impede lots of stuff - if a job requires a background check, even travel to countries like the US & Australia, which can require such checks, then a criminal record is limiting.

You need to get in contact with a legal professional and see what advice you can get. That is the only one you should listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

A court date seems a bit much for shop lifting something small.

OP it's a bit stupid of you to steal or try, but the best thing to do is attend your court appearance and let the judge know you're sorry. All will be aksed of you is to pay a small fine or pay into the courts poor box. I'm very surprised unless it was something rather expensive that you didn't just get cautioned by the Gardai unless it's not a first offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Nene1234

I stole in 3 different shops that day and the amount could ad up to €300 or less

In the same shopping centre

Surely it would depend on the judge? OP.. at the court, be apologetic, be genuine. You've messed up and there is a slight chance you might get a criminal record, which at 18 would impede lots of stuff - if a job requires a background check, even travel to countries like the US & Australia, which can require such checks, then a criminal record is limiting.

You need to get in contact with a legal I professional and see what advice you can get. That is the only one you should listen to.

I stole in 3 different shops in the shopping centre and it might add up to €300

I can honestly not afford a solicitor I hardly have any money in my name what can I do is there a way that I can pay over time and if I do go to court should I plea guilty I'm truly lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Yea guilty ,suit up or at least shirt and tie,make an effort.You should bring money to the court aswell to pay right away.This you first time in trouble with the guards, have you been in front of a judge before.

Why did you not receive a caution?
    I think you should get in touch with the Garda dealing with your case, or the sergeant in charge and ask why you did not receive a caution, you should have been eligible for one.
    Unless you have some previous arrests/cautions/charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Is this the first time you were caught shoplifting?

Yea guilty ,suit up or at least shirt and tie,make an effort.You should bring money to the court aswell to pay right away.This you first time in trouble with the guards, have you been in front of a judge before.

No I have not

I'm a girl and I have never been in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Do you live with your parents? Have you told anyone? It might help to confide in a friend and if you live at home you would benefit from telling your parents/guardian. Try not to worry, we all make mistakes :)

Yes my mother knows but money is very tight which is why I can't afford a solicitor she is very disappointed in my actions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Give legal aid a ring tomorrow and see if you qualify if money is that tight. Most judges can see those people who make the first mistake or slip and judge accordingly. Ask the arresting garda would he pass on payment for the stolen goods to the injured party.
    Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Bellaboring

Yes my mother knows but money is very tight which is why I can't afford a solicitor she is very disappointed in my actions

Try a free legal aid centre in your area to get advice. If she can come to court with you it can help also. Make sure it's obvious to any judge that you're taking this seriously (I.e. Have contacted legal advice, come up with a plan to repay, if you're out of work that you're looking for a job, if you drink that you've given up etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Try not to let it get on top of you.

Although you did break the law, did a stupid thing, no-one got hurt or died, its not the end of the world.

If you show real remorse and sorrow for your actions, and behave yourself in court, you'll be grand. Bear in mind though you will likely be fined, and you do say money is very tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

NIMAN wrote: »
    Try not to let it get on top of you.

Although you did break the law, did a stupid thing, no-one got hurt or died, its not the end of the world.

If you show real remorse and sorrow for your actions, and behave yourself in court, you'll be grand. Bear in mind though you will likely be fined, and you do say money is very tight.

The judge will allow the fine to paid over a period of weeks or months. Once OP shows he's on low income.

OP if I might suggest instead of stealing, please try and get a job. If you are given a criminal record due to this it could seriously impede job opportunities in the future and it's not worth it. Get on your shirt and slacks get out and find some work.

With all due respect, the fact you stole from separate shops is very telling and makes me think this isn't your first time doing this. Get some form of legal aid and get advice from there, because the judge might be lenient if it were one, but you stole from 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Op you stole from three different shops. Get a good solicitor. You will more the likely be convicted. You will get a criminal record id you are convicted. Which will effect job prospects and travel to certain countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

You're entitled to free legal aid for any offence that carries a potential prison sentence, and I think that theft comes into that category (not that I think you'll go to prison for a first offence). Contact any solicitor practising criminal law and they can advise you. Make sure you have legal representation on the day, dress appropriately, and bring your mother.

Most importantly, don't do it again, as you don't get repeat chances.

With all due respect, the fact you stole from separate shops is very telling and makes me think this isn't your first time doing this. Get some form of legal aid and get advice from there, because the judge might be lenient if it were one, but you stole from 3.

I know it was very stupid I stole school supplies and also cosmetics as I figured I was quite good and could gain money from it since I've been looking for a job for so long with no luck I also stole a boots im very ashamed and remorseful for my act

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

You're entitled to free legal aid for any offence that carries a potential prison sentence

There's no such thing as Free Legal Aid. There's Free Legal Advice, and there's Legal Aid. Free Legal Advice is just that, advice. It is not representation. Legal Aid will get you legal representation but you must pay a contribution to the cost. The contribution will be calculated on what it is considered you can reasonably afford to pay. After the case you can apply for a waiver of the costs or of your contribution. You may be granted a full or partial waiver, or you may be turned down and required to pay the amount that was agreed.

The decision will be made on a case by case basis and will be made based on your financial circumstances on the day of the decision.

Legal Aid covers civil cases, you will need to apply through the court for Criminal Legal Aid. Research it and know what you're doing before you go in. Maybe even go to your nearest Free Legal Advice Centre to get all the advice they can give you.
    Im very ashamed and remorseful for my act

Are you, or are you only ashamed because you were found out and now your parents know? I know you're only 18, and you're unlikely to head down the road of a life of crime, but I think if you weren't caught, you wouldn't be quite so remorseful or ashamed. You might be a bit cocky and think you can get away with it again. After all, you weren't remorseful or ashamed after getting away with twice, because you did it a 3rd time. Had you gotten away with it other days? I feel sorry for your mam. However sorry and sick with worry you are, she is double that. You have no money, so she knows she's going to have to come up with it somewhere. You need to get yourself sorted now and repay your mam, and not just the money, but the trust too. If you were my daughter I'd be so disappointed in you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Sorry, I meant legal aid, and you need to bring proof of your financial means to Court on the day. If you're on social welfare, it's normally granted, if the offence warrants a potential prison sentence, to the best of my knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I wouldn't worry about it to the extent you should feel suicidal or something.

If you go to court you will be appointed a legal representative, who will advise you. You won't have to say anything in court. The processing in court themselves won't take long.

Your face won't be plastered all over the newspapers and your case will hardly be reported in the press, as it's rather trivial in the grand scheme of things.

No need to be too scared about it, just learn your lesson from it, don't do it again, and you should be fine. If you get caught doing the same thing again you will be in more serious trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Sweet121

Just wondering how it wemt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭mightybashful

Sweet121 wrote: »
    Just wondering how it wemt

TV is a bit dull tonight alright :)

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Sweet121, asking for updates is not permitted in Personal Issues.
    Thread locked.