Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going out tonight?

• 31-12-2016 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

Its New Years Eve...so are you going out tonight?

I'm going to my local as i usually do...and then home to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

House party. Two sh!t nights (among others) to go out are NYE and Valentines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

No. I'm going to prepare memes blaming the number of the year for the deaths of celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Not a fcuking chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

No way. Stay home, stay sane... my days of seeing the New year in are over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Planning on going out in galway because I'll be up there for work but the thought of holding a pint above my head as I wade through 400,000 people is turning me off the idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Nope, 5 salats and then to bed for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

House party. Can't be arsed with pubs anymore, too much hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Out for Liverpool-City.
    Home for dinner and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Nope. Haven't been out for NYE in a long time bar 2015 and that was because I was in Rome. Too packed, too messy, cover charges and then walking for miles to get a taxi. No thanks. Never a night I enjoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Friends house for drinks.

I hate NYE out, everywhere is overcrowded, overpriced and getting home is a nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Not arsed, nobody interested in doing house parties instead of going to town this year for whatever reason, and Dublin is absolutely sh*te for new years - no different to any other night except everywhere being way, way too overcrowded, people getting too hammered to be sociable, drinks and entry cost being higher than usual, and taxis dar harder to get (and more expensive too if I recall).

NYE - grand for house parties, absolute toilet muck for going 'out out'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Working late tonight and back in early at 0430...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Invited to house party with bunch of compatible friends.
    Spent the last three NYEs at home so looking forward to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Home alone just how I like it
    In me late teens twenties, you couldn't keep me out of the pubs and clubs on NYE - now, not a fckin hope of walking into that utter shyte!
    Happy 2017!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I stay in, and I enjoy myself far more than if I had gone out for the night to get ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I am in me hoop going out.
    Going to my in-laws holiday home with a husband, a dog, a bale of briquettes, and a bag of food. I know we'll all be snoring before 11 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Unfortunately yes. Really don't want to, but herself is dead set. When we're walking home in the pissings of rain at 3 tomorrow morning I'll say I told you so. I expect to be in the dog house tomorrow. Happy new year.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

I wanted to but I'm just after violently sneezing 10 times in a row, I think I've broken a rib :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I rather get bitten by a rabid badger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Nope! Working all weekend and although I'm not in tonight, the last place I want to be is in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,592 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Nope , the tv will be on , fire blazing and maybe a take-away ,and boards of course :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Not going out this year as I've got a really bad cold that just won't die, and back to work Monday so I want it gone before then. That said though, if I was going out, it would definitely be a house party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

No not stirring out.

Decades ago, when I did venture out on New Year's Eve I can recall the back slapping and hugging from completely random people who didn't even know you. Don't miss it.

I'll watch a film with the Mrs and head yo bed before 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Meeting friends for afternoon scoups. Then home for a bombai pantry curry and a night with the family. Sure where else would I want to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No, will most likely have a whiskey at home, and wake up my kids for the countdown, if they can be woken up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I was going to go out but still getting over Thursday night. I usually go away for New Years or have been living away so it's unusual for me to be in Dublin today.
    I won't really be missing out if I stay home will I? I actually always loved NYE, it's exciting, but maybe this year I'll watch the hootenanny and go to the gym tomorrow, start the resolutions already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I hope to be barricaded into the house by 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Going into town with some friends only because nobody is having a house party. Town on NYE is just disappointing every year without fail

wakka12 wrote: »
    Going into town with some friends only because nobody is having a house party. Town on NYE is just disappointing every year without fail

If you have tickets for something or know exactly where you're going you may even enjoy yourself!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yes have a table booked in the local.

Oh doesnt drink so sorted for a lift home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I hope to be barricaded into the house by 8pm.

Well given the state that some people get on NYE, so hammered they lurch and stagger around moaning like Zombies, barricading yourself in sounds a sensible plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

With any luck I'll be in bed by 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

Not a hope in hell. I think the last time I was out on NYE was when I was about 20. I got old and cantankerous since then. The idea of a packed pub would be excruciatingly painful to endure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

No, either my mam's or friends for muted celebrations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Will be watching dinner for one, just watched the Netflix re-creation with their own characters, quite funny. Starting with raclette, then heading out with the neighbours with fireworks and a crate of beer to bring in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Why do they need a new year every 12 months anyway? Would the old one not do another while?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Mr Arrior

I don't drink so don't find these mad nights to go out overly enjoyable but don't want to miss out either. The joys of being a sober twenty something year old in a drinking culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I haven't been out for New Year's Eve since I had my first child 22 years ago!

I'm not against the idea of going out for NYE per se, but now it's just become tradition to stay in and watch Jools Holland with a glass of bubbly in hand and watching the fireworks from a distance at midnight.

I like to put on the fire and watch a film which incorporates NYE somewhere too....tonight, in honour of Carrie Fisher, I think I'll watch When Harry Met Sally.

Whatever ye choose to do, hope ye all have a very Happy New Year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Advbrd wrote: »
    House party. Two sh!t nights (among others) to go out are NYE and Valentines.

If you're a single male then New Years Eve and Valentines night are the best nights to go out, single women are at their most vulnerable to male "charm" on these nights ........... spot a girl (who's out with her friends having a "great" night! :rolleyes:) you're into and, come midnight tonight, swoop in!!!

Same goes for Valentines night ........... all these "happily single" ladies out with their friends singing "We Don't Need A Man!" .......... yeah right, they're yours for the taking! :)

I'm happily sitting in with my wife & kids tonight. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope, never go out for new year. Couldn't be arsed dealing with overcrowded, overpriced pubs all night.

Took the day off and spending it with my little fella instead. Busy climbing in the playground as we speak :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Two night I have going out

Stephens night and New Years Eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭fg1406

Nope. It's mayhem. Messy, overcrowded, overpriced mayhem and then I can't get a taxi home and end up having to walk 4km out of town. Dunno what to do with myself

MadDog76 wrote: »
    If you're a single male then New Years Eve and Valentines night are the best nights to go out, single women are at their most vulnerable to male "charm" on these nights ........... spot a girl (who's out with her friends having a "great" night! :rolleyes:) you're into and, come midnight tonight, swoop in!!!

Same goes for Valentines night ........... all these "happily single" ladies out with their friends singing "We Don't Need A Man!" .......... yeah right, they're yours for the taking! :)

I'm happily sitting in with my wife & kids tonight. :)

Why is it married blokes always think they'd be total ladykillers if they were single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Nope. Jools Holland, Beer, and Takeaway. Then NYD swim tomorrow to awaken me.

NYE is grand in your late teens and early 20's. In your 30's its one of the worst nights of the year. Dont fancy getting bumped around the place, beer spilt over me, avoiding a fight in the takeaway, all before waiting an hour for a taxi to bring me home, who no doubt will add every availbale extra, and attempting a detour to rack up the meter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

boobar wrote: »
    I can recall the back slapping and hugging from completely random people who didn't even know you.

This.

It's my birthday, today, as it happens. I still can't manage to raise a blip on the " Giveaf**kometer ". Haven't for years now.

But, yeah, that vigorous hand pumping, before they close in for the mafia style back slapping hug? F**k off, you idiot! It's not like we went through 'Nam together. You're just a bloke I'm remotely aware of as drinking in this pub now and then. I don't even know ye name!

Haven't seen a soul in days. Certainly won't be tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

A packed pub in the centre of town isn't the only way to see in the new year outside of staying in! (Not that there's anything wrong with the latter). There's going to someone's house or inviting people to yours (doesn't have to be a big party), there's a quiet pub.

I'm going to a house gathering (won't be mad enough to be a party I'd say!) Last year there were just three of us in a friend's house (and a fourth on Facetime for a while) and it was lovely. Previous year we went for early drinks, then a meal, then to a small gig. It's not a night I'd spend alone (lucky I have that choice) although some like to spend it by themselves.

Whatever about Valentines (I do agree some single women seem to over compensate then) why wouldn't women out on new year's eve be having a great night? :confused:
    I also find this "Heheh, let's snare the vulnerable and then **** off the next day" stuff disturbing. And no, it's NOT how most men think. Probably because of being on the receiving end. When it's taken to extremes (stringing someone along for a prolonged period) it's one of the most despicable, hurtful things ever. And women do it too, and it's not just applicable to sex/relationships.

Why is it married blokes always think they'd be total ladykillers if they were single?

Do they?

Well, if they do, they're probably basing it on how they did with the ladies before they settled down, ie. they were, at one time, single.
    Also they have been successful in the Singles Market as they did eventually meet the One and get married ......... unlike single men who are still trying, in most cases.

Flimpson wrote: »
    Whatever about Valentines (I do agree some single women seem to over compensate then) why wouldn't women out on new year's eve be having a great night? :confused:
    I also find this "Heheh, let's snare the vulnerable and then **** off the next day" stuff disturbing. And no, it's NOT how most men think. Probably because of being on the receiving end. When it's taken to extremes (stringing someone along for a prolonged period) it's one of the most despicable, hurtful things ever. And women do it too, and it's not just applicable to sex/relationships.

I'm sure they are having a great night but, from my own personal experiences when I was single, they are even happier when they pull on these nights in particular ......... like it or not, that's how it is ........... don't hate the Player, hate the Game! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

My most hated night of the year, staying in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'm sure they are having a great night but, from my own personal experiences when I was single, they are even happier when they pull on these nights in particular ......... like it or not, that's how it is ........... don't hate the Player, hate the Game! :)

Ah Jaysus.