Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social stigma to considering plastic surgery

• 21-12-2016 7:18pm
    Site Banned Posts: 391 ✭✭

At the mere mention of it, I'm guessing people would be more inclined to recommend that I go to a psychologist, as opposed to address the topic, but here goes! I'm aware that many surgeries are counterproductive, risk prone, etc. But that aside, if you could get it done without looking "done", like Clooney or Dylan McDermott, would you consider?

I've heard my fair share of people say "oh gosh, I could never do that". It's as if they think it requires courage to do it! I presume of of these people are lying, and others just don't realise that they do would want it. However that'd be exactly what response I'd give too... a chance to show off how humble I am! But would I consider it... in the future?

I hear some say "oh my wrinkles define who I am" and that I understand, but I couldn't really picture anyone saying "my sunken cheek bones and turtle neck define who I am"! Isn't that kind of like saying "my fat belly defines who I am"? Well it shouldn't! It would however be a bit strange if I looked the same my whole life and I wouldn't want that, just without the huge ears please!

Yes, much of whom get it are likely to be vacuous and vein, but not always! It doesn't necessarily mean that if you choose it, that you consider your looks to be your only value. What's wrong with wanting it all? It's like who would want to remain short and fat? What's wrong with wanting to look better? Let's call a spade a spade - better looks = more confidence.

Most of the ageing issues that can be corrected aren't ones that I'm concerned about anyway... i.e, botox. But can anything really be done for the neck for example? Courtney Cox's neck isn't looking great at the moment. It's not frown lines that I'm worried about. I don't think they make people (certainly not men) look worse. So if I had the money, and if I was certain the surgeon wouldn't mess up, and if I was certain the result would be subtle (and that it wouldn't contradict other facial features) - then sure, maybe I would.

For a while there Courtney Cox was actually getting better looking with age!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

It's a very American Hollywood concept, surgical enhancement.

I don't think it's the done thing over here. People may think you've notions, twas far from tummy tucks you were reared etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 cartoon 101

waste of money imo

think about how much drink you could buy for the price of plastic surgery

• Site Banned Posts: 391 ✭✭paralysed

think about how much drink you could buy for the price of plastic surgery
    Won't take the bait!

Robsweezie wrote: »
    It's a very American Hollywood concept, surgical enhancement. I don't think it's the done thing over here.
    Lack of imagination so?
    Robsweezie wrote: »
    People may think you've notions, twas far from tummy tucks you were reared to
    You see tummy tucks are something one should have control over... without need for surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Medicalising the natural aging process isn't a path to happiness. It's only delaying the inevitable. Better to lie about your age and add ten years. 'Jaysus! S/he looks amazing for X+10! I wonder what his/her secret is?'

If you could be bothered...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I don't see any issue within reason - I think the main issue with a lot of the disaster cases isn't inherently the surgery or botox, it's the fact that older people often tend to try too hard to turn back the clock, too late. Whereas someone who gets say, botox, regularly since the age of 30-35 will look infinitely better at 55 than someone aged 55 who abruptly decides they want to shave 20 years off the calender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's sad that something so natural ie ageing is seen as a bad thing.

endacl wrote: »
    It's only delaying the inevitable.
    Isn't that what life is?

If delaying the inevitable means I can get a decade's worth of more lays, then why not?!

eviltwin wrote: »
    It's sad that something so natural ie ageing is seen as a bad thing.
    It's ageing that's the sad part - hardly a coincidence that it's viewed as so!

paralysed wrote: »
    It's ageing that's the sad part - hardly a coincidence that it's viewed as so!

What's sad about ageing? The only negative for me at least, is I can't stay up all night anymore and my body aches more. A few grey hairs and wrinkles are the least of it.

Whereas someone who gets say, botox, regularly since the age of 30-35 will look infinitely better at 55 than someone aged 55 who abruptly decides they want to shave 20 years off the calender.
    But you don't want to have the forehead of a 25 year old and the crowsfeet of a 45 year old?

That's assuming they don't inject botox into the eyes?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Papering over the cracks, for the most part.

But you don't want to have the forehead of a 25 year old and the crowsfeet of a 45 year old?

That's assuming they don't inject botox into the eyes?!

God no. Too much of that stuff and you start to resemble a cat.

What's sad about ageing?
    That I wouldn't want ya for a night! or maybe I would? I'm attracted to plenty of woman 40+ and even 50+

You're right though... if it doesn't bother you, then it's not sad!

BTW, you can surely do better than quoting such a sh1te common song!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

That I wouldn't want ya for a night! or maybe I would? I'm attracted to plenty of woman 40+ and even 50+

You're right though... if it doesn't bother you, then it's not sad!

BTW, you can surely do better than quoting such a sh1te common song!

Ah then you're getting into the area of enhancing yourself to please other people. If you want to do it because it's what you want that's fine. There's nothing wrong with it and you shouldn't be judged for it.

Ah then you're getting into the area of enhancing yourself to please other people.
    We all have to do some good deed! I'll take the bullet for this one!

....... wrote: »
    yeah I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think its hypocritical to be against plastic surgery as we all judge people on how they look, subconsciously or otherwise, so why stop people from wanting to change how they look for the better . And I think it has a negative image due to the over use of it by certain celebrities , people think anyone who has plastic surgery will turn out like joan rivers. But really, most plastic surgery if done well is very subtle and boosts patients confidence hugely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I was considering getting myself a set of massive cans in the January sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I'd like to remain short and fat.

And I am quite fond of older men and women, it seems like such a shame to watch someone's face get tighter rather than older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Getting old absolutely horrifies me. I am all for having whatever you want to do done

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Cosmetic surgery? Bring it on!

I would like to look like Jocelyn Wildenstein (google her) by the time I'm 70.

I've a crooked nose, misaligned teeth, thinning hair and on and on and on.

None of it bothers me. I'm very comfortable with myself. I like who I am. It's probably helped by having a wife who is a head turner.

So I wouldn't change one thinning hair on my head...but I suspect if things had worked out differently and I was with just about any other person, I might be less secure.

So I wouldn't dream of surgery...but I wouldn't dream of judging others for deeming it appropriate for them.

I live in a place where there's a lot of people who've embraced plastic surgery, fillers, botox, the lot.

All the botox in the world won't stop gravitational sag, you can be completely wrinkle free and you still won't look young, mainly because you aren't. They should just try to look as good as they can without worrying about looking younger.

I don't know what the problem is with looking your age, it's not like age is something to be ashamed of or some kind of failure. Ideally people wouldn't be that hung up about how they look, they'd have more going for them to be worrying about a natural process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

What I find amazing is how normalised breast implants have become nowadays. Not that every second woman is getting them, but that nobody bats an eyelid at the thought of it anymore. Which is fine. But it's also kind of sad in a way. I could never take a person seriously who had breast implants for purely cosmetic reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Candie wrote: »
    All the botox in the world won't stop gravitational sag, you can be completely wrinkle free and you still won't look young, mainly because you aren't. They should just try to look as good as they can without worrying about looking younger.

I've noticed that about people with botox actually. They never look younger. In fact, if they're still reasonably young - say 20s or early 30s - it can make them look older in a sort of unnaturally tight, desperately-trying-to-look-young kind of way.

That's if it's done badly though, or over-done, which is increasingly the case these days thanks to your Geordie Shore/TOWIE types. The right amount of botox will just make you look a bit fresher, a bit more awake.
    What I find amazing is how normalised breast implants have become nowadays. Not that every second woman is getting them, but that nobody bats an eyelid at the thought of it anymore.

Really? I've met about two, maybe three women in my entire lifetime who've had boob jobs. I don't think it's particularly common at all this side of the atlantic. And it's usually been "look at yer wan with the boob job".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I suppose the idea of plastic surgery for cosmetic reasons is is to look better/younger without it being noticable. Unfortunately it nearly always obvious. Chiselled noses, stretched, tight skin, bulbous lips, unnatural facial shapes. The results generally seem to defeat the purpose.

I think a large part of the reason that it is noticeable is because ageing takes place everywhere so if talking about the face if you fix one part then it's out of sync with the rest and it looks obvious you've had something done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The idea of plastic surgery is comical, here's a nugget people will always know people will always notice therefore what's the point.

Be yourself and accept yourself, if you need botox to get laid as you put it in a previous post then you are doing it wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Buy a pair of weights.
    Gainz brah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Isn't that what life is?

If delaying the inevitable means I can get a decade's worth of more lays, then why not?!

We call them Walkers in this art of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I remember when John Travolta used to look like a human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

I'm lucky enough to have been born with classic good looks. No snaggletooth, fivehead or eyes looking in different directions for me. I'm aware that you cannot fight genetics, and I'm lucky in that regard, unlike a lot of rather unfortunate looking Irish people, but wouldn't hesitate to get some work done if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I have no issue with plastic surgery, but I think I would be too scared to get it. You look at how many celebs that have had bad work done - and they can afford 'the best' surgeons in the world - what chance would we have with a run of the mill surgeon. For every celeb who's had natural work like Helen Mirren, there's 10 Coutney Cox's, Renee Zellwegger's, Nicole Kidman's etc. I'm 37 and would love to get a bit of Botox around my crows feet but a) I can't afford it and b) I'm too scared it would look awful!

I don't think the social stigma is confined to Ireland. How many times have you heard a celebrity say their taut face is down to drinking water or good skin care routine! Though I think Ireland and Irish people have traditionally been a humble people, there would definitely be talk of 'notions' if someone had lots of surgery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Each to their own. But if you do get it done then dont go cheap on it.
    Nothing worse than a badly done trout pout or boobs with big dark scars underneath them that look like they are filled with hydrogen.
    And do any men like playing with silicon enhanced boobs?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

We call them Walkers in this art of the world.

Or Zimmer frames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

its all relative though isnt it, 

ive had my eyes fixed , LASIK when i was 22, 
    my teeth fixed ,braces for a couple of years in secondary school, 
    ill have to get a half body lift done in the next year and am saving for it now.  most people dont see LASIK or braces as cosmetic work.  the body lift yes its part vanity part practical (excess skin impedes progress) and loads of people have commented saying oh you dont need it, you have a great body now, which is true but they dont see the two pairs of spanx i wear all day every day, or notice i never wear low rise jeans or a bikini, my arms are grand thank god (thank you dumbells) but my inside legs and stomach are horrific I want to get the skin removed so life will be easier.

whats the harm...

same as if someone told me they hated their nose or boobs, if you can afford it and are willing to take the risk to make yourself feel better why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

To be fair, there is a strong component of mental health in it. It's often said that people who feel good in themselves, look good on the outside.

But the converse is equally true - looking good on the outside can make you feel good inside.

As livedadream says, where is the line drawn? Most people wouldn't think twice about getting braces, waxing (or laser hair removal), dying hair and so forth. What's so crazy about a minor tuck, having scar tissue removed, or having breasts evened up so they look the same, etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

ncmc wrote: »
    I have no issue with plastic surgery, but I think I would be too scared to get it. You look at how many celebs that have had bad work done - and they can afford 'the best' surgeons in the world - what chance would we have with a run of the mill surgeon. For every celeb who's had natural work like Helen Mirren, there's 10 Coutney Cox's, Renee Zellwegger's, Nicole Kidman's etc. I'm 37 and would love to get a bit of Botox around my crows feet but a) I can't afford it and b) I'm too scared it would look awful!

I don't think the social stigma is confined to Ireland. How many times have you heard a celebrity say their taut face is down to drinking water or good skin care routine! Though I think Ireland and Irish people have traditionally been a humble people, there would definitely be talk of 'notions' if someone had lots of surgery!

Being rich doesn't mean youll get the best doctors, in fact they may just pick the most expensive one assuming he/she is the best when this couldn't be further from the truth especially with regards plastic surgery, its quite a seedy and unregulated business full of conmen. Normal People with less money will spend longer researching and looking at hundreds of reviews in order to find the best doctor and get the most bang for their buck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Getting old absolutely horrifies me. I am all for having whatever you want to do done

But the alternative to getting old is dying young?
    If you mean ''looking old'' horrifies you, you have time to work on that. As one grows older there is the opportunity to move deeper, to truly get past surface appearance, and the terror of changing appearance does dissipate. It's worth working on that. You know it's like in the same way we grow to feel our friends and loved ones look just beautiful, that we just love their dear faces, even though from a purely aesthetic point of view they may be quite plain - in the same way we can grow to love our own changing appearance. I love seeing pictures of older women and men who look naturally old but have grace and maturity and wisdom. I had a 70 year old man visiting this summer and Feck me but he was HOT. He had vitality and elan, and was way more attractive than most young guys. I love the changing faces of my older friends, I really love them. And I like the way I am growing older too. It's a privilege to live on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

But the alternative to getting old is dying young?
    If you mean ''looking old'' horrifies you, you have time to work on that. As one grows older there is the opportunity to move deeper, to truly get past surface appearance, and the terror of changing appearance does dissipate. It's worth working on that. You know it's like in the same way we grow to feel our friends and loved ones look just beautiful, that we just love their dear faces, even though from a purely aesthetic point of view they may be quite plain - in the same way we can grow to love our own changing appearance. I love seeing pictures of older women and men who look naturally old but have grace and maturity and wisdom. I had a 70 year old man visiting this summer and Feck me but he was HOT. He had vitality and elan, and was way more attractive than most young guys. I love the changing faces of my older friends, I really love them. And I like the way I am growing older too. It's a privilege to live on :)

I suppose everything about being old scares me. Living through watching great disasters and friends die. Being mutton dressed as lamb. Frustrating young people by not understanding things, not having any interest in things I find interesting now, looking in the mirror and seeing a haggard old witch looking at me, grey hair, chin hair, crows feet, deep lines, looking ridiculous with daring makeup, having to play it safe I suppose. The only thing about getting older that doesn't scare me is dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭zeroliner

I think it's brilliant. If someone feels bad about something about themselves, that no amount of patronising comments can salve, then why not? Do whatever makes you feel better about yourself. Pay no heed to whatever anyone says. Suit yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

I don't see any stigma in plastic surgery at all. I am quite proud of the work I got done and show it off at any opportunity. Of course this has led to me being barred from Tesco, apparently they are not as happy with my penis reduction surgery as I am.

For every celeb who's had natural work like Helen Mirren
    She's beautiful.

She's British - that must be why. And what is 'natural work'?

I suppose everything about being old scares me. Living through watching great disasters and friends die. Being mutton dressed as lamb. Frustrating young people by not understanding things, not having any interest in things I find interesting now, looking in the mirror and seeing a haggard old witch looking at me, grey hair, chin hair, crows feet, deep lines, looking ridiculous with daring makeup, having to play it safe I suppose. The only thing about getting older that doesn't scare me is dying.
    Some of what you mentioned is optional. Think Donald Trump

I think Oscar Wilde said it best - as we age "we degenerate into hideous puppets, haunted by the memory of the our past". Hope that helps you slepp tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I think Nicole Kidman looks beautiful. Courtney Cox from a quick Google is a bit stretched in the cheeks but I doubt I'd notice if I hadn't just learned she's had something done. And with Renee Zellweger I think it's obvious because we know roughly how old she really is. If she was an ordinary person I wouldn't suspect..

Some people become much more beautiful as they age. I think Audrey Hepburn is one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

zeroliner wrote: »
    I think it's brilliant. If someone feels bad about something about themselves, that no amount of patronising comments can salve, then why not? Do whatever makes you feel better about yourself. Pay no heed to whatever anyone says. Suit yourself.

This kind of logic always confuses me when it comes to plastic surgery/makeup etc.

Even if you say you're doing it for yourself, by changing your appearance drastically arent you in essence doing it for the opinion of other people who will see you? It may make you feel better but it's only making you feel better because you believe your appearance will now satisfy others.

To me that kind of phrasing twists it to make it seem like it's self-empowering when it's just a crutch for insecurity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

I really can understand the underlying sentiment Lexie, as attachment to youth and beauty and so on are strong in many if not all of us. But they are not unshakable attachments, and if we do not loosen them gradually we set ourselves up for terrible distress later on. Watching friends and loved ones die is not a preserve of the old, indeed some young people will have seen more death and disaster than many of us could ever bear. Mutton dressed as lamb? - wear whatever the heck you want whatever age you are....the Californian hippie grannies with their long silver hair and their doc martins look fecking fantastic :D We are just a bit dry here when it comes to shtyle. Haggard old witch is a strong phrase, but upon analysis I find 2 out of 3 of the words to be positive. Old is a privilege and witch is an honour, so you just have to work on redefining a relationship with haggard. :) I have seen young taut skin that yet embodies haggardness, and wrinkles aplenty wrapped around fulsome health and beauty. Anyway, my intention is not to badger you as your POV is understandable, just to advise that too much attachment to appearance paves the way for much dissatisfaction..... when there is no need really. Really and truly. I promise :)