If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Final Whistle 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭juniorBman

28a orsini I think.

Any help with:
    27d a winner takes all contest (8) h as second letter
    83d take a hammer to this trash talk (5)
    93d sent out a winner on track (7)

103a it can be so aged the amount of medicine given to athletes (6) think second last letter is G

27D SHOWDOWN
    83D SLEDGE
    93D SADDLED
    103A DOSAGE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭juniorBman

deise300 wrote: »
    27d showdown
    83d sledge

Need help on...
    108a... Sudden wave of emotion of excitement for a sports fan... T?????

80d... Untrained, bucking horses at the foot of the Rocky Mountains... ??o?c?s

92d... Embolden, spur... ??s???e

Cheers :)

108A THRILL
    80D BRONCOS
    92D INSPIRE
    I'm still stuck for 27D. One short of a poker. Triple doesn't fit. T?I?L??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,974 ✭✭✭brian_t

juniorBman wrote: »
    I'm still stuck for 27D. One short of a poker. Triple doesn't fit. T?I?L??

TRIPLET fits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 darkey

is it triplet or triples?

darkey wrote: »
    is it triplet or triples?

I don't play poker so I don't know but...
    Three of a Kind - Three cards of the same rank and two cards of different ranks - for example 7-7-7-10-6. This is sometimes known as a triplet or trips.
    https://www.pagat.com/poker/rules/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ohmyback

54A Cannot figure this out. Are the dutch the new black????. Is it Orange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,455 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Yes, Orange.

The Netflix series is called "Orange is the New Black" because it is based off of a memoir by Piper Kerman called Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison. As the other answers have said, "the new black" is an idiom of sorts in fashion, because wearing black is fashionable (black goes with everything).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 leitrimexile

can anyone help with the following

34a the kind of catch thats not good *r***e* (7)

58 and 44 across italian legend **l, ****o, (3 and 5), I deplore is hint

37d a name steeped in premiership legend (7 and 4) m**h*e***an

32a the kind of foul thats easy to see (7) ***t**t

thanks in advance

34a the kind of catch thats not good *r***e* (7) - DROPPED

32a the kind of foul thats easy to see (7) ***t**t - BLATANT

58. italian legend **l, ****o, (3 and 5) - Del Piero

37d a name steeped in premiership legend (7 and 4) m**h*e***an - Could your "a" be wrong? (MICHAEL OWEN)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,455 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It could be Michael Ryan, the Tipperary hurling manager, with Tipp being known as the Premier County.

thanks lads, 69a is Bosnia so Michael Ryan is the most obvious answer. Its tough this year.

Just 13 and 29 down and 50 d

29d chic lens captures victory (7) *l*n*he* sounds like a horse racing one and Im crap with these.

50 d *N* (3) you get four bowls each with one of these

13down (6) lay bare a poor defence e*p*s*

Clinches as in clinches victory (8 letters).
    End
    Expose

thanks Brian T and DXHOUND 2005 for help. To relaxed some of them are obvious. Glad thats done will post next week and see how I get on.

Fair play to ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Chillli

Does anybody have 111A A-R-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Chillli wrote: »
    Does anybody have 111A A-R-

Aura

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 westmeath1234

Anyone have 60 across?
    You would find one of these at 59a(Ayr, where the scottish grand national is held), or in the stables. ?r??m

Anyone have 60 across?
    You would find one of these at 59a(Ayr, where the scottish grand national is held), or in the stables. ?r??m

Groom ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ohmyback

Thanks Dxhoud2005 For the answer Orange. Not a Netflix fan myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 laoisman2016

Evening,

Just need one more answer to finish this off.

71 A (Keep this warm until you're needed)

Thought it was "tenth" then seen there's a cycling term called "senth"

If anyone needs solutions I'll throw them out don't hesitate to ask

Thanks in advance!

I haven't got the crossword, but it must be Bench.

I'm actually retarded, appreciate it man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

37d a name steeped in premiership legend (7 and 4) m**h*e***an

It's just Premier legend, referring to the Premier County: Michael Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 taffey

Help please!
    89 down,
    B. If Boss is right.
    -
    L
    -
    P
    -
    N. Ballpen????!!!! Thanks

taffey wrote: »
    Help please!
    89 down,
    B. If Boss is right.
    -
    L
    -
    P
    -
    N. Ballpen????!!!! Thanks

whats the clue?

Bullpen, warmup area for baseball pitchers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

50d
    You get four bowls each per one of these. ?n?

65a
    After match entertainment. A?r?s

End, outdoor bowls term

Apres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Jairus

Hi just stuck on one - 49D, silent laugh of the double champions.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 westmeath1234

Jairus wrote: »
    Hi just stuck on one - 49D, silent laugh of the double champions.

Cheers

Slaughtneil. Have 60 across ?