Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught with no insurance on new car?

• 31-10-2016 10:48PM

I bought a car last night from a lad who lives down the road.

After work this evening at 9pm my wife and I took it for a spin. When I got pulled over discovered the guards were taking the car because I had no insurance on it. I have insurance on my daily driver and my wife has insurance on hers but couldnt transfer any insurance over as none of the insurance companies were answering the phone today being a bank holiday monday!

Any advice or am I just F@!ked??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I bought a 1999 mazda mx5 last night from a lad who lives down the road.

After work this evening at 9pm my wife and I took it for a spin. I was doing 155 kmph to open it up and when I got pulled over discovered the guards were taking the car because I had no insurance on it. I have insurance on my daily driver and my wife has insurance on hers but couldnt transfer any insurance over as none of the insurance companies were answering the phone today being a bank holiday monday!

The guard said I would of been insured if the car wasn't mine but the fact I bought it regardless of whether the log book has changed or not means I'm an uninsured driver. I would never of left the house with it if I knew I was uninsured!

Get a bus pass. 155 and no insurance deserves a book been thrown at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Was it you driving or your wife?
    Did you sign the logbook as new owner or your wife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭beechwood55

Think you are ****ed. You should be for doing 155kph anyway.

I was driving and I signed the logbook in my name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Edups

155???? Oh get a grip there's no reason for that kind of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,833 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Wreck less on several fronts. The speeding was this on a motorway or other road? Anywhere from 40-110 kmh over the limit I can't see them being too lenient! This was nuts but hopefully you see that now.
    Also the no insurance was crazy. Having just bought the car/the phone lines were busy is no excuse, that's a very serious offence. You say you'd never have the left house uninsured....what in gods name gave you the idea you were insured?!

No insurance= driving ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

The car has no policy on it thus is uninsured regardless. You should have waited till tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Doesn't matter when the logbook was signed or sent off. As soon as payment is made and keys are handed over it's becomes the property of the new owner. OP how on earth did you think you were insured anyway when as you said yourself you tried contacting the insurance company to transfer it over but being a bank holiday they were not open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The speeding is an automatic 3 penalty points. The no insurance is a mandatory court appearance and a minimum of 5 penalty points.

it was on a motorway (120kmph zone), I know it was Sh1te to be doing that speed, I'm just concerned about the insurance thing. I have an insurance policy on my car and thought I was legally covered driving this as I wasn't technically the owner yet..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Isn't there a maximum of 5 points per incident though?

Hope you get the book thrown at you. And a driving ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

colm_mcm wrote: »

I'm microwaving the popcorn will you pause it there till I get back????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Jaysus, the irony

Jesus irony as that isn't seen in steel mills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nothing to add. Something about books? Possibly the bookshelf too.

OP, are you sure your neighbours didn't report you for it?

I was driving and I signed the logbook in my name

Then you're f...ed
    No insurance.

And don't listen to all the lads telling you're mad to 155km/h in your new MX5.
    There's nothing wrong with that :)
    But you're f....ed anyway

it was on a motorway (120kmph zone), I know it was Sh1te to be doing that speed, I'm just concerned about the insurance thing. I have an insurance policy on my car and thought I was legally covered driving this as I wasn't technically the owner yet..?

Unfortunately as soon as you made payment and were handed the keys it became your property which means it was not insured under your existing policy unless specifically outlined. That clause is in nearly every insurance policy to stop lads insuring a cheap Micra and then going out buying a Porsche and driving it under the Micra's policy.

You bought it, therefore you are the owner.
    No insurance= driving ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

CiniO wrote: »
    Then you're f...ed
    No insurance.

And don't listen to all the lads telling you're mad to 155km/h in your new MX5.
    There's nothing wrong with that :)
    But you're f....ed anyway

I'm sure he'll tell the judge what you said. Should go down a treat in court!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I'm sorry judge.. I thought it was in miles per hour it was a new car to me...

you thought you were doing 155mph?

yes.. and I thought I would have got away from the ****ing squad car if it had been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'm beginning to think this is makey-up stuff.

155kph on a motorway? think of the children? Surely nobody could survive speeds of such magnitude for more than a few seconds! Throw the book at him, any book! whatever is nearby just grab it and throw it?!!

Autobahn_Cover-262x350.jpg

Oh ah, well this is awkward. Any oul hardback versions of the RSAs "speed kills monologues"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,479 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

WTF were you thinking? Bank Holiday weekend. Guards everywhere! And you do 155 kph. and attract them. Shoulda breathalysed you as well!

My insurance covers me driving other cars and I thought I would be covered driving the mx5 because I haven't the logbook back yet

Probs wont get a ban over a first offence and the fact I have a policy on another car

Oh and I presume the gardai seized the car?
    So you are now liable for towing fees and any storage fees.
    You can get the car back when you produce an insurance policy to drive it. I'd do it sooner rather than later, storage fees add up every day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Stoogie

I have just reported my neighbour for driving around the town with no tax or insurance.. The Gardai showed up, chatted to him for 5 mins and have drove off leaving this young fella in his Golf to do whatever?

What am I missing here? Why has (seemingly) no action been taken?:mad:

I bought a 1999 mazda mx5 last night from a lad who lives down the road.

After work this evening at 9pm my wife and I took it for a spin. I was doing 155 kmph to open it up and when I got pulled over discovered the guards were taking the car because I had no insurance on it. I have insurance on my daily driver and my wife has insurance on hers but couldnt transfer any insurance over as none of the insurance companies were answering the phone today being a bank holiday monday!

The guard said I would of been insured if the car wasn't mine but the fact I bought it regardless of whether the log book has changed or not means I'm an uninsured driver. I would never of left the house with it if I knew I was uninsured!

I laughed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,193 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

bubblypop wrote: »
    You can get the car back when you produce an insurance policy to drive it. I'd do it sooner rather than later, storage fees add up every day!

Expensive MX5 so.

gammygils wrote: »
    WTF were you thinking? Bank Holiday weekend. Guards everywhere! And you do 155 kph. and attract them. Shoulda breathalysed you as well!

got breathalysed, passed with flying colours as I dont drink :)

bubblypop wrote: »

He can pick up car anytime, no matter if he has policy for it or not.
    Obviously if he doesn't have policy, car will need to be towed, or driven by someone who has "driving other cars" extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

got breathalysed, passed with flying colours as I dont drink :)

flying colours? didn't know the breathalysers tested for acid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Maybe ask the lad you reported how he got on....though he wasn't tearing around at 155 kph in a 17 year old banger..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,666 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

dime.jpg

My insurance covers me driving other cars and I thought I would be covered driving the mx5 because I haven't the logbook back yet

Probs wont get a ban over a first offence and the fact I have a policy on another car

Read your policy again, your insurance covers you to drive other cars you don't own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,948 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I'm beginning to think this is makey-up stuff.

Yup.

This chap can't be so stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Maybe ask the lad you reported how he got on....though he wasn't tearing around at 155 kph in a 17 year old banger..

Karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Stupid thing to do OP.

As Jim Diamond famously said

You will probably clock up 8 penalty points - 3 for speeding and 5 for no insurance.

id be the first to say 155 in a mx5 is ok if it's quiet and you wanna make sure she's sorted
    But you are a hipocryote and I for one am glad you got done
    Sorry but I'm am.

17 year old bangers are best bangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭FightingIrish

Insurance is irrelevant, doing that kind of speed you're endangering the lives of others as well as yourselves, no matter how 'good' a driver you think you are!

dime.jpg

Wtf have armadillos got to do with this????;-)

17 year old bangers are best bangers.

I see what you did there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,213 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

No insurance is your bigger problem TBH.. although I find the outrage over 155 km/h here to be hilarious - but then considering I pass lines of cars every day who can't even do 120 (when there's no reason not to), it's not all that surprising either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

CiniO wrote: »
    He can pick up car anytime, no matter if he has policy for it or not.
    Obviously if he doesn't have policy, car will need to be towed, or driven by someone who has "driving other cars" extension.

An insurance policy must be shown, his for that car, someone elses for driving any car, or yes, tow truck out of storage.
    Point is, storage can be 30+ euro a day, plus approx 120ish tow away fee, it adds up quick!

owner hasn't sent the logbook off yet