Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What's the weather like in your area 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,207 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The weather is a big enough burden, a wet year and winter 22 was early come and late to leave for many of us, it certainly doesn't help though having 3 parties in Govt with an ideological commitment against agriculture and Ministers that no longer seem interested in the job.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod note; please can we keep this thread something closer to the weather. If anyone else mentions Kate Middleton they will be banned.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Cold wet morning, turned into a dry day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Tileman

lovely dry bright morning turning into a wet day here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Westernview

20240329_141116.jpg

Fantastic day here in Mayo after a cool cloudy start. We need more of this.

shower of hailstones that would cut u in 2 a while ago. Was trying to get a few bales of silage that are inside a field. Had to abondon it after 1 bale.
    local dairy farmer going around to all local farmers to see if they would sell any grass on zero grazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Weather for early April looks horrendous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭older by the day

Highest electricity costs in Europe

5cent a litre rise on fuel on Monday, followed by three more rises this year.

The limerick man that was left dead an hour in the emergency room of limericks main hospital.

A pint going up ten cent.

Irish people living in tents, while our brightest young people are emigrating.

Teaching their transgender, non binary shiite to corrupt our young.

Don't start on the HATE SPEECH law.

The children's hospital, corks convention Centre,

Crime, garda resignations. Six Armed detectives searching for a 50 euro bike in a guards own home.

Drugs, bringing legalisation of soft drugs in the back door, again to damage our young

But in fairness that's not really to do with farming. So here goes

The constant fuucking blaming Irish agriculture for every thing imaginable.

Making it impossible for young people to live in rural Ireland. Building costs.

Levy on concrete.

State of local roads, that we use every day, while they sent northern Ireland 830 million to fix their own.

Sending their MEPS out to Europe to stab us in the back, any chance they get.

Funding NGOs, to attack farmers.

Micheal Martin is so useless that they have to constantly go back 20years to find something he did, as he did fuuck all since. Imagine he was minister of health that time and instead of sacking him. They made him leader

Costs costs costs, cost of living, cost of doing business, cost of education

Thay have a great country turned into a place I don't recognise.

Are you a foreigner or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

The 22 Tongan volcano dumped a huge amount of water into the upper atmosphere, one of the effects is its driving the atlantic surface temps towards unseen levels. Will be the rest of the decade to clear the elevated water vapour levels and weather to get back to normal?, fun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i think its getting fairly serioous now. hope were not heading into 2013 style crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭tanko

It didn’t take farmers long to forget the lessons of years like 2013. Every farmer should have enough fodder to feed all their cattle until May, if not then sell some stock and stop making the parasites who get rich at our expense even more well off.

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭older by the day

It's still early, it was October that fecked us up. Added an extra month's feed, then March, if it was dry enough to get a few hours a day.

October and mar/Apr are the most important months in soft ground.

Things ain't too bad yet, surprising what three dry days can do, this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I’m hearing that about 3 days for the last ten months. Problem is the wet days that follow the 3 dry days sets ya back about a month again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭1373

When it's pissing rain , is that what comes to mind for you . Not going to try answering all your points, but I'll start with the last , no I'm not a foreigner. As for electricity costs, I paid 21cent a unit last month which is cheaper than most of Europe so don't be fooled by newspaper headlines

You've gone completely off topic on your soapbox. Plenty of other threads for all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭green daries

Incorrect. I didn't drag the discussion off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,933 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nice morning. We're actually having a football game today, first of the year. Hopefully it wont be cancelled. At least the sun is out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭50HX

Hope the pitch holds up

Our closed so we are indoors last 3 weeks training.

Nice milder mornin here, shot of rain last night but not too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Whole week looking promising here so far

At this stage both the kids and the parents need a game. Blow off the cobwebs and get away from the farm for a while

very apt song on the radio now, things can only get better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

IIt Really sums up our luck .Tonga is about the opposite side of the world and it fecks our weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Great drying morning, odd shower of hail stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Silverdream

The weather we are getting seems to be constantly coming from the south rather than the west. This southerly weather also seems to have higher amounts of rainfall, it's not making ordinary sideways rainfall but we are getting these heavy downpours like you'd see at the end of a warm spell.

April is always going to be sunshine and showers, but ground has gotten so wet with these floods is we need a weeks dry weather just to get back to where we should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Nice enough day now here in the sw. Sunshine and a few showers.

The only thing to bear in mind is that it can change awful fast this time of the year.

A few days can turn things completely on its head , hopefully we'll have good weather soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Sprayed a field with gallop, hopefully get another few hours of dry weather

got some fertiliser spread. Had to change it as fevk all grass and ewes and lambs need to get out of shed. Was surprised how well the ground dried out today. Had to pick parts of dry fields but at least something is out and will hopefully grow.