Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Walking Dead | Season 7 | Episode 4 | Service [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• 11-11-2016 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

The Walking Dead - Season 7

Episode 4 - "Service"

Airdate - November 13th on AMC at 9/8c | November 14th on FOX UK at 9PM
    The remaining members of the group try to keep it together in Alexandria; they receive a sobering visit.

**This is a 90 minute extended episode, including commercials.

Promo

Sneak Peek

Sneak Peek 2

How did you rate this episode? 110 votes

0%
    1%
    facemanDontThankMe 2 votes
    1%
    rednogginFURET 2 votes
    23%
    TerrorFirmerYakultOldPeculiercavemeisterDrivingMadGavRedKingsassaNufcNavanShane St.mojesiusCasey78irish_stevo815empacherCiano35ebbsyGuffybrianregan09False ProphetRobsweeziedavo2001 26 votes
    21%
    Yakuzaleche solarastorkerMc Love[Deleted User]bofGBXPrefab SprouterNUTZZclaivauncleoswaldcunavalosterryduff12gunner099cosanostraRothkoKenjataimuRosie RantChip Whitleytnegun 24 votes
    20%
    La_Gordydelly5starpoolDubh GeannainRob30888Duffskipper_GprincemuzzyThat_Guysandra40Sudden Valleyricerodr.kenneth noisewaterMonifeCrackle[Deleted User]Lionbackeralchemist33theoldbreedcrustybla 22 votes
    14%
    Lone Stonefrashxtal191homerun_homerShaneUcharlietheminxxdirtydenSubaciotony1980dexter647pc7Marcus AntoniusPropJoe10Agent CoulsonGwynplaineBetsyEllen 16 votes
    6%
    nc6000norabattiemarvin80Encrypted PigeonWalter.WhiteKeplar240BGraigmanliam 7 votes
    5%
    Drag00n79Mr.Nice GuyMezcitatomred1readyletsgoD0NNELLY 6 votes
    4%
    dave1982RoryMacDarth Melkorwhite apples[Deleted User] 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭snowgal

wow, there really must be a loss of interest in The Walking Dead, usually theres a few reviews already! I wont see it until tonight but I usually come on to see the polls during the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

A 5 for me. It is yet again another episode where we get to see how broken the gang are and how mean the saviours and Negan are. Like the 3 episodes before this! Very little actually happens in the episode. The pace needs to pick up quickly. At this rate we will have another 3 episodes of the gang licking their wounds and the saviours being arseholes and then it's the mid-season finale. The only plus was this was the first episode back with the gang since the first episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Graigmanliam

Well this show has come to a feckin halt, I think the introduction of negan has backfired big time, it's going nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

200_s.gif

*Waiting for Mr Nice Guy's review*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Considering how much I was looking forward to it, that was so disappointing.

I can't believe they had an extended episode and they still only focused on one story strand! Why are they doing this? There's only so many times we need to see Negan acting all badass in front of Rick, or Daryl as it was the week before. He's a nasty man, we get it. No need to rub it in our faces in every scene that he's in. I think JDM is doing the best he can with what he's been given but even he must be getting a bit cheesed off with the... cheesiness of it all. The constant UP and DOWN tone when he speaks is becoming embarrassing. It's like the writers have a new toy and they can't stop showing it off to the world.

We're four episodes in and barely a mention of Hilltop. By the time we get to see Jesus and Gregory again people will almost have forgotten who they are. There was no excuse for not using them or the Kingdom characters in this episode, there was so much dead time. Nothing better illustrated this than when one of Negan's men showed him the video footage of Rick after he arrived at Alexandria. Negan has a big chuckle and humiliates Rick again, as if he hasn't done so a million times already.

The pacing of this series is dreadful. Surely when they sat down to write it someone must have said 'hey guys, the narrative structure of the show is a bit off kilter here, let's put X and Y into a few scenes'. They really need to tighten things up fast.

There was some good stuff in it. I liked Gabriel's confident attitude, the way he introduced himself to Negan; making a grave for Maggie to throw Negan off the scent; and it was nice to hear Rick talking about Shane after so long.

But if the writers are capable of wasting an extended episode in the manner they did here then I wouldn't have much hope for the future. 5 out of 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,319 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Negan is, or can be, a fun and menacing character but he needs to be used sparingly. A whole hour of his shtick, which we got in this episode, can get annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Yeah the way he talks he so annoying. Ok in small doses but a whole episode of it is too much. He says something and then leans back a bit and chuckles. Every. Single. Time.

Also, Is it just me or does he look like he wants to kiss rick when he gets in his face, which is pretty much every time he talks to him. I think he fancies him tbh

At least he pointed out what we've all been thinking - the woman looking after the rations should not still be that size years into the apocalypse. Definitely something fishy going on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Where's Maggie?

Why don't the group just leave and move like 200 miles away out of Negans reach?

Or put a sniper on watch for when Negans group comes back and just shoot Negan in the head. Surprised someone hasn't done that already.

Rick could have killed Negan with Lucille in one blow there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

200_s.gif

*Waiting for Mr Nice Guy's review*

"Ok, I have stuck by the show and given it a chance because the first seasons were so good but I can't do it anymore..........................bla bla bla bla This show is beyond saving. Total crap.........bla bla bla...............worst episode ever..........bla bla " !! :D

I reckon Father Gabriel has hidden something in that grave........................all very positive from him throughout,,,,,,,,,,guns etc I would anticipate

Where's Maggie?

they brought Maggie to the hilltop where the doctor is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Well this show has come to a feckin halt, I think the introduction of negan has backfired big time, it's going nowhere

ah its interesting to see the groups gung ho-ness back fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

IT was only 60 minutes, not 90?

Was 90 with all the ads :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

A 5 for me. It is yet again another episode where we get to see how broken the gang are and how mean the saviours and Negan are. Like the 3 episodes before this! Very little actually happens in the episode. The pace needs to pick up quickly. At this rate we will have another 3 episodes of the gang licking their wounds and the saviours being arseholes and then it's the mid-season finale. The only plus was this was the first episode back with the gang since the first episode.

I've watched this show from the beginning and can't remember it being any other way....opens with a barnstopper then muddles along to an edge of the seat mid season break with a few heart stoppers in between, rinse and repeat for the next season half ........always been this way so don't get the surprise and disappointment from some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

When Negan arrived at Alexandria.. The short Rick and Daryl interaction Daryl was blinking rapidly... It seemed to be Morse code.

http://m.imgur.com/DwKGGgI?r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

naughto wrote: »
    When Negan arrived at Alexandria.. The short Rick and Daryl interaction Daryl was blinking rapidly... It seemed to be Morse code
    They did have a big poster in a house with morse code on it. Interesting theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Disappointed with all the action they had when a guy arrived with a tank. And this lad rocks up with a baseball bat and a few lads hidden behind a wall and they hand him everything.

Nope.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

naughto wrote: »
    When Negan arrived at Alexandria.. The short Rick and Daryl interaction Daryl was blinking rapidly... It seemed to be Morse code

good catch, just went back and re-watched, definitely looks like hes trying to communicating something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭crazyderk

There was also a poster in Ricks house at the beginning that was a picture of the US morse code

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Episode was okay, but the pacing is killing me. I think if I was binge watching 1 episode after another it wouldn't be as noticeable.
    On the topic of Negan, I like JDM and have enjoyed his performance thus far but there is such a thing as too much of a good thing. With Negan more is less. I also don't understand why they extended this episode, it felt completely unnecessary. 6/10 for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Daryl blinks a lot in general, though.... especially when stressed. Plus his hair was all in his eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,213 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Missed the last few seconds of this, got cut off. Did Michonne have another gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

What was michonne upset about at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Please folks, don't tell me I'm the only one who finds Austin Tatious aka Negan to be just absolutely toxic on this show? His annoyance factor was off the charts tonight, and I don't mean in the sense of 'Man, I can't wait 'til he gets his comeuppance', but in the sense of 'Man, that guy is a f*cking atrocious actor.'

Every time I see him I'm reminded of that Simpsons episode where Lisa is on vacation and trying to make friends and Bart arrives on his skateboard showing off; and one of the kids says, 'pfft, that guy, like, tries too hard.' That's exactly how I feel watching this Willy Wonka-esque irritant.

This episode started fine with Michonne but went downhill sharpish as soon as our flamboyant villain showed up. He's so poor and OTT and outlandish that he makes our heroes look bad. They're getting punked out by a punk.

I was surprised he left Rick’s food alone later on. I figured that would be another chance for this poser to do another yawn-some power play:
    Austin Tatious: ‘Are those MAH Pringles, Rick? Ooh Lawdy Dawdy, do we like to PAR-TAY, Rick. Ooo–hoo, baby. Just like your boy Glenn's eyeball, once you pop you just CAN'T STOP, am I right Rick! Ha...Ha!

(he moves in close, attempting in vain to be sinister with some cheek-twitching and teeth-flashing, while we get a slow guitar string)

Austin Tatious: ‘Don’t EVER touch my Pringles again, Rick.'

Hey, I probably shouldn't give these writers any ideas.

Not sure now what the point was of garnering sympathy for Dwight last week only for him to be a massive dick this week. That was dumb.

Speaking of dumb, Carl recently almost lost a limb but now he's threatening a shootout because of the loss of some medical supplies. Hey, maybe he was so upset because he's taken to doing drugs. Something a large slice of the audience must by this stage be contemplating.

The group talk did nothing for me either, I'm afraid: Oh no, I really hope they don’t kill off that peripheral character who I’ve barely seen or heard from up to now.

The suggestion that Rick and Daryl were using Morse Code is an interesting one which hadn't occurred to me, though maybe Andrew Lincoln was simply communicating that in an act of script rebellion, perhaps saying to the audience, 'I miss This Life' over having to cower in fear to such an annoying character. I find most of the actors seem to be communicating that to me when watching scenes with your man.

It could have been a run-of-the-mill episode but it's a definite fail because of that insufferable, grinning cheeseball. I give it a 3. Please let him be gone off our screens for a while. Lucille is the better actor of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    Missed the last few seconds of this, got cut off. Did Michonne have another gun?

It doesn't appear so (or at least we didn't see it). She was walking along the road following a bird overhead or something, and came upon all their mattresses, burning on the side of the road. Negan just took them to burn them, so they would have no beds. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,213 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    It doesn't appear so (or at least we didn't see it). She was walking along the road following a bird overhead or something, and came upon all their mattresses, burning on the side of the road. Negan just took them to burn them, so they would have no beds. :mad:

Ahhhhh Righteo, cut off just as she went walkabouts again. Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Maybe I'm having a moment but what was Michonne looking at at the end of the episode?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Apart from the repetitiveness of the episode I thought it was ok - initially I thought it was ultimately trying to show Rick that no matter what he does Negan won't be satisfied. The whole episode focused on Rick's eagerness to ensure that no one else dies. To do whatever it takes to please Negan so he has no excuses. Then right at the end when Negan threatens the group again, demanding something "special" next time or people would die, I was sure Rick would realize that there is no option but to fight. But alas the episode ended without such a realisation. In fact Michonne seems more likely to understand the real essence of the situation than Rick ever will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    Ahhhhh Righteo, cut off just as she went walkabouts again. Thanks!

So you also missed rosita picking up Megan's empty shell off the ground and saying to the fat lad "make me a bullet"

sonofenoch wrote: »
    I've watched this show from the beginning and can't remember it being any other way....opens with a barnstopper then muddles along to an edge of the seat mid season break with a few heart stoppers in between, rinse and repeat for the next season half ........always been this way so don't get the surprise and disappointment from some

I don't think that's fair. They are always a few filler episodes but this has been 3 fillers 1 barnstopper. Just seems particularly slow, last time it was this slow for me was season 2 where they spent a million years on the farm and that also annoyed the ****e out of me as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Maybe I'm having a moment but what was Michonne looking at at the end of the episode?

The mattresses that Negan took from them were dumped and burning.

Hyzepher wrote: »
    Apart from the repetitiveness of the episode I thought it was ok - initially I thought it was ultimately trying to show Rick that no matter what he does Negan won't be satisfied. The whole episode focused on Rick's eagerness to ensure that no one else dies. To do whatever it takes to please Negan so he has no excuses. Then right at the end when Negan threatens the group again, demanding something "special" next time or people would die, I was sure Rick would realize that there is no option but to fight. But alas the episode ended without such a realisation. In fact Michonne seems more likely to understand the real essence of the situation than Rick ever will.

I think it would be a tad tedious for the whole "We are going to fight them" thing to come so soon. They are an unarmed bunch of villagers at the moment,the Saviours are an army of heavily armed men. So for him to turn around in a macho Rickesque way and say we fight them after all that would be a bit ridiculous.
    There is a lot of sh1t to get together first, mainly psychological first of all, and he clearly is in a lot of shock as it is only a few days after seeing Neagan kill his friends, almost kill him and terrorise his kid.

I don't think he has a plan at present and isn't playing the long game but he is in protective mode rather than offensive mode. It is inevitable sh1t will hit the fan but it would have been ridiculous for him to build that level of courage so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I don't think that's fair. They are always a few filler episodes but this has been 3 fillers 1 barnstopper. Just seems particularly slow, last time it was this slow for me was season 2 where they spent a million years on the farm and that also annoyed the ****e out of me as well.

It's all about opinions but I thought last weeks was excellent, have yet to watch this weeks ......but it has always been this way from my memory, big beginning and end with some 'moments' in between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

would even the hilltop give them enough men and arms to fight back? (along with King ezekiels group)

I repeat, again, how was last week a filler??? Even this week? They have to set a tone, introduce characters, moods, scenarios etc. They can't just ignore that. You have to imagine that everything that happens in these episodes happens for a reason to build up to events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Season 7 Episode 4, it's the little things I appreciate :pac:;

the-episode-title-appeared-behind-creepy-father-gabriel-amc.jpg

I repeat, again, how was last week a filler??? Even this week? They have to set a tone, introduce characters, moods, scenarios etc. They can't just ignore that. You have to imagine that everything that happens in these episodes happens for a reason to build up to events.

Fair point, last weeks wasn't filler. We needed to see how the Negan and the saviours were set up but it was 40 mins of one of the group has to be broken. It's 4 episodes in and they are still covering what was made ever so apparent in the 1st episode. The song in the 3rd episode was masterful and this episode wasn't awful, just very little happened in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Rosita with one gun and bullets created by Eugene is a legitimate threat to an army of a few hundred men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Boring episode was incredibly boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Unearthly wrote: »
    Rosita with one gun and bullets created by Eugene is a legitimate threat to an army of a few hundred men

I don't think she wants bullets, I think she said a bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Unearthly wrote: »

Well it seems to me you only have to be a threat to one man. There is sure fire factions within that group.

Which is why he attempts to demonstrate them all as one I am negan the truth is the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

It's been said before but I really hate this form of storytelling. Focusing on one group at a time. I think it would be much better intercutting all the different story strands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Gabriel walking up behind Neagan and spooking him momentarily was worth the episode alone :pac:

Ha, it was really creepy Gabriel! No wonder priests get a bad name! I stil think he has a clever quota of arson hidden in that grave pit! Would be a good twist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Negan's constant leaning back is so annoying. A long drawn out episode that could have been compacted into 15 minutes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Father Gabriel is a dark horse, the only one of the group who has managed to put Neagan off his stride (albeit momentarily).

This episode did not need the hour, it could have been done in the usual 45. I would prefer if they saved the longer episodes for a backstory on the Saviours or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I was hoping maybe theyd pull a right twist out of their arses and have negan killed out of the blue, setting off a civil war in the saviours . But , alas, no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

The recent character exits mean that lesser characters like rosita and Gabriel, and even Tara are getting more screen time then before, which is good. A sure sign of this was rosita getting her own solo segment in the woods with those walkers. Plus the new opening credits.

I think they're aiming towards fleshing these characters out this season, whereas before they just floated away in the background while the likes of Glenn and Abraham got the meaty stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

They know they are coming to collect stuff. They even know a rough time. Negan will come and bring most of his men. So you set up some explosives with a detonator at the gate, you trigger it when he arrives. Most of them get blown up and you mow down whatever is left. Darryl eats it and his fans cry but ultimately the threat is over.

Or even just a single bullet will do it. Negan is the leader here. Find out where his base is, sit with michonnes rifle and take him out. Obviously not Michonne coz she cant hit a barn door but she has the right idea. Take him out and the infighting caused by the vacuum will take care of the rest.

See, this is what made the wolves scary. The didnt have a leader. They would come and no matter what you did to a few of them, the rest were still coming. You had to kill them all. With the Saviours, you just need to kill Negan.

This is why its not as menacing.