Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

President Trump

• 09-11-2016 2:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭

Trump looking good over in the state's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ok any brickies stuck for a job? Looks like there is a wall to be built over in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Trump looking good over in the state's

Holy **** your right. When I went to bed Clinton was looking good and the Democrats were confident.
    Maybe Mexico will end up paying for that wall now! To keep out the yank refugees after trump makes a balls of everything.
    There's still hope yet I suppose, he hasn't reached the required 270 yet. Clinton is still in with a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Holy **** your right. When I went to be Clinton was looking good and the Democrats were confident.
    Maybe Mexico will end up paying for that wall now! To keep out the yank refugees after trump makes a balls of everything.
    There's still hope yet I suppose, he hasn't reached the required 270 yet. Clinton is still in with a chance.
    All over bar the shouting trump winning penn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

He prob won't be as bad as people make out... But Jesus brexit and now trump.... People are really sick of all the talking ****e that goes on by politicians and they obviously want change..... Hard to blame em.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I'm not surprised in the slightest that Trump is winning. It's because people want o fight the establishment and Hilary was the biggest symbol of the establishment. What is happening now is all the feminists are coming out and saying that Hilary only lost because she was a woman. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Would the slatted tank work as a bomb shelter?

Democrats are fairly shook on CNN.

Trump has more potential for change than Obama if republicans control the senate too.

Hillary just gone to bed.

Stamina!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

He prob won't be as bad as people make out... But Jesus brexit and now trump.... People are really sick of all the talking ****e that goes on by politicians and they obviously want change..... Hard to blame em.....
    Was there something the other day that they might have to vote again on Brexit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was there something the other day that they might have to vote again on Brexit?

Yeah. The British parliament have to vote it in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Holy **** your right. When I went to bed Clinton was looking good and the Democrats were confident.
    There'll be no wall built. Don't you know politics anything to get elected and then ........ nothing.
    Same as Guantanamo.

Play the game.

Wait on news now it looks like Hillary is in.
    Expect the yanks in Syria and Assad done for now.

Trump is in.
    Interesting times ahead.

USA, USA, USA. ;)

Edit not a trump or hiliary supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Trump is in.
    Interesting times ahead.

USA, USA, USA. ;)

Edit not a trump or hiliary supporter.

Like the movie Brewsters millions- vote none of the above.

Looks like Ireland may forget about "patty's day" in the White House after the coverage on rte.

Trump is going to get ground down by the machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Any country with oil can expect the stealth bombers overhead shortly other than that USA don't give a ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Texted the brother in California at 5AM this morning. Not happy. 'Scary' result - he says. That whole pneumonia episode killed Clinton.
    I wonder will he live up to his promises. If he does he'll be the first president ever to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Texted the brother in California at 5AM this morning. Not happy. 'Scary' result - he says. That whole pneumonia episode killed Clinton. I wonder will he live up to his promises. If he does he'll be the first president ever to do so.

Email scandal, links to the saudis, health, political dynasty all contributed. Clinton would have just continued Obama s policies. .

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Email scandal, links to the saudis, health, political dynasty all contributed. Clinton would have just continued Obama s policies. .
    I think they'd forgive a corrupt president long before a sickly one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think the Brexit people will be delighted with This result.

Obama said there would be no trade negotiations with the UK if they left the EU and they would be at the bottom of the list. Under Trump they will easily get trade negotiations going providing trump feels he's winning, and if he's getting a market for US goods he'll be happy.

Interesting times ahead, a US president that wouldn't deny the option of dropping nukes in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Putin now has a green light to invade Ukraine.. Next year could be the year of the Irish tillage farmer lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

One of my favourite tweets so far is from Michael Moore (film maker)
    "However this ends, that's where we begin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    One of my favourite tweets so far is from Michael Moore (film maker)
    "However this ends, that's where we begin"
    President Lisa Simpson so

I said wrote: »
    Any country with oil can expect the stealth bombers overhead shortly other than that USA don't give a ****e

That's been done already.:D

I think willfarman is on the money.
    Russia will have more free reign now.
    However there's NATO so???

Trump is more a property man than anything else. So maybe we will see less or a stop to chinese investment in murican land.

But how much power does one American president have?

Well it's control over both houses if he can heal the divisions within the Republican party that will give him great scope to introduce his ideals into American society.

As for NATO, the US provide 75% of its funding. I can see him wanting more control over reactions made or he will be reducing funding. Loosing us funding would leave NATO even more toothless and irrelevant than it currently is.

Talking to friends about Brexit the feeling is that there was a hope towards a "whitening" of uuk cities and this helped greatly with the leave vote.

Obviously with neo-nazi groups and the KKK backing trump the same "whitening" wishes of the public are coming into the public domain.

It's a worrying trend to see these notions which society has worked to remove, they're being given a platform to come out from under their rocks and strut and gloat in public and openly express their awful views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Will we see the shamrock in the white for Paddy's day this yr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

_Brian wrote: »
    I think the Brexit people will be delighted with This result.

Obama said there would be no trade negotiations with the UK if they left the EU and they would be at the bottom of the list. Under Trump they will easily get trade negotiations going providing trump feels he's winning, and if he's getting a market for TRUMP goods he'll be happy.

Interesting times ahead, a US president that wouldn't deny the option of dropping nukes in Europe.

fyp

naughto wrote: »
    Will we see the shamrock in the white for Paddy's day this yr

Probably not with the way the Irish media's bias was to Clinton and bought and paid for by Denis O Brien.

Listening to the gabby cabby on the radio there and the Irish media reports of attacks on Muslims in New York and he says it's simply not true. Then you have people crying on sky news about trump getting in while not talking to anyone who voted for trump. Where's the fair play and equal say gone in media now.
    Now we have people saying about kkk support for trump. The kkk are nothing and trump will see them as a microbe to squash.

The gabby cabby was saying he got a lot of support in New York from all the employment he provided.

He was also saying how the military veterans voted for him as he promised free healthcare for veterans.

Make your own mind up people before listening to the scaremongering nonsense that's being spouted here in this country.

He's the president now and I presume enda Kenny and Michael d have already contacted his office congratulating him.

Don't be cutting your nose off to spite your face. The election is over.

Probably not with the way the Irish media's bias was to Clinton and bought and paid for by Denis O Brien.

Listening to the gabby cabby on the radio there and the Irish media reports of attacks on Muslims in New York and he says it's simply not true. Then you have people crying on sky news about trump getting in while not talking to anyone who voted for trump. Where's the fair play and equal say gone in media now.
    Now we have people saying about kkk support for trump. The kkk are nothing and trump will see them as a microbe to squash.

The gabby cabby was saying he got a lot of support in New York from all the employment he provided.

He was also saying how the military veterans voted for him as he promised free healthcare for veterans.

Make your own mind up people before listening to the scaremongering nonsense that's being spouted here in this country.

He's the president now and I presume enda Kenny and Michael d have already contacted his office congratulating him.

Don't be cutting your nose off to spite your face. The election is over.

I think of you or your direct family members are not white, the KKK and what they represent are far from "nothing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It is interesting that Patsy's cousin in america said the illness actually did for Hillary. One of those physics said some months ago that, DT would actually win but would have to step down because of ill health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Been discussing this all morning with the brother out foreign, it really was a Kang/Kodos election, neither were suitable candidates. What's done is done, unless someone assassinates him, which isn't an entirely ridiculous thought.

Trump is racist. He publicly admits it and does not make any effort to deny it. How would you find any evidence Hillary is not? She just deleted a whole host of things that had to be investigated.
    Ok so Trump is misogynist. What proof do we have Hillary would care about women's rights? (I am talking about ALL women, not just white middle class ones).
    Trump is a fascist. But Hillary, has she done anything positive in foreign policy? Isn't she involved in all the mess happening right now in the Middle East? At least Trump is not really interested in warfaring around, plus he might favor better relations with Russia, affording the world a likely conflict between the US and Putin.

Some people just do things to see if it's possible to do it. All we can hope for now is that this was Trumps aim, that he can now be steered in some sort of direction which won't destroy the country.

Is there anything to be said for turning America off and back on again? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Only in Ireland do we do reruns, if the first time result isn't liked by the all powerful.

_Brian wrote: »
    I think of you or your direct family members are not white, the KKK and what they represent are far from "nothing".

The kkk are probably nothing in America.
    More like an organization with 200 members with a large online presence of nutjobs.
    The meedja blowing it all out of proportion.

Some people will believe anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Been discussing this all morning with the brother out foreign, it really was a Kang/Kodos election, neither were suitable candidates. What's done is done, unless someone assassinates him, which isn't an entirely ridiculous thought.

Trump is racist. He publicly admits it and does not make any effort to deny it. How would you find any evidence Hillary is not? She just deleted a whole host of things that had to be investigated.
    Ok so Trump is misogynist. What proof do we have Hillary would care about women's rights? (I am talking about ALL women, not just white middle class ones).
    Trump is a fascist. But Hillary, has she done anything positive in foreign policy? Isn't she involved in all the mess happening right now in the Middle East? At least Trump is not really interested in warfaring around, plus he might favor better relations with Russia, affording the world a likely conflict between the US and Putin.
    BIG PLUS: TTIP is out of the horizon with Trump.

Some people just do things to see if it's possible to do it. All we can hope for now is that this was Trumps aim, that he can now be steered in some sort of direction which won't destroy the country.

Is there anything to be said for turning America off and back on again? :P

I think what is extra ordinary is that Trump knows so well how to create his own publicity. His own name was the word most often on his own rival's lips.

He had some money - yes - but no celebrity, no J Lo, no Obama, no newspaper, not even the republican party itself out to help him. Quite amazing - says a lot about him, and even more about Clinton and the Establishment he beat.

But much of what he said in the campaign was for effect, I think, and not necessary taken as policy even by those who voted for him. More Latin Americans (about a third) voted for Trump yesterday than for the previous republican contender.

The best summary I have seen so far is this: "The establishment took Trump literally, but not seriously. His supporters took him seriously, but not literally".

I think if he can re-route the proceeds of QE into infrastructure, reduce corporation tax (and thus it's avoidance) we might see a more satisfactory distribution of wealth in the US and his supporters will feel vindicated.

With both Brexit and Trump white supremacy / race seems to be more of an issue for the liberal elites who want a stick to beat the hated "populism" with than it is for the voting masses themselves. When you see highly educated political commentators and lawyers crying into their twitter accounts and wondering "how are they going to explain this to their six year old daughter?" you pretty much know that things have gone too far in the wrong direction and the result was a common sense one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kowtow wrote: »
    I think what is extra ordinary is that Trump knows so well how to create his own publicity. His own name was the word most often on his own rival's lips.

He had some money - yes - but no celebrity, no J Lo, no Obama, no newspaper, not even the republican party itself out to help him. Quite amazing - says a lot about him, and even more about Clinton and the Establishment he beat.

But much of what he said in the campaign was for effect, I think, and not necessary taken as policy even by those who voted for him. More Latin Americans (about a third) voted for Trump yesterday than for the previous republican contender.

The best summary I have seen so far is this: "The establishment took Trump literally, but not seriously. His supporters took him seriously, but not literally".

I think if he can re-route the proceeds of QE into infrastructure, reduce corporation tax (and thus it's avoidance) we might see a more satisfactory distribution of wealth in the US and his supporters will feel vindicated.

With both Brexit and Trump white supremacy / race seems to be more of an issue for the liberal elites who want a stick to beat the hated "populism" with than it is for the voting masses themselves. When you see highly educated political commentators and lawyers crying into their twitter accounts and wondering "how are they going to explain this to their six year old daughter?" you pretty much know that things have gone too far in the wrong direction and the result was a common sense one.
    That's a great summary, kowtow.

Kowtow has that uncanny ability to make so much sense while saying very little.

KOWTOW FOR PRESIDENT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

That's a great summary, kowtow.

It is, but it's not my summary, I heard it on one of the channels last night and can't recall which. Watching elections as if life itself depended on it is one of the old habits I've never been able to shake off, I can sit and watch information and probabilities flow the way some people can watch the flames of a fire.

FWIW I was fairly sure Hillary had it, as I was fairly sure that Brexit would not pass, in both cases because that's the way the futures looked yesterday - actually the markets were just making room for themselves to gyrate and still keep a few important technical levels. Neither Brexit nor Trump are short term issues.

What is remarkable is the fact that the Irish commentariat is always on the same page, and it always seems to be the wrong one. They seem to lack all self awareness or sense of irony - Ireland is actually about the only country where the unpolished Trump could pass for an experienced politician.

If I had to make a long term guess it would be more fluid inflation, less globalisation, and a huge amount of political pressure for the Euro zone to integrate politically and fiscally in order to protect the vanity of it's politicians and the pockets of it's elites. The world is pulling in two different directions. Ireland is going to have to decide in due course whether or not it is an Anglo-Saxon nation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

The Donald had a lot of posts about himself in chit chat so I'm putting them together here.

Old Chinese proverb/curse say 'May you live in interesting times'

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kowtow wrote: »
    It is, but it's not my summary, I heard it on one of the channels last night and can't recall which. Watching elections as if life itself depended on it is one of the old habits I've never been able to shake off, I can sit and watch information and probabilities flow the way some people can watch the flames of a fire.

FWIW I was fairly sure Hillary had it, as I was fairly sure that Brexit would not pass, in both cases because that's the way the futures looked yesterday - actually the markets were just making room for themselves to gyrate and still keep a few important technical levels. Neither Brexit nor Trump are short term issues.

What is remarkable is the fact that the Irish commentariat is always on the same page, and it always seems to be the wrong one. They seem to lack all self awareness or sense of irony - Ireland is actually about the only country where the unpolished Trump could pass for an experienced politician.

If I had to make a long term guess it would be more fluid inflation, less globalisation, and a huge amount of political pressure for the Euro zone to integrate politically and fiscally in order to protect the vanity of it's politicians and the pockets of it's elites. The world is pulling in two different directions. Ireland is going to have to decide in due course whether or not it is an Anglo-Saxon nation.
    The interesting thing in Irish media is more what they don't put in reports rather than what they do and the particular angle they report from.

There is a very leftist bias in our media and the commentary of the Donald has to be looked at from that view point.

A lot of what's going to happen will be determined by just who he appoints into positions of power and who he selects as his advisors. One particular appointment, the new Supreme Court judge, will determine the direction of American politics for the foreseeable future. A conservative appointment will drag America to the right while a centerist appointment will delay that somewhat.

blue5000 wrote: »
    The Donald had a lot of posts about himself in chit chat so I'm putting them together here.

Old Chinese proverb/curse say 'May you live in interesting times'

I got fierce confused for a second there, wondering when th ehell I'd commented on a thread about him :D
    TBH Hillary gave it away the other day when she cancelled the big fireworks party she had planned for her victory- http://dailycaller.com/2016/11/07/hillary-clinton-cancels-victory-fireworks-show/
    Should have gone with Bernie instead of rigging it for her, they got too damn complacent in thinking that whatever candidate they ran was going to win. All the shít about her didn't help either :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I got fierce confused for a second there, wondering when th ehell I'd commented on a thread about him :D
    TBH Hillary gave it away the other day when she cancelled the big fireworks party she had planned for her victory- http://dailycaller.com/2016/11/07/hillary-clinton-cancels-victory-fireworks-show/
    Should have gone with Bernie instead of rigging it for her, they got too damn complacent in thinking that whatever candidate they ran was going to win. All the shít about her didn't help either :rolleyes:

Sorry about that!

+ the whole email thing, her health and Bill's baggage, God knows what could be still in the closet there.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Sorry about that!

+ the whole email thing, her health and Bill's baggage, God knows what could be still in the closet there.

Monica, possibly.

David is a great laugh.
    He was in the slums of Wales before the brexit vote and then told us after the vote that there was going to be a brexit.

Now he's on the potholed streets of new York telling everyone why the people voted for trump.
    If Hilary won he'd have something on why she won.

He can't predict the future anymore.
    His mystic powers have gone.:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I'd say he'll be a bit like John Dillon, shouting about all his going to do when he gets in and then does fúck all about it. So hopefully Trump will be the same

I was going to come on here and ask how long before we claim him as our own and then I saw this: http://www.thejournal.ie/donald-trump-clare-golf-course-3072702-Nov2016/

And it's great how everyone is getting on with each other and agreeing. Not like the other threads about Trump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

What do you think will be the result of the Election will have on Farming in Ireland?

As far as I know (despite a lot of big talk) the amount of Beef we export over there is negligible.

However if we are to believe that Trump is in favour of more Tariffs, especially imports from China, this would hit them hard just as the dairy industry is beginning to recover worldwide. Combine this with a potential Corporate Tax reduction and we could say good bye to a lot of blue chip companies from these here shores. Another property slump in Dublin? Maybe the price of land might recover?

Thankfully I don't have my feet firmly planted in any particular industry and run a beef operation more as an interest than a source of income, but it's going to make to for some changes. Not as many as the news would have us believe, but the times they are a changing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Shannon757 wrote: »
    I was going to come on here and ask how long before we claim him as our own and then I saw this: http://www.thejournal.ie/donald-trump-clare-golf-course-3072702-Nov2016/

And it's great how everyone is getting on with each other and agreeing. Not like the other threads about Trump.

God I hate the sight of the orange Wiggy headed phsychopathic racist

but whist

sure look it he's a big hotel here and he might fix the road..

The list of agricultural advisors that Donald Trump has appointed.
    This was from back in august.
    http://www.politico.com/story/2016/08/donald-trump-agriculture-team-policy-227083

Have any of you ever being to the golf course in Doonbeg? There's a long windy road into it that goes around a few small farm yards. It looks like they were holding out for Trump to buy them out.

Charles Herbster is Donald Trump's Chairman of the National Advisory on Agriculture and Rural Issues committee.
    He is a breeder of angus cattle at Falls City, Nebraska. More about him in my previous post.

http://www.herbsterangus.com/

I wonder can anyone link him to this.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/10/14/business/us-cattlemen-export-animals-to-rebuild-russias-herds.html

And then
    http://www.globalmeatnews.com/Industry-Markets/Miratorg-expands-investment-in-its-latest-beef-project-in-Russia