Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rude people on Adverts

• 30-10-2016 3:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭

I have been trading on Adverts for the past 7 years. Back then the majority of people were very polite and friendly. Now everyone seems to be on their high horse. I got a seller comment on one of the ads I was watching “It is still available but I won't be giving it to you.”

You would post an offer no reply from seller but has been online for days.

Had a seller a while back who was a no show and left me negative feedback “time waster”.

Seriously this can’t be just me, can it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

It's not just you.

My colleagues / partner sees my laptop or tablet getting called a coont several times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

It's not just you.

My colleagues / partner sees my laptop or tablet getting called a coont several times a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Edups

Adverts is a ****ehouse gone. People coming and making offers then changing their mind at the meet up are worse than anyone. One lad bought an iPhone off me, we agreed 500, turned up and saw the smallest mark on the very top of the screen and said oh my wife won't like this, I give you 300

YOU MUST BE JOKING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Edups wrote: »
    Adverts is a ****ehouse gone. People coming and making offers then changing their mind at the meet up are worse than anyone. One lad bought an iPhone off me, we agreed 500, turned up and saw the smallest mark on the very top of the screen and said oh my wife won't like this, I give you 300

YOU MUST BE JOKING

To be fair, did you say it had a mark on it? I'd be pissed if it was meant to be mint, travelled to meet up and it had a mark on it.

People on the internet have short fuses as they aren't dealing with people face to face (same things happens with drivers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

YOU MUST BE JOKING

Will you take 200 for it?

Cash sale tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Cash sale tonight.

Is that for the phone or his missus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

stevek93 wrote: »
    “It is still available but I won't be giving it to you.”

The appropriate response to that is "Well I didn't want it anyway. HA! Fuck you. Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha, you piece of sh1t (ill give you €40 for it?) "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Is that for the phone or his missus?

Both. :D

astrofool wrote: »
    To be fair, did you say it had a mark on it? I'd be pissed if it was meant to be mint, travelled to meet up and it had a mark on it.

People on the internet have short fuses as they aren't dealing with people face to face (same things happens with drivers).

Yes. I said there are some very very minor light marks (the usual kind like) but he made it as though there was a giant gash through the screen. I'm not joking when I tell you he said to me "I'll have to get screen replacement" that's pure nonsense I tell ye what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I love the one where they say

I'll give you 50

No too low sorry.

I can get get it on amazon for 50

No you cant, post a link

No can't find it now

Then other people make offers and they leave messages underneath every post giving out and calling you every name under the sun and try ruin the add.

2 weeks later it's still not sold they come back.

I'll give you 50

**** OFF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

YOU MUST BE JOKING

Cash sale tonight.

If this sale fall through, swap for a '01 Focus?

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    I love the one where they say

I'll give you 50

No too low sorry.

I can get get it on amazon for 50

No you cant, post a link

No can't find it now

Then other people make offers and they leave messages underneath every post giving out and calling you every name under the sun and try ruin the add.

2 weeks later it's still not sold they come back.

I'll give you 50

**** OFF
    I love those ones. "Shure lyke I can get it at X retailer for dah" so go ****ing buy it there then pal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Yeah. I noticed the more... Well jerk-ish comments.
    Ah who knows, maybe it's just an Internet thing. Go over to any YouTube video and see the amount of as*holes commenting with absolute crap. Guess it's easier to be rude behind a keyboard than in real life.

Yeah. I noticed the more... Well jerk-ish comments.
    Ah who knows, maybe it's just an Internet thing. Go over to any YouTube video and see the amount of as*holes commenting with absolute crap. Guess it's easier to be rude behind a keyboard than in real life.

If adverts comments were anything like YouTube comments I'd be dead. I also love when some **** leaves neg feedback for no good reason and when you report it adverts tells you to talk to them... THEY LEFT UNREASONABLE FEEDBACK DO YOU GENUINELY THINK TALKING TO THEM IS GOING TO HELP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

If adverts comments were anything like YouTube comments I'd be dead. I also love when some **** leaves neg feedback for no good reason and when you report it adverts tells you to talk to them... THEY LEFT UNREASONABLE FEEDBACK DO YOU GENUINELY THINK TALKING TO THEM IS GOING TO HELP

It does actually. Most of the time when a transaction occurs feedback is based on a bit of confusion. Now I can't talk about adverts but I did happen to work for another well known e-commerce company. 25% of their customer support calls are sellers receiving negative feedback. Most are caused by misunderstandings. Someone buys something with a small scratch, it's either not mentioned or it's mentioned but doesn't have a photo of the scratch.

That's not to say that there aren't asshole buyers and sellers but most of the time negative feedback is because of a misunderstanding and can be resolved through communication.

The problem with any e-commerce site is getting rid of those assholes. If you allow buyers to leave anything without repercussions then sellers won't bother. If you allow sellers to leave negatives then they'll retaliate against any buyer who leaves a negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

I love those ones. "Shure lyke I can get it at X retailer for dah" so go ****ing buy it there then pal?

What about the idiots who are asking for more than the item is available for on Amazon NEW? It does not matter what you paid for it. It is used, has no warranty and IS available on Amazon for less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Advbrd wrote: »
    What about the idiots who are asking for more than the item is available for on Amazon NEW? It does not matter what you paid for it. It is used, has no warranty and IS available on Amazon for less.

That's a fair point but i was referring to something you cannot get but they bull**** and cant provide the link to show.

If its on amazon for cheaper or somewhere else then either buy it there and get your 12 month warranty and piece of mind or show me where and we can talk about price. Otherwise **** off

Advbrd wrote: »

So buy it on Amazon dude. When I post an advert I'm not price checking like. And lowball offers are usually the reason for inflated asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I texted someone with a query about an item on adverts and when i got back to them three days later it had sold. Since he didn't need my custom anymore he threw in an insult to my grammar in his text reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Since he didn't need my custom anymore he threw in an insult to my grammar in his text reply.

Seems perfectly reasonable. There's no need for spelling or grammar mistakes in a text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I've never had any bad experiences! I did offer asking price for a chest of drawers once after someone's lower offer was accepted a week before. I just assumed it fell through, but when the seller accepted my offer the original buyer came back and said they wanted it at the price they offered. The seller said you haven't responded to my mails all week so I'm selling it to PaNdapoo. The guy went mental saying he was going to report him to the Gards :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The last year it has taken a dip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

petrolcan wrote: »
    Seems perfectly reasonable. There's no need for spelling or grammar mistakes in a text.

In your opinion. Which seems awfully anal to me. FYI he was mistaken.
    There's no need to presume to correct anyone. Arrogance and bad manners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Bunch of saps on it.

Something for sale for €100. First offer - €10 today.

Seriously fcuk right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

In your opinion. Which seems awfully anal to me. FYI he was mistaken.
    There's no need to presume to correct anyone. Arrogance and bad manners

switch on your sarcasm radar please.....

Oh yeah sarcasm radar because I just can't get sarcasm without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Offer $1 for PM purposes.

That's a hugh mungus offer. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Oh yeah sarcasm radar because I just can't get sarcasm without one.

...needs a spoon of sugar, bitter rancor at best, sniff....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Too many reregs on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Buyer 1: "Offer €50"

Me: "No thanks"

Buyer 2: "Offer €40"

Buyer 1: "Offer €50"

Me: "No thanks"

Buyer 2: "Offer €40"

"Shure you've had it up for 5 minutes now like I'm a genuine buyer why not"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

mfceiling wrote: »
    Bunch of saps on it.

Something for sale for €100. First offer - €10 today.

Seriously fcuk right off.

I'll pay the asking price but Ulster have to keep their coaching ticket for 3 more years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Ah Christ didn't think I was that outside of the box with my reply to the 1st post.

I sell about 50 items a week through adverts, so invariably I deal with about 200 rude/off the wall nutters offering half a packet crisps and a tenner to my ads.

Therefore, I spend most of my day saying the word "coont" into the screen !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Chap made a comment saying he could get my item for less at CEX. Then went onto other ads with the same item posting the same comment. No offers from him.

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Chap made a comment saying he could get my item for less at CEX. Then went onto other ads with the same item posting the same comment. No offers from him.

It's fairly typical tbh. I don't understand why that's not against the rules, they clearly have no intent to buy they're just trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

I always try price my stuff reasonably, I skim through ads selling the same item and come up with a common price.

I was only selling the item 3 euro over the CEX price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Best comment I got on adverts was when I replied to a guy inquiring about my ad. I said "sorry provisionally sold"
    He came back with "Provisionally sold? This is adverts pal. It's not sold, provisionally or otherwise until you are on the plane to lanzarote, sipping your cocktail! - Best of luck anyway Buddy!"

He was right, it didn't sell!

Adverts is a shítshow, only suitable for selling fairly low value items. And even then it's not great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ah Christ didn't think I was that outside of the box with my reply to the 1st post.

I sell about 50 items a week through adverts, so invariably I deal with about 200 rude/off the wall nutters offering half a packet crisps and a tenner to my ads.

Therefore, I spend most of my day saying the word "coont" into the screen !

50 items a week?
    Good going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Shame they monitised it. Now mods will not criticize posters for fear of losing user base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I met a really nice bloke on that site who went out of his way to get a gig ticket for me and also met some lovely people after buying reasonably priced concert tickets from them. Never had an issue. From the replies in this thread maybe if ye calmed down a bit you wouldn't be getting grief.

Can't remember what I was selling but a lad offered to swap me 10 broken mobile phones.
    I asked him why I would want 10 broken phones he said "there not broken, they just need to be fixed"

Never again, i had some nutter scream blue murder cause i wouldnt accept her poxy Euro after accepting a previous E1 to PM.

ON a E150 item! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Satriale wrote: »
    Never again, i had some nutter scream blue murder cause i wouldnt accept her poxy Euro after accepting a previous E1 to PM.

ON a E150 item! :D

I actually don't mind that - if they start any she ite you can just ignore them or tell them where to get off. I'll screenshot the €1 to PM first though. When I've done it myself I've made realistic offers though (€3 grand in one case and a grand in another) just so the seller will know that I'm genuine.

I find the biggest PITA to be "No Swaps" and the very first offer will be a swap offer. READ THE AD AGAIN !!!!!

I actually don't mind that - if they start any she ite you can just ignore them or tell them where to get off. I'll screenshot the €1 to PM first though. When I've done it myself I've made realistic offers though (€3 grand in one case and a grand in another) just so the seller will know that I'm genuine.

I find the biggest PITA to be "No Swaps" and the very first offer will be a swap offer. READ THE AD AGAIN !!!!!

Arguing with one psycho shags the flow of the ad though. And it was an item i had multiples of so it fcukin ruined it. I think i just closed it and started again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I sold a fairly knackered laptop years ago for €100. It was old and slow but probably worth more than what I was asking so there was plenty of interest, I just wanted rid of it quick.

It didn't take long to get an offer of €100, and then further offers of the same in case the sale fell through. I pm the potential buyer who replies in broken English stating that he didn't think €100 was a fair price and hoped we could come to "some deal". I told him I had plenty of others interested at that price and basically told him to **** off. Of course by that point he was all apologies and more than happy to pay the price he'd agreed to in the first place. The mind boggles with the mentality of some of the people on there. I happily and easily sold the item to someone else.

If I think someone is wasting my time with a sale then I'll just stop dealing with them. That could be construed as rude by some but there are so many idiots on there it's the only way I can use the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I once put a ad up for swaps at a price of 1 euro, someone offered me the 1 euro told me if I didnt sell it to him for that price he would report me to adverts for false information :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I've had some mind-melting experiences on adverts over the years. You just have to learn to ignore the idiots, though it's hard to resist sometimes.

The swap thing is a joke - I wouldn't mind so much if there were solid offers but the actual tat people offer is just unreal. Selling a gaming laptop, someone inevitably comes along 'Swap for all my ads'.

Check the ads out, simply out of morbid fascination - an old ps2, a broken bike, stamp collection, a PC that would struggle with Chip's Challenge, a torch and god knows what else.

Once I was selling a brand new, sealed in the box phone, agreed a price of 100 (150 new) and the guys up and says "not what I was expecting, best I can do is 50" and the arrogant prick actually got shirty with me when I told him to cop on. :confused:

And don't get me started on the low ballers. You've something for sale for a tenner, and some bell-end comes along and says "offer 3 inc. postage to the outer rings of Saturn".

I had one guy threaten to call the Gardai because the PC I sold him for €200 wasn't able to play the latest 2016 titles.

I had another moron turn up for a €200 agreed item and angrily tell me "I'll give ya 100 cash in hand today, you'd be a fool not to take it".

Another person wanted to know could I take a cheque while another thought it was only fair that he take the item now and 'drop the money to me later when I know it's working'.

Best thing I ever saw was an ad where a guy was selling a Gaming PC, and some young lad was commenting on it with utter rubbish, and it turned out that they'd previously done a deal on something minor like a game or something. The young lad said "I know where ya live and I'm gonna call up and stab ya to death"

People were telling him to contact the gardai and have your man reported, but the seller actually said "No way, I hope he actually turns up so I can beat the **** out of him".

Adverts, great craic on good days but a purge is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Satriale wrote: »
    Arguing with one psycho shags the flow of the ad though. And it was an item i had multiples of so it fcukin ruined it. I think i just closed it and started again.

This...

It should be possible as a seller to delete all the shyte and timewasting that inevitably goes on. Otherwise the ad/thread just ends up a complete mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

The cnuts who make offers below your set minimum offers price. There is a special place in hell reserved for those monkeys.

I usually set a price for an item (€100.00 for example) and then a minimum offer price (say €90.00). Any offers below this figure will be automatically rejected and not get posted on the advert.

Yet there are people out there who will repeatedly type in different figures until they find the minimum offer price, offer that amount but then in he comments sections write something utter ridiculous like "Offer is €3.50 and a pair of socks".

Why fcuking bother doing that if you know that I'm not interested in offers below €90.00? Its really, really hard not to be rude when replying to them....