Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extra safe condoms

• 31-12-2016 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭

Does anyone else use these? Just wondering what you think of them?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bloody awful TBH. For me anyway. Condoms are a necessary evil, but still evil and extra safe just take the mickey(pun intended).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

They are akin to wearing a sock on your flute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Been a long time since I needed condoms but I have to ask, what makes them extra safe? Dangerously tight?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    what makes them extra safe?
    Seatbelts, airbags and a plank across your arse to save you from falling in….

They're mad thick, like would pass decent muster as a tractor tyre thick. If you were wearing one when the atomic bomb was dropped your body would be a burnt shadow on a wall, but your gentleman's gentleman would be safe and sound behind the thick wall of latex.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Wibbs wrote:
    They're mad thick, like would pass decent muster as a tractor tyre thick. If you were wearing one when the atomic bomb was dropped your body would be a burnt shadow on a wall, but your gentleman's gentleman would be safe and sound behind the thick wall of latex.

Wibbs wrote:
    Seatbelts, airbags and a plank across your arse to save you from falling in….

Actually laughing out loud reading this .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Barring other measures, if your not in it for the fun, then these won't bother you. If your in it for the fun, your not wearing these unless a teenager and really paranoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Tried one once. It was like having a **** with bubble wrap. Extra thin ones are the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Extra thin ones are the best.

Extra thin are the best but Durex have put the feckers in a new plastic box and massively upped the price of them!!

W@nkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭chewed

Tried one once. It was like having a **** with bubble wrap. Extra thin ones are the best.

You wear condoms when you're having a ****? Very posh!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭yoppy

Extra thin ones are the best.

Only ones that have ever failed on me them ones. It ripped. And they're so thin I didn't realise straight away either. Was using as a back up in a long term so didn't really mind but if that had been a 1 nighter...hmm, wouldn't use them again.

chewed wrote: »
    You wear condoms when you're having a ****? Very posh!
    True, but TBH Chewie I'm more fascinated with the notion that our friend and fellow yahoo Mr Vain is au fe with having an onanistic experience with bubble wrap. Once you pop you can't stop sorta thing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I was always under the impression the Extra Safe were designed for anal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Extra Safe - once you use anything else you'll never touch these with a barge pole again. Just wish someone told me earlier how bad these were!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Folks is there any recommendations for non hormonal, non surgical and non animal tested contraception for men? Am I asking too much? Is abstinence the only option? :pac::(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

cormie wrote: »
    Folks is there any recommendations for non hormonal, non surgical and non animal tested contraception for men? Am I asking too much? Is abstinence the only option? :pac::(

stick a cork in it, youll be grand :P

As close as you're likely to get...

https://www.instagram.com/p/BO0_RA4jn_u/

Looks like a really interesting page this...

https://www.instagram.com/p/BO0RT2aDC9p/

I'm gonna start crying everyday...

https://www.instagram.com/p/BO0xo4MDFbB/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Hanwellian

You may as well wave a banana up the Mersey tunnel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Used a defence in a paternity case in Longford. The judge was stunned silent.

DNA testing had already shown him to be the father, to which he then claimed that this was impossible as he had pulled out before he blew his load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Do people really have that much of a problem with extra safe condoms? They don't feel much different to me than any other type (maybe a tiny bit less sensitive, but that's never been an issue for me) and are the only type that has not torn on me during use (extra thin, textured and normal have all torn on me).

CramCycle wrote: »
    DNA testing had already shown him to be the father, to which he then claimed that this was impossible as he had pulled out before he blew his load.

Can just picture people's faces in a court room...haha.

maybe a tiny bit less sensitive

For me thats the whole point of intercourse, I want it to be sensitive, as it feels so much better that way

Very true, however in my situation, with my partner, we use protection, though it would not be the end of the world if that protection failed and it resulted in our son having a brother or sister, so that's a chance we are willing to take, we used an extra safe once and both thought it was horrible.

Obviously not all are in my situation, but that's my 2 cents worth on the subject.

If I was in a different situation, perhaps I would consider using a higher level of safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭cinnamony

You may want to check out Polyisoprene or Polyurethane condoms (latex free condoms basically). Because of their structure they are supposed to be more comfortable than latex whilst being stronger even though they are thinner materials. Sex should always be safe, but it also should never be uncomfortable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Condoms aren't animal tested and polypropylene ones don't have lactose powders involved (not sure latex ones do anymore either).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Do people really have that much of a problem with extra safe condoms?
    Yes, they're brutal.
    Used one once and stopped because I couldn't feel a thing.
    They don't feel much different to me than any other type (maybe a tiny bit less sensitive, but that's never been an issue for me) and are the only type that has not torn on me during use (extra thin, textured and normal have all torn on me).
    That's a lot of breakages. :eek:
    Have you tried using different sizes/brands of condoms?
    Because that seems like a high failure rate.

Yes, they're brutal.
    Used one once and stopped because I couldn't feel a thing.

I imagine it is the sizing if he feels no difference and notices alot of breakages. They are not a one size fits all (comfortably and safely anyway), wish I had know that in my youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Actually I think the ribbed ones are worse. May as well be dipping the mickey in anaesthetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

L1011 wrote: »
    Condoms aren't animal tested and polypropylene ones don't have lactose powders involved (not sure latex ones do anymore either).

I really hope you're right !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

10 years myself and missus using that.. Never once wore a johnny.

On three planned occasions we didn't do it. BAM three pregnancies.

Condoms are for lads with no self control. Or those lads afraid of an old STD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Well it is inside them like

lawred2 wrote: »
    Or those lads afraid of an old STD.

Even the use to be curable ones can't be cured now dude. I wouldn't fancy gonorrhea in my knees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

Kinda dubious notion and/or a question of anatomy. Both "types" come(no pun) from the same source. The clitoris as a structure is iceberg like in that most of it is under the surface and as well as the visible clitoral glans the underlying structure surrounds the vaginal opening/vulva(it's also involved in the "g-spot" where present). So physical orgasms are pretty much entirely generated by the clitoral structure. I say physical as the female orgasm appears to have more mental and emotional components than the male.

From what I've noticed down the years is that yes women can usually tell a condom is in play, but IMH it's as much down to the "break in proceedings" while fitting and the different friction involved compared to skin, at least initially. When the juices start flowing not nearly so much. I've had condoms come off halfway through and by god I noticed it immediately, but they didn't.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

My girlfriend and I use condoms when she's off her pill for her period. She definitely enjoys it way less than without the condom.

On topic, I can't feel anything with extra safe. Hate all the gimmicky ones as well (ribbed etc). Thin feel I've found to be the best. Never had a breakage.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Used a few different brands (the ones given out when i was in college were from different brands during the year). AFAIR, Durex extra thin and normal broke on me, some different brands textured also broke once, I forget which though.
    CramCycle wrote: »
    I imagine it is the sizing if he feels no difference and notices alot of breakages. They are not a one size fits all (comfortably and safely anyway), wish I had know that in my youth.

I have only used the standard size and I haven't noticed any size issues with them. The fit snuggly, but not uncomfortable.

The only feedback I've gotten from my partners with respect to (non-textured) condom vs no condom at all is that it can feel warmer if there is no condom. Direct skin on skin contact vs cooler (at least at first) latex on skin contact.

Without going into too much detail, she says she can feel when I'm about to finish, and thats what usually tips her over the edge, and I guess it's down to minimal rubber between her skin and my skin, a thicker rubber and she would lose some of that sensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

GLaDOS wrote:
    My girlfriend and I use condoms when she's off her pill for her period. She definitely enjoys it way less than without the condom.

If she's taking the Pill correctly then she's covered on the withdrawal week, just fyi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Wibbs wrote: »
    Kinda dubious notion and/or a question of anatomy. Both "types" come(no pun) from the same source. The clitoris as a structure is iceberg like in that most of it is under the surface and as well as the visible clitoral glans the underlying structure surrounds the vaginal opening/vulva(it's also involved in the "g-spot" where present). So physical orgasms are pretty much entirely generated by the clitoral structure. I say physical as the female orgasm appears to have more mental and emotional components than the male.

From what I've noticed down the years is that yes women can usually tell a condom is in play, but IMH it's as much down to the "break in proceedings" while fitting and the different friction involved compared to skin, at least initially. When the juices start flowing not nearly so much. I've had condoms come off halfway through and by god I noticed it immediately, but they didn't.

You kept going didn't you

Nope, I can't abide children and want no truck with them, so retracted like a snails eye in double quick time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭RiseToMe

Check out Sir Richards, they're vegan etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

L1011 wrote: »
    Condoms aren't animal tested

I immediately thought of this - Limerick man avoids prison for buggery with Alsatian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Has anyone ever heard of suspensories? It sounds like it fits the bill for my "non hormonal, non surgical and non animal tested contraception" request above?

http://malecontraceptives.org/methods/suspensories.php