Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show December 16th 2016

• 16-12-2016 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

DIS IS NO ODINAWY TWEAD - DIS IS DE LATE LATE SHOW TWEAD !

Why do we always come here?
    I guess we'll never know.
    It's like a kind of torture,
    to have to watch the show.

Hello, Happy Christmas and if you are waiting on any Christmas Presents you bought online - I hope they arrive before Santa does.

See if you can guess which LLS regular guests will be on tonight!

Miriam Margolyes who was in Harry Potter and Blackadder is on (Harry Potter and Blackadder - that would be a good film). She's a good guest in the right setting. You may remember her being interviewed with Will.I.am on Graham's Show.

Louis Walsh is on with Big Announcement. Actually, reading that again I don't think Big Announcement are a band ("They'll be so big, Ryan, the girls will love them, they'll be even bigger than Hometown"), he apparently is making a big announcement. Something to do with Eurovision? Hometown Reforming? Coming Out? I can hardly wait

TV chefs Rachel Allen and Richard Corrigan will cook some Christmas things. Yeah, that'll fill up twenty minutes or so.

Brendan Grace, Pat Shortt and Jason Byrne together at last. Expect another round of the ever popular "Who would you least like to sit next to on a long flight game?"

Aslan, Glen Hansard, Finbar Furey, The RTÉ Concert Orchestra and Cór na nÓg perform musical numbers. Might be some Christmassy tunes maybe.

Finally, Alice Leahy from the Alice Leahy Trust will be in studio offering advice and support for those who are facing a difficult Christmas this year.

1636213-bigthumbnail.jpg

Which of these would you least like to sit next to on a long flight? Choose carefully 51 votes

Brendan Grace
    0% 0 votes
    Pat Shortt
    64% 33 votes
    Jason Byrne
    35% 18 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Miriam Margolyes is such a fun guest, if only there could be a Miriam & Will.i.am re-union this evening on the LLS :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I'd like to see Aslan but it's not worth the pain of the other 152 minutes. Hopefully they will go on Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Great OP as usual Skid, up to your usual standards! :)

Looking forward to the thread tonight, hope ye are all well and having a great run up to the big day! xxx

I may be the first person who ever boycotted a Christmas party.

Reason? It's a dry party. Seriously? I'll have a large Ballygowan just doesn't cut it, does it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Looking forward to the thread tonight, hope ye are all well and having a great run up to the big day! xxx

Reason? It's a dry party. Seriously? I'll have a large Ballygowan just doesn't cut it, does it? :D

A feckin dry party? You should have brought a concealed naggin and got slaughtered :D

:D:D:D

I wouldn't bother me barney concealing it but it's in a glorified Delicatessen at lunchtime! :pac:

I decided to spend it with my boozy buddies on the LLS thread! x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Have you moved to Qatar or what?

Merciful hour.

It's a party, and I'll drink if I want to,
    drink if I want to,

you would drink too, if you wanted to do ...

And don't even laugh.....

True story.

No Christmas tree or decorations in the office.

Why?

Apparently, Christmas is "overrated"....It's like A Christmas Carol in realtime....

:D:D:D

I wouldn't bother me barney concealing it but it's in a glorified Delicatessen at lunchtime! :pac:

I decided to spend it with my boozy buddies on the LLS thread! x
    I swear to God, some employers must be listening to Newstalk this year.

Pat Kenny carried two items recently warning employers of their responsibilities to employees on office nights out. Patricia Callan from the Small Firms Association was on this morning and he also had psychoanalyst and counsellor, Tony Moore on the show two weeks ago....

Tony was a complete wet blanket. He recommended a Christmas jumper dress code to an employer who mentioned that they were a bit concerned that one staff member might wear something low cut or revealing. Sweet Baby Jaysus, I thought I'd woken up in 1950's Ireland.

We had Christmas lunch during the week at work and it was supposed to be a dry party but our department managed to get our hands on some mulled wine from a nearby Christmas market....... not my drink of choice but needs must...every little helps.... :D

Pat Kenny carried two items recently warning employers of their responsibilities to employees on office nights out. Patricia Callan from the Small Firms Association was on this morning and he also had psychoanalyst and counsellor, Tony Moore on the show two weeks ago....

Tony was a complete wet blanket. He recommended a Christmas jumper dress code to an employer who mentioned that they were a bit concerned that one staff member might wear something low cut or revealing. Sweet Baby Jaysus, I thought I'd woken up in 1950's Ireland.

We had Christmas lunch during the week at work and it was supposed to be a dry party but our department managed to get our hands on some mulled wine from a nearby Christmas market....... not my drink of choice but needs must...every little helps.... :D

:D:D:D if you saw our crowd Lady you would break your heart laughing at the thought of an Adams apple on view let alone a boob!! .........Good on ya for sourcing the mulled wine, terrible stuff but better than water! :D

You see everyone presumes it's a woman wearing a low cut/revealing top but it could be a man........ there is a guy in my office who I've christened 'The Lion' because his ginger chest hair is frequently on display :D

I'll thank you not to be dissing the gingers Lady!! :D:D:D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Is that right, Brendan grace, Jason Byrne and Pat short on the same show, where could you find that calibre of comedic value, that should be a great laugh....said nobody......Ever!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Miriam Margolyes is such a fun guest, if only there could be a Miriam & Will.i.am re-union this evening on the LLS :D

Just picturing Tubs trying to cope with Miriam Margolyes... :D

Great OP Skid, as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Louis Walsh eh.

Over Christmas I'll go over every LLS thread on boards.ie and count the amount of times him or one of his Boyzone/Westlife minions have been on.

Expect a large number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Miriam Margolyes' last appearance on the Late Late was very funny...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Louis Walsh eh..

I wonder will he ask Walsh about his latest boyband HomeTown, who have dispersed (and presumably returned to their respective HomeTowns.. I mean hometowns)

I can hear it now....

Louis: "Hometown had a massive career, Ryan... they had a number one single. And they were massive in Japan".

That's an interesting poll Skid. I've met Brendan Grace and Pat Shortt on a number of occasions and I found both to be very friendly.

I think I'd like to sit beside Pat on a long flight because I would love to chat to him about the making of the film 'Garage'. It's such a tragic story but is beautifully made and Pat gave the performance of his life.

I'm a Harry Potter fan so I'd probably ask him what it was like to work with Daniel Radcliffe.

Pat has a gastro-pub in Cork and I love good food and wine so we could discuss wine and exchange recipes.

Finally, my brother in law is a massive D'unbelievables fan so I'd tell Pat about the time my BIL attended the funeral of work colleague's father (who was also a D'unbelievable fan) and they spoke to each other in the mortuary as 'D'unbelievables' - 'the poor devil got a bad knockout so he did'.... complete with Tipp accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Evening all. Just spent the last few hours slaving over a hot curry. No drink yet as I've to take a few teenagers to a disco. I should be sitting down to the LLS about 9.45 with some top scoff and will need some strong booze by the looks of things.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Evening all. Just spent the last few hours slaving over a hot curry. No drink yet as I've to take a few teenagers to a disco. I should be sitting down to the LLS about 9.45 with some top scoff and will need some strong booze by the looks of things.
    I've been cooking too, I made a large pot of stew. Will you get to freeze some of that curry after spending hours on it?

I'll call Dyno Rod for ya sligo..........:D

Save you doing it later in traffic...:P

Is there a "None of the Above" option Skid??

Evening all. Just spent the last few hours slaving over a hot curry. No drink yet as I've to take a few teenagers to a disco.

vlcsnap-2015-02-19-20h14m55s120.jpg

:eek::eek::eek:

I need a poll of my own....

Do I open my new bottle of Boyle's Gin or a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc ....decisions, decisions, decision.........

I need a poll of my own....

Do I open my new bottle of Boyle's Gin or a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc ....decisions, decisions, decision.........

Gin.

Always the Gin.

None of this fancy stuff. Cork Gin. Proper Gin. ;)

You're on form Peter tonight.

Yes.

I can feel the festive spirit already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I've been cooking too, I made a large pot of stew. Will you get to freeze some of that curry after spending hours on it?
    Probably not. We'll have it again tomorrow and there'll be enough for my dinner Monday.

Gin.

Always the Gin.

None of this fancy stuff. Cork Gin. Proper Gin. ;)
    Is Harry Angstrom paying you commission GSW? Boyles is made by a Boardsie and has received great reviews, I might give it a go this evening.

Is Harry Angstrom paying you commision GSW? Boyles is made by a Boardsie and has received great reviews, I might give it a go this evening.

Harry can pay me any-day Lady!....:D:D:D

I'm suspicious of gins that cost much and deliver little.....;)

I hate change as you may or not know.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

As per usual, not the strongest of line-ups though i've seen that Harry Potter lady on the Graham Norton show and she was entertaining enough so she should be good.

As per usual though, i'm expecting to entertainment to be mainly coming from this thread so crack open the wine, beers (and gin, Lady Chatterton) and lets get this show on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening all :)

*pours glass of Kahlua* :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

"Energetic Atlantic regime"Sinead Ryan on Weather Forecast.WTF.

An orchestra on stage and the house band are still up in the rafters, some day they'll make it, they will

Evening all :)

*pours glass of Kahlua* :O

***hides big G&T***

Sounds lovely WM.........:pac:

RTE Player down!

Phew, it's back...didn't want to miss Jason Byrne :D

A bit of Finbarr Furey and Aslan is decent enough musically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

Brendan is looking well tonight.

Do you think Bren dyes his hair??

Ya cant beat comedy like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Every time I hear an Aslan song on the radio I think Christy had died

Oh holy god don't mention turkeys!!

Ah yes, the new Joe Duffy Christmas Range.... Available now in Dunnes Stores

*toes curl up*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Louis Walsh has a Big Announcement? Will his mother be shocked?

Welcome Snuggles, love your name :) x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Barbie jokes ... same material for the last 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Ah Janey, the auld ones are the best..... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Brendan is near ready for the liveline funny friday gang

Syl Fox called, he wants his jokes back.

Ah yes, the new Joe Duffy Christmas Range.... Available now in Dunnes Stores

But the hair and beard are looking tidier than usual

Anyone hear the paid laugher.. She was on the d'Arcy show the other week.. (I think Ray told her to stop having fun)