Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shows you hated but watched anyway

• 09-12-2016 5:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

It doesn't happen as much now because there's so much choice but I remember one summer going to watch a bit of TV as a kid and the Australian series Round The Twist would be the only feckin thing on. I hated that show. It gave me a sort of eerie feeling but I'd watch it anyway cause there was nothing else on the other channels :)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KPxJ6RR40ZU

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭OCEANIC FIZZY POP NINE

Current season of The Flash is awful crap I think but I keep watching it, arrow is not much better.

Bull is fairly sh1te to but im still watching it, Luke Cage was a mission to get through but i did it...scandal, been watching that crap for what is it 5 year? It's sh1te. Dark Matter second half of S2, gak. I'm 5 eps into Timeless waiting for it to get better, i don't think it will.

Is everyone the same? Sticking with shows that were good but have been crap for along time?

I dropped criminal minds few years back, stuck with it for 2/3 years to many, the relief. NCIS LA been on my sh1t list for a good while to. Rare I actually look forward to a show, had high hopes for Shooter ah it's crap to. They should have called it sniper and changed his name, what were they thinking! Idiots.

Some of these days I'm just gonna pop and delete everything and give up on TV. Go and actually do something with all my time instead of wasting it watching the endless drivel being pumped out.

Suits! I dropped it twice and went back, the nastiest bunch of feckers you'll ever come across those characters.

Scorpion is good....I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gabria

home and away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

This season of Walking Dead if like pulling teeth.. but keep watching in the hope it gets back to the standard of previous seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Olishi4 wrote: »
    It doesn't happen as much now because there's so much choice but I remember one summer going to watch a bit of TV as a kid and the Australian series Round The Twist would be the only feckin thing on. I hated that show. It gave me a sort of eerie feeling but I'd watch it anyway cause there was nothing else on the other channels :)

Oh man that truly was a cack show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭geecee

going to be very unpopular...but:
    Breaking Bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Countdown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

geecee wrote: »
    Breaking Bad

oh, edgy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,869 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

CSI: Cyber - but couldn't make it past episode 5 (can't believe it was even renewed for a second season)

Since you mentioned an older series then I put Rentaghost out there - incredibly stupid but why did I keep watching it as a kid

Now a bit bored of CM - lost some of its jazz - but will likely watch it to its end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,564 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I liked Round the Twist.

But yeah there are some series that I wouldn't say I hate but I would be happy if they finished soon. Like Once Upon a Time and Supernatural. I'm fed up with Once Upon a Time. Have stopped watching a couple times but then would watch during the winter break and get back into. It's so annoying and stupid at times. Supernatural is one that has run its course and has had bad seasons lately. It's still a good show, but after 12 seasons, I say finish it up. Walking Dead is another show that is a chore to watch these days. Gone from watching it Monday to watching whenever. Like only watching the latest episode now. But now I'm just watching these shows after investing so much time already. I'd say a lot of the viewers of these shows are ones who are in the same boat, resulting in it getting renewed.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Modern Family, Under the Dome and Westworld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Newsroom. Pretentious, self important drivel. I finally gave up in the middle of last season.

Sorkin made some great stuff, this one wasn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭SQ2

Sons of anarchy. Made it about 10 episodes in hoping it would get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭hollymartins

Breaking Bad. I watched the first two seasons before it became 'must watch' tv and I thought it was alright but it didn't draw me in. A year or two later everyone was raving about so I thought perhaps I had been too harsh.

With each season I expected it to suddenly click with me, because obviously I was missing something? I just did not connect or care about any character. By the fourth season I was only watching out of sheer stubbornness. I accept the show has dedicated fans but I thought it was over rated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    This season of Walking Dead if like pulling teeth.. but keep watching in the hope it gets back to the standard of previous seasons.

It's actually incredibly boring this season. I'm very close to giving up.

Still watch new episodes of the simpsons even though they Are terrible.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Prison break after season 1.

I know I'll watch the reboot season too despite the fact that all the company and sylla stuff (essentially everything after s2 which was still ok) was just nonsense they made up as they went along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I'd still watch first series of Round the Twist now, so disagree with OP about that.

I watched the Glades until the bitter end and that last series was absolute toilet.

There were series we used to watch as kids because there was only one telly and it'd be that or bed. Howard's Way being one that leaves a scar that won't heal.

Though I could say "Damn you Jack, I'm going to the boatyard" in a convincing fashion, a skill I haven't found a use for in adult life.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

I'm not a viewer but everyone who watches Fair City seems to just give out about it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

Breaking Bad

I'm with you. I really tried but I just couldn't see it.

It just seemed like Batman and Robin for the 21st Century - What's this weeks disaster / situation to overcome.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Markx

One more for Breaking Bad - find its popularity hard to fathom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Prison break after season 1.

I know I'll watch the reboot season too despite the fact that all the company and sylla stuff (essentially everything after s2 which was still ok) was just nonsense they made up as they went along.

Same here,
    By the end I was praying, will someone please kill these tosspots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

2nd and 3rd series of The Fall.How it went downhill so much from the gripping 1st series is still a mystery to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Glenbhoy

The Last Man on Earth, awful crap, but didn't mind a few of the very first few episodes and for some reason kept on wasting more 20 odd minute snippets of my life (though in fairness I was usually online throughout), still, I've finally put a stop to it, early in season 3.
    Stopped with the fall after episode 1 of season 3, season 2 should never have happened.
    Stopped with Lost around series 4, I believe it to have been a good call.
    Stopped homeland mid series 2, I hear it improved subsequently (although for me, it really should have been the classic one season show, ending with a bang!!).

Countdown

The comedy version with Jimmy Carr can be good. 8 out of 10 cats does countdown.

But I could just be watching it for Rachel Riley. Stunner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭smilerf

i dont find kimmy schmidt or big bang theory funny yet i still watch them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭smilerf

There was was an australian series when i was a early teen,, i hated it but we only had 6 channels so i watched it
    It was about this lad in a band with his mates
    awful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gabria

Pugwall ! I was gonna add that after home and away but its actually alright compared to H & A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Friends - each and every one of the characters annoyed the bejaysus out of me but there's probably not more than an episode or two I haven't seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Dexter. It went from excellent to terrible to insulting the viewer in a couple of seasons. It was a relief when they finally put it out of its misey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Game Of Thrones. What a pile of nonsense. Stuck with it through 3 seasons and still can't understand all the fuss.

Witches and spells and giants and some blonde girl with pet dragons. It's like something you'd read to the kids at night-time while thinking who's the lunatic that wrote this and what were they sniffing at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Hollyoaks. The sister always insisted on having it on. I'd go online or something to occupy my time but would inevitably absorb the storylines.

When I was young there was this cartoon called Mummies Alive. It was awful rubbish but it had a catchy tune and well... Children are dumb.

According to the Internet, I'm pretty much the only person who didn't hate-watch Voyager.

Game Of Thrones. What a pile of nonsense. Stuck with it through 3 seasons and still can't understand all the fuss.

Witches and spells and giants and some blonde girl with pet dragons. It's like something you'd read to the kids at night-time while thinking who's the lunatic that wrote this and what were they sniffing at the time.

Thank you. I stuck it to series 4.

What sort of got to me was the revoving door process of people being built up, then killed off. In the end you could almost spot it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Even though someone agreed with me earlier hated is probably too strong a word for anything I watched regularly.

I'd say the only things I hated but watched anyway were because they were someone else's (the missus) choice, for instance I've watched plenty of episodes of Sex in the City even though I consider it terrible drivel and the main characters the definition of a bunch of bints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Sons of Anarchy.... forced to watch the whole thing as my wife thought it was great. Utterly ridiculous show with dreadful acting

Blacklist..... as above, wife liked it so I had to sit through. The plot is so bad it's hilarious.

Walking Dead is coming to the point where I'm not bothered if I miss it either. The early seasons were superb but the last couple are mediocre at best. They seem to be rehashing the same plot over and over to keep the thing going and it's getting very boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Capajoma

Dexter after season 4 and Walking Dead, finally gave up on that crap after season 5 and don't miss it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Dexter (Post season 4) - The show was pretty terrible, leading to one of the worst finales of any show I've ever seen. Yet I watched right until the end.

Bones - Same pattern each week, year after year. I only kicked it after the utterly awful 200th episode.

Glee - After an enjoyable start, it became so damned preachy. I kept watching, hoping for the slightly dark edge to reveal itself. When it didn't, and I realised I couldn't stand pontificating any more, I managed to give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

ixoy wrote: »
    Dexter (Post season 4) - The show was pretty terrible, leading to one of the worst finales of any show I've ever seen. Yet I watched right until the end.

Dexter was really good for a long time but then went downhill as you correctly said.

Jesus yeah that finale was the most ludicrous finish. WTF were they thinking?
    It should have ended when yer wan saw him at the alter with the knife and pack it in there and then. But no..... they had to carry on and make a balls of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Hemlock Grove. Watched both seasons although it was completely ridiculous and downright stupid for the most part. But it featured the most bad ass werewolf transformation I've ever seen, especially for a TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Walking Dead, stuck with it for 3-4 seasons. Terribly written muck.

Dexter was really good for a long time but then went downhill as you correctly said.

Jesus yeah that finale ..... they had to carry on and make a balls of it.
    rawn wrote: »
    Hemlock Grove. Watched both seasons although it was completely ridiculous and downright stupid ......
    Walking Dead, stuck with it for 3-4 seasons. Terribly written muck.

Thanks everyone. I'm always a bit behind the curve with TV shows. No netflix, Sky or whathaveyou - I'm too tight and have rubbish internet.
    So if they sound good I'll get them on dvd -
    they're round silvery disc things that go into a player

You've all saved me a lot of money - but more than that the time and dashed expectations ;).

There's nothing quite like the disappointment of recieving a new box set, sitting down and looking forward only to realise a few hours later that its all tosh. Will I watch another, or maybe I'll come back to it later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

Great theme tune though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

Colser wrote: »
    2nd and 3rd series of The Fall.How it went downhill so much from the gripping 1st series is still a mystery to me.

I loved this programme in the 1st series. I kept turning in every week in 2nd + 3rd series hoping it would improve but it was utter crap. Did the scriptwriter do a runner after the 1st series or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Same here..couldn't wait for Sunday night for the first series..slept through most of the second as I couldn't follow what was going on and mostly watched the third hoping it redeem itself.

Someone must have tried really hard to make it the worse possible show because it had huge potential that would have been simple to produce imo. I'm still gutted lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Oh, Misfits as well. First 2, maybe 3 seasons were epic. Went seriously downhill after Nathan left (not because of). Watched it right to the end hoping it would get back to its original glory but it was just pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 decmeister

24 got the complete boxset for christmas
    the amount of crap that happened to his family in the firs 24hrs episode 1 was incredible
    what aload of rubbish
    watched prison break
    how many prisons can you break into and then break out of????
    the wife liked it so we watched till the end like pulling teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Mad Men!
    I absolutely hated Mad Men but watched religiously hoping to see what everyone else did our in case it got good. Then I gave up at the very last episode and decided not to bother wasting another hour of my life on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

Oh I know Colser. I was raving about the Fall in series 1 telling everyone to watch it. Fast forward to episode 1 of series 3 + I was like 'What the hell have I just watched!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭HenryHill

The latest series of American Horror Story. Truly awful compared to previous series.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Kal El

Breaking Bad

Fair play to you, I got as far as episode four and deleted it all. Its tripe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Kal El

SQ2 wrote: »
    Sons of anarchy. Made it about 10 episodes in hoping it would get better.

I liked season one, forced myself through season 2/3 then stopped. It turned to rubbish