Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To DI2 or not?

• 24-11-2016 5:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,870 ✭✭✭✭

Deciding on upgrades for the bike and settled on a 50/34 with 11/25 so far.

Now without elaborating on the B2W scheme I may be able to upgrade my 11 speed Ultegra to DI2 which a lot have said go for it but reading online some say it's an luxury purchase if ya like. Low maintenance appeals as I'm not in any way a capable mechanic...

I'm hesitant to get another set of 1k plus wheels after getting Kryrium Pro sl this year so that's why I'm looking at a Ultegra Di2.

So is it the bees knees or just a flash Harry purchase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,464 ✭✭✭jamesd

Ive di2, reason I went for it is the low maintenance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,870 ✭✭✭✭dahat

jamesd wrote: »
    Ive di2, reason I went for it is the low maintenance.

Happy you did?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I bought my first Di2 bike Jan 2015. Hasnt skipped a beat since. Upgraded the second bike to Di2 a month ago. Its so easy to keep to going smooth. If price wasnt an issue Di2 all the way.

the only draw backs I've had is from a crash. I came off the bike and broke the rear de raileur. It wasnt cheap!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

PS I put the upgrade together for less than €500 through buying second hand on ebay.

godtabh wrote: »
    I bought my first Di2 bike Jan 2015. Hasnt skipped a beat since. Upgraded the second bike to Di2 a month ago. Its so easy to keep to going smooth. If price wasnt an issue Di2 all the way.

the only draw backs I've had is from a crash. I came off the bike and broke the rear de raileur. It wasnt cheap!

Yeah that is a potential disaster alright but I have another bike while I get it sorted etc.

Unfortunately I can't go your route even though you managed to half the cost of it. It's either use this way or leave it go as I'm not getting wheels.

dahat wrote: »
    Yeah that is a potential disaster alright but I have another bike while I get it sorted etc.

Unfortunately I can't go your route even though you managed to half the cost of it. It's either use this way or leave it go as I'm not getting wheels.

If it was me I'd go for it if you have the good wheels already

Even forgetting the easy of maintenance if set up correctly the shifting is beautifully smooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,464 ✭✭✭jamesd

Happy you did?

Very happy, changes are so smooth.

If it was me I'd go for it if you have the good wheels already

Even forgetting the easy of maintenance if set up correctly the shifting is beautifully smooth

A set of deep rim wheels would appeal but going through the LBS does reduce the wheel I can get, can fault the onez I have really bar the rim depth.

My bike guy is a good mechanic and di2 capable so I'm sure he would set it correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Deciding on upgrades for the bike and settled on a 50/34 with 11/25 so far.

Now without elaborating on the B2W scheme I may be able to upgrade my 11 speed Ultegra to DI2 which a lot have said go for it but reading online some say it's an luxury purchase if ya like. Low maintenance appeals as I'm not in any way a capable mechanic...

I'm hesitant to get another set of 1k plus wheels after getting Kryrium Pro sl this year so that's why I'm looking at a Ultegra Di2.

So is it the bees knees or just a flash Harry purchase?

Theres **** all maintenance with mechanical gearing, bit of indexing once every now and again, I dont see how that would swing it on its own for anyone.
    I do virtually no maintenance on mine beyond oiling and cleaning, and it never misses a beat.

terrydel wrote: »
    Theres **** all maintenance with mechanical gearing, bit of indexing once every now and again, I dont see how that would swing it on its own for anyone.
    I do virtually no maintenance on mine beyond oiling and cleaning, and it never misses a beat.

Maintenance cost, cables etc assuming the di2 works well with no cost implications.

Cables need to be replaced but I think they would last longer especially with internal routing

Bike is internally routed, TCR Advanced 1.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Bike that need a battery to work properly are wrong.

Just wrong.

End of....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I went for Di2 Ultegra on my good bike and I love it. I went from 2010 Sora with the thumb shifts to this and it's like night and day in the difference.
    It automatically trims out any cross-chaining so you have full use of all the gears and its really easy to use and adjust.
    I only got it as I was getting half the tax back on the bike so it came into the budget I had, and I don't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

{snip}

It's not cheap but it's all relative! A Dura Ace 9000 is about 150ish now and the newer one 230ish. Nevermind SRAM Red, Campy etc which are all 200+

Last time I looked a Di2 RR Derailleur was about 160-175.

It's not cheap but it's all relative! A Dura Ace 9000 is about 150ish now and the newer one 230ish. Nevermind SRAM Red, Campy etc which are all 200+

Last time I looked a Di2 RR Derailleur was about 160-175.

I was quoted €250 at the lbs. I sourced my own one for about that price.

Going from 10 speed 105 to 11 speed Di2 comes with a price shopping list of spare parts. It is relative but still price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

I went for Di2 Ultegra on my good bike and I love it. I went from 2010 Sora with the thumb shifts to this and it's like night and day in the difference.
    It automatically trims out hides any cross-chaining so you have full use of all the gears and its really easy to use and adjust.
    I only got it as I was getting half the tax back on the bike so it came into the budget I had, and I don't regret it.

FYP. Just because you don't have the chain rubbing on the mech doesn't mean that you are not cross-chaining (the chain line determine this), and this is still bad for the chain. If someone is buying Di2 to run large-large gearing, then they should reevaluate their cycling style.

cython wrote: »
    FYP. Just because you don't have the chain rubbing on the mech doesn't mean that you are not cross-chaining (the chain line determine this), and this is still bad for the chain. If someone is buying Di2 to run large-large gearing, then they should reevaluate their cycling style.

Just to follow on a bit from this, running a 50 25 gear will be less of a cross chain than 50 28 although still not ideal.

It automatically trims out any cross-chaining so you have full use of all the gears and its really easy to use and adjust.

The gears you use when it has to trim are ratios that are already available on the other chainring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Mechanical is lighter.

That's the beginning and end of the discussion as far as I'm concerned.

fat bloke wrote: »
    Mechanical is lighter.

That's the beginning and end of the discussion as far as I'm concerned.

Doesn't concern me, bike comes in at 6.5kgs approx as is so a few grams more won't make a difference plus at my bodyweight getting kgs off me is more of an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

There's no issue with theft of these components, is there? Or is a bike featuring Di2 not the type of bike that's left locked in public anyway?

Doesn't concern me, bike comes in at 6.5kgs approx as is so a few grams more won't make a difference plus at my bodyweight getting kgs off me is more of an issue.

Weeelll... 6.5kg is damn light by most standards. To build a bike that light someone had to think carefully about every component and every inch of the frame and fork and choose lighter and more expensive options. Therefore it is a complete anathema to me to voluntarily bolt on a heavier groupset when there are lighter, not to mention cheaper options.

For the same money as ultegra di2, you could probably get mechanical sram red or dura ace? That would be money well spent in my opinion if it was my bike.

Weeelll... 6.5kg is damn light by most standards. To build a bike that light someone had to think carefully about every component and every inch of the frame and fork and choose lighter and more expensive options. Therefore it is a complete anathema to me to voluntarily bolt on a heavier groupset when there are lighter, not to mention cheaper options.

For the same money as ultegra di2, you could probably get mechanical sram red or dura ace? That would be money well spent in my opinion if it was my bike.

It is approx, weighed in shop with bike and wheels no cages etc. It's a TCR Advanced 1, I was surprised myself but essentially not a massive concern of mine as it so considerably lighter than the Alu Thompson R7200 I was using before.

Never considered mechanical Dura Ace tbh.

Weepsie wrote: »
    Doesn't the bike need to d 6.8kgs if you want to race?

Don't know, as I said it is approx, done in shop when collecting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Just to follow on a bit from this, running a 50 25 gear will be less of a cross chain than 50 28 although still not ideal.

I'm not convinced your entirely sure of what cross chaining is...Its using the large front ring and the largest rear sprocket or the small/small. The number of teeth on that set up is irrelevant as it refers to the line the chain takes from the front to rear.

The amount of sprockets is key rather than the number of teeth then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

You can have Di2 and like it, or you don't have it and tell people why it's crap.

Simple, really.

Anyone with Di2 that hates it?

You can have Di2 and like it, or you don't have it and tell people why it's crap.

Simple, really.

Well I had a bad experience with a rental trek in the States when after a heavy shower of rain if wouldn't give me the big ring anymore and I thought "nuts to that for a game of soldiers".

And I've had nothing but good experiences with mechanical 105, ultegra, DA and now sram red. But really its the weight that kills it for me. 1000 euro buys you a 8kg bike. 6000 euro buys you a sub 6.5kg bike. Lightness is really expensive, so I simply couldn't pay more for a 3 or 400 g (or whatever it is) weight penalty for questionable convenience.

But yes, I know lads with ultegra di2 who love it.... But their bikes are heavier than mine! :D

Well I had a bad experience with a rental trek in the States when after a heavy shower of rain if wouldn't give me the big ring anymore and I thought "nuts to that for a game of soldiers".

And I've had nothing but good experiences with mechanical 105, ultegra, DA and now sram red. But really its the weight that kills it for me. 1000 euro buys you a 8kg bike. 6000 euro buys you a sub 6.5kg bike. Lightness is really expensive, so I simply couldn't pay more for a 3 or 400 g (or whatever it is) weight penalty for questionable convenience.

But yes, I know lads with ultegra di2 who love it.... But their bikes are heavier than mine! :D

Was the battery charged? Thats what happens when it needs a charge.

Or go for a power meter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭coastwatch

Another gadget, that you have to remember to check to charge the night before, after phone and garmin and ....

I'd guess it's good for racing, with minimal effort for gear change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Simple, really.

I have Di2 envy and I hate it...

Or go for a power meter?

Only useful if used properly.
    coastwatch wrote: »
    Another gadget, that you have to remember to check to charge the night before, after phone and garmin and ....

I'd guess it's good for racing, with minimal effort for gear change.

You get about 1000km out of them. Not really the same as the above.

In saying that I have the following battery powered devices
    • Heart rate monitor
    • Garmin
    • Two rear lights
    • One front light
    • Power Meter
    • Di2

1. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭coastwatch

Only useful if used properly.

You get about 1000km out of them. Not really the same as the above.

In saying that I have the following battery powered devices
      • Heart rate monitor
      • Garmin
      • Two rear lights
      • One front light
      • Power Meter
      • Di2

Thats the problem, even more likely to forget about it :(

1. Advertisement
      2. Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Not really.

3. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,870 ✭✭✭✭dahat

It just becomes a discipline I imagine.

4. Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

5. Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I've got Di2 on 3 bikes (commuter, racer and TT). Had one issue when a bike fell over (without me on it this time:)) and the cable in the shifter disengaged as the shifter twisted slightly. Left me with 2 gears for a while but was sorted. My only other issue was trying to get the battery out of the Cervelo TT frame! One charge should last 2-3,000km and it's very easy to check the battery status. Tend to find I only need to charge up 2-3 times a year across all the bikes, and if necessary I can switch batteries between bikes if I am caught short on one of them.

Currently looking at one Dolan carbon bike with Ultegra Di2 at a price of £1,500, which is currently about €1,750.

6. Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Beasty wrote: »
        I've got Di2 on 3 bikes (commuter, racer and TT). Had one issue when a bike fell over (without me on it this time:)) and the cable in the shifter disengaged as the shifter twisted slightly. Left me with 2 gears for a while but was sorted. My only other issue was trying to get the battery out of the Cervelo TT frame! One charge should last 2-3,000km and it's very easy to check the battery status. Tend to find I only need to charge up 2-3 times a year across all the bikes, and if necessary I can switch batteries between bikes if I am caught short on one of them.

Currently looking at one Dolan carbon bike with Ultegra Di2 at a price of £1,500, which is currently about €1,750.

3 out of how many these days? I would say its a relatively high percentage so I think its a decent seal of approval.

When I got mine originally I intended it be used as a summer bike only but this will be my third winter with it. No issues with it at all.

7. Advertisement
      8. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Its about 50 grms or less with Dura Ace Mechanical Vs. Electronic, the shifters are significantly lighter. For me i don't mind the 50 grams weight penalty for ease of shifting.

I've had Di2 for 4 years now and use the bike in all weather, never had to adjust the front derailuer in this time and only adjusted the rear twice as it got a knock in the boot. This adjustment would also be required on mechanical. I've changed cassettes and chains and no adjustment what soever required.

If you can afford it buy it I say, as per previous poster there is only 1 comment on an issue with a rental bike so i wouldn't pay much attention to that as rental bikes are never minded. Also loads of other threads like this so worth reviewing them.

9. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

10% off today with black10 and only 30 pound shipping to Ireland, seriously temping!

10. Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Currently hitting 3 years now and over 15000km on mine and zero issues bar a software update which I wanted. (Full sweep with hold down function) I bought a spare battery as a back up but never needed it. You get into the habit before each spin of checking the power levels.

Isnt it compared to washing dishes? Once with a dishwasher its hard to go back to washing dishes!

11. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The amount of sprockets is key rather than the number of teeth then.

No it's not...Your still not getting it. There is only 2mm difference in the width of a 9 or 10speed cassette compared to an 11speed.

Cross chaining on a 9speed bike will put the same strain (or near enough) as cross chaining on an 11speed bike. A 9speed cassette will be 2mm further out from the hub than a 11spd cassette so the chainline when cross chaining is near as damned the same as that on an 11spd bike.

Just admit, you didn't know what cross chaining actually was. 😜

12. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,870 ✭✭✭✭dahat

No it's not...Your still not getting it. There is only 2mm difference in the width of a 9 or 10speed cassette compared to an 11speed.

Cross chaining on a 9speed bike will put the same strain (or near enough) as cross chaining on an 11speed bike. A 9speed cassette will be 2mm further out from the hub than a 11spd cassette so the chainline when cross chaining is near as damned the same as that on an 11spd bike.

Just admit, you didn't know what cross chaining actually was. 😜

I did know but not the technical part of it... "hands head all the same"

13. Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

3 out of how many these days? I would say its a relatively high percentage so I think its a decent seal of approval.
        Due to wrist problems since the accident I prefer the "automatic" to the "stick shift", so I'm using Di2 pretty much all the time except on the track bikes. Haven't done much TT'ing but the racer (Dura Ace) survived the crash and mainly gets summer use - the commuter (only Ultegra!) is on the road pretty-much year round for the past 3.5 years except for 3-4 months hiatus after the accident - not gone 11 speed yet, but am eyeing up that Dolan as it will allow me to export one of my Di2s to the holiday home.....

14. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I<snip>

In fairness, I think that is the best way to get Di2 if you are lucky enough to come across a bargain bike that has it. At 1,750 and with a "Max" "bike to work" that Dolan would be about 1,250, and for a full bike with Di2... that's a bargain.

Personally I was just lucky enough with BTW and Canyon having Sales to acquire Di2, but I think if I had a good bike with Mechanical gearing I wouldn't be assed upgrading it. Unless it was a really expensive bike/frame that was a few years old, like one of these "Look" yokes that cost about 5 grand. That sort of upgrade to Di2 would make more sense.

All that aside, if you can afford it, do whatever makes you happy, you could be dead next year :)

15. Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

you could be dead next year :)
        :(:(

Another Boardsie written out of my will.....

16. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,870 ✭✭✭✭dahat

While not top of the range I thinky tcr advanced 1 is a frame worthy of a di2 myself.

This B2W kind of fell my way as my old job went into liquidation so this is a bonus one. Points below is where I'm at...

1. Don't need a bike, have two not 12 months old
        2. Don't need wheels, have two winter sets and a set of Krysium Pro Sl
        3. I'll never hand over the cash for di2
        4. It's an ego upgrade imo as performance wise it won't help massively.
        5. I think I'm worth it....

17. Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

1. Don't need a bike, have two not 12 months old
        2. Don't need wheels, have two winter sets and a set of Krysium Pro Sl
        3. I'll never hand over the cash for di2
        4. It's an ego upgrade imo as performance wise it won't help massively.
        5. I think I'm worth it....
        Agree with one (and only one) of the above......

18. Advertisement