Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE's contempt for 'End Credits' in films

• 30-12-2016 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭

Am I the only one who finds it infuriating every time a film ends on RTE, rather than get to hear the movie's soundtrack play out, watch the credits fall, process what you've just seen, brace yourself for conversation with relatives again, you know the usual seasonal aspects, instead of all that we are provided through RTE with a black and white image on screen pulled out of the RTE vault that reads, The End'. (I imagine in the event of a nuclear holocaust RTE will just stick that damn screen on the box, perhaps with 'What's Another Year' by Johnny Logan playing in the background.)

Why oh why can't we just see and experience the credits? Is it that important to go to more ads?

Picture the scene: Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade is about to end. The four heroes of our film are on horseback racing towards the sunset. It's the last moment of the Indiana Jones Trilogy (there were no more Indy movies. Trust me) and as the great John Williams tune roars into life, and as the screen fades to black, in most countries the viewers proceed to sing along like so: "Duh duh duh duh, duh duh duh. Duh duh duh duuuuuh, duh duh duh, DUH DUH." And so forth. But in Ireland? Forget it. A tacky black screen with 'The End' comes on and it ain't John Williams time, it's commercial time. It's practically routine now when a film ends.

Pity the poor sound engineers. Were their efforts in vain? Are they not worthy of some recognition?

In some countries like the UK they play a voiceover through the end credits, promoting the shows coming up next. I dislike this too, but at least it's a momentary irritation; at least you actually get to experience the credits.

Anyone else want to see a return of the closing credits, or are you a fan of 'The End'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭brian_t

Anyone else want to see a return of the closing credits, or are you a fan of 'The End'?

In the cinema I always stay seated until the credits finish but I usually find that most other folk have gone at that stage.

I also dislike the way credits on TV can be squashed in order to advertise other programmes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

It's not an RTE thing. The films are sold as TV versions and often cut the credits to save time. This is particularly true of older films

Can be annoying to see an abrupt end alright but not much point in getting too worked about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭wetlandsboy

Totally agree with this post. However, has anyone noticed that whenever an Irish film ends, we get the entire end credits (not abridged, not sped up)? I suspect that the good people at RTÉ are afraid of crossing their mates. Definitely smacks of double standards.

Dodge wrote: »
    It's not an RTE thing.

I don't recall seeing it (as described by Mr.Nice Guy) on any other channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Omigosh I absolutely agree. Numerous times himself and myself have watched a film. We notice a minor character in the film and one of us sez, 'oh, isn't that your man from whatchamacallit, ah you remember, he played so-and-so, oh what's his name. Watch the credits carefully'. BAZINGA! No flippin' credits and we are reduced to Googling 'cos we can't go to bed until we know the guys name!! We're daft I know but yes, the credits are important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The longer the credits the less chance you'll see them as intended - the FF credit whiz for films like Superman the Movie is somewhat understandable - they run 6 minutes at normal speed to their full length. Any commercial channel looks at that and knows they could be showing ads and promos at that time. I'm not saying I approve only that if you watch films on most channels expect low standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Omigosh I absolutely agree. Numerous times himself and myself have watched a film. We notice a minor character in the film and one of us sez, 'oh, isn't that your man from whatchamacallit, ah you remember, he played so-and-so, oh what's his name. Watch the credits carefully'. BAZINGA! No flippin' credits and we are reduced to Googling 'cos we can't go to bed until we know the guys name!! We're daft I know but yes, the credits are important.

We just check IMDb during the movie now because, even when shown, the credits are too small and too fast to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They never put the year the film was made on the EPG either, another annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,417 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

If RTÉ show 'Masters Of The Universe', how will we know if Skeletor returns or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,802 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

brian_t wrote: »

In the cinema I always stay seated until the credits finish but I usually find that most other folk have gone at that stage.

I also dislike the way credits on TV can be squashed in order to advertise other programmes.
    I saw terminator genysis on the day it came out and I didn't stay until the credits finished. I got the movie on DVD and after the credits end there is an important mini scene that plants the seeds for the next film. So yes staying till the credits finish is important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

On a tangent, my local cinema bring the lights up just as the credits begin to roll. They even turn on the full florescent lights so that they can begin cleaning the theatre. It pisses me off no end as I'm interested in seeing full cast details, where the various locations were, who may have part funded the project etc...

Complained about it once. The number of fu(ks given was quite low...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

TG4 don't even bother with a The End graphic.
    Watched a film a few weeks ago which ends quite abruptly, they go to a break and assuming there was more I fast forwarded (watching on record) through the ads to the next segment which was a totally different programme.
    Fairly annoying, decent enough to show a 4 hour cut of a film but make a mess of the end.

Once Upon a Time in America btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

seriously ??

ye all have nothing else to complain about ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

s8n wrote: »
    seriously ??

ye all have nothing else to complain about ?

It is actually quite annoying.....The avengers movies have an important little scene during the credits...Jackie chan movies have some wonderful outakes during the credits.
    Sometimes you spot an actor at the start of their career and you want to see the credits to be sure it's who you think...It's a huge bugbear for people as you can see

It is actually quite annoying.....The avengers movies have an important little scene during the credits...Jackie chan movies have some wonderful outakes during the credits.
    Sometimes you spot an actor at the start of their career and you want to see the credits to be sure it's who you think...It's a huge bugbear for people as you can see

perhaps buy the dvd or watch it online ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,221 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I saw terminator genysis on the day it came out and I didn't stay until the credits finished. I got the movie on DVD and after the credits end there is an important mini scene that plants the seeds for the next film. So yes staying till the credits finish is important.

You mean to say you willfully watched that TWICE?

perhaps buy the dvd or watch it online ?

Perhaps I pay my TV license fee and shouldn't have to....Please try harder

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I used to love reading the credits in movies and hearing the soundtrack out when RTE used to show them fully in the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Doesn't bother me at all. Just for balance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

From what I've seen if there's and end credit scene that's shown first before The End card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭opti76

Am I the only one who finds it infuriating
    Yes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Has RTE screened the Avengers or a Jackie Chan and cut out the credits scene? Me thinks not

This thread is bonkers.

Credit scenes are a waste of air time and cumulative eat up broadcast time. If RTE were to screen AvP, The Matrix and Ironman 3 in one day, that's 31 minutes of credits rights there, over a tv show length.

If the extended edition of Fellowship of the Ring was shown, that's 26 minutes alone!

faceman wrote: »
    Has RTE screened the Avengers or a Jackie Chan and cut out the credits scene? Me thinks not

This thread is bonkers.

Credit scenes are a waste of air time and cumulative eat up broadcast time. If RTE were to screen AvP, The Matrix and Ironman 3 in one day, that's 31 minutes of credits rights there, over a tv show length.

If the extended edition of Fellowship of the Ring was shown, that's 26 minutes alone!

There has to be a happy medium ground, ... nobody is advocating the showing of 30 mins credits, but 30 seconds of cast and year etc aren't going to eat into any valuable broadcast time ...And Shaghai noon was cut the last time it was shown...I didn't watch the Winter Soldier over Xmas...Did anyone catch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,897 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah. And you could just pay more for the TV licence to compensate for the revenue lost by showing credits. When the internet exists with IMDB. there's no need for credits. Just Google the minor characters and let RTE get on with running the business.

I used to love reading the credits in movies and hearing the soundtrack out when RTE used to show them fully in the 80's.

Fair enough. But the TV industry has changed twice since then. First satellite and now streaming have changed the business model. The TV of the 80 doesn't exist today.

Today they need every penny from ads. So the 30 seconds at the end of a movie is better spent gaining revenue than showing credits and playing a song.

That stuff should be part of the cinema experience though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,802 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

You mean to say you willfully watched that TWICE?

Yes, I paid cash money twice. I'm a big fan of the terminator franchise. I have all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,465 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

the credits on some films these days are 10 minutes long, I'm not surprised they're cut for the TV versions.

Yeah. And you could just pay more for the TV licence to compensate for the revenue lost by showing credits. When the internet exists with IMDB. there's no need for credits. Just Google the minor characters and let RTE get on with running the business.

They are doing such a good job aren't they.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Who really gives a toss in all fairness.

The credits generally move too quickly or are too small to be able to read anything anyway.

How about going on to Wikipedia or IMDB if you need that sort of info, RTE are showing the film not the credits and why would they waste the opportunity to make money from advertisements by showing something that 99% of people don't care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Who really gives a toss in all fairness.

The credits generally move too quickly or are too small to be able to read anything anyway.

How about going on to Wikipedia or IMDB if you need that sort of info, RTE are showing the film not the credits and why would they waste the opportunity to make money from advertisements by showing something that 99% of people don't care about.

Or worse, switch over during. Not great for the ratings.

I think the days of watching "the big big movie" on RTE are well gone ""

Jog on !!

I didn't watch the Winter Soldier over Xmas...Did anyone catch it?

Nope - Seen it in the cinema

I think the days of watching "the big big movie" on RTE are well gone ""

Jog on !!

Well, it's just as well we don't care what you think.
    If rte want to continue to pay excessive wages to 3rd rate TV "personalities' that their choice, but while truncating the credits on a movie isn't a huge issue, it is symptomatic of the general attitude within our national broadcaster....Make cuts everywhere...Except where it actually counts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

When did the third assistant costume dept gaffer start demanding a screen credit? or is it the special effects teams (armies) that are responsible for the massive credit lists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Pretzill

RTE removing the credits for "The End" sign annoys me too, probably because it's the signature of the movie, the place when all those who worked really hard get their credit for doing so.

Okay I wouldn't be sitting there checking who was 'best boy' but credits are there to complete the whole experience - nowadays they are often speeded up, too small to read etc but they are important - I always feel the movie is clipped by RTE in favour of The End and it just seems rushed and lazy. I haven't seen any other TV stations do this either.

I'm aware it's not a huge thing to be worried about but seeing as you brought it up OP I agree ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

[fin]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Watched Sin City years ago on RTE, was watching for the first time so didn't know how ended. Got distracted amd next moment the commercials were on, next the late news, thinking Sin City was continuing afterwards, sat through it. No Sin City after the news.

For that reason, hate RTEs use of 'The End'.

:mad:

They are doing such a good job aren't they.....

Separate issue.

Absolutely not

Of course they're separate issues. One is about well the organisation is run. The other is whether they show the credits.

Unless your beef with how the organisation is run is mainly about whether they show the credits. In which case you might need a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I wonder do I have implied permission to use a recording of the broadcast for re-transmitting for commercial purposes if the broadcaster skips the credits which include the legal notice about this.
    Probably not though somewhat curious to know whether the 'guilty' person would be me or the broadcaster if I did this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I gave up on movies on RTE over 20 years ago listening to Eddie Murphy say flip and darn when you know its motherflipper or something rude just ruined the movies for me. Only ever watch movies on sky, Netflix or DVD now. No bad language edited out

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Its a bit unprofessional looking ..movie ends ..screen turns black..music starts..then /record scratch/" the end" shows up ( in a totally different looking font from anything to do with the movie ..making it look like it was added in with Microsoft Moviemaker"..and you're in to a promo for mrs feckin brown's cristmas special.

At least ahow a bit of class ans fade to the ads after the first 20 seconds of the end credits..

3e showed The Commitments tonight and most of the credits were cut.

Surely what should be complaining about is that 1) RTE has adverts in movies, 2) RTE still breaks up movies to show the lotto or some other ridiculousness. If neither of these things were true, there would be plenty of the credits that you all seemingly really want.

Focus your annoyance in the right places, people.

I wonder do I have implied permission to use a recording of the broadcast for re-transmitting for commercial purposes if the broadcaster skips the credits which include the legal notice about this.
    Probably not though somewhat curious to know whether the 'guilty' person would be me or the broadcaster if I did this.

Ignorance of the law is not a defence

Well, it's just as well we don't care what you think.
    If rte want to continue to pay excessive wages to 3rd rate TV "personalities' that their choice, but while truncating the credits on a movie isn't a huge issue, it is symptomatic of the general attitude within our national broadcaster....Make cuts everywhere...Except where it actually counts

whats the big big new years day movie ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I gave up on movies on RTE over 20 years ago listening to Eddie Murphy say flip and darn when you know its motherflipper or something rude just ruined the movies for me. Only ever watch movies on sky, Netflix or DVD now. No bad language edited out

Funny that. I recall vividly Beverly Hills Cop being shown at 6.30pm uncensored. You must be confusing RTÉ for one of the UK channels.

lertsnim wrote: »
    Funny that. I recall vividly Beverly Hills Cop being shown at 6.30pm uncensored. You must be confusing RTÉ for one of the UK channels.
    ITV was the worst offender for this even for films shown after nine.

This clip is very SFW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

lertsnim wrote:

Haven't watched Irish tv in years so can't say for sure but I can't imagine them showing Beverly hills cop uncut at at 6:30pm. Don't they still have a 9pm watershed? 20 years ago you wouldn't get the uncut version at any time, day or night. The Times are a changin