Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GLAS III

• 03-11-2016 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25

Just spotted in today's FJ that GLAS III is to open Monday Debating is it worth the hassle, getting planner undertaking work etc, took over the farm after closing dates of last 2 options to join, so curious to hear what the lads that joined up to the last 2 trenches are and there opinions on it, have smallish farm of 44ac with a mix of Suckler and beef, based in West galway so not exactly prime agricultural land, but it does grow grass. Have stone wall boundaries so fencing etc is not required, For the money paid is it worth the constraints put on you for 5 year's, not allowing topping only when they say etc etc.

Thanks for any input good or bad in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Eggie99 wrote: »
    Just spotted in today's FJ that GLAS III is to open Monday Debating is it worth the hassle, getting planner undertaking work etc, took over the farm after closing dates of last 2 options to join, so curious to hear what the lads that joined up to the last 2 trenches are and there opinions on it, have smallish farm of 44ac with a mix of Suckler and beef, based in West galway so not exactly prime agricultural land, but it does grow grass. Have stone wall boundaries so fencing etc is not required, For the money paid is it worth the constraints put on you for 5 year's, not allowing topping only when they say etc etc.

Definitely worth looking into, there's money for stone wall maintainance. €5k available for little work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭limo_100

The way beef is at the minute can anyone afford not to be in it? where in glas 2 and its fine the topping is the only thing that annoys be but il get over it. I have the bird cover in as well we put in land that gets topped once a year and is covered in rushes for the rest of the year so it was not as much a loss. It will be nice when its over to drain that and reseed it because I know for a fact without the bird cover it would never get reseeded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭TPF2012

limo_100 wrote:
    The way beef is at the minute can anyone afford not to be in it? where in glas 2 and its fine the topping is the only thing that annoys be but il get over it. I have the bird cover in as well we put in land that gets topped once a year and is covered in rushes for the rest of the year so it was not as much a loss. It will be nice when its over to drain that and reseed it because I know for a fact without the bird cover it would never get reseeded.

My exact thinking as to where I put in the bird cover. I put in the full amount 3ha and although that area is out of production for 5 years, at the end it will be a far more productive area, cleared of whins and drained and reseeded. If I didn't have to do it for the Glas scheme, it also probably would never have been done. So pick your area actions well and in the right places.
    You will need the bird cover to get in to the scheme anyway unless you have a tier 1 asset on your land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

There is fairly good money for stone wall maintenance in it and if your walls are in good nick already and not covered with scrub you will have very little to do for that measure if you opt for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Thinking of applying. I have only 30 acres hardly worth it. My only concern is the waterways. I have a drain/river running alongside most of my land. I have open drains running into that. Will I have to fence the open drains in my land?

I see the permanent pasture topping date has changed from the 15 July to the July will it change for glas 1 and 2 as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

with beef prices the way they are then every scheme is worth joining as far as i can see

if you max'd the 5k then it's surely easier than trying to finish cattle or rear extra weanlings for that money

just be careful with what compulsory measures may be in your land already - planner will tell you eg harrier, low status water or curlew present then you have to select those measures

i think the max you could claim for the stone walls is just under 3k/yr

pick your measures carefully and make sure they suit you...that would be my advice

jimini0 wrote: »
    Thinking of applying. I have only 30 acres hardly worth it. My only concern is the waterways. I have a drain/river running alongside most of my land. I have open drains running into that. Will I have to fence the open drains in my land?

You'll only have to fence the open drains if they are marked in blue on the map. Talk to your advisor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

We've only ten acres more than you and are in GLAS 2, definitely recommend it, not only for the money but it'll kickstart you into doing a few extra things that will prob be beneficial for your place in the long run.
    Topping was a pain in the hole but we know for next year to use less fert at the start of the year & graze as close to deadline as possible. You've already got the stone walls which can get you a nice chunk of money. Just make sure you don't pick silly options just to try and make the max, if you can get it, brilliant, but don't go trying to plough stony ground for bird cover!
    Coppicing suited us as some hedges were gone very sparse, bird cover is gone on really rushy ground near wetland area, fencing of watercourses because we had to replace old stuff there anyway. Trees are probably the only one we didn't need but sure, nice to have a bit of diversity down on a moorish area, plus might drain the surrounding land a bit.
    Slurry with the dribble bar was only a hindrance as we had to wait weeks for our contractor to get one, then had half the parish come to watch it being used for the first time!!

No, only if they're marked as natural watercourses, we have open drains running into a river and only had to fence the river.

Will talk to him Monday. Have to call to pay him for this year.
    I will have a read over the weekend about this glas. I don't think its suitable for me I have too much rushy ground which I plan on draining properly next year and reseeding.

We have rushy ground too but have seen other lads next to us reseed and then watch it fall back to rushes, esp this year.
    I'm looking at the GLAS years as a way to fund future reseeds :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Join it the topping issue is the only draw back I found this year.
    More drinkers and paddocks next year.

and wouldnt the 5grand come in handy to help pay for the work

limo_100 wrote: »
    and wouldnt the 5grand come in handy to help pay for the work

It would in deed. The drain/river had to be fenced for reps 1 or 2 but that fence is nearly gone now. Our land is low and floods during the winter I will talk to the advisor anyways and see what he says

We've only ten acres more than you and are in GLAS 2, definitely recommend it, not only for the money but it'll kickstart you into doing a few extra things that will prob be beneficial for your place in the long run.
    Topping was a pain in the hole but we know for next year to use less fert at the start of the year & graze as close to deadline as possible. You've already got the stone walls which can get you a nice chunk of money. Just make sure you don't pick silly options just to try and make the max, if you can get it, brilliant, but don't go trying to plough stony ground for bird cover!
    Coppicing suited us as some hedges were gone very sparse, bird cover is gone on really rushy ground near wetland area, fencing of watercourses because we had to replace old stuff there anyway. Trees are probably the only one we didn't need but sure, nice to have a bit of diversity down on a moorish area, plus might drain the surrounding land a bit.
    Slurry with the dribble bar was only a hindrance as we had to wait weeks for our contractor to get one, then had half the parish come to watch it being used for the first time!!

No, only if they're marked as natural watercourses, we have open drains running into a river and only had to fence the river.

How did your bird cover do for you? Ours is only ok will probably use extra seed next year. We ploughed stoney ground was a bit of work but when its reseeded for grassland there is a lot of stones out of the ground. These stones were the size of the power box.

Why did you need to use the dribble bar If you pick bird cover you dont need the dribble bar

limo_100 wrote: »
    How did your bird cover do for you? Ours is only ok will probably use extra seed next year. We ploughed stoney ground was a bit of work but when its reseeded for grassland there is a lot of stones out of the ground. These stones were the size of the power box.

Why did you need to use the dribble bar If you pick bird cover you dont need the dribble bar

It's not that you don't need it but you don't have to choose it. Both were easier for us, different areas of farming.

What we thought would be stoney ground was loamy enough til it hit the pan. Huge difference!

The bird cover went well, a cock pheasant and three hens in it, no shooting allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Eggie99

jezz if I can get 3k for stone wall maintenance ill be on the gravy train have well kept walls and all free of scrub. glad to hear good stories about it and that ppl in the first two groups seem happy enough with it. have a planners number got so will give him a bell, nothing gained nothing lost and any extra money will be very welcomed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Here is a link to the Dept website for GLAS 3 t&c etc.
    There is a handy calculator thingie as well.
    https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/farmerschemespayments/glas/glastranche3/

Just skimmed through the details, am I right in saying if you have a watercoarse on your farm that is a marked watercoarse that you have to fence it off 1.5m back from top of bank. Have about 500m of a drain/river running at the bottom of the land, it's all walled 4ft high the length of it. It would be a waste of time to fence it in my opinion. But then again I'm no "expert"

Also is spraying for weeds allowed or is it just the weed Licker that's allowed. Very rocky land I cant see a weed Licker lasting to long being hopped over rocks any day it's out.

Just skimmed through the details, am I right in saying if you have a watercoarse on your farm that is a marked watercoarse that you have to fence it off 1.5m back from top of bank. Have about 500m of a drain/river running at the bottom of the land, it's all walled 4ft high the length of it. It would be a waste of time to fence it in my opinion. But then again I'm no "expert"

Also is spraying for weeds allowed or is it just the weed Licker that's allowed. Very rocky land I cant see a weed Licker lasting to long being hopped over rocks any day it's out.
    No spraying allowed in LIPP or Traditional hay meadows. Spot spraying is allowed at certain times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    No spraying allowed in LIPP or Traditional hay meadows. Spot spraying is allowed at certain times.
    You can lick / wipe

I would think it is sufficient especially if it is already established.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

If your have an outside farm, as well as one at the back of the house, can you apply to join Glas for just one of them , or has it to be all or nothing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

I have fenced off the length of watercourse marked on my map.
    Now my adviser tells me that as I have accepted this measure I must fence off all watercourses on my land, even though its not marked on my map and I wont get paid for it.
    This will mean fencing off 5 times the length again and cost me a lot of money.
    It makes no sense to me, I mean why bother marking it on the map if I have to fence off all watercourses? What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Now my adviser tells me that as I have accepted this measure I must fence off all watercourses on my land, even though its not marked on my map and I wont get paid for it.
    It makes no sense to me, I mean why bother marking it on the map if I have to fence off all watercourses? What do ye think?

That's your planners fault for not selecting all the watercourses for fencing at the planning stage. Is it an option for him to re-plan you and put you back in and then get paid for the fencing?

Only what's marked in blue has to be fenced off.

tatoo wrote: »
    If your have an outside farm, as well as one at the back of the house, can you apply to join Glas for just one of them , or has it to be all or nothing ?

Your whole farm is included in a way yes once you enter, but you may be able to avoid doing any actions on 1 of the farms if you want, as long as it doesn't contain any compulsary tier 1 actions, or as discussed above, if it has watercourses and you decide to take this option or if it is compulsary, then all land with the watercourses must be selected

tatoo wrote: »
    Presuming that both farms are under the one herd number then both are considered as one farm.
    If you have two herd numbers then their respective locations are considered separate entities unless you have declared otherwise to the Dept.

That's your planners fault for not selecting all the watercourses for fencing at the planning stage. Is it an option for him to re-plan you and put you back in and then get paid for the fencing?

No that's not an option as the other watercourses are not eligible for payment.

They would have to be eligible for payment if their showing up as blue lines on the system..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Bit confused on this action. My situation is I want to join Glas 3 and want to use the fencing off rivers as an action on a particular LPIS as I can supply it with mains water.
    Now I also have some land leased nearby with a river in it and NO ACCESS to mains water so cannot take this action on the leased land as cattle need access to river there.

So can I pick this action on one area only or wud I b forced to fence off river in leased land too ?

jezz if I can get 3k for stone wall maintenance ill be on the gravy train have well kept walls and all free of scrub. glad to hear good stories about it and that ppl in the first two groups seem happy enough with it. have a planners number got so will give him a bell, nothing gained nothing lost and any extra money will be very welcomed

Is it true that boundary walls only qualify for half rate payment compared to internal walls.
    Pity if it is as I've more boundary than internal walls ?

On the department web site it states half payment for boundary walls, unless they run along a road, or yard and are in your full control to allow rebuilding on both sides. That's my take from there Web page anyways

Sami23 wrote: »
    Bit confused on this action. My situation is I want to join Glas 3 and want to use the fencing off rivers as an action on a particular LPIS as I can supply it with mains water.
    Now I also have some land leased nearby with a river in it and NO ACCESS to mains water so cannot take this action on the leased land as cattle need access to river there.

So can I pick this action on one area only or wud I b forced to fence off river in leased land too ?

How long is the lease?

Currently in 1st year of 5 year lease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭queueeye

To anybody thinking of applying for Glas 3 just make sure that your planner is getting the max possible for your application. Got mine and auld fellas done last year, left planners office after outlining plan, went home and had another look at the info only to discover we were both eligible for much more than she had outlined.
    Rang and told her I wasn't happy and made the changes. Just wanted us in to do any auld measures so she could collect the fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

queueeye wrote: »
    To anybody thinking of applying for Glas 3 just make sure that your planner is getting the max possible for your application. Got mine and auld fellas done last year, left planners office after outlining plan, went home and had another look at the info only to discover we were both eligible for much more than she had outlined.
    Rang and told her I wasn't happy and made the changes. Just wanted us in to do any auld measures so she could collect the fee.

Rang my planner, and he said whilst he has a minimum fee, he works on a % of the amount you submit for...

So its in his interest too, to maximise your application...

It also seems Hedgerows are out in Glass III - which I wasn't sure of (as its listed in the payment amounts in the spec)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

I think you need to clarify this with dept. of Agriculture if you think the planner is wrong.

I'm in Gals II and was told that unless the river is marked in blue on the map they will not pay you for it and you have no requirement to fence it even if its a proper river.

A friend of mine was in the same boat but had the application in before he found out he could have got the max. Planner was charging a set fee and was to lazy go through it properly. He is missing out on €900 annually so €4500 over the five years.

So am I correct the lease will bring you to the end of the 4th year in glas..? Tranche 3 starts January the 1st so your planner can omit the fencing, there is an option on the system to select 'land not present for duration of glas scheme'. So if that's the case, you won't have to fence that

Yes correct. Will have 4 n half years lease from next January

croot wrote: »

A friend of mine was in the same boat but had the application in before he found out he could have got the max. Planner was charging a set fee and was to lazy go through it properly. He is missing out on 900 annually so 4500 over the five years.

Don't want to be nosy but would ye mind giving rough details of what are the best (easiest) actions to pick from your experience to get to the max 5k as I'm going to apply.
    I will have 7.5 hectares combined of THM and LIPP and maby 500 euro for stone walls but struggling for actions after that as can't really afford to lose ground for WBC.
    TIA

Yes correct. Will have 4 n half years lease from next January

Your sound so

Don't want to be nosy but would ye mind giving rough details of what are the best (easiest) actions to pick from your experience to get to the max 5k as I'm going to apply.
    I will have 7.5 hectares combined of THE and LIPP and many 500 euro for stone walls but struggling for actions after that as can't really afford to lose ground for WBC.
    TIA

Well I'm in the unusual situation of having 2 km of river so with LIPP and a small bit of THM I am over the max.

In my friends case the planner didn't put in any THM telling him his area wasn't suitable. (it was)

I did up an excel sheet with the different options that applied to me. I'm not sure what available in Glass III but it might be some help to you.

401098.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭queueeye

I will have 7.5 hectares combined of THE and LIPP and many 500 euro for stone walls but struggling for actions after that as can't really afford to lose ground for WBC.
    TIA

Mine are in the tillage side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭zetor 4911

Mine are in the tillage side of it.

Doing the LIPP and stone walls will probably still leave you in tier 3 or have you sac lands? Would need to do something that will get you into at least tier 2 as you won't get into GLAS by remaining in tier 3.

zetor 4911 wrote: »
    Doing the LIPP and stone walls will probably still leave you in tier 3 or have you sac lands? Would need to do something that will get you into at least tier 2 as you won't get into GLAS by remaining in tier 3.

No sac lands. Gonna put in Low emission slurry also but only have 4 bays of shed so only approx. 200 euro from that which is very low

They would have to be eligible for payment if their showing up as blue lines on the system..

The other water courses are not showing up as blue lines, yet he still wants them fenced.

Then your planner is making an error there so telling you that. Bottom line, if their not showing up as blue lines, do not fence them. You cannot get in trouble as long as that is the case. Only way you could have got paid for fencing a watercourse that isint showing up as a blue line was if the watercourse was showing up as a blue line and then suddenly disappeared in the online system, yet was still visible on the ground, then you could have carried on with selecting the entire watercourse for fencing. Anyways, no need to go fencing that now if your sure it's not showing up as a blue line but make sure you trust your planner, ask to see it yourself. Any chance it was showing up as a blue line all along but he might just have made a mistake and forgot to select it for fencing when submitting the plan and is now using the noblue line thing as an excuse to cover himself?

Where can you check to see if the blue lines are actually there? I tried the EPA website but cant seem to get it working on the rivers layer.