Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laughing in inappropriate situations

• 30-11-2016 3:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

I have just read an article online where the parent of a 5yr old has been called into school because the child laughs every time at her teachers name. (Ms. Butt incase you're wondering)

It reminds me of a time one of my dads neighbours called into our house, and was telling us about how when he was in school one of his teachers used to beat him. He always refers to himself in the third person, and was so mad telling the story his face was changing colour. I of course was trying to keep a straight face but he started reinacting one particular situation and I started howling laughing, he got so defensive and told me that it wasn't a bit funny, and not to be laughing.

Have you ever made a bad situation awkward by bursting out laughing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

A school teacher once threw me out of class. He was wittering on about his life story and I started laughing at the line "I have three beautiful children". It was an oft-repeated line, but I was amused because I was thinking of the previous class when he'd been yelling that he didn't have time to finish the course and we were the worse class he'd ever had.

Wait, inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's common enough, laughing at funerals and so forth. These days some shrinks think it might be part of a very old sort of defence mechanism:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/happiness-in-world/201101/why-we-laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Myself and my best friend used to laugh hysterically at Mass, we'd only have to look at each other and we'd be off. We would be trying to laugh quietly, and the whole bench would be shaking. I'm fairly sure I can remember the priest giving out about us once from the altar. Probably made us laugh all the more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Hahahahahahahahahahah!

Sh*t.

Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Good times...
    osarusan wrote: »
    In mass about 25 years ago, at that point where everybody has to say the response on cue to the prayer that was just said.

The priest had just announced what the response should be, and it was a really long one, too long to remember, so everybody just murmured something that sounded vaguely like it.

When it came time to say the response as prompted, my father said the first couple of words correctly, then just said 'and something else.' The first time I just shot him a surprised look, but he did it again 'and something else again' and I cracked up laughing, causing him to do the same.

It was one of those times where we'd stop, only to be set off again for any reason at all. It went on forever and my mother was furious but could do nothing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, I have laughed/sniggered at inappropriate situations. Like one when my ex partners sister recounted a serious accident her daughter had whilst horse riding. I think it was out of nervousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Once was out with someone and she walked into a lamp post, I laughed, she didn't appreciate it. Forever alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I have a theory that Laughing is just when the brain is overwhelmed and is a kind of shock.

That's why punchlines that are unexpected deliver the best jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭cml387

I remember an episode of the Mary Tyler Moore show where Chuckles the clown died.

Chuckles was at a parade in fancy dress, dressed as a peanut and an "Elelphant tried to shell him".

The whole newsroom was in hysterics while Mary was appalled at their insensitivity.

At the funeral however the tables are turned.

It's worth finding on youtube if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

It was always funny as a kid, when you'd be in a church and someone would Fart on the wooden benches, try stopping laughing then

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

When I was about 12/13, three of my friends and I were going into town. When we got to the train station, there was a train coming so we ran and got on the train and didn't pay.

On the way home, we were on time for the train so myself and another friend went to pay and the other two decided to chance not paying home as well and they started slagging us for getting a ticket.

About two stops in and the ticket collector got on and my friend and I looked at the other two and their face was priceless. We couldn't stop laughing. The ticket collector came over and asked them for their tickets. They were like "eh". At that stage even the other passengers around us started laughing aswell. He made them pay and gave them a warning but he was even laughing himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

cml387 wrote: »
    I remember an episode of the Mary Tyler Moore show where Chuckles the clown died.

Chuckles was at a parade in fancy dress, dressed as a peanut and an "Elelphant tried to shell him".

The whole newsroom was in hysterics while Mary was appalled at their insensitivity.

At the funeral however the tables are turned.

It's worth finding on youtube if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Piggystardust

I have a theory that Laughing is just when the brain is overwhelmed and is a kind of shock.

That's why punchlines that are unexpected deliver the best jokes.

I agree. I was sitting in a café recently waiting for a friend of mine to come back the hospital after a consultation.

He walked in looking shell-shocked and told me he'd been given 6 months at most to live. I literally burst out laughing. He just stared at me blankly but I couldn't stop, the more he talked about how serious it was and sick he was about to get the more I laughed. By the end of the conversation, if you could even call it that, I had tears streaming down my face from laughter.

That phase didn't last long though believe me and I've been devastated since.

I'm also the first person to laugh if I see someone fall over or walk into a door or something. If I'm in trouble, I tend to giggle too. Fights with past boyfriends have escalated badly cos the angrier they get, the more ridiculous things seem and it just becomes funny.

It's definitely a weird nervous defense mechanism... and it's no laughing matter! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I have a close friend & she laughs at the most inappropriate situations, When I said it to her she just laughed at me...

its a nervous something or other she has ha ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I went out with a girl who used a whole bottle of that frizz-eze (Is that spelled correctly?) on her hair to try and straighten it. It looked like she'd dipped her hair in a frying pan. She was freaked out by it and I couldn't stop laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The first time I heard a fanny fart I burst out laughing. Kinda ruined the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Legionn_of_Dan

I find the pressure and tension in a minutes silence unbearable. I have to fight the urge to laugh or smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I'm terrible for it, used to get in trouble for it at school a fair bit, when i was younger the local priest had a stammer, felt terrible but couldn't stop myself from laughing at times during mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

jimgoose wrote: »
    It's common enough, laughing at funerals and so forth. These days some shrinks think it might be part of a very old sort of defence mechanism:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/happiness-in-world/201101/why-we-laugh

I disappeared for an hour at my fathers wake for some peace, when I returned I was asked where I was ...I did the usual avoid tactics to which my bro in law then responded "who is she?" I said "do I look like the type of chap that would look for a grief shag?" silence for a few seconds and then an eruption of laughter in the room....my nephew then added "make sure she signs the book on the way out..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

When my Grandad was being lowered into the ground, he got stuck halfway.

Some of us laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I'm terrible for the giggles at funerals even did it at my fathers who'd have me killed were he alive at the time. My brother broke the handle off the coffin as we lifted it to carry it out to the hearse. I thought I'd wet myself given the look on his face in front of the parish. I've been asked to leave a church in the past for not being able to control my giggles.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I woke up with a fright and let out a mighty yelp on an airplane the other day.

After the stunned passengers around me (that I woke up with said yelp) returned to their sleep, I groggily remembered how I was just talking to someone about how I wake suddenly on airplanes and always think I've pee'd myself and start fumbling around at my crotch for a wet patch.

I started to laugh out loud at this for some reason, it was in my head that I yelped but didn't pee and nobody seen me rooting at the oul crotch.

I'm not sure why I laughed. This makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭ahlookit

We were all gathered round my mothers bed in hospital on the day she was dying. Family, close friends, etc when the muppet hospital chaplain came in....

He started saying this mournful mawkish waffle that was supposed to be a prayer, but he was just wittering on and on. I was just about holding it together. Then ma let out this kind of snort from the bed (doped up to the gills on morphine) at some particularly inane line from the priest. Exactly the noise she'd usually make when she was listening to someone spouting sh!te. I caught my sisters eye, and completely lost it. The harder I fought to suppress the laughter, the harder I shook. Eventually I couldn't handle it anymore and I had to bolt out of the room, still mid-prayer, with tears streaming down my face. I think my sister told the priest I was very upset or something when the old codger eventually shut up. Still, he gave me the best laugh I had that week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

My sister and I burst out laughing at our grand-aunt's funeral.

The undertaker was about to close the coffin in the mortuary when an elderly gentleman made a dash towards the deceased. Most of our family and relations thought he was taking the death very bad but my sister and I howled with laughter because we copped on that he was trying to recover his lotto slip which had fallen into the coffin earlier.

I woke up a cabin full of people by laughing my head off in my sleep on an overnight flight. The FA had to wake me up.
    Morto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

I used to drive my first wife to distraction, most mornings. Because, quite simply, I used to wake up in gales of laughter!

God knows why. As soon as I became conscious, I'd be aware that my mouth was wide open and I was laughing like a drain!

Used to genuinely make her angry! " How can you Be so happy, in the morning?! :mad: "

What the f**k did she want?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 goat.sniffer

Not long after I started going out with my girlfriend her grandmother died. After the funeral the family went back to a restaurant for a dinner. All was very quiet as you'd imagine, and her brother got up to go to the bathroom.

I didnt know him too well then, but I thought it would be great craic as he was standing up at his chair to tap the glass on the table 3 times with my fork as if to make it look like he was about to make a speech - well I laughed and laughed, completely forgot where I was!! He saw the funny side of it too thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

The movie - The Green Mile

the scene where yer man was executed and Percy didn't wet the sponge therefore pro-longing his death

couldn't stop laughing in the cinema at it thought it was hilarious esp at the bad smell bit with people putting their handkerchiefs to their noses

(am i sick ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Jesus I'm cringing remembering this. When my Dad was dying for about the last half hour his breathing became really slow. He would take a breath, and not breathe out for what seemed like ages, I'd say "he's gone now", and then he would breathe again. I'd say "sorry Dad" and myself and my sister would start laughing it was so comical. Pure nerves though was what it was. I know If he could have he'd have been laughing along with us, he'd have seen the funny side :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

At my brothers burial the coffin was placed on a few timbers over the grave while the priest said the prayers. My bro was a big fella and the timbers were bending to nearly a boomerang shape and I got such a fit of laughing that I had to cover my eyes and block my nose to try and contain it. I was literally shaking but people thought I was crying and came and put their arm around me. I think I would have pi$$ed myself if the coffin broke the lats and fell into the grave.

Does anyone have a HD link of the Dutch presenter who loses it when talking to a squeaky-voiced guest? That was funny.

Tourettes syndrome is a very distressing condition for sufferers and they have my deepest sympathy....but..i remember watching this documentary with my parents and crying with laughter at it

i defy anyone not to laugh at it..

(maybe its the scottish accents :pac:)

Just reading these posts I'm hysterical !! :-) :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

73Cat wrote: »
    Myself and my best friend used to laugh hysterically at Mass, we'd only have to look at each other and we'd be off. We would be trying to laugh quietly, and the whole bench would be shaking. I'm fairly sure I can remember the priest giving out about us once from the altar. Probably made us laugh all the more.

My best friend and I were the exact same. We noticed that some mass-goers would tend to say prayers really loud and faster than everyone else like a ramble from an auctioneer. We'd joke that it was like they were in a race to finish the prayer before everyone to get in God's good books first. We'd hear someone do it and just have to look at each other and the laughing would start :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Jesus I'm cringing remembering this. When my Dad was dying for about the last half hour his breathing became really slow. He would take a breath, and not breathe out for what seemed like ages, I'd say "he's gone now", and then he would breathe again. I'd say "sorry Dad" and myself and my sister would start laughing it was so comical. Pure nerves though was what it was. I know If he could have he'd have been laughing along with us, he'd have seen the funny side :)
    What a beautifully poignant post, thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I always laugh at the most inoppertune moments. I think it's a kind of coping mechanism..for me anyway. I tried telling a nun once when she was beating the bejasus outta me that the doctor told my mother that it was a 'nervous laugh' but she was having none of it. The more she beat me the more I laughed. There was another girl like me in my class.

It's very embarrassing sometimes when you're trying to be serious and you just burst out laughing.

think its great to see so many people here having a funny moment at deathbeds and funerals...think its good & healthy to have a laugh at what can otherwise be a very hard time in anyone's life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It's like the brain is preprogrammed to react in such a way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,443 ✭✭✭✭looksee

In my late teens I worked as a clerical officer in a Probation and Aftercare service office. Most of us were in our teens and early twenties and all female. We behaved absolutely properly on duty, but you found yourself typing quite difficult reports, dealing with drunks, going to the court and the prison etc. At break time however we had 15 minutes of complete hysterics in our break room, about anything and everything and not particularly to do with people or cases coming in. The boss would send in messages occasionally to tell us to make less noise - though it was he who thought it was good for morale (of whom?) to have all these young wans working in the place!

If you overhear people working in sensitive situations having a laugh, give them a bit of a break, they are not necessarily being unfeeling :)

^^^^^^^^^^^^

its just a release

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Just reading these posts I'm hysterical !! :-) :-)

same here ... :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Something very similar happened me when my grandad died. We were waiting ages and the breaths were getting further apart and eventually he passed. He was dead about a minute when the guy in the bed across from him starts wheezing in his sleep, all of us around my grandad's bed were trying not to laugh but we couldn't hold it in.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Found myself in the front seat of Christmas eve mass several years ago. Its a church where the row of seats faces the other side of the church so you have a constant audience of a couple of hundred people during the service.

The altar and crib are located between the two sections of the audience /whatever it's called at mass.

Before mass a girl of around 20 approached the crib in pious reverence, hands together before her in prayer as she walked up looking terribly elegant. She dropped to her knees in front of it in a sort of beautiful, dramatic homage to the baby Jesus but somehow landed awkwardly and landed face first into the crib with him. There was a collective "ohhhh" of concern from the congregation but fair play to her she got back up and continued praying.
    And then it struck me that it was a little funny but I really shouldn't laugh... and so I laughed. In full view of 300 people. The more I thought about how awful it was that I was laughing and how all these people were watching and how really it was very embarrassing and I was making a show of myself the more I laughed. Ended up an hr of me battling against myself to try and not laugh with little success. Trying to stifle giggles, pretend I was burying my head in prayer at one point as my shoulders shuck no doubt giving me away, in complete panic I even considered trying to pretend I was crying!

I wasn't even laughing at the girl after a min of two, I was laughing at how utterly awkward I felt myself and how I was completely mortifying myself but couldn't stop. I still both laugh and cringe in horror when I think of it. I console myself that it was Christmas eve and those hundreds of people watching me probably thought I was drunk. I was not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

At my nans funeral years back, all the grandchildren piled into 2 pews. Someone at the end got a dose of the giggles and it slowly worked it's way through all of us. After about 2 minutes there was 2 pews full of us red faced and teary eyed from trying to hold in the laughter.

My mam turned around, presumably to give me a clatter, but when she saw the amount of us in feckin ribbons it started her off, which started everyone in the front pew off too. The priest had to stop to give us all a minute to compose ourselves. Nanny would have been so proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I was at a wedding in the summer, in a church that allowed people to sit to the left and right of the altar.
    When it came to Communion, I wasn't going up so I was just people watching, friends of mine were on the left side and I was wondering which of them would go up for it.
    This old woman was getting communion and asked for it to be placed in her hand, she then proceeded to scoff it so quickly it was like she was a newly released POW. For some reason I found this to be the funniest thing I'd seen in quite some time and looked around to see who else had seen it, my row and the row in front (all friends) hadn't, I even checked the row behind.
    I was shaking so much holding the laughter in my row and the row in front were vibrating. It broke out in bursts every now and then.
    Every now and then I think of that and it sets me off again, it was like the Cookie Monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Legionn_of_Dan

My fiancee was sitting in the kitchen when her father stood up from looking under the sink and straight into an open press door. Split his scalp and pumped blood. All my fiancee could do was howl laughing as he roared and bled everywhere. She claims it was out of nervousness and shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I was giving a girl I work with a lift one day, we were having a laugh and I wasn't paying proper attention and pulled out in front of a cyclist - entirely my fault. Cyclist ended up on the bonnet of the car and I ended up practically pissing myself laughing - needless to say he didn't see the funny side of it, started threatening all sorts which just made me laugh more.
    I don't know how he didn't box the head off me to be honest!

I still both laugh and cringe in horror when I think of it. I console myself that it was Christmas eve and those hundreds of people watching me probably thought I was drunk. I was not.

don't worry half the people there were probably drunk as well :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭JakeBell

I was about 28 and in a nursing home with my Dad visiting his very old aunt. She asked if he was still in school and I burst out laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

When I was a teenager a cousin of mine about 12 years younger than me (she was say four at the time) was brought out to sing a song for everyone at some family function. I like her parents but they can be pretty protective of or precious about their kids or something, basically they didn't see the funny side of what you can probably see is coming next.

Wee cuz launches into a rendition of I Can't Help Falling In Love With You, typical little kid stuff, not really in tune, words wrong, stopping for breath in the middle of words. Cute or cringe depending on the viewer. But she made really intense eye contact with me the whole time, didn't fcuking blink.

With absolutely no forewarning I burst out laughing, like it wasn't 'oh sh1t I really feel like laughing', just zero to guffaw. Cuz keeps going, pro that she is, the eye contact does get pretty frowny though. Cuz's mother and my mother give me the angriest fcuking stares, her mother does seem really offended, which makes it worse and I can't stop.

Had to leave the room. That aunt is just about warming up to me again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

My mam and I were at an annual mass in a graveyard. When it was over the priest was going around blessing the graves. One of our neighbours a man in his 50's walked over to talk to my mam. He had recently hurt his leg and was walking with a limp and for some weird reason was holding his wife's handbag. One look at him bouncing up and down walking with a woman's handbag hanging over his wrist was enough to make me have to bite the inside of my jaw to try and stop laughing. I had to pretend I was fierce interested in the grave blessing and prayed he wouldn't talk to me cos there's no way I wouldn't have laughed out loud. My mam just about managed not to.