Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cap 2 2017

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Anyone else find Finance tough?

Yeah seemed to be the overall consensus among those I was talking to coming out of the exam. Will be 50/50 whether I pass or not.

I thought 18 marks for question A part 1 was a bit too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭shanmo

Anyone else find Finance tough?

It was an extremely tough exam! Absolutely horrendous on so many levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Tgt16

Struggled with that exam completely! Has put me on a bit of a downer for the day. Barely have any motivation for FR this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭thefox1982

Yeah it was a toughie alright! 18 marks was a bit too much for it one part! Roll on this time tomorrow.

Don't feel motivate much either for tomorrow! Gonna have a afternoon nap and then start at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Rocketdog1905

Glad to hear I'm not the only one who thought so!! Hopefully they'll mark it easy if everyone found it hard

Have literally 0 motivation! Help!
    God knows what tomorrow is gonna be like.

shanmo wrote: »
    Have literally 0 motivation! Help!
    God knows what tomorrow is gonna be like.

I always knew that SFMA was gonna be tough as it's not predictable at all. At least FR is - we know what Q1&2 are going to be like. If you have done enough past questions, you will know the adjustments that will come up. It should be grand.

Put today to the back of your head and just concentrate on tomorrow.

Hoping a consolidation cashflow doesn't appear tomorrow, fingers crossed seeing as it was on the Autumn paper.

I have noticed that if people have done bad in a question the examiner puts it on again. I wouldn't be too worried about it if it comes up. Margaret did a good step by step on how to do it. She said we would be lucky(in a good way) if it comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Ponyface

Omg I feel so much better knowing someone else thought finance was hard. I literally came out in tears, had a bunch of stuff on that paper that I'd never even seen before. Has me totally disheartened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Rocketdog1905

Lads there's a survey that comes out after the exams asking for feedback it might help our chances if we all fill it out saying how tough it was!

thefox1982 wrote: »
    I have noticed that if people have done bad in a question the examiner puts it on again. I wouldn't be too worried about it if it comes up. Margaret did a good step by step on how to do it. She said we would be lucky(in a good way) if it comes up.

I'm sure I could make a decent attempt, I'd just prefer a standard consol with fx or a disposal.

Judging by the examiners report last Autumn the standard seemed high enough for the question two (best of a bad bunch by the looks of things).

Tbh I wouldn't be surprised to see some massive curveballs on fr, paper has remained very similar in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭fishy_fishy

Guys I'm devastated after today's paper. I just can't get my head around it. I'm so demotivated for tomorrow now

I feel the exact same, wouldn't have minded if there was a few different bits on the paper but everything felt new even though I had studied really well. Even the fx question was impossible.😭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 123moose

Today was very rough, so tight on time as well. So much in SFMA it's tough to ever be 100% ready for the exam considering the amount of material than can be examined. Hopefully we will all scrape the magical 50.

Hopefully tomorrow won't be as bad.

I know the feeling. It's a killer.

In my opinion these exams have not been the fairest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭fishy_fishy

Ponyface wrote: »
    I feel the exact same, wouldn't have minded if there was a few different bits on the paper but everything felt new even though I had studied really well. Even the fx question was impossible.😭
    shanmo wrote: »
    I know the feeling. It's a killer.

In my opinion these exams have not been the fairest!

I really felt like the material in today's exam was from a very narrow part of the course and if you weren't great on that, you were really going to struggle. Combine that with (I think) very tough questions even from a limited area, and the massive allocation of marks to trickier parts, and I really think it was a paper that set out to cause as many to fail as possible.

My hands were shaking by the end of the exam.

I really felt like the material in today's exam was from a very narrow part of the course and if you weren't great on that, you were really going to struggle. Combine that with (I think) very tough questions even from a limited area, and the massive allocation of marks to trickier parts, and I really think it was a paper that set out to cause as many to fail as possible.

My hands were shaking by the end of the exam.[/quote

]I agree completely. It was like it was designed to confuse people! Unduly so.

Not a nice feeling to have ahead of another extremely stressful exam! I'm expecting tomorrow to be of a high level even more so now.

Like are you guys studying now for tomorrow? I thought I'd be ok for fr but after today I don't know anymore. I'm so wrecked that I can't even read fr, let alone prepare for horrendous questions.

I had planned on trying to do a least one q1 and one q2 but I have had and still have no energy so I don't see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭ACAguy

After today there is definitely going to be curve balls tomorrow as the last few exams have been quite similar as someone else mentioned.

What would anyone just hate to see come up

ACAguy wrote: »
    After today there is definitely going to be curve balls tomorrow as the last few exams have been quite similar as someone else mentioned.

What would anyone just hate to see come up

Defo gonna be tough! Expecting weird wording, new layouts, new material everything.

In an ideal world I'd like some straightforward adjustments, disclosure notes for provisions or events after the period and then a straightforward sub and associates consol. Haha. What about you.?

Well that is just not going to happen I would imagine.

I'm going to guess that consolidate will be disposal of some sort

Leases and construction contracts to feature heavily

ACAguy wrote: »
    Well that is just not going to happen I would imagine.

I'm going to guess that consolidate will be disposal of some sort

Leases and construction contracts to feature heavily

I know 😂😂 I said ideal world. :P

Why do you believe that? Lack of them in previous yearss?

Ye that is my main reasoning to be honest

Anyone know how to do construction contracts? Find them impossible 😥 Leases could be ok, it's only really the two method of payments and lease free periods that could be asked hopefully

Aut 15 q3 issue 1, construction contracts. Seems ok if something similar came up tomorrow

Very few construction contracts to practice on so hard to know.

Good luck everyone on the last day and enjoy the freedom afterwards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Don't forget the most important question:

"Do I feel lucky?"