Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breeders Cup Weekend

• 03-11-2016 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭

Some picks to come from me, surprised there isn't a thread already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

if the BC is run in a state which allows Lasix, even 3rd party administered, I just stay clear of the who meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

From a betfair blog

"Only nine horses at the two-day meeting will be running Lasix-free"

When in rome lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Looking forward to a great last feast of the flat season before I go into my winter hibernation. The Breeders Cup Turf is a fascinating contest.. I was shocked to see Mondialiste stepping up to such hot 12f company. The trip shouldn't be a problem for him but the opposition should be too good for him.

Also hope the Breeders Cup Classic lives up to its promise. It's almost like there are 2 Breeders Cups on, one for the US Dirt bred horses and one for the European bred Turf horses. I've never seen such little crossover at a Breeders Cup meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Most over rated meeting of the year. Some of the coverage borders on cringe worthy. Trying to big it up as the best meeting in the world.

Some very ordinary horses have won at this meeting over the years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

tryfix wrote: »
    Looking forward to a great last feast of the flat season before I go into my winter hibernation. The Breeders Cup Turf is a fascinating contest.. I was shocked to see Mondialiste stepping up to such hot 12f company. The trip shouldn't be a problem for him but the opposition should be too good for him.

Also hope the Breeders Cup Classic lives up to its promise. It's almost like there are 2 Breeders Cups on, one for the US Dirt bred horses and one for the European bred Turf horses. I've never seen such little crossover at a Breeders Cup meeting.

What? But Tryfix..........

There is the Hong Kong International Night, Japan Cup, and plenty of big Aussie Group 1 races in January onwards. Come join us in us falling over ourselves in watching Winx, being given loads of weight and beating the same horses over and over. Oh and the much hype Peagus World Cup in.........Florida

Sure, it will be Dubai World Cup night before we know it

As for the cross over? Comparable to say Cheltenham with hurdles and fences? Probably not...

My POV, for what it is worth, not alot ,

Europe should get the Turf, even on of the French horses might pull it out, think of the Turf Mile winner of 2014 - kinda outta no where. O'Brien's horses must be knackered by now. He might be doing well and get 1 win.

Mile - US have a good team there. Fancy Tepin (not original) solely based on weight. Maybe the Shadwell was too quick since Woodbine? (probably not)

Kauto wrote: »
    Most over rated meeting of the year. Some of the coverage borders on cringe worthy. Trying to big it up as the best meeting in the world.

Some very ordinary horses have won at this meeting over the years.

True. Just stick with the ATR coverage (I know, they take their coverage from the Americans) they will at least take the p out of the American commentators. If you watch the actual NBC stuff , my god even the pundits (except Jerry Bailey) are annoying. Far too many talkers too. Their accents, bha. Their own Gok Waun - jesus (stuff like the Kentucky Derby - a poor attempt to copy Royal Ascot and Epsom with the clothes) The commentators are terrible and it is funny how they pronounce the names of horses. Telling their audience that Mike Smith etc are the world's greatest jockeys and they have won SFA outside of the US or their States in a long time - the current leading jockey in the US and that Ortiz lad thinking a 6f sprint is a 4 furlong sprint at Ascot - lol (I think Smith and Stevens are great) While they are great covering stories about the horses and the people behind them, it often gets too teary eyed and Hollywood. Bha! No one wants to see a grown man in a cowboy hat yelling and hollering like a commoner. We saw the antics of Emma Jayne Wilson screaming in delight in a ..........handicap race during ............... Shergar Cup . FFS. Nor do we want to see ghastly announcements of jockeys requesting marriage on national tv after winning a race.

Everything is the best in the world - horses like Karakontie (2014 Winner) World Class? St Nicholas Abbey ? Hell no. It is an afterthought for many classic winners in Ireland , Britain and France - except for O'Brien and the lads. They can get horses that did little or just faded out in Britain and Ireland and get them winning BC races.

Frankly, we complain about the like of Ryan Moore coming across as grumpy and not willing to give much information away. Some of us roll our eyes when Frankie plays to the cameras (and knowing it is all show) , but let us be glad for them. The jockeys over there are a bit out there. Way too much talk about god etc. And the base ball hats they wear after a race? How ghastly, this is the sport of kings, not the sport of chavs.

Facebook are broadcasting the whole card, including the maidens etc, in case anyone is interested - they broadcast-ed the draw etc as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Hydrangea is a bit big at 13/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Who won the 8.10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

akelly02 wrote: »
    Who won the 8.10?
    Silent Bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

Nulty wrote: »
    Hydrangea is a bit big at 13/2

La Coronel for me in this,

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Going to have a go on Lancaster Bomber in the juvenile. Stall one and a front runner , only fear is he gets in to a speed battle for the lead so hopefully if it's too fast he will sit back a bit from the pace and kick off the second last bend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Could be a good night for aob but frustrating for Moore . Like Lancaster bomber he has best form on show and hydrangea looks the best of the fillies .

You're some bunch of whingers, if you don't like the Breeders Cup, then don't watch it!

I am also on the Hydrangea bandwagon at 13/2 for the fillies race. Roly Poly on paper has the breeding and profile to do well in this sort of race, but hasn't been tested over the trip. Aidan suggested that maybe this one hasn't travelled over too well, and with Joseph's horse likely to struggle around the sharp track, I fancy Hydrangea to put it up to the American horses. For me the real danger is Spain Burg, this one looked like it was only getting going at Newmarket last time over 7f, so the step up should be no bother to it.

In the Distaff, I just cannot see past the favourite Songbird at 11/10. This one is only the price it is because of its draw, but having watched all her videos, I am fairly confident she'll be quick out of the stalls, which is absolutely vital to prevent a horse from being boxed in on the rails.

Doing both in a double, with a single on Songbird to cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Have gone for Intelligence Cross in the next.

I had Good Samaritan in my lucky 15.

From a betfair blog

"Only nine horses at the two-day meeting will be running Lasix-free"

When in rome lol
    and the only horse not running with lasix in the first wins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

Great ride from the front but at those splits I was expecting a closer finish from those further back in the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

aidankkk wrote: »
    Could be a good night for aob but frustrating for Moore . Like Lancaster bomber he has best form on show and hydrangea looks the best of the fillies .

Great run out of Bomber to be 2nd ( got shuffled back early). I think the 33/1 about him for next year 2000 is way to big and he wont be far away if he goes for it..

You're some bunch of whingers, if you don't like the Breeders Cup, then don't watch it!

I am also on the Hydrangea bandwagon at 13/2 for the fillies race. Roly Poly on paper has the breeding and profile to do well in this sort of race, but hasn't been tested over the trip. Aidan suggested that maybe this one hasn't travelled over too well, and with Joseph's horse likely to struggle around the sharp track, I fancy Hydrangea to put it up to the American horses. For me the real danger is Spain Burg, this one looked like it was only getting going at Newmarket last time over 7f, so the step up should be no bother to it.

In the Distaff, I just cannot see past the favourite Songbird at 11/10. This one is only the price it is because of its draw, but having watched all her videos, I am fairly confident she'll be quick out of the stalls, which is absolutely vital to prevent a horse from being boxed in on the rails.

Doing both in a double, with a single on Songbird to cover.
    But shure, there is nothing else on!

I see the tears and thanking god has begun with the American jockeys . Good grief. Bit early for the tears ,ya have more races to run

Sure sure "it is the essence of the breeders cup"

Good ride by Seamie

Lancaster lost a lot of ground at that first bend . Probably cost him the race . Gonna follow francie with the hydrangea/songbird double

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Had Lancaster Bomber to win. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Had a good bet in Dortmund at 4/5
    And I like roly poly, improving with every run and her dam being misty for me who nearly won at breeders cup years ago, also has the best form of o briens

Going for Vyjack win and place here

The big shock is the races are going off on time. :pac:

Balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Raving_Magic

Dortmund was well beaten there

Mike Smith always gets winners at this meeting. The 2 in front went that little bit too fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

That Tamarkuz could have been backed. Won the Godolphin Mile last year, having been off for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Young o Brian to beat the oulfella ?

Lt Dan wrote: »
    What? But Tryfix..........

There is the Hong Kong International Night, Japan Cup, and plenty of big Aussie Group 1 races in January onwards. Come join us in us falling over ourselves in watching Winx, being given loads of weight and beating the same horses over and over. Oh and the much hype Peagus World Cup in.........Florida

Sure, it will be Dubai World Cup night before we know it

As for the cross over? Comparable to say Cheltenham with hurdles and fences? Probably not...

My POV, for what it is worth, not alot ,

Europe should get the Turf, even on of the French horses might pull it out, think of the Turf Mile winner of 2014 - kinda outta no where. O'Brien's horses must be knackered by now. He might be doing well and get 1 win.

Mile - US have a good team there. Fancy Tepin (not original) solely based on weight. Maybe the Shadwell was too quick since Woodbine? (probably not)
    Ah jaysus it's going to be 6 months again before the Guineas meeting at Newmarket and not a lot of serious racing takes place before that.

Those old Hong Kong/Japan Cup races and those Australian pseudo Gp 1 races are on at all hours. I set the alarm and wake in plenty of time to watch them and end up falling asleep again before the race, waking up mins after the race trying to figure who won the race or the internet starts freezing up just when the race is off.:pac:

By crossover I mean that there used to be some brilliant turf horse running in the likes of the the Breeders Cup Juvenile Colts and in the Juvenile Fillies Dirt races. The likes of Arazi blowing away the top US Juveniles in sublime fashion. O'Brien, Noseda and Suroor won the Juvenile Colts Dirt which is a proper championship Gp1 race compared to the Juvenile Colts turf race. The Juvenile fillies race followed the same pattern of the Europeans more or less abandoning it for the lesser Turf version even though I don't think the Europeans were ever successful in the fillies Dirt race.

The likes of the brilliant sprinter Dayjur transferring his turf form to dirt and having the sprint Dirt race sewn before blowing it.

Now the Europeans can't even be bothered making a serious challenge for a gimme race like Breeders Cup Marathon on Dirt. The European challenge has reduced in quality over the years because there are so many other racing options now compared to 10 or more years ago.

Can't figure out the value of Winx's form, but she was impressive the last day. Don't think the likes of Hartnell would be running in top 10f European races so that kind of makes the form doubtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Shanee.

Slight pocket talk here but I thought the jock on coasted didnt have his finest moment there. Got the gap up the rail but seemed to be checked for a split second and stopped the horses momentum. Ah well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Was on Intricately. Ran a shocker.

tryfix wrote:
    Now the Europeans can't even be bothered making a serious challenge for a gimme race like Breeders Cup Marathon on Dirt. The European challenge has reduced in quality over the years because there are so many other racing options now compared to 10 or more years ago.

But is there any point throwing turf bred horses into a race like the classic or the dirt mile . O brien tried some of his best in the classic like Gallileo and George Washington to name 2 . Look what happened to George Washington, unlucky thing to happen but future stud earnings could have been immense. Declaration of war nearly done it against mucho macho man but he was more bred for it.

Found won't be winning if it's held up
    Need to be in 3rd or 4th, front runners going to quick and ground so fast there hard to peg back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Found won't be winning if it's held up
    Need to be in 3rd or 4th, front runners going to quick and ground so fast there hard to peg back

Them Americans would be fairly out of their comfort zone if they were to run in Listowel :pac:

Would love to see Songbird win but think Beholder will.

Johner wrote: »
    Would love to see Songbird win but think Beholder will.

What a race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Was on Songbird but really terrific finish, two great horses going all out and giving everything. You can't ask for more than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

You did the SFC :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Looked like songbird won that.
    Even in replay/

Camera is after line, not inline on line
    Weird.
    Songbird got to line first.

That official photo is after line. At no point before line was he in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

But is there any point throwing turf bred horses into a race like the classic or the dirt mile . O brien tried some of his best in the classic like Gallileo and George Washington to name 2 . Look what happened to George Washington, unlucky thing to happen but future stud earnings could have been immense. Declaration of war nearly done it against mucho macho man but he was more bred for it.

He was a failure at stud, that's why he was running in the Classic as a 4yo, he was brought out of retirement after being found to be pretty much infertile (produced 1 foal, Date With Destiny)

kfallon wrote:
    He was a failure at stud, that's why he was running in the Classic as a 4yo, he was brought out of retirement after being found to be pretty much infertile (produced 1 foal, Date With Destiny)

Yes , that's why I said "could " have . From what I remember they weren't giving up entirely on the stud career . But the main point was there isn't much hope for European Turf bred horses in the top dirt races .

You'd probably want the dirt pedigree alright but not necessarily. Can't remember any European runners of any significance in the Dirt mile, as a race that started in 2007 I don't think it carries as much cachet as the Turf mile. The Classic on the other hand is quite possibly one of the greatest leg ups a horse can get in boosting its status as a potential stallion and it doesn't take a Frankel to challenge for it. There's also no point in running a 12f grass horse like Galileo in it when his lack of pace was fairly obvious. It seems to be a race where a very good but not spectacular European Gp1 8-10f horse can put in a US stallion career making effort even if they only come close to winning it.

The likes of 2nd Giants Causeway was a super hardy 8 to 10f European horse but not that outstanding on ratings. His second in the Classic turned him into a hot property stateside where he's had a stellar career as a stallion. Henrythenavigator and Ravens Pass weren't exactly thought of as Breeders Cup Classic winning material but they went and finished 1st and 2nd and enhanced their Stallion credentials and both could have gotten US stallion careers out of it with the 2nd Henrythenavigator getting his first 4 years in stud in America.

Declaration Of War was no superstar either before that Classic 2nd, it inflated his reputation.

O'Brien has loads of War Fronts in his stable. If any of them make it as half decent GP 1 winning mileing class horses then Coolmore would be crazy not to throw them into races like the Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Hardly paid to bring some of those ones over to the US tonight .
    Hopefully tomorrow night pays off .
    Going to back Washington DC

Just watched the Distaff again, what a brilliant race it was. Songbird lost nothing in defeat, what a game performance from her.

Imshivalla 33-1 3.00

Two good runs recently, I like for a place 33-1 1pt ew

Maleficent Queen 12-1 3.00
    I like this to win, 2pts win 12-1
    Very consistent