If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lahvlahn Thread from 18/11/16 so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Back in '69".

The sun was out, and the beer was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

A story from 1969!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

only yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I didn't think you were allowed criticise the gardai on liveline.

Mention of Lugs Brannigan coming up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭Floppybits

ah here 1969

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

country hardshaw

Was it Lugs Brannigan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,577 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

He did the state some service so to speak...

death_wish_3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

9ZzgcNX.jpg

The garda would be up in court due to people like Joe Duffy.

GDY151

Maybe they should drop the fast food bans they want near schools to it slows the kids down so they can be easily caught?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    "Back in '69".

The sun was out, and the beer was fine.

Yep, a '69' was good alright. ;)

Maybe they should drop the fast food bans they want near schools to it slows the kids down so they can be easily caught?

They're slow, but they're huge these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This ex teacher sounds like a right pain in the aras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Reminds me of Gorta ........remember.....good intentions ...then lost the plot. Same with VDP. It appears that they are moving away from the original mission statements and are now funding different groups........says who ffs. Back room deal. I'll be giving them shag all after this...just like rehab

I doubt the two shops right next to the High School near me are ripped-off too much. They seem to be little gold mines, and do a lot of their trade from students.

GDY151

Wipe yer hole proper when you have a dump so to speak...HSE looking after ye so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

Red Kev wrote: »
    9ZzgcNX.jpg

Thats a funny friday special !

Colin Farrell......another great drug user.

Wipe yer hole proper when you have a dump so to speak...HSE looking after ye so to speak.

Public Service Broadcasting at its finest.

GDY151

Vodafone are idiots coming back to Joe with such a fookwit response, their mistake 100% and a fooking massive one.

I'd bet a few bob that Duffy will shoehorn the announcement of the Pope's visit as a high of 2016.

I still don't believe that the You Caristic Congress got the most votes a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

In a nutshell..

I wouldn't be giving Peter Mc Verry anything either! hes no different to the other charity companies!

That Capuchin food kitchen place will be getting a few euro from me this Christmas as well as a few times during the year.

I can overlook that it is a religious institution because the people involved are good and honest and their only interest is feeding those most in need.

The thing is people have stopped donating to Sv de P due to the fact they think it's chancers getting all the stuff.

They're not poor at all. Or at least no poorer than the Svp volunteers.

And that the people who run it aren't bad, just naive.

Mate of mine has volunteered for years with SVP, but seems classification of poverty is somewhat different now.

Often goes into a house with 50 inch flatscreen, sky sports, person puffing away on the fags and asking for help paying the utility bills...

I never give to SVP anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Raven_k42

Have people actually read the SVP statement...before accusing them of losing their way ?. There was an amount of money willed to them...with specific instructions as to how it was to be used. SVP don't donate to causes...as they have enough problems trying to give meaningful help to individuals/families in need. In this Galway case...they were asked to carry-out the donor's wishes. Nothing to do with SVP donations/funds and how they're used.

As to the 50" screen comment...people get visited if/when they ask for help. It's only when you visit them that you see what size TV they have...what Sky bundle they're on...what services are about to be cut-off...and how much food there is for the kids. Yes some people try it on...but please don't dismiss what SVP do on the basis of this.

And Yes...I volunteered for 6 years up to last May.

Thanks.

https://www.svp.ie/St.VincentDePaul/media/SVP/documents/SVP-Statement-re-Maureen-O-Connell-Fund-1-Sept-2014.pdf

Raven_k42 wrote: »
    Have people actually read the SVP statement...before accusing them of losing their way ?. There was an amount of money willed to them...with specific instructions as to how it was to be used. SVP don't donate to causes...as they have enough problems trying to give meaningful help to individuals/families in need. In this Galway case...they were asked to carry-out the donor's wishes. Nothing to do with SVP donations/funds and how they're used.

As to the 50" screen comment...people get visited if/when they ask for help. It's only when you visit them that you see what size TV they have...what Sky bundle they're on...what services are about to be cut-off...and how much food there is for the kids. Yes some people try it on...but please don't dismiss what SVP do on the basis of this.

And Yes...I volunteered for 6 years up to last May.

Thanks.

Not blaming SVP per se, but I do blame the entitlement culture that breeds these requests.

It seems that some people just ask for help because they have seen their parents do it, and to them its natural to hold out the begging bowl. Never occurs to them to get up off their own behind and try to improve their lot.

One thing I agree 100 percent with is that the SVP now try to give money to help kids go to college. So they are trying to help to break this cycle, and education is always the way forward.

However I still wont contribute any more to them as I have no idea where my funds are being directed.

GDY151

Today...
    A lost Eye Phone is found using Find My Eye Phone
    The upsetting documentary "The Crossing" shown last night about migrants crossing the Med.
    Should we be taking in more refugees

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Today.....
    Should we be taking in more refugees
    Telly Poll :cool:

snubbleste wrote: »
    Telly Poll :cool:

Dial Y for Ta, agus eh.. Dial... Eh No for Nil...Go raibh maith........ Eh...eh...Mor Dhea, Mor Dhea, so to speak.....eh.....Back after dese.