Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car stopped at 236 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I hope that the book is thrown so hard at him/her that it gives them a concussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Tzardine wrote: »
    I hope that the book is thrown so hard at him/her that it gives them a concussion.

What about the 10000's of people driving like that in Germany?

It was the middle of the day, the road was dry, visibility was grand and traffic wasn't that dense. Nowhere in the article does it say he / she was undertaking and weaving. I've seen worse behavior on backroads and R, N roads etc.

200 km/h, whilst technically illegal, is not necessarily dangerous. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

dfeo wrote: »

It was the middle of the day, the road was dry, visibility was grand and traffic wasn't that dense. Nowhere in the article does it say he / she was undertaking and weaving. I've seen worse behavior on backroads and R, N roads etc.

200 km/h, whilst technically illegal, is not necessarily dangerous. Get over yourself.

Yawn. The standard of trolling on this site is not what it used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I don't think he's trolling.

I see nothing dangerous in 236 km/h on motorway assuming conditions allow for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Sorry lads that bloke last week was bugging me.

218kmh can eat my ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

nothing wrong with doing 240km/h in a ferrari on an empty motorway IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭oscar2

oscar2 wrote: »

I can assure you, that if you hit anything at legal 120km/h your chances of surviving are the same slim as when hitting it at 200km/h.

Cars are not designed to crash at those speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/802191444870135808

Directions to Ballinasloe are available upon request so people can pick up their high horses at the horse fair.

you're two days late to the party...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Got stopped years back doing 130mph the copper said there was nothing wrong with my driving or the speed I was doing only that I broke the limit and he saw me...empty motorway,late at night,got a fine and 2 pts he also said if it was during the day he would have thrown the book at me.
    It's all about the situation,speed doesn't kill,reckless driving does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Garda don't do speed checks on roads with no traffic, can't make money otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

CiniO wrote: »
    I don't think he's trolling.

I see nothing dangerous in 236 km/h on motorway assuming conditions allow for that.

Irrelevent. The speed limit is 140 kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭oscar2

I can assure you that you have a better chance of survival in an impact at 120kph.

You also have a better chance of avoiding a collision at 120kph than 240kph.

I base my opinion on my experience of attending thousands of RTCs.

Irrelevent. The speed limit is 140 kph

Where is that speed limit of 140 kph?

And what is kph? Never heard of such unit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Several problems here for me. First, was that driver a good driver? Driving that fast (and I've only done 180 kmph myself in Germany) is hard work. Secondly, that kind of speed would freak out other drivers, who aren't used to it. Plus, I'm sure there would be some "righteous" driver who would pull out to "teach that lad a lesson".

Ireland just isn't ready for that, regardless of how OK it may have been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Another thread ruined...Maybe boards developers could write some code to Auto Ban the usuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Tzardine wrote: »
    Yawn. The standard of trolling on this site is not what it used to be.

Difference of opinion is not always trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭SteM

Another thread ruined...Maybe boards developers could write some code to Auto Ban the usuals.

Or autobahn.

Kilometres per hour?

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Kilometres per hour?

Symbol of kilometres per hour is "km/h".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

nothing wrong with doing 240km/h in a ferrari on an empty motorway IMO

A Ferrari 458 at that :D

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferrari_458

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

I can assure you, that if you hit anything at legal 120km/h your chances of surviving are the same slim as when hitting it at 200km/h.

Cars are not designed to crash at those speeds.

Sorry this post makes no sense at all.

Many many more people have survived collisions at 120 km/h than 200km/h its fundamental physics.

The more momentum you bring to a collision,the lower your chances of survival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

?

I'm sure you would have copped what he meant given time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

On an empty motorway in good conditions fair enough. However at that speed he will be on top of people before they see him. Pulling out to overtake and that guy will be closing on you at 65 meters a second. The margin for error is gone.

It's not about whether he has a Ferrari or done advanced driving: it's what can happen around him and that he has no room for error.

What is the point of this idiotic nitpicking? Grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

120 kilometers per hour my apologies. Even further above the limit. You know well what kph is.

You have a bee in your bonnet about motoring in Ireland and to be honest the holier than thou attitude of your posts is really starting to take the biscuit.

I have no problem with a bit of speeding, I do it, we all do. 236 Km/h is taking the piss. But as sure as night follows day you'd be here arguing otherwise.

magentis wrote: »
    Sorry this post makes no sense at all.

Many many more people have survived collisions at 120 km/h than 200km/h its fundamental physics.

The more momentum you bring to a collision,the lower your chances of survival.

What I meant, that chances of surviving when hitting something stationary at 120km/h are already close to 0.
    So doing 200km/h doesn't make it much worse at all.

There is significent difference at lower speed.
    If you hit a wall at 50km/h most likely modern car will save your life and possibly even leave you uninjured.
    Hitting the same wall at 100km/h, will most likely leave you killed.
    At 120km/h chances of being killed are nearly certain.

Fleawuss wrote: »
    On an empty motorway in good conditions fair enough. However at that speed he will be on top of people before they see him. Pulling out to overtake and that guy will be closing on you at 65 meters a second. The margin for error is gone.

It's not about whether he has a Ferrari or done advanced driving: it's what can happen around him and that he has no room for error.

Apparently it was foggy on the day. spotted in Fermoy and caught by the Jack Lynch Tunnel (about a 15 mile distance) by 2 cops on bikes(allegedly). if it were the other direction they wouldn't have stood a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

Out of curiosity did the nardee say what type of motor vehicle was involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Judging by the picture of the speed gun in the first photo it looks like the middle of the day. No way in hell that a motorway would be empty.
    Can't believe some people in this thread are trying to justify that speed, especially during the day..

Don't think people are justifying this incident at all,just saying with the right conditions it's ok...middle of the day reckless driving....middle of the night speeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Exactly and not kmph, k/ph km/ph or any of the other abominations found regularly on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Difference of opinion is not always trolling.

Not necessarily.... but have you seen the OPs post history?

Judging by the picture of the speed gun in the first photo it looks like the middle of the day. No way in hell that a motorway would be empty.

First of all - it was bloody Black Friday - everyone was shopping.
    Secondly - it was M8 outside of Fermoy IIRC - it is always empty.

No rain, fog nor frost...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Can't believe some people in this thread are trying to justify that speed, especially during the day..

I regularly drive that motorway in the early afternoon and it has very little traffic even less so at night

The particular spot where the driver was clocked is a known speed trap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

grogi wrote: »
    First of all - it was bloody Black Friday - everyone was shopping.
    Secondly - it was M8 outside of Fermoy IIRC - it is always empty.

No rain, fog nor frost...

There was a lot of traffic actually .. so many high horses clip-clopping along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Speed kills? But yet again there doesn't seem to be a body.

I've driven faster than that in a 15 year old car. Pfft!

Stheno wrote: »
    I regularly drive that motorway in the early afternoon and it has very little traffic even less so at night

Correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Here we go again. Do you not get tired of this same old line? Others certainly do.

Alun wrote: »
    Exactly and not kmph, k/ph km/ph or any of the other abominations found regularly on here.

Well - there are many abbreviations of this unit used in the literature and news...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilometres_per_hour#Kilometres_per_hour_as_an_abbreviation

Stheno wrote:

Pray tell where!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Pray tell where!

On the approach to the fermoy exit on the m8 I've never not seen a speed trap there

Driving to Cork I always remind myself to slow down

Stheno wrote:
    On the approach to the fermoy exit on the m8 I've never not seen a speed trap there

Ah yeah going down the hill. Im always wary of that one too.
    Thought there was another one on the tolled section. :-/

grogi wrote: »
    Well - there are many abbreviations of this unit used in the literature and news...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilometres_per_hour#Kilometres_per_hour_as_an_abbreviation

But SI requires use of km/h:
    In 1948, as part of its preparatory work for the SI, the CGPM adopted symbols for many units of measure that did not have universally agreed symbols, one of which was the symbol "h" for "hours". At the same time the CGPM formalised the rules for combining units – quotients could be written in one of three formats resulting in "km/h", "km h−1" and "km·h−1" being valid representations of "kilometres per hour".[32] The SI standards, which were MKS-based rather than CGS-based were published in 1960 and have since then have been adopted by many authorities around the globe including academic publishers and legal authorities.

The SI explicitly states that unit symbols are not abbreviations and are to be written using a very specific set of rules.[32] M. Danloux-Dumesnils[33] provides the following justification for this distinction:

It has already been stated that, according to Maxwell, when we write down the result of a measurement, the numerical value multiplies the unit. Hence the name of the unit can be replaced by a kind of algebraic symbol, which is shorter and easier to use in formulae. This symbol is not merely an abbreviation but a symbol which, like chemical symbols, must be used in a precise and prescribed manner.

SI, and hence the use of "km/h" (or "km h−1" or "km·h−1") has now been adopted around the world in many areas related to health and safety[34] and in metrology.[35] It is also the preferred system of measure in academia and in education.[36]

And now we have EU directive forcing us to use official SI symbol of "km/h".
    In 1972 the EU published a directive[40] (overhauled in 1979[41] to take British and Irish interests into account) that required member states to abandon CGS-based units in favour of SI. The use of SI implicitly required that member states use "km/h" as the shorthand for "kilometres per hour" on official[Note 2] documents.

All quotes from your link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

oscar2 wrote: »

Only 1, perhaps 2 of those happened on motorways.

The problem isn't the speed itself, it's a combination of speed and other factors. The faster you go, the more likely the effects of a crash are to be more serious, but speed in and of itself doesn't kill.

No speed limit on motorways here wouldn't work because of other drivers, not because a driver willing to do 230km/h couldn't maintain control.

There are people who sit in middle lanes despite being flashed multiple times, tailgated and deafened by the horn of the car behind because they simply can't comprehend that they are doing something wrong. They don't belong on the road but they represent a huge portion of drivers and until we stop shooting fish in barrels - the faster drivers are probably the better drivers overall - then there's no way raising speed limits could be justified.

That said, we need to educate people, not punish those making actual progress for petty indiscretions of stupid rules.
    But SI requires use of km/h:

And now we have EU directive forcing us to use official SI symbol of "km/h".

All quotes from your link.

I agree with your standpoint on the subject of the thread but being a grammar nazi isn't going to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 gary0345

What about cars in front of him overtaken other cars might not judge a car coming behind him at such speed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 gary0345

What about cars in front of him overtaken other cars might not be able to judge a car coming behind him at such speed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

What about them?
    There is a big difference to driving at 236 km/h on the Autobahn when most others are travelling at similar speeds and are used to traffic around them travelling at that speed and drive accordingly compared to driving on an Irish motorway where a large percentage of the drivers cannot even understand keep left and pass right. Therefore, yes it should be considered dangerous and reckless, the driver could be an excellent driver, but its the other dumb fcukers you have to worry about.