Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sure-Fire Signs That an area is Rough

• Registered Users Posts: 43,027 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its named after one of the patriots of 16'

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Neighbours talking to each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Glad after hours isn't judgemental.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

The nearest bus shelter to my house has the glass smashed. :eek:

REM76 wrote: »
    Self-explanatory.

Are you alright, do you need some kind of psychiatrist?

Well now that you mention it I wouldn't mind an auld chat. Couch or chair?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭REM76

Working class toys?? Huh?

Just watch Mrs. Brown's Boys. I was too obtuse for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Pherekydes wrote: »
    The nearest bus shelter to my house has the glass smashed. :eek:

The one nearest my house is smashed to flitters on a regular basis during Student Piss-Up season - there's nothing rough about these characters, except when they're after a dozen Jagerbombs. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,135 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Tiny little men with huge dog(s) on leads (usually the man will be at a 45deg angle to hold said dogs back).

Said man also likely to have some items of Lonsdale clothing.

REM76 wrote: »
    Just watch Mrs. Brown's Boys. I was too obtuse for you.

Damn. I had my heart set on a psyc session.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Shoes hanging from ESB wires.

Yeah, could someone tell me what that's about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

jimgoose wrote: »

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054954758/4

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

jimgoose wrote:

A sign that a drug dealer lives nearby apparently? I don't know if it's a warning or an invitation though.

Turnipman wrote: »

Oh right, it's much like pawnbroker's balls then. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

jimgoose wrote: »

People like to fool themselves into believing that they signify a gang-bangin' no-go zone but it's probably just young people messing.

Someone said to me a few years ago that in places like South-Central L.A. and possibly Johannesburg it meant that some streethawk had been killed. I considered that unlikely around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

When the food from the local deli counter is passed to the till via a pneumatic tube system.

A lot of the stuff here is fairly accurate but some is such rubbish it stands out that the poster has never actually laid eyes on a rough area irl and is just relying on cliched anecdotes. Most of it's funny but some posts just reek of any excuse for looking down on the plebs.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

trainers hanging from a phone line

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

When all the roads are named after executed republicans

When you can't figure out if it's the mother or sister pushing the child in the buggy

When shops operate out of shipping containers staffed by people behind iron bars (only every saw this in Ballymun in fairness)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,432 ✭✭✭✭Alun

boombang wrote: »
    When you can't figure out if it's the mother or sister pushing the child in the buggy.
    .. or even the grandmother :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

Traffic lights in cages.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭mojesius

-The chipper is the best cuisine around and always jammers.
    -There is always a bookies and a windowless pub beside said chipper
    -Local Chinese has an unfortunate name like 'hung wang' and gets shut down every few years by the HSE
    -The local aldi/lidl doesn't bother stocking health foods
    -There is no nitelink service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Malari wrote: »
    "No Water Meters" signs in the windows and on lampposts.

.....and no water meters.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Neglected children outside without clothing to protect against the weather.

Signs of serious drug addiction passed on from parents to children through example.

Unemployable people who grew up in a situation where they aren't afforded the possibility of advancing in education, and adapting to middle-class conventions of behaviour.

LOL at the poor!! #tensignsyouresociallydeprivedandknobsonlinelaughatyoutomakethemfeelbetteraboutthemselvesfromajoeiehackwhostoletheideafromacommentonthejournal.ie

Well I say fair play the poster has just though up a new way of posting about their obsession issue, it must be difficult to to think up a new theme on the skobies /welfare debate.

Having said that years ago a security guard talking about his job said never go in to a pub that has security on a Sunday afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 The_A

ThisRegard wrote: »
    No idea why a community centre is a sign of a rough area?!

It will often mean that the area has a problem with rogue youths so they need somewhere to keep them off the streets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Kids hanging around when they should be in school.

Battered cars from the 1990s parked outside the houses during working hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Signs you're a turd eating knob goblin:

- Starting threads about disadvantaged areas

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭Sklarker

tnegun wrote:
    During fine weather the sitting room furniture is moved to the front yard/garden/footpath for some reason.

Ha. Reminds me of my neighbour who used to eat dinner in the summer on a small table in the front garden in a bikini. Was like something from a Kenny Everett sketch. Classy bird.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

A local shop looking like a garda cell with the lack of windows and bars on the few windows/doors there is.
    Guys with hot rocks.
    Honda Civics.
    Socks over tracksuit bottoms
    Women in leggings.
    Blonde overweight women with dark roots
    Women wearing tracksuit bottoms
    Anyone wearing tracksuit bottoms
    Children in pjs
    Small Children drinking fizzy drinks
    Women with horrific looking eyebrows
    Women with fake MK and a Paul's boutique jacket

ya because its only the scummy kids that would dare ware pjs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

NIMAN wrote: »
    Tiny little men with huge dog(s) on leads (usually the man will be at a 45deg angle to hold said dogs back).

Said man also likely to have some items of Lonsdale clothing.

Aw man, how could I forget, bull terriers in bondage gear. Dressing your dogs up all studs and leather. There's something bubbling under the surface there alright!!!

Local gym near me is big into the oul tyre flipping in the car park craic. Grand like, whatever.... It's when you park your chromed up pickup truck right next to the tyre flipping area so your bondaged up pit bull can watch you flip tyres that you've crossed the line.