Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hand made chess set and board auction. IN AID OF SSF!!! (€1250 highest bid) SOLD!

• 14-12-2016 2:20pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So, we don't normally do this sort of thing but this just fell in my lap and its too good not to!!

This master-crafted, unique designed chess set-and-board has been donated to SSF by the East Central Dublin wood turner's guild chapter!
    I want to turn it into hard cash for the projects so I'm going to auction it here.

30283670380_2396f88c85_k.jpg20161022_105921 by Tom Murphy, on Flickr

30546576396_042752c35f_k.jpg20161022_090551 by Tom Murphy, on Flickr

30582719995_3a3ee5816a_k.jpg20161022_090205 by Tom Murphy, on Flickr

30283681290_936e637692_k.jpg20161022_090158 by Tom Murphy, on Flickr

As some of you know, I got into wood turning 2 years ago. Its gone very well and I now compete at a high level. I was approached by the chapter to design their entry into the national chapter competition. 8 master turners have to collaborate on a single piece of work and this year the competition was to design and make a chess set.

The pieces are walnut for the black, and beech for the white. They have beech and purpleheart segments and inlays too. The table is Sapele Mahogany. It is also inlayed with walnut and beech and the table detaches from the legs for playing on your own coffee if you wish! Each player has a drawer in the table for their pieces. Its genuinely a thing of beauty.

I wrote design notes for the set, one page for each piece, explaining the influences and reasoning behind the piece (you have to for the competition!).

This was a runner up in the national, master level competition which means the work has to be basically flawless, something that's difficult to appreciate in the pictures alone.

There's been easily 100 hours of crafting by some of the best in the business (and me!) but they don't think it will sell for what it would cost to make so they decided to donate it to charity and I explained SSF to them.

There is a reserve price of 500 euros on it, and maybe I should put it up for general auction but I thought I'd give people here a chance to bid (cos its 11 days to xmas!) or help direct me to where I could maybe get a good price for this? (its not the kind of thing that will really sell on Adverts I don't think :) )

So, what do you think? How much could we sell this for? Where? How? Any offers?! Any suggestions?

Below is a link to the other thread about what SSF is.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057677311
    Hi there, well its the 1st of December so its time to start thinking about Christmas!! (You hear that marketers?!)

WHAT DO WE DO?
    We collect money from online donations of boardsies and I contact children's charities around Xmas and find out what "quality of life improving" items they would ask for from Santa! In the past we've bought everything as diverse as rocking chairs to Xboxes, go karts to kitchen tables.

HOW DOES THIS WORK?
    You donate money. I use it to buy these things. No one gets paid. 100% of your money will go to making life a bit better for these kids.
    Think of it as, you giving them a treat for xmas. I just middleman the whole operation and take the hassle out of it for you. (I still need your donation mind you!).

I'VE ONLY A FIVER!
    I've seen abused kids make a counselling breakthrough with 2 euros worth of finger paints. For 70 euro a kid can have a new 3D printed limb. When you strip away the overheads and costs of admin etc, you would be surprised how far your fiver can go.

I'M BROKE!
    Ok, you can still HUGELY help us by telling people about SSF. Use your social media skillz and get the word out, we'll take donations from everywhere!

I KNOW A KIDS CHARITY THAT COULD USE SOMETHING LIKE THIS
    Great, PM me and lets see if we cant work something out!

PLEASE DONATE!! Please encourage others to donate. Spread the word on all the medias of socialness!

On Boards you can use the tag [.SSF]write anything here[./SSF] (but without the "."s) and you will add our little icon! Stick it in your sig or in any post you want to!
    (I just tested it, so I know it works!! )

Or Mobile users can click here

Every single penny donated goes into the projects for kids charities! A few quid can make a world of a difference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Jesus that's beautiful! Very good of them to donate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Bid €500.

Might be an idea to stick it on eBay too, and call on some twitter friends to retweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WestWing

Rook is cool.
    Knight is err, different :p

€1000 is very achievable.

Put it on Donedeal for a laugh, you'll get some interesting swap suggestions.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The knight was the biggest pain in my jacksie evaaaaar! The competition states that the more you "turned" the better but its night impossible to turn a knight, we tried all manner of contortions but in the end we came up with that design, it actually works because from the side the "head" is tilted slightly backwards. One thing about the whole set is that you are never left in the middle of a game saying "wait, is this the bishop or the queen?" Every piece is clearly identifiable.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Bid €800

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I wouldn't have a clue, your move .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Absolutely beautiful set- well done to all concerned.

Three points as I only happened on this thread:
    I presume you have looked to ask the Irish Chess Union to advertise it: https://www.icu.ie/
    I don't know what SSF is, or am I missing something?
    Which bits did you make? (cheeky!):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Link to the other SSF thread added to Devore's post above.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I made the kings and designed the other pieces. The design drawings are included as part of the document!

I didnt know about the Icu. I'll give them a shout. From our research I think it will be hard to beat Beastys 800 bid tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Jesus Christ, Beasty's gone and bankrupted himself again!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1m1tless

Gorgeous set. A real talking piece. Hope it achieves lots of interest!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Jesus Christ, Beasty's gone and bankrupted himself again!
    Not yet....
    DeVore wrote: »
    From our research I think it will be hard to beat Beastys 800 bid tbh...
    Just to prove you wrong, I'll bid €1,000

That's.... that's cheatin'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Beasty wrote: »
    Bid €800
    I'll bid €1,000

Are you going to let him get away with that?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Are you going to let him get away with that?
    No

Bid €1.250

No

Bid €1.250
    I'll match that if he drops out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Check and mate!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1m1tless

or rather a self-mate :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Beautiful set. Fair play Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

That's a beautiful set and out of my price range but would you not post the dimensions of the table so buyers know what they're getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

That's.... that's cheatin'!

I heard that in Des Curley's voice from The Snapper :D

Earthhorse wrote: »
    That's a beautiful set and out of my price range but would you not post the dimensions of the table so buyers know what they're getting?
    Good idea. The squares are 45mm each so the whole board is 40cm across and the table is a bit bigger (with the rim etc).

I would describe it as a "big" chess board but nothing crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bid €800
    Not yet....

No

Bid €1.250

Do you even chess, bro?

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod: I've deleted some posts as this thread was getting messy. This is for a great cause lads. Nobody should be told to behave themselves.

Johnny Macwilliams, do not post here again.

endacl wrote: »
    Do you even chess, bro?

Fair play.

Used to many years ago. Need to teach the kids about it, or I'll be playing against myself:pac:

31494440832_72b4ecb72d_k.jpgCuFjNlzWYAA-Nvp by Tom Murphy, on Flickr

31268574300_016f098072_k.jpgCuAfHugXEAAra_h by Tom Murphy, on Flickr

Just to prove that I made the kings :)

That chess board is so cool, to bad its way out of my price range :(

I get paid tomorrow so I'll donate a few euro to the SSF.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Lovely work but not a patch on Andy Dufresne's hand carved soapstone chessmen from rocks collected by Red and the boys while on Shawshank work duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I move into a newly built house in Feb/March, and this would look absolutely stunning in the dining room.

Unfortunately because of this
    newly built house in Feb/March,
    i reckon the wife would have me sleeping on the couch/spare room, for the next year if I spent over a grand on it, beautiful and all as it is.

I will throw a few bob towards SSF though.

Stunning piece of work though, best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Not yet....

You really are Santy Claus aren't you beasty :P

To be honest, I really doubt I have any chance of beating 1250 (and no Beasty, that's not a hint!!). Also I think if there is a single human on the planet who I'd love to see have this now, its Beasty. So Going Going Gone. 1250 to the main man! Many thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Fantastic set and fair play to you both for your generosity.

If you ever do a set of just the pieces and board that can be packed away let me know, I would snap them up.

Gazump alert!! - was planning to bid €1,500 later on and will make the transfer now

Beasty that if you can!!!

:p:p:p

EDIT - just arranged the transfer - should hit the SSF account early next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Kudos to both of you. Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Beasty, you're wonderfully insane.

Tom, that is an absolute work of art. It's gorgeous. If you plan on doing another for next Christmas's SSF auction, let me know so I can start saving!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Can someone tell me what SSF is? :o

To be honest, I really doubt I have any chance of beating 1250 (and no Beasty, that's not a hint!!). Also I think if there is a single human on the planet who I'd love to see have this now, its Beasty. So Going Going Gone. 1250 to the main man! Many thanks!

Throwing it out to the chess forum now....

Just on the off chance that Beasty doesn't chess, perhaps a few free lessons might be in order? So he doesn't just use it as an ornament, like?

HensVassal wrote: »

Super Silly Fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

HensVassal wrote: »

Santa Strike Force: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057677311

Now collected and on the way home.

Absolutely stunning set and worth every cent (to me anyway)

Thanks to DeVore and the 7 others that made it. I'm now curious what the next competition subject will be!!!