Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

JohnMc1 wrote:
    Yes he is. Temper Tantrums won't change the reality of the situation. He'll truly be a Paper Champion if Aldo actually has to defend the Interim title. Many fans will start seeing Aldo as the true Champ while Conor is the one with the phony belt.

Many might. I don't see it that way. He's either going to defend it or drop it so either way it's a non issue. He's not gonna hold it for the rest of his career and not defend it is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

You can't be the champion of a division you refuse to fight in. It's that simple.

exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Well the fact that they haven't stripped him yet suggests that they want him to fight Aldo next. Otherwise I think they'd have made him vacate already. Could mean they make an interim title for LW strap while he defends the FW. Even though he could still arguably defend both within 9 months without the need.

People go on like all this is unprecedented. Tito Ortiz took a year and a half break from the sport while fit healthy while champion. That said the FW division will have been held up long enough by the time he comes back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Lukker- wrote: »
    Well the fact that they haven't stripped him yet suggests that they want him to fight Aldo next. Otherwise I think they'd have made him vacate already. Could mean they make an interim title for LW strap while he defends the FW. Even though he could still arguably defend both within 9 months without the need.

People go on like all this is unprecedented. Tito Ortiz took a year and a half break from the sport while fit healthy while champion. That said the FW division will have been held up long enough by the time he comes back.

There's taking a break from the sport, and then there's fighting, but refusing to fight at the weight division you have a belt in.

I'll believe it when I see it. Dana's head is far up Conor's ass its sad. Dana doesn't have the nerve to strip him [which is both sad and hilarious considering how much Dana tries to market himself as a badass]

Tito was rightfully vilified for that. Especially because he had refused to fight Chuck Lidell for the title ["We had a pact" anyone?]

There's taking a break from the sport, and then there's fighting, but refusing to fight at the weight division you have a belt in.

Exactly. Conor is ducking his obligations as Champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    I'll believe it when I see it. Dana's head is far up Conor's ass its sad. Dana doesn't have the nerve to strip him [which is both sad and hilarious considering how much Dana tries to market himself as a badass]

Tito was rightfully vilified for that. Especially because he had refused to fight Chuck Lidell for the title ["We had a pact" anyone?]

If you think Dana is making these decisions you are gravely mistaken. He didn't make the decisions under Zuffa and he doesn't under WME/IMG.

Dana is just a mouthpiece/enforcer depending on what message the company is sending.

I don't get why you are acting like pro-wrestling thing is anything new? Ever since the Zuffa takeover fighters were encouraged to call out/berate and cut promos at press conferences by match makers and upper management. It's partly what has led to the rapid growth of the sport. It happens in boxing too but the difference between this and boxing is that you can't duck people.

If you think Dana is making these decisions you are gravely mistaken. He didn't make the decisions under Zuffa and he doesn't under WME/IMG.

Dana is just a mouthpiece/enforcer depending on what message the company is sending.

I know, but he likes to act like he makes all the decisions. So he deserves some criticism.
    I don't get why you are acting like pro-wrestling thing is anything new? Ever since the Zuffa takeover fighters were encouraged to call out/berate and cut promos at press conferences by match makers and upper management. It's partly what has led to the rapid growth of the sport. It happens in boxing too but the difference between this and boxing is that you can't duck people.

I never said this prowrestling slant in MMA was new. Its just become glaringly obvious recently. Even Bellator has gone prowrestling lately [Justin McCully under a mask anyone]

Its only a matter of time before there's a contract signing in the cage and we get the whole table gets flipped over because the two guys are ready to tear each other apart angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

6e31d4d3db73abde59f4d96f4a80576219cff6e4a6d7680647a22b904a020ab6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

not this ''true champion'' bs again ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

If davey branch in WSOF can defend two belts so could McGregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

How dare Conor duck fighting Aldo with whom he beat in 13 seconds by going up a weight division and fighting the Champion there. Hahahahahahaha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

TimRiggins wrote: »
    How dare Conor duck fighting Aldo with whom he beat in 13 seconds by going up a weight division and fighting the Champion there. Hahahahahahaha.

Fighting in two higher weight divisions while picking up a second world title? What a coward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Ah lads ye get the point though surely? Defend the belt or drop it.

I get the point, and it's very valid, but it's probably the worst thing that could happen to the 145 division. The only interesting thing about anyone in that division is if they'll end up fighting Conor. Why isn't Aldo knocking through opponents and proving that he's the "real" champion? In fact I don't even think it's detrimental to Conor if he drops it because in most people's eyes he would still be considered the "rightful" champion having dominated the division and never lost it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

I get the point, and it's very valid, but it's probably the worst thing that could happen to the 145 division. The only interesting thing about anyone in that division is if they'll end up fighting Conor. Why isn't Aldo knocking through opponents and proving that he's the "real" champion? In fact I don't even think it's detrimental to Conor if he drops it because in most people's eyes he would still be considered the "rightful" champion having dominated the division and never lost it.

Dominated the division? He beat three guys in the top 10. Hardly dominant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

When it comes to May it'll be almost 18 months without a title defence. It's absurd. If it was any other fighter there'd be uproar.

Head Wreck wrote: »
    Dominated the division? He beat three guys in the top 10. Hardly dominant.

Blazed through the division in a dominant fashion, how about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Why the fcuk are we going around in circles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

He's only fighting lightweights and welterweights cause he's scared of the featherweights.

Blazed through the division in a dominant fashion, how about that?

Ya, thats a fair way of saying it I suppose. Dominating a division is completely different. GSP, Silva, DJ, these are guys who dominated a division

I just want to see hom fight again, I really dont care against who, it'll be exiting no matter what, but if it's not at 145 the belt needs to be relinquished.

Saipanne wrote: »
    Fighting in two higher weight divisions while picking up a second world title? What a coward!

Conor's not going to let you suck his dick. Nobody is calling him a coward so drop the self-righteous moral outrage. Its not asking or expecting too much for a Champion to defend his title. Especially before challenging for a second one.

Mod: Keep it civil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

hilarious part about this whole argument is as soon as conor drops the belt, jose and max fight for it and make maybe 150k each on a card that struggles to do 300k buys...amount of people crying out for the ''sanctity'' of the 145 division who probably didn't even know what jose aldo looked like untill conor hopped that cage in boston is the real joke

Depp wrote: »
    hilarious part about this whole argument is as soon as conor drops the belt, jose and max fight for it and make maybe 150k each on a card that struggles to do 300k buys...amount of people crying out for the ''sanctity'' of the 145 division who probably didn't even know what jose aldo looked like untill conor hopped that cage in boston is the real joke

Plenty of fans knew who Jose Aldo is and knew what he looks like well before Conor. You're confusing real fans with fairweather ones and ones who just jump on a bandwagon.

I doubt too many people knew who Conor was until he got to the UFC and developed his '80s Cartoon Villain gimmick either.

Conor's not going to let you suck his dick. Nobody is calling him a coward so drop the self-righteous moral outrage. Its not asking or expecting too much for a Champion to defend his title. Especially before challenging for a second one.

Calm down, pet. It'll be alright.

I think you're the one who needs to calm down. You're all triggered and outraged that people dare expect Conor to defend his titles.

Hey snowflake. That's what Champions do. Maybe Conor should have thought about that before challenging for them.

I bet Aldo, Holloway, Pettis and Edgar are PRAYING that McGregor doesn't get stripped of the belt. Mac is their only chance of making seven figures. They may talk the talk about wanting him stripped, but what they really want is the payday.

I think you're the one who needs to calm down. You're all triggered and outraged that people dare expect Conor to defend his titles.

Hey snowflake. That's what Champions do. Maybe Conor should have thought about that before challenging for them.

That's nice.

I bet Aldo, Holloway, Pettis and Edgar are PRAYING that McGregor doesn't get stripped of the belt. Mac is their only chance of making seven figures. They may talk the talk about wanting him stripped, but what they really want is the payday.

Eddie only got $350K for the fight. Nowhere near 7 figures.