Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have or want a dishwasher?

• 31-12-2016 2:11am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I live in a 2 bed apartment with a quite sizable kitchen but I don't have a dishwasher. I normally live on my own so washing up after dinner isn't a huge task but at times Im tired and would just love to bung things in a dishwasher and not worry about them. I could get a dishwasher if I really wanted but at the moment I'm just about ok with a sink and drainer.

Do you have a dishwasher? Does it make your life easier? I've had dishwashers in the past and grew up in a household with one and they were pretty handy.

Would you like a dishwasher? Do you have the space for one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

My dishwashers are curled up in their beds, snoozing quietly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I had a new kitchen put in earlier this year and a large part of that reason was in order to fit a dishwasher (which I couldn't fit before due to the kitchen layout).

It's made my life so much easier - no more dishes in the sink, no more soaking, no more emersion switch, no more draining board. I hated washing up.

I'd never be without one again. It's like my new best friend :o

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

When I bought my house the first appliance I bought was a dishwasher. Not having one was never an option.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I'd imagine if you have a family there will be more dishes and pots and pans to clean. In that scenario a dishwasher would be ideal.

But with a single person living alone, a dishwasher seems like a luxury. 30 years ago many if not most people didn't have one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Yes but I rarely use it. Only if I've used a lot of plates and am not bothered to wash them all. It came with the house.

There is a dishwasher here, but I don't know how to put it on. I'm sure I could work it out, but it's just a more efficient use of my time to wash, dry and put away my dishes immediately after I've used them.

Even when I go back to my parents where Sunday dinner has regularly between 20 and 30 people, we just all tuck in and do particular parts of the washing. You can have great chats while doing it (although it annoys me no end when people drop dirty dishes into the water as you're washing rather than leaving them at the side)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

There is a dishwasher here, but I don't know how to put it on. I'm sure I could work it out, but it's just a more efficient use of my time to wash, dry and put away my dishes immediately after I've used them.

No point in washing up if you are going to get it filthy again by wiping it with one of the dirtiest items in the house. If you don't want to use a dishwasher then at least let the stuff dry naturally and keep it clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

JupiterKid wrote: »

But with a single person living alone, a dishwasher seems like a luxury. 30 years ago many if not most people didn't have one.

Just buy more cutlery and delph so that you can fill the dishwasher ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I do but it's broken at the moment. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Del2005 wrote: »
    Just buy more cutlery and delph so that you can fill the dishwasher ;)

Surly theyd be fairly rank by time someone living on their own uses enough dishes to merit using the dishwasher??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

No not really.I recently got one of those half size dishwashers so after two days of food it's ready to go. Dont know myself with it now. Washing dishe's is a pain and u just hide then away after eating it's brilliant!

I live on my own too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

Got a new kitchen back in March, so on everyone 's advice we got a dishwasher. It's been used about 4 times. Shortest programme on it is about 1.5 hour. Pure waste of money. 3 of us in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Can't remember when I last didn't have one, at least 15 years. It's an absolute must have appliance. I'd sacrifice the fridge before going without.

Plus cheaper, cleaner and more efficient than washing by hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I live alone, after myself and the dog lick everything clean, I put them back in the cupboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

My well packed in on Stephen's day, lucky it was not Christmas day. It needed a new foot valve and jet, nowhere open for a few days due to hols. I couldn't use the dishwasher due to it being cold fill and fed directly. The header tanks were still full so after stacking the dishes for 3 days I washed them by hand. Pain in the ar$e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

My eco wash takes nearly 2 hours so I just put it on at night before I go to bed. All ready in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I would struggle to think of a reason not to have one to be honest. Great yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

No need.
    Just have a roll of clingfilm handy and cover each plate as you use them.

#lifehack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Chinese takeaway containers not so dishwasher friendly... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

I have a dishwasher - a half-size one; got it a couple of years ago. It's absolutely brilliant - and also more green than dishwashing by hand. By the way, the engineer from the company who came to check it (not the installer, the main man) said not to bother using rinse aid or dishwasher salt in Dublin, as our water is soft and doesn't need either.
    I'd definitely get one again if I moved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

mansize wrote: »
    Chinese takeaway containers not so dishwasher friendly... :D

The containers from our local ones are, they're those plastic ones with resealable lids so they go in the dishwasher and then used as food storage for the freezer or fridge afterwards, great so they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Yes and it's one of the essential kitchen appliances for me. I am 38 and I always lived in house with one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Nope and nope. Takes a few minutes to wash and dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Anyone who refuses to use a dishwasher is guilty of environmental treason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

No pile of dirty dishes sitting around looking at you waiting to be washed. It's all tidy and out of sight in the dishwasher.

The stuff gets cleaner than if you had washed it by hand. No nasty film of grease on the items which were in the water last.

It uses less water and is more efficient than hand washing. It's the shower vs bath of eco-friendly.

I have mine on a timer, it runs on night rate electricity, so it's fairly cheap.

It isn't suitable small households, where it would take ages to fill, or very large households. At christmas for example, we do the washup because it would take three or four fills to get everything done.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The containers from our local ones are, they're those plastic ones with resealable lids so they go in the dishwasher and then used as food storage for the freezer or fridge afterwards, great so they are.

Some plastic containers that are not designed for re-use can leach chemicals into food after prolonged use as indeed can some containers that are designed for re-use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

We don't use them forever, a couple of uses won't poison us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

My parents only got a dishwasher after we'd all left home. Feckers :D

I live alone and tbh I'd like a small dishwasher, but alas no room in my apartment kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Smart people have 2 dishwashers.
    You take clean dishes from one and after use put them in the other. Then alternate.
    You cut down on your cabinet needs considerably.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Smart people have 2 dishwashers.
    You take clean dishes from one and after use put them in the other. Then alternate.
    You cut down on your cabinet needs considerably.

Yeah, I have one for each day of the week...not.
    I do however have a sh1t load of delph and cutlery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

If I lived by myself I probably wouldn't bother, especially if I was space constrained.

It's a bit of a godsend for avoiding mountains of dishwashing in a family home though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Family of four here.

Kids do lots of cooking and baking. Having a dishwasher is a must for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Have a dishwasher, use it daily. One of the best purchases I ever made, along with an extra set of identical crockery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I don't have one but have space ( & plumbing links for one). I hate sitting in a house with an appliance droning on hour after hour. & They are really environmentally unfriendly notto mention the ongoing expense - LX, water charges, filter/tablets etc. From years ago working in restaurants & shared flats In my head they are dirt refuges - filled with bits of rotting food & crud crusted old plates lined with rotting food and smeared with days old hardened cruddy sauces & dead meat. I have serious reservations about them & wouldn't use one even in my (relativey clean) ex-partners flat.

Be clean & save the planet! Boil a kettle, wash your plates in sparking clean boiling water, be finished in ten minutes, enjoy the peace & calm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

The only time I've ever lived in a house with a dishwasher was in a house during college for 9 months.

My Mother has never had one in her house. Not really any room. But could never really see her buying one anyway.

Would love one in the house I live in now. The only times myself and my OH ever really fight is over the washing up.. Kitchen is too small though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

We have one but it's been broken for over a year now, and I just haven't had the time to sort it out.

TBH I don't really miss it. It's useful when you have people over for dinner, but most of the time, it's faster to 1/3 fill the sink and wash it by hand. All done in 5 mins. Plus I have a lot of good glassware that I'd only wash by hand anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

don't see the necessity. had one, wasn't using it so i gave it away. wash by hand, sometimes leave to dry naturally and then wipe before putting away. mostly dry when finished washing. kitchen always looks tidier when sink is tidy imo:) and we have plenty of clean teatowels ion this house. change them quite a few times a day so no drying with a damp one. very healthy here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

_Brian wrote: »
    Family of four here.

Kids do lots of cooking and baking. Having a dishwasher is a must for us.

Family o four here too. Kids do no cooking and baking. We still manage to fill it twice when in one day when we are all at home. . :D

Anyway a decent dishwasher will be fairly quiet. You don't even hear it after initial rinse cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

A very good one usually can't even be heard at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Put dinner directly onto the table and drink directly from the bottle/can. Eat with hands.
    Sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I love my dishwasher. Especially if you're cooking all day, being able to put it on and pull out clean dishes as you go is marvellous. And even when I don't put it on every day it's somewhere to store dishes which are waiting to be washed. There is only me in the house but it would drive me mad to have them sitting on the counter, or drying rack. And I hate doing 5 small hand washes a day.

And most importantly it gets things really clean!! Far more than hand washing ever would!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

McGaggs wrote: »
    Anyone who refuses to use a dishwasher is guilty of environmental treason.

I would say the opposite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I am the dishwasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

There is one in the rental here but would never use it . Useful for storing crockery though.. Cost is one consideration. I heat water on the solid fuel range to keep ESB costs down and love to get hands in hot water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭Sono

An absolute must in any household, would be lost without ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

We had one, still do, for many years and when the family were younger it was invaluable. It saved so much time and hassle. Now there's only two of us here, so it's isn't used on a day to day basis. It will be used tomorrow, as we have a house full of kids and grandkids for New Year's Day dinner. We can eat, stack the dishwasher and get back to the craic and chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Household of two with a half size dishwasher.
    We put everything in it, including pots and pans, haven't handwashed anything since we have it.
    It's absolutely great, keeps the kitchen tidy and the dishes cleaner than they ever were; wouldn't be without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I had one, it broke and I never replaced it. There's only two of us so washing up is never really a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Must have in my opinion.