Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy gets kicked off plane for speaking Arabic

• 21-12-2016 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/dec/21/adam-saleh-delta-flight-arabic

A YouTube star (keep this part in mind) Adam Saleh was kicked off a Delta Airlines flight sometime today when some passengers became uncomfortable by him speaking Arabic on the phone to his mother.

He filmed him and his friends being escorted up the aisle proclaiming his outrage.

At first, I disregarded the fact that he was filming the whole thing because that's what people seem to do nowadays, and felt a bit of shock that this was happening.

The whole YouTube thing throws me though. Most of his YouTube channel is of pranks and "social experiments" with click-baitey titles i.e. exploiting and manipulating people for views and therefore $$$

What do you reckon?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

YouTube star! Never mind a plane, kick him off a cliff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

blow69 wrote: »

A YouTube star (keep this part in mind) Adam Saleh was kicked off a Delta Airlines flight sometime today when some passengers became uncomfortable by him speaking Arabic on the phone to his mother.

He filmed him and his friends being escorted up the aisle proclaiming his outrage.

At first, I disregarded the fact that he was filming the whole thing because that's what people seem to do nowadays, and felt a bit of shock that this was happening.

The whole YouTube thing throws me though. Most of his YouTube channel is of pranks and "social experiments" with click-baitey titles i.e. exploiting and manipulating people for views and $$$

What do you reckon?

I reckon he's full of shite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

Was the plane on the ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

And look at us (and mainly the guardian) for taking this bait hook, line and sinker so another "youtube celebrity" gets their views.

Don't forget to smash that like button and subscribe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

9or10 wrote: »
    Was the plane on the ground?

Yes. Departing London and New York bound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Yes. Departing London and New York bound.

Shame.

But I guess that was the joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I would have preferred to see him get kicked out of Arabia for acting like a plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

he sounds like a complete tool, example in the link of what he gets up to. I hope the airline sue him or have him charged

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C0NTcf7UkAAsvHM.jpg:large

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Your man Richard Marx was filming himself going all Wesley Snipes on a plane there today too.

I thought it wasn't a shameless publicity stunt at first but I should've known better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

'Youtube personality'....jaysus.

Publicity stunt or discrimination...he reminds me a bit of that lad that 'got arrested for speaking Irish' who turned out to be a member of Republican Sinn Fein with a habit of annoying the police. This guy conveniently started filming after it all happened too.

That said, similar things have happened to people for whom it wasn't a convenient publicity incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm going to call bull on his story.

Usually when someone posts a video of themselves talking to the camera about something that has happened, they're omitting all sorts of useful information.

If you don't want to watch it, the entire thing is basically him talking to the camera and other passengers about how "white people" are kicking him off the plane for speaking a different language. And repeating that over and over. The other passengers are understandably shocked, while the crew escorting him off just look like they're sick of his nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's not the first time this has happened though.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/apr/16/southwest-airlines-man-removed-flight-arabic

And there was the economist who was kicked off a plane because he was writing maths.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/may/07/professor-flight-delay-terrorism-equation-american-airlines

seamus wrote: »
    I'm going to call bull on his story.

Usually when someone posts a video of themselves talking to the camera about something that has happened, they're omitting all sorts of useful information.

If you don't want to watch it, the entire thing is basically him talking to the camera and other passengers about how "white people" are kicking him off the plane for speaking a different language. And repeating that over and over. The other passengers are understandably shocked, while the crew escorting him off just look like they're sick of his nonsense.

Except he was using his phone to talk to someone so he couldn't record himself at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Arabic is not compatible with aviation. Well except the numerals, they're vital to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Yeah, really don't know about this. The guy in question is known to be someone who exaggerates for the social media hits, and has history pricking about on planes before, but as someone posted above, there has been occasions whereby people have been thrown off planes for speaking Arabic.

Would hate to think that he was innocent and wronged in all of this, but I wouldn't doubt that it could happen. Just the fact that the recorder's history would make you fairly sceptical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

Guy gets kicked off plane for speaking Arabic

What do you reckon?

He looks and acts like an absolute prick.
    His language is secondary.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C0NUVc6XcAAoxOb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Great, he should have been kicked off, well done to those who kicked him off.

Nah, ain't watching it thanks. Don't want to give him another view.

YouTube star - WTF. I suppose he'll be in Strictly come dancing next year or Celebrity Big Brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

YouTube star - WTF. I suppose he'll be in Strictly come dancing next year or Celebrity Big Brother.

Equate "Youtube star" to "Star of St Marys Primary School Christmas Panto", it conjures the same level of ability

Nah, ain't watching it thanks. Don't want to give him another view.

Not one of his videos.

OK one of his skangy mates?

No.. Someone that exposed what he is up to, ie how he does stuff in order to get a reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

The whole YouTube thing throws me though. Most of his YouTube channel is of pranks and "social experiments" with click-baitey titles i.e. exploiting and manipulating people for views and therefore $$$

What do you reckon?

And so it begins.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

I watched the video. He seems to be a bit of a penis doesnt he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I would have preferred to see him get kicked out of Arabia for acting like a plane.
    Nyuuuuuuuuuuurrrrmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

He pushes it until he gets a reaction and then blames others for his actions.
    He got himself kicked off the plane, like many white men, black men and Jewish men before him. He basically a man who got kicked off a place, no more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

He's a typical YouTube attention freak.

Trying to make money from getting likes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

What is happening now is that the hot heads are exposing themselves for all to see. This will only continue as the media spread falsehoods and abuse against secular Arabs. A cocktail of conspiracies has be offered to the public and we are seeing on social media sites and over airways this propaganda for a number of years now. It was kept hidden for years that the perpetrators of the 9/11 attacks were from Saudi Arabia and that the majority of these Jihadists were Muslims seeking to spread terror to Europe and America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Co*ckbag gets kicked off for being a Co*ckbag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

As someone who works in the aviation, you get a lot of these C list celebrities getting kicked off for acting the absolute prick or thinking they own the plane.

He was probably being a prick and they had enough with his ****e and asked him to leave, then he labels them racist because it's the first time it it hasn't gone his way. Any publicity for these C list celebrities is what they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Fake news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Hamlet.

Good.

Fake news.

More fake news, you're right. He does it living. He makes money from Youtube out of getting a reaction to his so called pranks. His bluff got called, he got kicked off. Nobody wants to hear someone screaming Allah Ackbaaaaaar on a plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

"social experiments"...These two words basically mean to act like a prick in public and film people's reactions...I despise these types of videos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I hope that whenever this shoitebag goes to an airport in future one airline after another refuses to carry him and his friend.

He pushes it until he gets a reaction and then blames others for his actions.
    He got himself kicked off the plane, like many white men, black men and Jewish men before him. He basically a man who got kicked off a place, no more than that.

Do you have any single piece of evidence to suggest that he acted the prick? That he deserved to be kicked off?

The guy is a youtube star which in most peoples books means he's a dick (I'd agree with them) but that doesn't mean that he's lying. There's not been a scrap of evidence to show or suggest that he's lying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Grayson wrote: »
    Do you have any single piece of evidence to suggest that he acted the prick? That he deserved to be kicked off?

The guy is a youtube star which in most peoples books means he's a dick (I'd agree with them) but that doesn't mean that he's lying. There's not been a scrap of evidence to show or suggest that he's lying.

Yeah he's probably a saint of man altogether. Really they should have kicked everybody else off. Or at least the white cisgendered scum.

How was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Yes, there is. delta have conducted an investigation and this is what they and numerous passengers say:
    Upon landing the crew was debriefed and multiple passenger statements collected. Based on the information collected to date, it appears the customers who were removed sought to disrupt the cabin with provocative behavior, including shouting. This type of conduct is not welcome on any Delta flight. While one, according to media reports, is a known prankster who was video recorded and encouraged by his traveling companion, what is paramount to Delta is the safety and comfort of our passengers and employees. It is clear these individuals sought to violate that priority.
    Saleh and his companion were loud and proactive, multiple passengers confirmed to Delta.

So given that multiple passengers and staff all agree on what happened and that this guy has form for this kind of thing, (previously posted a video of himself loudly counting down in Arabic on a plane, trying to get a reaction) I think it's pretty clear he was on a wind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

"social experiments"...These two words basically mean to act like a prick in public and film people's reactions...I despise these types of videos.

Would love him to go to somewhere like India or Russia and shout Allah Ackbaaaaaar out in public would love to see the YT vidoe of that.

And in one swoop this moron has undermined those who will genuinely experience prejudice in the post Trump election States.

He should be kicked up the hole. Repeatedly.

And in one swoop this moron has undermined those who will genuinely experience prejudice in the post Trump election States.

He should be kicked up the hole. Repeatedly.

The fact that one of his other videos has him and his friends counting from 10-0 in Arabic on a plane to gauge the reactions of others perhaps.

Considering he is always 'on', it's difficult to not be skeptical when he records only the aftermath of what happens so he can convey faux outrage by showing a one-sided view of what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Cabin Crew: Sir would you like to order anything from the hot food menu?

Guy: CCCHHHALLAH CHHAKBARRRRR!!!!

Cabin Crew: I'm sorry sir we only have ham and cheese panini left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Definite bull , Can 100% understand why passengers would possibly have been uncomfortable but no way the Airline throws him off.

Another Muslim attention seeker like that little b!tch that claimed to have her head scarf pulled off by Trump supporters , there playing the victim real well , whats sickening is people are buying their BS.

How would people feel if a KKK member was on whinging that he had his hood pulled of by Obama supporters , or was kicked of a flight by a black air stewardess for being white, talking with a southern accent or having a confederate sicker on his hand luggage ... i doubt too many people would have much sympathy or believe it to be anything other then a publicity stunt given this man signs up to an offensive belief system, to be honest i find Islam to be an equally offensive belief system, so i'd take this with a seller of salt to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Another Muslim thread

i doubt too many people would have much sympathy or believe it to be anything other then a publicity stunt given this man signs up to an offensive belief system, to be honest i find Islam to be an equally offensive belief system, so i'd take this with a seller of salt to be honest.

I'm not sure I'd equate "being Muslim" with "being in the KKK" myself.

But I am offended by your abuse of decent salt salespeople to express scepticism. What have they done?

I'm not sure I'd equate "being Muslim" with "being in the KKK" myself.

Both are ideologies of hate and discrimination in my book , I've no time for burning crosses or lynching innocent black people , but equally I've no time for gay men being thrown from buildings and rape victims stoned to death.

To be honest id argue Islam is worse in the modern era , the KKK have kind of been consigned to history at this stage, other then the few angry, shouty, fringe racists that are left ... Iran , Saudi , ISIS , The Muslim Brotherhood , Hezbollah, they have brought their radically discriminatory ideology and law into practice across an entire region of the world, I'm sure Islam seems worse then the KKK if you are Gay, Atheist, a Rape Victim , a Child Bride etc... and live in the middle east or a Muslim Community elsewhere

Both are ideologies of hate and discrimination in my book , I've no time for burning crosses or lynching innocent black people , but equally I've no time for gay men being thrown from buildings and rape victims stoned to death.

Not sure they are basic tenets of Islam though. I know Muslims who have no time for the stoning or throwing off buildings stuff. I also know Christians who tolerate gay people and don't like firebombing abortion clinics. I never really judge the religious by the extremes.

On the other hand, I don't know anyone in the KKK but do most of them like black people?

Not sure they are basic tenets of Islam though. I know Muslims who have no time for the stoning or throwing off buildings stuff. I also know Christians who tolerate gay people and don't like firebombing abortion clinics. I never really judge the religious by the extremes.

On the other hand, I don't know anyone in the KKK but do most of them like black people?

i'm an atheist so I've no time for any of the religious stuff , i was never overly into religion but after what came out about the child abuse and cover up of same , as i got older and learned about Magdalene laundries and industrial schools i wanted no part of it ... The Koran and sharia law allow for child marriage , stoning of adulators, Honor Killings, the execution of Gays and non believers ... if you can see all that and still be happy to identify as a Muslim and associate with that then i would be very very suspect , the only Muslims i've ever found to be decent tolerant people were ex-Muslims.

Back on topic , this youtuber is full of sh!t