Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are female SUV drivers the most territorial drivers on Irish roads?

• 28-10-2016 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

They drive as if they own the freaking road. They will NEVER EVER let somebody from an adjacent lane in front of them. They usually never indicate and their territorial style of parking is atrocious. Their demeanor behind the wheel ain't too pleasant either.

David Attenborough travels thousands of miles to the savannas of Africa to watch female lionesses, he should come to Ireland to watch the urban Irish female SUV driver in action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

They don't even need the road.
    They could go cross country in the 4WD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

What really annoys me is that many of them actually pay feck all motor tax, thanks to our crazy and unfair motor tax system, than me in my "death trap" "polar bear killing" pre '08 modest hatchback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Women NEVER let you out full stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

As a driver of the female variety I agree! They never acknowledge you either when you let them out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,958 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Ahh they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Ted111 wrote: »

No, they are for parking up on footpaths and traffic islands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Yeah odd the feeling of safety when ploughing through the side of a small car killing everyone inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Colora-d-ooooooooooooo!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭coffeepls

Ah now. Also am a female driver - I think all drivers of SUVs should be made do their driving test again. Bloddy great trucks of cars. Big lump of metal. I hate them nearly as much as I hate white vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

jetsonx wrote: »

Well I was talking to one of them and she said that Irish men are like cars. They always pull out before looking to see if anyone else is coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

They drive as if they own the freaking road. They will NEVER EVER let somebody from an adjacent lane in front of them. They usually never indicate and their territorial style of parking is atrocious. Their demeanor behind the wheel ain't too pleasant either.

David Attenborough travels thousands of miles to the savannas of Africa to watch female lionesses, he should come to Ireland to watch the urban Irish female SUV driver in action.

I was cycling through a small regional town the other day and some sociopath in a POS qaushqui tried to overtake me on a road that was barely wide enough for cars to pass of both sides and then blasted her horn at me and screamed out the window that I "shouldn't be on the ****ing Road on that thing" so I stopped and sat there and let her calm down because traffic coming out of town was jus me and her but traffic into town was a tailback.

She eventually apologised and admitted she was in the wrong and I let her off to watch expose or Ireland am or whatever the feck was so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What really annoys me is that many of them actually pay feck all motor tax, thanks to our crazy and unfair motor tax system, than me in my "death trap" "polar bear killing" pre '08 modest hatchback.

That's not true actually

Luxury SUVs cost 2k a year to tax regardless of emissions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Careful now.

Somebody will be along shortly with the extremely biased stat of "women are safer drivers"

Wait for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭CyrilFiggis

It's all SUV drivers. They're the worst drivers on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

lawred2 wrote: »
    That's not true actually

Actually I might be well wrong on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I thought it was BMW drivers of either sex that did all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Followed by Audi drivers. Which is weird for me to admit because I drive an Audi but I notice it from arseholes in A4s all the time.

Ted111 wrote: »

The vast majority of them are 2WD, they're too miserable to pay for the extra safety.

... or whatever the feck was so important.

Collect the child from the school she can probably see from her house. Give her one little child a lift home in her massive truck car, of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

SUV = Huge auto-penis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

But that's not as fun as saying it's just women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

No way. No self respecting male BMW 5 series driver would put up with that heinous insult. The road belongs to them. Everyone else, including female SUV drivers, are only barely tolerated guests who should be happy to be allowed drive at all, and never impede a BMW driver.
    This is surely more than just general impression. Is anyone aware of any serious study into the psychology of BMW drivers, and why they think they are superior people to the rest of humanity ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

They always give you that what were you doing on the road in the first place sour look when you pull in for them...Jesus it wouldn't kill them to raise a hand

BMW drivers are a dying breed these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I drove a Honda CRV for 6 years and my behaviour when driving was always impeccable:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Followed by Audi drivers. Which is weird for me to admit because I drive an Audi but I notice it from arseholes in A4s all the time.

Wasn't always so.

Every single one of them who cannot manage the task of parking their superfluous heap of shíte in a single car space should be clamped. It's infuriating to see these incompetents take up two car spaces in packed car parks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Canyonerooooooooo, canyonero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

My missus drives one,not one of the pretend ones that are everywhere these days thanks to PCP finance but a big,real 4wd. She can actually park it better than the hatchback she used to drive.
    It's the women with the inflated egos and sense of entitlement driving SUVs that are the problem. They'd barely give way to an ambulance let alone anyone else on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I have a relative who works for the ambulance service. They say that the worst drivers to be behind are old people, especially old men. They just don't give a fcuk who's behind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I regularly come across awful/ignorant drivers of both genders. About equal where it comes to inconsiderate parkers too. The car make and model doesn't seem to matter a jot, either.

But hey, it's AH so....women....get back in yer Micras where ye belong and leave the big cars to the men!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Another thing I see a lot of these days is girl racers in things like hatchbacks and BMW 3 series/Merc C classes. But I'd have to agree - women never let you out, never acknowledge when you wave them on, are generally oblivious to anything not directly in front of them, and absolutely terrible at parking .. especially if it's an oversized mammy wagon.*

*some of this may be generalised..but not by much!

Every single one of them who cannot manage the task of parking their superfluous heap of shíte in a single car space should be clamped. It's infuriating to see these incompetents take up two car spaces in packed car parks.

Plenty of male motorists also park badly. Some, male and female, do it on purpose to stop getting their cars damaged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭d2ww

Am I the only one who lets out a silent groan, whenever a Yaris pulls out in front of me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

The worst, road hogging, rules of the road ignoring, 'entitled' drivers I've ever come across are in west Dublin.

Man or woman they'll run you off the road, pull out of side roads within feet of you, shout and roar and give you the finger while forcing you into the kerb to pass a parked car on their side, drive into yellow boxes, park on footpaths, cut right over into your space at junctions, stay as close to the left hand kerb when turning right at junctions and generally behave like **** at all times. Absolute scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

lawred2 wrote: »
    That's not true actually

Only the ones over 3000cc pre 08 and the ones over 230g or so emissions post 08. Same rules as any other non commercial vehicle.

Vast majority of the german 3 litre diesel stuff mike X5 tourag Q7 atm are sub 1k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

The worst are women absolutely flying around in the Quasqui or Hyundai Tucson or whatever is the style along narrow one car roads and give out hell to you when they have to reverse back.

Like for example, during the summer I met a woman in a Santa Fe who could barely see over the steering wheel flying along a narrow road on a blind corner. I stopped immediately but she went a small bit up on the ditch and nearly hit my wheel. She got out roaring that she would sue me and to get out of the way. "Bitch I won't reverse for you now matter how much you shout at me, your child is crying cause of your driving and my tractor will run over you if you don't reverse" The worse part is she was right next to a gate but wouldn't move back two feet. The puss on her face when she attempted to reverse was worth it though.

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

I was cycling through a small regional town the other day and some sociopath in a POS qaushqui tried to overtake me on a road that was barely wide enough for cars to pass of both sides and then blasted her horn at me and screamed out the window that I "shouldn't be on the ****ing Road on that thing" so I stopped and sat there and let her calm down because traffic coming out of town was jus me and her but traffic into town was a tailback.

She eventually apologised and admitted she was in the wrong and I let her off to watch expose or Ireland am or whatever the feck was so important.

Fcukin soccer moms with rich husbands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Grayson wrote: »
    I have a relative who works for the ambulance service. They say that the worst drivers to be behind are old people, especially old men. They just don't give a fcuk who's behind them.

Have to agree. They have 0 awareness or consciousness of the road around them.
    I find young women awful as well, particularly for tailgating when it's pretty obvious there's a stream of traffic already in front of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Horsebox drivers and school bus drivers are some of the worst in my experience. Part timers, not professional drivers, may have got their truck/bus licence without doing a test for it. Yet driving large vehicles, often on narrow country roads. Often with mobile phone to ear.

With horsebox drivers their priority is their precious horse, not other road users. They will straightline bends, cut across junctions and straddle white lines to give the horse a smoother ride, problem is that this results in other road users having to take evasive action. Also prone to driving very slowly on main roads, not pulling in and causing huge tailbacks.

School bus drivers are as bad. I've had several scary incidents with them on narrow roads caused by them driving far too fast for the width of the road/their vehicle and not slowing down when meeting traffic. Basically running other road users into the verge. Also, stopping on blind bends and pulling away from bus stops on main roads without giving way to other road users. Finish loading, stick out the indicator and pull out simultaneously and f*ck anyone else who might be affected by that.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I find that many SUV drivers are pretty ignorant, male or female. But it does seem that women are less likely to acknowledge you when you let them out at a junction - particularly younger women. I think it's down to a sense of entitlement.

I loathe SUVs - largely ungainly, ugly lumps of steel. If you have the dosh why not buy a sleek sports car? They are also atrocious in environment terms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

zerks wrote: »
    My missus drives one,not one of the pretend ones that are everywhere these days thanks to PCP finance but a big,real 4wd. She can actually park it better than the hatchback she used to drive.
    It's the women with the inflated egos and sense of entitlement driving SUVs that are the problem. They'd barely give way to an ambulance let alone anyone else on the road.

Right.

Your wife has a Boards a/c?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

What about the BMW driver enquiring about upgrading the car to a 162.

"Sir, this car is top of the range, it has all the modern features. Cruise control, heated seats, power steering, self cancelling indicators, automatic transmission, you name it..."

Wait.... self cancelling what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Majority of female SUV drivers have no spatial awareness whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Sunglasses on the head, kids in the back.

The Doctor or Solicitor's wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Men or women, once they're in those glorified Jeeps they go homicidal. Try cycling near them - they can't see you, and they don't want to. And don't expect any courteous little flash of the hazards when you indicate them through!

My most guardian-angel cycling experience was when I was cycling slowly straight across a bridge on the Grand Canal with the green light, at a place where it would be illegal for a car to turn across me. A suicide blonde came raging through, cigarette on one hand, phone glued to her ear, and leaned out and screamed at me "GET OFF THE ROAD!!!" and blared her horn as she skimmed my front wheel with an inch to spare, making her illegal turn.

Which is why tax, insurance and the cost of the NCT should all be put onto fuel; you should pay your tax at the petrol pump.
    Well I was talking to one of them and she said that Irish men are like cars. They always pull out before looking to see if anyone else is coming.

HAHAHAHAHA! You made me spit out my tea laughing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Tax should be based on weight and size of the vehicle, that way those who cause most road wear pay more for its maintenance.
    But if course motor tax doesn't actually pay for upkeep of the roads here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I find that many SUV drivers are pretty ignorant, male or female. But it does seem that women are less likely to acknowledge you when you let them out at a junction - particularly younger women. I think it's down to a sense of entitlement.

I loathe SUVs - largely ungainly, ugly lumps of steel. If you have the dosh why not buy a sleek sports car? They are also atrocious in environment terms.

A lifetime of having doors opened for them and other menial tasks will do that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

But most are bought on pcp which will mean when the surprise baloon payment comes up their suv will be for sale in the local garage after they paying the value of it over 3 years :)