Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burglary - Home owner dies.

• 15-12-2016 05:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭

So a Judge gave a sentence of a few years to two burglars with 44 and 14 previous convictions for a burglary in which the home-owner died of a heart attack.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/1215/839109-burglary-sentence-limerick/

I find this a bit too lenient.
    I know they didn't intend for the victim to die but their actions certainly caused it.
    I think this is a mistake by the judge. I hope the DPP appeals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

So a Judge gave a sentence of a few years to two burglars with 44 and 14 previous convictions for a burglary in which the home-owner died of a heart attack.

I know they didn't intend for the victim to die but their actions certainly caused it.

That is shocking low tbh

With remission they'll be out in 16 months

Edit....by re-reading that....they will essentially be out in 6 weeks???
    After stepping over a dying man and not helping????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

The amount of people with double and triple figured convictions being treated leniently in this country is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,664 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It was their culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Poor man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I do hope the DPP appeals it, It seems a shocking light sentence & with one year suspended to, wtf ?

The whole justice system needs a major uphaul as its clearly not working & some other methods, punishment's have to be tried, we could start with the bail laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭rustynutz

It's a completely unfair sentence considering someone died as a result of their actions. Unfair - yes. Shocking - no, unfortunately in this corrupt country we live in the law is on the side of the criminal. Had the homeowner shot one of the intruders he probably would have served more time than these knackers were sentenced to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Unfortunately they weren't up on manslaughter charges - "just" burglary. And for burglary, those are standard kind of sentences. I'd be disappointed that they weren't charged with manslaughter. At the same time a 65 year old man who put a bomb on a bus (hard to tell from the article if it was a real bomb) got 8.5 years, even though no-one was hurt. Obviously the sentencing for bombing (or attempting to bomb, or pretending to bomb) is longer than for that of burglary.

I'm sure if they thought they had a chance of nailing them for manslaughter, they'd have done so, but you'll probably find that it would be impossible to prove that the man wouldn't have had a heart attack at that time even if the burglars weren't there :(

The judge can only use the sentencing guidelines for the crime that they're being charged with. There's a whole other argument that the sentencing for burglary (and most other crimes) should be longer in the first place, but as it stands if the judge had sentenced them to 20 years for burglary, it would be immediately overturned on appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

Another pair of scumbags in prison for a short holiday :rolleyes:

Jesus I just imagine that in the US if they'd done this they'd serve at least 10 years. This is manslaughter surely? A man had a heart attack because these criminals broke into his home. 44 convictions previously? How is with sentence them to such a short stay when one has been convicted of criminal offences over 40 times?? Why wouldn't you commit crimes in this country when prison isn't long enough to be a punishment more of an inconvenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Unfortunately we don't do justice in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

America is a country full of morons and stupidity but they do have one thing right, in a lot of states if somebody dies during a crime then the perpetrator can be charged with felony murder for that persons death.

Its a great rule that should be implemented everywhere, no more sob stories about the poor habitual criminal who didn't mean for anybody to get hurt. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

America is a country full of morons and stupidity but they do have one thing right, in a lot of states if somebody dies during a crime then the perpetrator can be charged with felony murder for that persons death.

Its a great rule that should be implemented everywhere, no more sob stories about the poor habitual criminal who didn't mean for anybody to get hurt. :rolleyes:

Add in the fact that they refused the victim's sister's pleas for help too. What a cowardly act to run away when a man was dying and needing help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Michael Casey, 32, from Clonlong Halting Site in Limerick and his 22-year-old cousin David Casey from Coolock in Dublin, had pleaded guilty to a series of burglaries around Doon and Cappamore in Limerick on 27 August 2015.
    The court heard that the two accused were part of a three-man gang who had been targeting isolated rural homes to burgle.

David Casey was on bail for two robberies at the time of the break-in at Doon.
    And no doubt when they get out of prison this time, they'll be back to robbing again, as a few weeks inside prison isn't that much of a deterrent it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,702 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

It's still 2 more years in prison for each of them. At least it wasn't a violent crime I suppose. No mention of driver getting punished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Gatling wrote: »
    Unfortunately we don't do justice in this country

The Patrick Nally type of justice is what is required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Donal55 wrote: »

Padraic Nally, in case anyone is confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

the_syco wrote: »
    And no doubt when they get out of prison this time, they'll be back to robbing again, as a few weeks inside prison isn't that much of a deterrent it would seem.

No they've reformed. That's why they got a year off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

No they've reformed. That's why they got a year off.

How so? If David Casey was already on bail for 2 previous robberies, he had SFA reforming done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Fcukin' tragic but they got fairly stiff sentences in comparison to some of the punishments handed down for much more serious offences. Guys with arm-long rap sheets get a few months for savage assaults, stabbings, gbh, etc.

They burgled a house and the owner sadly suffered a heart attack. Is there even a category whereby contributing to someone's death by heart attack is on the statute?
    Could it be proven that terror caused the man's heart attack as to opposed to say high blood pressure brought on by rage or over-exerting himself by running to the house with a shovel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

One of them was on parole for 2 previous burglar convictions....

Surely the dickhead of a judge would think to himself that he's going to do it again and again..

But no. Let him out sooner... model prisoner... not a model citizen.

Birneybau wrote: »
    The amount of people with double and triple figured convictions being treated leniently in this country is shocking.

And yet you'll still get people out defending them, on here too, in some way or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

How so? If David Casey was already on bail for 2 previous robberies, he had SFA reforming done.

/s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

In my opinion the judge is a fool.
    He stated that they wrote a letter to the victim's sister apologising for their actions. If I was caught in their position i'd write hundreds of letters of apology if I thought it would get me a lighter sentence.

They didn't apologise for the crimes they were not caught for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

It is. Perhaps if they start meeting unfortunate ends in the streets, prison will be a safer place for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Padraic Nally, in case anyone is confused.

Oh, give over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Higher percentage of idiots in Ireland you racist fcuk

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

That is shocking low tbh

With remission they'll be out in 16 months

Edit....by re-reading that....they will essentially be out in 6 weeks???
    After stepping over a dying man and not helping????

These two will most likely spend Christmas at home with their families which is something the victim will never do again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

Sad fact is we don't have the prison spaces to hold these scumbags for extended periods of time. Laughable sentence should be serving 15 years at the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Anyone who invades your home should get 20 years minimum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,664 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Oodoov wrote: »
    Sad fact is we don't have the prison spaces to hold these scumbags for extended periods of time. Laughable sentence should be serving 15 years at the least.

We don't have the spaces but there's hundreds of other people in prison at the moment that could have been let out to make room for these high risk thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They probably played the race card and their anchsestors did it.
    Spealt as they sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

These sentences are a joke. In fact our whole justice system is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,561 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ah sure they are travellers and deserve a second chance right?

Disgrace!

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

These sentences are a joke. In fact our whole justice system is a joke.
    Though - and no offence meant SW - that reads like a tabloid headline, but it's all too accurate. We're actually damned lucky that Ireland is so relatively safe and the scum are more low level compared to other countries, including within Europe, because our so called justice system is unbelievably out of touch with on the ground realities. And some wonder why the Guards are often apparently so reticent to follow up crimes against property? They know the score all too well and know most scum will be out in short order. If they get sentenced at all. We the people of Ireland need to really make our ire clear to the next round of gombeen men and women looking for our votes. Sadly there are too many vested interests, particularly on the law side of things that don't want change.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Site Banned Posts: 21 Koscielny

There has been a huge amount of cases in this country of drunk drivers killing people on our roads, while drunk driving is dreadful, of course, none of these people go out to intentionally kill someone, and in the majority of cases the defendants have zero criminal convictions. These people usually get 7-10 years imprisonment.

Here we have two scumbags with nearly sixty convictions between them who caused the death of a man by trying to rob him, I'd be amazed if they serve two years between them.

What a fcuked up criminal justice system we have in this country.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

A disgraceful verdict. Should have been a hell of a lot longer.

Oodoov wrote: »

Working in a prison myself and I'd say the landings were at 85% capacity last night in my place. Plenty of space at the moment and that's with one wing (4 landings of approx 35cells each) closed for renovations. It's a soft, leniant judiciary that's the problem moreso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,799 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

The fruits of Mr. Tarantino's imagination would be suitable for these scum.

Can't see this being passed by the Dail though. :(
    And as a slave of the LeQuint Dickey Mining Company, henceforth till the day you die, all day, every day, you will be swingin' a sledgehammer, turnin' big rocks into little rocks. Now when ya get there, they gonna take away your name, gi'ya a number and a sledgehammer and say, "Get to work!" One word of sass, they cuts out your tongue. They good at it too, you won't bleed out. Oh they does that real good. They gonna work ya, all day every day, till your back give out, then they gonna hitcha in the head with a hammer, and throw your ass down the nig*ga hole

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I think North Korea have the right idea with hard labour camps. Not that a convicts entire family for 2+ generations should spend their lives in one, but the person convicted of a serious or multiple offences shouldn't have an easy time of it behind bars. Prison should be the ultimate deterrent from offending again, but of course it's Mosney with bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,698 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

rustynutz wrote: »
    It's a completely unfair sentence considering someone died as a result of their actions. Unfair - yes. Shocking - no, unfortunately in this corrupt country we live in the law is on the side of the criminal. Had the homeowner shot one of the intruders he probably would have served more time than these knackers were sentenced to.

I wonder if an esteemed colleague of this judge had died of a heart attack during a burglary would he have been as lenient..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Shelflife

We are far too lenient on repeat offenders in this country. These people destroy so many lives yet are allowed the opportunity to do it over and over again.

We have the case above, cases where people had to leave their houses as they were afraid to live there anymore , cases where people have left their jobs because they are afraid of being held up again , people who stay at home because they are afraid of being mugged again, people living in fear in their own homes.

There are thousands of people like this who have their lives and in some cases their livelihoods taken from them by criminals who bring nothing but pain and hardship to society.

We have to adopt a system where repeat offenders are taken out of society for good, We should be able to go about our business in a peaceful and safe manner and those who dent that opportunity should be given two chances and then removed for good.

Build the prisons, put them away and let those who want to line their lives in peace do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

It was their culture.

When is this ever argued by anyone? Cheap thank whoring ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

these lads had something like 60 convictions between them.

the lenancy towards criminals is irelands biggest shame in my opinion. suituations like this shouldnt be getting 3 years, they should be getting 3 decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I don't pretend to know the ins and outs of the criminal justice system but I would have thought that protecting citizens is the number one function of the state. People with multiple convictions are a proven danger to the public. I'd like to see victims of those out on parole and suspended sentences taking legal action against the state for failing in its obligations. If it means building more prisons ****ing build them, big **** off ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The "3 strikes" laws might be unduly harsh and lead to some ridiculous sentences in the US, but you'd have to imagine there is some happy middle ground between that and people walking the streets with dozens or even hundreds of criminal convictions.

Even a "20 strikes" law would be incredibly lenient and yet it would still have taken the worst of these scumbags off the streets, its not like you get 20 convictions through some random unlucky series of events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

The "3 strikes" laws might be unduly harsh and lead to some ridiculous sentences in the US, but you'd have to imagine there is some happy middle ground between that and people walking the streets with dozens or even hundreds of criminal convictions.

Even a "20 strikes" law would be incredibly lenient and yet it would still have taken the worst of these scumbags off the streets, its not like you get 20 convictions through some random unlucky series of events.

Well there's a few things I'd like to see investigated (legal heads could probably point out the flaws with them).

1. If you're out on bail, or a suspended sentence, or time off for good behaviour and commit another crime during that time, any bit of the original sentence you didn't complete should be tacked on to the new sentence.
    2. If you're convicted of something else during your remission, there should be no bit of your new sentence suspended. E.g. If burglary carries a 5 year sentence, you serve the full 5 years. None of this "5 years, with 3 suspended" stuff.
    3. For every previous conviction, an additional week/month is added to your sentence, on top of whatever the sentence would be, and none of that time could be suspended. So if someone "slips" once, OK, they get an extra month, but with 44 previous convictions you're looking at an extra 3.5 years on top of whatever you're being sentenced for this time.

I'm sure there are some flaws with those ideas, but it'd be nice if our legal system had some way of at least considering new ideas, rather than being confined by "what the norm is for this type of crime".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

Well, wonders will never cease.......... John Connors has actually come out on twitter and condemned these two skidmarks.
    Only joking; no he hasn't, he is too busy telling us.. " The Neo cons control everything from the media to government. Socialists and republicans will never gain power in Ireland by vote."

Omackeral wrote: »
    And yet you'll still get people out defending them, on here too, in some way or another.

Give it a rest, why don't you. Just because you don't agree with jailing a car thief for 40 years doesn't mean you then must think all criminals should be let off with a warning even though they're up to their 200th warning.

mzungu wrote: »
    A disgraceful verdict. Should have been a hell of a lot longer.

The verdict was correct. The sentence was probably what you were thinking.

L.Jenkins wrote: »
    I think North Korea have the right idea with hard labour camps. Not that a convicts entire family for 2+ generations should spend their lives in one, but the person convicted of a serious or multiple offences shouldn't have an easy time of it behind bars. Prison should be the ultimate deterrent from offending again, but of course it's Mosney with bars.

This fallacy is bandied around again and again and again as nauseum and the people who trot it out don't seem to stop to consider how stupid they sound. There are horrific prisons all over the world, Brazil, Phillipines, Thailand, Egypt, even the US. These countries have crime rates that would make Ireland look the mythical San Angeles (movie Demolition Man).

HensVassal wrote: »
    Give it a rest, why don't you. Just because you don't agree with jailing a car thief for 40 years doesn't mean you then must think all criminals should be let off with a warning even though they're up to their 200th warning.

What are you on about? I'm hardly defending these turds. In no way, shape or form should they get off. Anyone with triple figure convictions is a total waste of oxygen, a scumbag. Add to that that I never feel any sympathy for dirtbags who are killed in stolen cars. I feel bad for the car owners. You've quoted the wrong person there or took me up incorrectly. They deserve the book thrown at them.