Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spring grazing

• 02-12-2016 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

going to try and have grass for the lambs early as possible next spring. Any advice, want fert to put out etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

going to try and have grass for the lambs early as possible next spring. Any advice, want fert to put out etc.

When did you close up your fields that you want the Spring grass on? I think they say it should be closed up for 90-100 days - and nearly longer if the field was very bare when they were leaving it...

I think dung does a great job on fields as well over the winter, but tis a bit late for that now :)

Fertilser - Do a soil sample, at the cost of 1/2 bag of fertiliser, tis worth it... As we're a bit short on P, I always put out either 10-10-20 or 18-6-12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

When did you close up your fields that you want the Spring grass on? I think they say it should be closed up for 90-100 days - and nearly longer if the field was very bare when they were leaving it...

I think dung does a great job on fields as well over the winter, but tis a bit late for that now :)

Fertilser - Do a soil sample, at the cost of 1/2 bag of fertiliser, tis worth it... As we're a bit short on P, I always put out either 10-10-20 or 18-6-12

I'm closing paddocks now that'll be grazed first week in march, by the end of march it'll be stocked at four ewe's to the acre, I'm also closing paddock now that'll be grazed from around the 25th march, but that'll be grazed at 6 or 7 acre by the first of april.
    It's just a system i have developed and it works....most years !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

rangler1 wrote: »
    I'm closing paddocks now that'll be grazed first week in march, by the end of march it'll be stocked at four ewe's to the acre, I'm also closing paddock now that'll be grazed from around the 25th march, but that'll be grazed at 6 or 7 acre by the first of april.
    It's just a system i have developed and it works....most years !!!!

I know it's dependent on ground temperature, but when would you be hoping to go with fert, and what would you put out. Have a few paddocks closed here, but with not much on them, hoping to have ready for start of March of possible. Urea or can maybe ? Always used 18 6 12 here.

Indexs are only about 2 here so i use 18 6 12 at about 70 kgs/acre in autumn' In spring I use a bag of CAN/acre in the first week of march if ground conditions can carry the machinery..

Why CAN and not UREA? I thought UREA was used in spring, and CAN in the Autumn? (why, I dont know) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i would like to know as well i was caught a bit short on grass from mid april to may 8th last year. spring growth came very late last year, did anyone notice this? usually i time it that when pressure comes around mid april grass has already got well going. not last year

i will need a litle something on in early march but what?

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i would like to know as well i was caught a bit short on grass from mid april to may 8th last year. spring growth came very late last year, did anyone notice this ?

Around here there was no real growth until the end of May. I remember talking to the lads on this forum and everyone had the same complaint. It was just cold. Grass came in one lump then at the start of June.

Spoke to a neighbour today, told me the urea is great to kickstart the early grass, even if it's cold. Will green it up. After that graze and go again with what ever you want, cause at that stage the grass will be moving. Mistake I made last year was sheep grazed it back too tight over winter and had no leaf to get it moving again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

You kind of need to have a bit of a cover over winter you eat that and it comes up of a shot. I don't think sparing manure in spring is a good idea,lash it out cos its the most important time for lamb growth and you should get a good response. I'm going to do a trial with half field with urea and other half with can and I'll know forevermore then

1.5 -2 bags of 18 6 12/acre is a good dressing for land that you're not sure of the fertility status

Spoke to a neighbour today, told me the urea is great to kickstart the early grass, even if it's cold. Will green it up. After that graze and go again with what ever you want, cause at that stage the grass will be moving. Mistake I made last year was sheep grazed it back too tight over winter and had no leaf to get it moving again.

Yea it's important to have it stripped for at least ninety days, proper growth doesn't usually happen, here anyway, until 20th APRIL, so if you plan lambing for first march you have to really have enough grass to get to then.
    I takes about 3 or 4 lbs ration per day to replace grass in a milking ewe

That's not to far away from adlib, and expensive in comparison to the fert. Neighbour told me 1/2 bag urea to the acre is what's needed.

what time mid feb? or earlier?

did i hear something about urea beibg spread when sheep are out on th eland

what time mid feb? or earlier?

I don't get much response to nitrogen here before mid march, so i put it out first week of march,
    I try to have a bank of grass for sheep going out in march, thats why i advise at least 90 days stripped and then hope that the nitrogen kicks in to provide the second round of grazing.
    I farm in the midlands, so your area could be later or earlier, also all old leys here so new leys will grow earlier,

Anyone thinking about a date for going with fert ? I know it's early but unseasonably mild around these parts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭cattle man

Anyone thinking about a date for going with fert ? I know it's early but unseasonably mild around these parts ?

Think about it in early February watching soil temperatures but as you say it's been very mild winter. Have all Fertilizer bought to do me until back end.

cattle man wrote: »
    Think about it in early February watching soil temperatures but as you say it's been very mild winter. Have all Fertilizer bought to do me until back end.

Was walking field today. You could be easily tricked into thinking it was mid April. Not a puff of wind and was roasting in coat. Know there's some frost forecast later in week, but ground holding up well, for time of year, thank god

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

I was in North Tipperary yesterday. I saw a farmer out with the tractor spreading fertiliser.

Prob go out with some fertiliser at the weekend, if the weather is good...

Have put out some utea and slurry.. We'll see hodlw it goes

Put out some urea and 18-6-12 at the weekend... only put out half bag per acre... we'll see what kinda perspires we get from it...
    I assume most lads would put out 1 bag / acre minimum would ye?

Also - do many here measure grass? I think rangler does, not sure does anyone else?

I would like to, but I feel my grass management isn't up to the task yet... but maybe that's a better reason to start :)

Put out some urea and 18-6-12 at the weekend... only put out half bag per acre... we'll see what kinda perspires we get from it...

Also - do many here measure grass? I think rangler does, not sure does anyone else?

I would like to, but I feel my grass management isn't up to the task yet... but maybe that's a better reason to start :)

Only half abag...money is fierce tight...measure grass alright

Is that you saying you put out half a bag, or are you taking the piss outa me for only putting out a half bag? ;)

You do the full quadrant grass measuring craic, or just eyeball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I was out spreading myself at the weekend-glad to hear someone else was too, was afraid I was gone mad! Went with 1.5 bags of 10-10-20 to the acre. Hopes to go for. 2 bags to the acre but set the spreader a bit tight. Low on p and k so trying to build it up.
    I made the mistake last year I think or not putting out enough fertiliser, and when I did, not enough n. As an adviser said to me I was putting oil and water in the car but no petrol to drive it on.
    Weather seems ok, few light frosty mornings but I think the average soil temp is 8 or 9 degrees. A bit of rain promised tomorrow too so should wash it in.
    Hope it'll all get used up!

Is that you saying you put out half a bag, or are you taking the piss outa me for only putting out a half bag? ;)

You do the full quadrant grass measuring craic, or just eyeball?

No was deadly serious 23 units urea an acre on about half the farm . and slurry on a few acres as well. Usually eyeball or use one of those measuring stick things from teagasc but got the loan of the erising plate meter from teagasc so am using that ATM.

?

Neighbour told me 1/2 bag of urea as well.

No was deadly serious 23 units urea an acre on about half the farm . and slurry on a few acres as well. Usually eyeball or use one of those measuring stick things from teagasc but got the loan of the erising plate meter from teagasc so am using that ATM.
    Neighbour told me 1/2 bag of urea as well.

Some fields got 1/2 bag UREA (23 unit N)

Some fields only got 1/2 bag 18-6-12 (9 unit N per acre, 22units N per Ha)

I applied for GLAS, and some fields will be in this LIPP, so I assume starting 1st Jan, I can only put 40units N / Ha... As far as I know anyways... I haven't heard anything from the dept - but reading the papers it seemed anyone that applied will be accepted... so thats why I went with the low N in some fields...

I might be wrong, we'll see in time...

Sure it's only 40 units a hectare ?

Yep..

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/farmingschemesandpayments/glastranche3/GLAS3Specification031116.pdf

P59
    8. Maximum chemical nitrogen usage is 40 kg N per ha per annum.

Now - not sure if my sums on the previous post are 100% correct but the requirement is max 40kg N per Ha per year... Not much really...

But, dung and / or slurry would be allowed (given the requirement specifically calls out chemical nitrogen)