Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1 in 14 drivers in Ireland uninsured

• 19-12-2016 8:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭

So apparently just over 7% of all drivers are now uninsured in Ireland.
    The figures are calculated by comparing the number of registered vehicles to those which have insurance.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/1219/839842-uninsured-drivers-motor-insurance/

This seems like a huge figure - I never would have thought it to be so high but given the cost of premiums, it was always going to drive up the rate of the uninsured.

Is there any way to tackle this, other than some form of regulation to decrease policies? There will always be chancers who won't pay, but perhaps lower premiums/harsher penalties would be a good start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Without reasonable insurance rates the amount of people chancing to drive uninsured will increase.
    They can shout and beat their chests but the simple fact is that insurance is rapidly becoming optional and not legally.
    Many insurers won't insure >15yr old cars. Where does that leave people that have a car that is that age or older and do not wish to buy a new car?
    The MIBI mouthpiece was on morning ireland talking about introducing ANPR which is an even bigger waste of time.
    There will not be enough cameras ever to cover the whole country and instead of dealing with the root cause which is exorbitant premiums they want to try and introduce expensive and unworkable systems that still won't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

The government won't do anything. They don't like to upset big businesses and their pillaging of the little guy. The way premiums are going the number of uninsured drivers will increase by next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Unfortunately more people driving uninsured is not going to do anything to drive insurance cost down, quite the opposite. I don't want to sound like someone from the high horse brigade (actually I don't think there is a high horse when it comes to insurance), but insurance is not optional. If you cant afford insurance, you can't afford to drive. And while I know about poor public service infrastructure and all that, driving is not an entitlement.

Edit: Insurance companies are sht1s, fair enough. But the comparably lax attitude to tax, insurance and combo culture is now coming back to bite us. There has to be an attitude shift. No insurance is not a thing that deserves responses like 'snitches get stitches' or some nonsense like that. Enforcement has to be strict. Its a serious matter. Same goes for the silly claims and the massive repair bills when garages know its an insurance claim. The problem is to a large degree our own fault. Not individually as I believe its a monitory ruining it for most, but as a whole. The driving community needs to acknowledge that driving requires a large degree of maturity and responsibility. There just has to be an overall shift of attitude.
    What the government can do is not really taking the insurance companies on a leash, maybe a little bit, but what the government can do is set priorities on enforcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

neris wrote:
    The government won't do anything. They don't like to upset big businesses and their pillaging of the little guy. The way premiums are going the number of uninsured drivers will increase by next year.

Ah you d never know, they might just be getting into the spirit of things, it seems like when the going gets tough, they just 'interfere with the market'. Patience

Unfortunately more people driving uninsured is not going to do anything to drive insurance cost down, quite the opposite. I don't want to sound like someone from the high horse brigade (actually I don't think there is a high horse when it comes to insurance), but insurance is not optional, if you cant afford insurance, you can't afford to drive. And while I know about poor public service infrastructure and all that, driving is not an entitlement.

I know its not optional but in the current climate where insurers just bend people over and don't bother with lube come renewal time what do you expect?
    I have never driven uninsured. Ever. But I do understand that with the way insurance is run with minimal oversight or indeed control that uninsured drivers will increase as insurance becomes unattainable or unaffordable.
    ANPR as touted by the MIBI will solve some problems in Cities and on main roads but the ANPR van will never see most rural roads as the money just isn't there to be got for the Govt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

And the higher premium prices go the more people will drive without insurance.
    Whats the worst that can happen?
    So you lose your licence and they take away your cheap car, but what good is a cheap car and a licence to you if you can't afford the insurance anyway, you might as well take a chance and keep driving, you might never get stopped.
    That's the way many people will see things?
    I hate to say it but it might actually be the catalyst that gets something done about the mad insurance price rises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

How about 10 years off the road, and an attachment order to any earnings or income you have for the same period; take money from you, week on week, every week, until you f#cking learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

They need to start making the punishment for the offence of driving without insurance tougher. They need to link court fines to PPS numbers and increase the fines to the point where people won't risk it. Hit them with a €2000 fine payable through their salary or social welfare or against their business for self employed and make it payable within a short space of time (6 months maximum) No deferments, no increase in time and no option to stop payments. Take it at source every week/fortnight.

Nothing drives home something like hitting a person in the pocket, Irish people don't understand anything else. No amount of public education or pleas will work but take money off them and you have their immediate attention.

Banning people from driving is ridiculous. They obviously don't care in the first place so telling them they can no longer drive means nothing to them anyway. Heavy fines is the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

myshirt wrote:
    How about 10 years off the road, and an attachment order to any earnings or income you have for the same period; take money from you, week on week, every week, until you f#cking learn.

Sounds very similar to sending people to jail, I.e. very unlikely it 'll work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭SteM

After receiving our annual 20% bend-over-and-take it increase this morning I'm beginning to see why more people are chancing their arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They need to start interlinking all of these databases and ANPR. Camera detects your car on the road and you've no tax/insurance/NCT - your court date is in the post.

Resources as usual are the issue. If they had more Gardai, they would have the ability to follow up on notifications from insurers that an insurance policy has been cancelled and pay a house visit to the vehicle owner.

As it is there is more than enough information to produce a weekly report of all vehicles in the state which have not been declared scrapped or off-the-road and are missing insurance/tax/NCT. Just a lack of joined up thinking to put it together. As usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

No surprise given the high cost of insurance. I'm here for the Christmas and was walking around Blanchardstown shopping center parking lot and seen an unbelievable amount of out of date insurance discs when walking through. And not by a time period where they might be still awaiting a disc. I'm talking months. A 2 year old BMW 520 had been up since January. Spend that much on a car but can't insure it. If still driving around thwy have obviously never hit a checkpoint. Maybe that's luck. I've been here 5 days now and hit 2 of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

It should be automatically enforced. If you don't have insurance and you don't have proof the car's off the road, you should be getting a knock on the door. This nonsense of checking printed discs in windows is straight out of the 1950s.

The state also needs to tackle the cost of insurance though. It's absolutely insane and the causes need to be identified and dealt with - whether that's fraudulent / inflated claims or lack of competition between insurers, it has to be addressed.

The reality is Ireland is one of the most car dependent countries on the planet, and by allowing insurance rates to get this astronomically high, you are causing individuals and families genuine hardship and driving social exclusion and lack of employment opportunities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

Jailing people and sending them fines they can't afford, yeah that'll work. Look most people who are driving uninsured at the moment (and i know of two personally) are doing so for a single reason and that's the ever increasing price of insurance. Make the rates affordable and people will pay it. Make them unaffordable and this is the result. Public transport isnt an option for most either so the "well they'll just have to take the bus" option is a non starter also.

This not insuring of car from an insurance company once they are over 15 years old is also a massive problem to many people on lower incomes like myself as i don't have the money to go out and buy a newish type car. Oh and i can almost guarantee those figures are on the conservative side. 1 in 14 is more like 1 in 5 round my way.

They need to start making the punishment for the offence of driving without insurance tougher. They need to link court fines to PPS numbers and increase the fines to the point where people won't risk it. Hit them with a €2000 fine payable through their salary or social welfare or against their business for self employed and make it payable within a short space of time (6 months maximum) No deferments, no increase in time and no option to stop payments. Take it at source every week/fortnight.

Nothing drives home something like hitting a person in the pocket, Irish people don't understand anything else. No amount of public education or pleas will work but take money off them and you have their immediate attention.

Banning people from driving is ridiculous. They obviously don't care in the first place so telling them they can no longer drive means nothing to them anyway. Heavy fines is the only way.

So taking money from people who don't have it in the first place. Okay good luck with that. Take it from their wages okay let's try that. Besides the fact legally you can't at present but let's say you do then the person now can't afford their rent or mortgage and they have no home then the onus falls upon the state to house them costing the taxpayer money or should we let them live on the street?

Maybe they can't afford the tax on their car now so they continue to drive anyway. Now you've fined them this amount the school no longer get's that voluntary 200 euro contribution every year from them putting more pressure on the education system. Just some small examples but there are many others.

People need cars to get on with their lives. They need it to get to work, get the kids to school, get the shopping, get the 80 year mother to hospital twice a week for dialysis (like i do) etc..

The ball is in the insurance companies court now but i fully expect the cartel to continue with the government putting their pals first ahead of the people.

Oodoov wrote: »
    Jailing people and sending them fines they can't afford, yeah that'll work.
    Very easy to not get fined for not having insurance. Don't drive without it.

This "I need to drive but can't afford insurance" is a nonsense excuse. If these people really thought about a solution they'd find it. But playing the poor mouth is easier than actually making real sacrifices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

A lot of communism in this thread.

If you can't afford it, don't fućkin drive. I'd laugh in to anyone's face, if they tried justify driving without insurance because they can't afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

I know... get TV license inspectors to chase motor insurance?

You have to buy insurance once a year... up to you to prove you don't have a car.

Works for TVs. :p

Seriously... always wondered if 3rd party insurance could be worked into motor tax system somehow? Roll to the lot into fuel excise? If you drive you have basic state 3rd party insurance.. It's up to you if you want to buy comprehensive, break down assist etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Why can't we have a minimum type premium system where you insure yourself and not the car.

If it were reasonable then it would be in everyone's interest to insure themselves.

Also 3rd party only cover across the board and obviously pay extra if you want the rest.

Put tax,nct and insurance in one and if needed add cost to fuel for insurance as more you drive more you pay in.

Lots of ways it could change and claims are way too high but they always have been.

Minimum and max limits need sorting for claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

The problem for many people is that they could afford it but then they got a bill for double what they were paying last year, they didn't expect this and therefore didn't make provisions.
    Many people live from week to week and have nothing left at the end of the week, they don't have the spare cash.
    These type of shocks should not happen in a well run country... and then you've got rent rises too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The fine needs to be at a minimum double what the drivers minimum insurance quote would have been. There's plenty of court fines of less than €500 which is far less than a years cover would have been to start with. The vehicle should also be forfeited to the state and sold at auction to cover costs.

Why can't we have a minimum type premium system where you insure yourself and not the car.

If it were reasonable then it would be in everyone's interest to insure themselves.

Also 3rd party only cover across the board and obviously pay extra if you want the rest.

Put tax,nct and insurance in one and if needed add cost to fuel for insurance as more you drive more you pay in.

Lots of ways it could change and claims are way too high but they always have been.

Already done, NZ have this type of system.
    Problem is that there is no money sloching around for the Govt to dig into and get their cut from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Seems like an idiotic way to calculate that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

It's listed in the Book of Quantum, last updated in October this year. There are minimums and maximums covering most types of injury. What it can't cover is a persons loss of earnings. Take someone earning 50k per year and they are 30 years old, who lets say for arguments sake will earn 50k per year for the rest of their working lives (assuming they retire at 65).....you now have 35 years worth of salary if that person has been injured in a way that they can never work again. Lets ignore the fact that they are suffering and can't live a normal life, or interact with their kids in the same way as an able bodied person. The loss of earnings is 1.75million.

Yes, it's an extreme example but is exactly why there should NOT be a limit. A person is entitled to be compensated, insofar as it is possible, to the level they would have been at, had it not been for the negligence of another. You can't give a person back their health if they have been seriously injured, so the only form of compensation is unfortunately a monetary one.

There is no excuse for driving uninsured. I deplore insurance rates myself, but the answer can't be to drive uninsured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

I can see why so many people drive uninsured, to legally have a car on the road now a days without evening owning the car is probably at least 1000. That included tax (cc rates not Co2) and insurance. While people who can afford newer cars pay less tax and less insurance all because they can afford a newer car, how is that fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

jacksie66 wrote: »
    I lived in New Zealand and my insurance on a 3.0 v6 was 120 dollars for the year, about 90 euro. Road tax on that car was around 100 also.
    I came back home a couple of months ago and I'm paying 1500 euro a year in insurance and over 600 in road tax. It's disgusting..

It's down to the size of claims (many if which have to be inflated) the convoluted and expensive legal system for civil cases.

The insurers and the state need to sort this out.

It's also fairly clear there's lack of competition issue.

I know let's triple the cost of insurance in a short few years just after the worst recession in decades (which is still ongoing for most) and then act all "concerned" that people are driving without insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Wouldn't have thought it was that high but purely from my own observation i would guess 1in5 of the cars in my college car-park have out of date insurance/tax discs or drive unaccompanied. And speaking to those in my year they don't see an issue with it. When you consider for most of them they will need clean licences when they graduate it is scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

IrishZeus wrote: »
    So apparently just over 7% of all drivers are now uninsured in Ireland.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/1219/839842-uninsured-drivers-motor-insurance/

This seems like a huge figure - I never would have thought it to be so high but given the cost of premiums, it was always going to drive up the rate of the uninsured.

Is there any way to tackle this, other than some form of regulation to decrease policies? There will always be chancers who won't pay, but perhaps lower premiums/harsher penalties would be a good start?

The problem here is money. And no penalties in the world matter when money starts drying.
    Many families in Ireland have less than 20 or 30 quid a month after "existence" bills are paid.

Insurance goes up enough and you have to choose between feeding the Quinns (I know, I know...) and feeding your kids/yourself. Kids win every time.

But here's the thing, it's like losing your license. Yeah, yeah, you shouldn't have but now youre here, without a licence. The world doesn't care. It expects you in work on Monday. So you have to go. If you can't bum a lift for the next few years, you drive. Only now, without a licence there is absolutely no point in insurance, tax, nct or even basic vehicle maintenance because the second you crash/are stopped, you're done anyway.

Same with insurance, people who quite literally have to choose between it and things like household tax, tv licence, Johnny's medical bills and various other expenses are giving insurance the boot. And with that gone, things like road tax and the rest fall off too. I don't get how people don't understand why this is the case for thousands of people - and will be the case for a hundred thousand more quite soon.

Though ironically enough, uninsured drivers are by and large the most careful and alert drivers for obvious reasons...

It's down to the size of claims (many if which have to be inflated) the convoluted and expensive legal system for civil cases.

The insurers and the state need to sort this out.

It's also fairly clear there's lack of competition issue.

The claims are a problem, but they're also a convenient scapegoat. The insurance industry lost WAY more money, gambling on the bond market than Dave with his "nightmares" is costing them. But it's a little easier for the public to swallow, I guess, than "yeah, we lost our arse and are going to go ahead and do pretty much what the banks did, now pay up, common pleb, like you always do".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Rates have become crazy in last few years.

Insurance companies need to become more transparent in their charging and young drivers need to be given a break. How does a person of late teens/early twenties in rural Ireland get into employment without being able to have personal transport ? It's a large part of why so many are on the dole.

We need a Rego type system here. Longterm govt would make it up in income tax increases and social welfare savings.

It's fine for the powers that be to be in their middle years (Anne is a 57 year old nurse from Sligo and pays 430e to insure her 1 litre 2015 yaris **** etc) to charge what they want to the younger generation who can't afford newer cars via tax/insurance but what happens in 20 years time when the young people who opted out of employment /didn't do that course in uni or fas training because at the time transport isn't viable.

It's greed for the sake of it and it lacks foresight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

There were a certain percentage of drivers in this country who see insurance as an expense they don't need to bother paying well before insurance premiums started rising. These drivers are the same ones who tend to not to bother with paying motor tax either. For them its a way of life where the risk of getting caught and punished is lower than abiding by the law.

The whole insurance industry here including transparency and laws around claims and injury payouts needs to be totally overhauled but alas I doubt there is the political will to do. While I do sympathies with people who are struggling to afford insurance premiums among other things, it is a requirement by law and cannot be vindicated in anyway. Driving uninsured doesn't fix anything.

The claims are a problem, but they're also a convenient scapegoat. The insurance industry lost WAY more money, gambling on the bond market than Dave with his "nightmares" is costing them. But it's a little easier for the public to swallow, I guess, than "yeah, we lost our arse and are going to go ahead and do pretty much what the banks did, now pay up, common pleb, like you always do".

And you can be guaranteed the insurance federation will get as much air time as they like on RTE, Newstalk etc.. to demonish the people driving without insurance. One phone call is all it takes and the agenda is set. They'll roll out some poor unfortunate that lost their son/daughter in a car crash after being hit by an uninsured driver and also tell us about "compo culture".

I've been driving cars, motorbikes and trucks since i was 18. I'm now 43 and have never received as much as a parking ticket, no claims, no accidents no speeding tickets, nowt, and yet somehow the insurance companies seem to think it's okay to charge me 684 euro on a 16 year old Honda civic that is meticulously maintained and cared for. The same car cost me 214 euro in 2013. The also have the cheek to tell me im lucky to be even quoted on a "old car".

It's a cartel and everyone knows it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Though ironically enough, uninsured drivers are by and large the most careful and alert drivers for obvious reasons...
    I'll have to stop you there (but the rest of your post was good):

Either 1 in 3 drivers are uninsured .... or the statistics show they are involved in a disproportionate number of serious crashes.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/rsa-one-third-of-drivers-in-fatal-collisions-have-no-insurance-733615.html

BTW - that's "definitely no insurance". Apparently in the RSA stats 50% (approx, iirc) were definitely insured, 33% weren't and the others were in some other indeterminate state of insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭mel123

These articles its pure bull 'tough penalty's if you get caught'
    I was hit by an uninsured driver. Phone the guards naturally. By the time they arrive at the scene, the driver had rang and got insurance - now he admitted this to the guards.
    Guards 'oh great you have insurance, give us your name and details please, we'll be in touch, now go on and drive off there to work good man'.
    The guards dont even want the bloody hassle any more.

The law needs to crack down on these people to discourage people from doing it in the first instance.

I'll have to stop you there (but the rest of your post was good):

Either 1 in 3 drivers are uninsured .... or the statistics show they are involved in a disproportionate number of serious crashes.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/rsa-one-third-of-drivers-in-fatal-collisions-have-no-insurance-733615.html

BTW - that's "definitely no insurance". Apparently in the RSA stats 50% (approx, iirc) were definitely insured, 33% weren't and the others were in some other indeterminate state of insurance.

That's still only a third, the other two are very mych watching their backs, I'd wager and I just can't take the RSA as seriously as I probably should since Gay Byrne hopped in, took credit for the lowering in road deaths due to so, so many people, erm, not needing to use the road as much due to unemployment or emigration, then patting himself on the back and ****ing off when the country got a little busier and - surprise surprise - the increase in drivers lead to an increase in road deaths....

And that was 2008 - 2012, those figures. Before the current breed of people who never broke a law in their lives suddenly being faced with an uncomfortable prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭SteM

mel123 wrote: »
    These articles its pure bull 'tough penalty's if you get caught'
    I was hit by an uninsured driver. Phone the guards naturally. By the time they arrive at the scene, the driver had rang and got insurance - now he admitted this to the guards.
    Guards 'oh great you have insurance, give us your name and details please, we'll be in touch, now go on and drive off there to work good man'.
    The guards dont even want the bloody hassle any more.

The law needs to crack down on these people to discourage people from doing it in the first instance.

But surely if his insurance company are told that he had the accident before he was covered then they wouldn't pay out? Did you tell them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭mel123

SteM wrote: »
    But surely if his insurance company are told that he had the accident before he was covered then they wouldn't pay out? Did you tell them?

Oh no they wouldnt pay, he wasnt insured at the time of the accident, but just my point being that he was allowed on his merry way and i doubt a whole lot happened to him regarding the law...a few penalty points maybe? I was never called to court (the guard said i would be), if he was getting summonsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

Wonder if it,ll get to the point where the insurance companies refuse to issue insurance/quotes to new business for car insurance. I went to get a quote to get a truck insured a while ago and was told no one was taking on new business because of the same issues as the car industry but on a bigger scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well, insurance companies here are a bunch of legal robbers.

I LOVE, JUST LOVE, how they say on those ads that we pay at least extra 50eu premium on our car insurance due to fraud! REALLY?! My insurance went up not by 50eu, but by 800eu and I did not not claimed ever in my life!

I am looking at new car and I feel like 18 year old fella who just got fresh license. Checking insurances on cars if it is at least in reasonable 1k eu premium bracket. I am 30 years old with 8ncb and 12 years license!

Next year it wont be 7%, it will be higher. They already said that insurance will go only up next year and I can see more uninsured drivers.

Its a shame, that I am extremely OCD when it comes to discs on my window. It drives me mad to have missing at least one. Maybe if at least 50% of irish motorist would just go " **** this we are not paying", then maybe, just maybe they would look at the issue from different angle and not just go easy mode - PAY MOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I heard 150,000 drivers up from 85,000 in a few years. The last time I looked at this, a 6% premium was on every insurance policy to fund the €58m paid out through the MIBI annually, so presumably this can only get higher.

Would be nice to see some real competition come into the market - it's effectively a cartel currently. In saying that, anyone who gets into a car uninsured should be kept off the roads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

myshirt wrote: »
    Do you really think that 10 years off the road would work. The will just keep driving without a licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Surely its down to the payouts for injuries, can't remember where I read it but we payout 3 or 4 times more on whiplash injuries that most other European countries, if the payout was dropped surely the insurance prices would drop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

They know-how many cars are sold. They know or can at least find out who bought them. Same for insurance..It's not rocket science to find out whose not insured.

They also need to make it mandatory to prove insurance when taxing a vehicle. Anyone can write anything in the space provided and it's not checked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Testacalda

''The figures are calculated by comparing the number of registered vehicles to those which have insurance. They show that one in every 14 private vehicles on Irish roads is now uninsured.''

Just goes to show that you can use statistics to prove anything!

What a stupid way to calculate that. Its wildly inaccurate as the number of vehicles registed (and still registered despite being scrapped) in Ireland is obvioulsy going to a sizeable number more than the amount of vehicles insured.

I have plenty of cars that I dont drive on the road that are uninsured. I wonder am I part of their 1 in 14!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

myshirt wrote: »

Attachment orders to social welfare payments are generally limited to a 5er a week, wont do f*ck all

*before anyone starts, I am not saying all the non insured are on the social, but the lack of money certainly plays into it, and from the court section of my local paper , all the addresses of non insired drivers are from the same set of council estates over and over again.

Driving bans do nothing also, the type of person who drives uninsured will drive while banned too, the lowest of the low

As pointed out already, uninsured drivers are in fact way overrepresented in the statistics for crashes and claims. If 1-in-14 drivers are uninsured, and 1-in-3 accidents involves an uninsured driver, then that means that an uninsured driver is 4.5 times more likely to be involved in an accident than an insured one. Which, interestingly, is about the same risk increase as being at the drink-driving limit. So clearly they are far from "the most careful and alert drivers".

For obvious reasons, they're the least socially conscious and civic-minded people on the road and therefore likely to be completely ignorant of many other areas of road law and safety. Sure if you haven't got insurance, why bother with tax or an NCT? Why stop at red lights, why give way to pedestrians?

Uninsured drivers are a pox on the roads. There's no excuse for it. If you're caught more than once, there should be jail time at a minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Testacalda wrote: »
    ''The figures are calculated by comparing the number of registered vehicles to those which have insurance. They show that one in every 14 private vehicles on Irish roads is now uninsured.''

Just goes to show that you can use statistics to prove anything!

What a stupid way to calculate that. Its wildly inaccurate as the number of vehicles registed (and still registered despite being scrapped) in Ireland is obvioulsy going to a sizeable number more than the amount of vehicles insured.

I have plenty of cars that I dont drive on the road that are uninsured. I wonder am I part of their 1 in 14!
    Every garage in the country has a heap of second hand cars that are by and large still in the previous owners name. Not insured and not being driven illegally. It's a nonsense figure and goes to show the extent they will go to make others look like the guilty ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,697 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I don't know why something like this isn't easily sorted?

Surely it would be simple to have a database of driver number v current tax disc v current insurance cert v NCT number (if applicable), and then a computer can easily tell you who hasn't got insurance, or tax, or NCT.

Its not rocket science. Why isn't something like that done?