Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most unusual food you have ever eaten?

• 24-12-2016 3:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭

What is the most unusual food you have ever eaten?

I don't mean something you didn't expect like a worm in an orange or something that was served to you in poor condition. I mean here an unusual food on the menu that you have eaten in a restaurant or café in Ireland or overseas.

I was traveling in Java, Indonesia in the 70's and some Indonesian guys I met on my travels invited me to go with them to a restaurant where they eat dogmeat. It was a very cheap restaurant that only sold dogmeat with rice and nothing else was served there. The restaurant was for poor people who could not afford to eat anywhere else.

I tried a few pieces of the meat but it was very chewy, tasteless and hard to digest. I didn't manage to eat much of it as I only did it for the experience and I didn't enjoy it. I have no plans to try it ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Horses heart with boiled nettles. ''Twas alright.....

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Ah you ate dog meat? I ate pussy once. Still do was quite nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Duck hearts. Surprisingly tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

Horses heart with boiled nettles. ''Twas alright.....

That reminded me of when I drove coach tours in France. I used to stop at the service areas on the Autoroute and the passengers used to go in and usually order the cheapest food on the menu which was often "Steak au Cheval".

They had no idea they were eating horsemeat and I wasn't going to tell them :)

Ah you ate dog meat? I ate pussy once. Still do was quite nice.

If there was pussy on offer in that restaurant, I would have stayed a bit longer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Probably not unusual, but I tried Pork Scratchings for the first time today and they're absolute rank. Not sure what the Brits were thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Raw horse, raw whale, cooked whale. All fine after getting over the mental block.

Weirdest thing would be hachinoko (bee larvae) and the absolute worst and most disgusting would be shiokara (salty paste of fermented offal of marine life, especially squid).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Zebra sausages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Probably something I ate in a foreign country so I can mention all the exotic places I've been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Zebra sausages.

Tell me they were stripy.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

I ate 'chicken face pie' in a remote part of Cote D'Ivoire. I assumed that the translation was the problem and there would be more chicken than chicken face, but no, it really was as advertised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Horse tongue and beef heart, tongue was chewy and not very tasty, found heart nice, tasted just like beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭dinky earnshaw

Had parrot once. Was nice but kept repeating on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Your Face wrote: »
    Probably something I ate in a foreign country so I can mention all the exotic places I've been.

Somebody will just claim to have scraped some organic sandwich matter from a meteor that originated in Phobos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Musciami. Dried raw dolphin meat, sliced. Tastes like a cross between old, putrid, tough RAW meat, and the smell of an ancient trawler on a hot evening.
    I am no fuss-pot with food and would eat virtually anything. But this was without any possibility of quibble, the vilest thing I've ever tried to consume, bar none. Rank, rotten, rubbery are all far too mild words, even in triplicate. Disgusting. Just don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

nocoverart wrote: »
    Probably not unusual, but I tried Pork Scratchings for the first time today and they're absolute rank. Not sure what the Brits were thinking.

Pork scratchings are the most amazing thing on the planet. It's a heartattack in a bag but man nyom nyom salty fatty tastiness.....

You can't buy them here in Australia so last year I ordered a tonne of them online. Almost made myself sick I gorged so much. Which reminds me... need to buy more.... it's xmas after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Your Face wrote: »

Come to Cork... we eat all kinds of offal and some kind of moss here!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Kangaroo. Not particularly interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

Camel
    Kangaroo
    Crocodile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,381 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Crocodile stir fry. Delish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

snail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Had a horsemeat baguette in Milan before, it was lovely.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Nomis21 wrote: »
    That reminded me of when I drove coach tours in France. I used to stop at the service areas on the Autoroute and the passengers used to go in and usually order the cheapest food on the menu which was often "Steak au Cheval".

That means minced beef with an egg on top.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

My Mother in laws Christmas dinner.
    She says it's turkey and ham but I'm not so sure turkey and ham could taste that bad....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

Did you pick up much french while you were there? Steak au Cheval does not mean Horse meat steak.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Pigs ear, I think it was boiled. It was just a giant pig's ear on the plate. The skin had gone sort of gelatinous and you'd scrape it off the cartilage. I almost got sick when I seen a big hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

usually order the cheapest food on the menu which was often "Steak au Cheval".

It's not horse. It's just a cheap cut of beef with a fried egg on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Can't say I ever ate anything too mad, not by continental standards anyway. Had frogs legs once. Was nice but you could achieve the same if you did chicken in white wine I thought. More tender than chicken I suppose. I do like snails. Lidl have a dozen for 2€ or so. Perry winkles are weird enough. Oh and I ate a bison steak in the US. Dry and tough as ****.

Corkgirl18 wrote: »
    Did you pick up much french while you were there? Steak au Cheval does not mean Horse meat steak.. :P

OK "Steak de viande de cheval" then, who cares, it was still horsemeat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Tell me they were stripy.
    I don't believe they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Pelican curry,

The only issue was the enormous BILL.

We had this thread a month or so ago :) So I will cross post a bit -

Suppose human placenta is the one most people notice when I list the weird things I have eaten.

People are often surprised when I mention catching killing and eating wild rabbit too.

Used to think I was weird enough eating horse that I bought a few times - but then sher it turned out we were all at it without knowing

Tuna Eyeball - Hákarl - snails - frog - pigeon in the UK - kangeroo and crocodile.

I have not _yet_ had human toe in The Sourtoe Cocktail but it is high on my to do list. As is "Dragon in the Flame of Desire"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Fried tarantulas, legs were nice and crispy, stomach not so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Impala.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Deep fried frogs legs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

Goat it was horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Can't say I ever ate anything too mad, not by continental standards anyway. Had frogs legs once. Was nice but you could achieve the same if you did chicken in white wine I thought. More tender than chicken I suppose. I do like snails. Lidl have a dozen for 2€ or so. Perry winkles are weird enough. Oh and I ate a bison steak in the US. Dry and tough as ****.

We used to pick perriwinkles on the beach and bring them home to cook and eat them. I forgot completely about it until now. I don't think people do that anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Deep fried chicks (as in the little yellow chickens) which are then marinated in a lime preserve. You spend ages picking at it, but it's lovely meat.

Chimpanzee meat. Didn't know what it was when I had it. Not nice, very tough with a strong aftertaste, but it was badly overcooked as well.

Both of them were in Guinea Bissau. Best fish I ever had was there as well. Ate a lot of gazelle too, which is just deer, but it's all wild, so it tasted fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Deep fried guinea pig. Tastes terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Damien360

Snails in a pie in France with some garlic. Very nice except for the burps later which were really gelatinous to the point of almost blowing bubbles and tasted awful. Gave me a really sick feeling when I burped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Damien360 wrote: »
    Snails in a pie in France with some garlic. Very nice except for the burps later which were really gelatinous to the point of almost blowing bubbles and tasted awful. Gave me a really sick feeling when I burped.

They taste quite nice.

I tried pickled herring in Amsterdam with similar results to your experience with snails. I was hungover and ate it on an empty stomach. I spent a day belching pickled fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Damien360

Grayson wrote: »
    They taste quite nice.

I tried pickled herring in Amsterdam with similar results to your experience with snails. I was hungover and ate it on an empty stomach. I spent a day belching pickled fish.

I had pickled herring in Stockholm and loved them. Had a load of them with a non alcolhoic beer. Tax is massive on alcohol so there are loads of non alco beers and it was very common for people to have a beer with lunch. They didn't repeat on me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Pickled Bumblebee - grand, you'd want a fair few to fill ye up tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Roadside tavern in the boonies north of Seattle - deep fried breaded turkey gizzards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Had a Battered sausage out of the chipper in Bray, feckin awful, tasted like the spiced goats anus I ate in Tanzania, anus was better

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

Hot pot in Kong Kong. They bring out the raw meat and you cook it yourself in the boiling pot of soup at your table. I decided to try the frog and they brought a plate of small pieces of grey meat that were twitching and nearly jumping off.
    They had killed, skinned and chopped the frog just after I had asked for it. I felt guilty eating it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Had both shark and kangaroo in Australia. Kangaroo was okay, the shark a bit tasteless.

Had chicken feet soup in Thailand, which was surprisingly tasty.

And I had fox in Ireland. A farmer I knew shot one trying to kill his hens, so rather than throw away the body, he cured the meat. Gave me some to eat cold and it was absolutely delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭kirving

Fried Scorpion from a street trader in Bangkok, was like like an overcooked rasher.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Ate raindeer for the first time tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

OK "Steak de viande de cheval" then, who cares, it was still horsemeat!

I don't think it was. Steak au Cheval is typically minced beef with an egg on top. It has nothing to do with horses at all..