Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women being called girls

• 31-10-2016 4:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭

What age does it stop? You are a girl or boy until 18, then you are a woman or a man.
    A garda and a judge refer to women aged 21, 22, 23, 30 as 'girls'. How is this possible?
    If they were men, they would not be called boys at those ages.
    Why is this acceptable?

#genderdiscriminatory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Get back in the kitchen....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

snubbleste wrote: »
    What age does it stop? You are a girl or boy until 18, then you are a woman or a man.
    A garda and a judge refer to women aged 21, 22, 23, 30 as 'girls'. How is this possible?
    Why is this acceptable?

#genderdiscriminatory

Don't know really, I'd still refer to a woman as a girl. Wouldn't refer to a man as a boy though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I once brought a frog to a session because I found him on road. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

anyone younger than me is a girl/boy

#stoplookingforinequalitywherethereisnone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Nothing to be worrying about.

I have heard multiple middle aged women refer similarly aged women as 'girl'.

When will this bullsh1t stop? You even have to be careful using the word 'female' now ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I dunno, I know plenty of immature women that I'd refer to as girls. I also know teenagers of refer to as women. Same with men actually. That's for the people I know. For people I don't know, everyone that looks younger than me is a boy or girl and older are women and men.

In many cases people get offended by called grown women "girls" (or females but that's a whole different topic) but if it's old gardaí or judges I'd say it's not meant offensively and is more of a generational thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Why is this acceptable?

#genderdiscriminatory

#scrapingthebarrellforwaystobeoffended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

This again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

My wife is 70 and will refer to 'meeting the girls for coffee' etc.

Don't go looking for offence where there is none to be found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

I've been triggered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

Interesting article on a related topic in today's Guardian:

From "Gone Girl" to "The Girl on the Train" to "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo", the author Emily St John Mandel has crunched the numbers on books with “girl” in their title and discovered that the girl is “significantly more likely to end up dead”, if the author of the book is male . . .

. . . Working with research assistants, Mandel analysed the 2,000-plus most popular books with “girl” or “girls” in the title on Goodreads, filtering out those books with 250 or fewer ratings, and removing cookbooks and books for children and young adults. She was left with 810 books.

Mandel discovered that the “girl” books were much more likely to be written by a female author – 79% of the titles were by women. But the “girl” of the title was also much more likely to be an adult than a child, with 65% of the “girls” actually women, 28% girls, and 7% “indeterminate”.

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2016/oct/31/what-happens-to-girls-in-book-titles-emily-st-john-mandel-data-analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

I've been triggered!

Quick lets run to our safe space!!

milehip wrote: »
    Quick lets run to our safe space!!

No... that's another one of my triggers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Depends on the context. We had an inspection in work last week and one of the group who was in his twenties called me and my boss, aged 39 and 56, good girls. It wasn't offensive but it was a bit weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

You can have a girlfriend of any age or boyfriend for that matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

I'm offended. :mad:

What was it again.

9or10 wrote: »
    I'm offended. :mad:

What was it again.

I'm offended that your offended!!!

I'm offended that you used poor grammar... it's you're!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

I always refer to girls as girls as girls till 18. Then they can buy drink, vote, watch porn and smoke legally. After 18 they are women.

Except my daughters. They are girls always.
    Because it is better to be a mother of girls than a mother of women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I'll be the one to say it.... Anyone who gets offended by being called a girl needs to get their priorities in check. Plenty worse to be called.

Sure how would a bunch of girls react to being called birds ;) for one example.
    Or a man referring to his girl as his moth....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

What about clothes shops that politely call the female section "ladies" but the male section gets the lesser title of "men"? Why not gentlemen? Is that sexist too?

Oh sorry, I forgot, you can't be sexist towards men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I asked the girls in my office this very question due to a similar thread and the unanimous concensus was that they preferred to be called girls than women/ladies/females. I would bet that, as usual, the vast majority do not care with only the terminally offended having an issue.

Boy, lad, mate, dude, bud, man, chief couldn't care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,895 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Why is this acceptable?

#genderdiscriminatory

Stop looking for something to be outraged about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

My favourite Beyonce lyrics are "Who run the world? Girls!".

As a proud sexist and misogynist, I enjoy these lyrics. It keeps women in their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

I'm just a white male privileged sexist racist **** who is at fault for every single problem in the world so my opinion doesn't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

No... that's another one of my triggers!

Actually your use of the phrase 'triggered' is a cultural appropriation so I'll kindly ask you to cease your micro aggressions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I'm offended that you used poor grammar... it's you're!!!

I'm offended that you are sock puppeting!!

Thought the Commander of the Atlantic Fleet had more class than that. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

My favourite Beyonce lyrics are "Who run the world? Girls!".

As a proud sexist and misogynist, I enjoy these lyrics. It keeps women in their place.

How will they cope.

A woman.
    A minority.
    Saying something that's a Trigger.

Brain explosion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

What would Hugh Mungus say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

dfeo wrote: »
    What about clothes shops that politely call the female section "ladies" but the male section gets the lesser title of "men"? Why not gentlemen? Is that sexist too?

Oh sorry, I forgot, you can't be sexist towards men.

Jeez, most clothes shops wouldn't dare call the women's section "ladies"! That means the clothes are for old women!

Anyway, I couldn't care less what you call me. I've been know to call a group of people (including women/girls) "lads" though so maybe I'm the weird one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

I'll be the one to say it.... Anyone who gets offended by being called a girl needs to get their priorities in check. Plenty worse to be called.

Sure how would a bunch of girls react to being called birds ;) for one example.
    Or a man referring to his girl as his moth....

if i was you id be more worried about getting your privilege in check! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭gw80

gizmo555 wrote: »
    Interesting article on a related topic in today's Guardian:

From "Gone Girl" to "The Girl on the Train" to "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo", the author Emily St John Mandel has crunched the numbers on books with “girl” in their title and discovered that the girl is “significantly more likely to end up dead”, if the author of the book is male . . .

. . . Working with research assistants, Mandel analysed the 2,000-plus most popular books with “girl” or “girls” in the title on Goodreads, filtering out those books with 250 or fewer ratings, and removing cookbooks and books for children and young adults. She was left with 810 books.

Mandel discovered that the “girl” books were much more likely to be written by a female author – 79% of the titles were by women. But the “girl” of the title was also much more likely to be an adult than a child, with 65% of the “girls” actually women, 28% girls, and 7% “indeterminate”.

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2016/oct/31/what-happens-to-girls-in-book-titles-emily-st-john-mandel-data-analysis
    Me thinks Emily and her team of researchers time would be better spent over in Calais sorting the men from the boy's or adults from the children if she fancies herself as an expert on the subject, instead of trawling through thousands of books looking for offence.

I'm offended that you are sock puppeting!!

Thought the Commander of the Atlantic Fleet had more class than that. :-(

Things have been tough since they took all my battleships away :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

I don't think this thread went the way the OP was expecting it to go.

This makes me happy.

Are you assuming my gender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

My almost 70 year old mother calls her former work mates (all 70 plus) "the girls from work" She briefly called them "the retirement group" but switched back. I think in their heads they are all still in their 20's!

So no I wouldn't be bothered in the slightest being called a girl, even when I am my mam's age :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

What age does it stop? Why is this acceptable?

That depends on who you are asking. I'm a female yet it was never acceptable to me to refer to a clutch of females as 'girls' since school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Another nonsense thread searching for a reason to be offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

Advbrd wrote: »
    Another nonsense thread searching for a reason to be offended.

You have quite high expectations for After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I always refer to girls as girls as girls till 18. Then they can buy drink, vote, watch porn and smoke legally. After 18 they are women.

Except my daughters. They are girls always.
    Because it is better to be a mother of girls than a mother of women.

But it's better again to be Mother of Dragons

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

lertsnim wrote: »
    Stop looking for something to be outraged about.

It must be exhausting, getting up in the morning knowing you will have no peace until someone has offended you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

I'm offended to have been left out of the group that has been offended.
    AH really needs a thread which is a safe space for people who have been triggered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I'm offended at the assumption on my gender. Who are you to decide I'm a woman or a girl :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭brickmauser

Give me a break
    Old women are called old girl by men.
    It is loving and affectionate.
    Men love women and care about them and call them girls.
    We love the femininity of women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,628 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Why is this acceptable?

#genderdiscriminatory

Sjw's not wanted in Ah.

This has to be a troll

I'm offended!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm 28, and usually get called girl. Sometimes someone call someone me a lady and I make strange with it, looking around for the lady before realising they meant me. It's usually a stranger that calls me a lady.