Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mass

• 26-10-2016 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.facebook.com/events/1803684463203226/?ti=cl

Bit early for me of a Sunday but sure.

Anyway, what the **** is this all about!? Place is going nuts over it.

I see even JP II posted from above
    None of you used to come to my Masses you scauldy ****s. There used to be loads more drugs as well. **** this.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yeah, I noticed this too. A couple of Facebook friends were posting things up waxing lyrical about going to mass.

Fine - whatever you're into but not for me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Oh god there is some funny sh!t on that Mass group! Its seriously gone viral! Has entertained me for the night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

Pictures of jesus on the cross as memes, christianitys run in Ireland has truly come to an end.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'd hazard a guess that it started from the 8 masses thing that Anthony Foley's son started a page for on Facebook. Either that or it's RTE's latest attempt to win the ratings war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Well, someone has to say it, but.....

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Without a doubt the best thing I've ever seen on Facebook. I'm in knots all evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Can I have a front row seat lads? I won't see **** all at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

It's a clever marketing strategy by some PR company to attract people back to the church even if the new flock are only there in some kind of 'ironic' way.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

hefferboi wrote: »
    Without a doubt the best thing I've ever seen on Facebook. I'm in knots all evening.

Really? With all the funny pictures of cats and sad pictures of dead children in the mediterranian this is what gets to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Probably the best way to weed out those going to the cup final from those not going to the league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Really? With all the funny pictures of cats and sad pictures of dead children in the mediterranian this is what gets to you?

Good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Whats mass all about >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Sparks43

No bloody not attending option :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Whats mass all about >
    Heavy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It'll be some craic when the census shows a massive drop to an 80% catholic majority

Oh, how we laughed

Are things like Christenings, Marriages and Funerals still counted?

People are all talk, but when it comes to it; too afraid to tell their mammies not to fill the form in for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's at mass as a young fella that I first learned how to yawn to excess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My walls on fire with it

Some of them are hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

BabyE wrote: »
    Pictures of jesus on the cross as memes, christianitys run in Ireland has truly come to an end.

That famous Larry Dunne quote came into my head when I read this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

People are all talk, but when it comes to it; too afraid to tell their mammies not to fill the form in for them.

Speak for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Speak for yourself.

I do.

Good luck with a load of retards speaking for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Mumm_ra

Probably being asked before but here goes - why is it if you do not believe in something is it seen as weak to go with the flow. If you don't believe it - it has no real relevance in your life. Let your child be included in a school that you want them to go to - have a celebration (jump the bandwagon - and let your child be inclusive) for religious stuff. Who cares? People don't believe in it but it is a rite of passage. If you believe religion is rubbish then why let it bother you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Mumm_ra wrote: »
    If you believe religion is rubbish then why let it bother you?

That would be an ecumenical matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

It's had me in stitches since last night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Probably being asked before but here goes - why is it if you do not believe in something is it seen as weak to go with the flow. If you don't believe it - it has no real relevance in your life. Let your child be included in a school that you want them to go to - have a celebration (jump the bandwagon - and let your child be inclusive) for religious stuff. Who cares? People don't believe in it but it is a rite of passage. If you believe religion is rubbish then why let it bother you?
    Because by 'jumping the bandwagon' you're helping propagate the continued existence of a fraudulent, harmful institution as moral dry rot on the walls of our society. They've got really odd, specific beliefs and if I had kids I would rather not indoctrinate them just because there's a decent piss up afterwards, if I could help it. You're talking about the Roman catholic church. Not Wii and pizza night down the O'Sullivans gaf.

Anyway this is potentially the best viral in Irish history. I was getting bored of the same old Fr. Ted memes being posted then Michael D. and Tupac accounts started showing up. The church of this country condensed into a trivial collection of memes. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Until every reference to religion is removed from our constitution and it has no place or control of our schools it very much has relevance to my life and especially to the lives of any children I may choose to have unless I can get them into an ET school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is there anything at all to be said for more tea and Gay Cake, Father??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I think members from the A&A thread come to these AH threads to touch themselves to the posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It had a good run of being funny for about 20 minutes, now it's gone past tedious.
    Fake accounts being set up and all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

It'll be some craic when the census shows a massive drop to an 80% catholic majority

Oh, how we laughed

Are things like Christenings, Marriages and Funerals still counted?

What has this got to do with the Facebook thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

El Weirdo wrote: »
    What has this got to do with the Facebook thing?

God only knows! I'll ask him Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I was reading earlier that Tom Hiddlestone has no Mass. (Probably a Prod...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,803 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

BabyE wrote: »

Thanks be to jeebus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 yo soy carlos

its truly amazing how many assholes who hate the Catholic church deride it in such an offensive way,This merely shows the silent majority those that understand Judeo Christian culture that has made western society what it is while these bigots have given us the soviet union.North korea etc.If you don't like Mass or those of us who attend stick to your dialectical discussions of the next piss up you are having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

its truly amazing how many assholes who hate the Catholic church deride it in such an offensive way,This merely shows the silent majority those that understand Judeo Christian culture that has made western society what it is while these bigots have given us the soviet union.North korea etc.If you don't like Mass or those of us who attend stick to your dialectical discussions of the next piss up you are having.

thanks me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

.....the silent majority ......

Two out of three adults under the age of 50 had herpes simplex virus 1 - just cos it's common doesn't mean it's any good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,803 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Not very Christian of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I agree. The baby jesus is probably spinning in his unmarked grave over this.

It's like golddust for people who like craic and the bants and use words like bae. Not completely lame, the odd funny effort. But mostly lame.

They'll be back focussing on how to put "is drinking everything alcoholic" in their status updates by next week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Shouldnt you be using your energy on more productive things like asking your God why he keeps spending so much time doing evil **** to decent people when he could be doing good?

Though I'm sure theres an explanation as to what those kids have done wrong to be born with aids or in to a life of suffering through famine and whatnot.

The question I ask if the institution is so horrible why such interest? its truly extraordinary how the sheep follow each other thirty years ago they attacked anyone who didn't conform to the church whilst today their descendants(YOU) attack anything or anyone who declares themselves Catholic BAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Where was this "silent majority" last May?

BTW, no-one in this thread's called for Soviet/North Korea-style anti-religious repression yet.

Where was this "silent majority" last May?

BTW, no-one in this thread's called for Soviet/North Korea-style anti-religious repression yet.

May??????

No doubt you would get around to it if you got the chance!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

May??????
    I should have clarified, by "last May" I meant May 2015.
    No doubt you would get around to it if you got the chance!!!!!!!!!!
    Nah, if you knew anything about secularism you'd know that its supporters don't want the State to discriminate against any religion, as well as not wanting it to give preferential treatment to any religion either.

I should have clarified, by "last May" I meant May 2015.

Nah, if you knew anything about secularism you'd know that its supporters don't want the State to discriminate against any religion, as well as not wanting it to give preferential treatment to any religion either.

Lots of Catholics voted yes in 2015

Yoe are speaking Pope Francis language but he also says that we should not be abusive to other creeds or none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Lots of Catholics voted yes in 2015

Yoe are speaking Pope Francis language but he also says that we should not be abusive to other creeds or none.

And yet you called everyone who doesn't believe what you believe a bigot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I love being Catholic. Wine and judging people are my favourite things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Over 5k raised for Pieta House from posters on the page. Some good coming from it. Great to see.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Over 5k raised for Pieta House from posters on the page. Some good coming from it. Great to see.

Just when you thought they couldn't get any more right on and...of that Facebook generation, they throw a bone to charidee. The only surprise is that it's not something for the homeless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

An 11 year old boy requests people to attend 8 Masses and say a prayer for his deceased father and all who have died belonging to them.

Certain people felt oh no we can't have this, Ireland is a secular country.. Imagine some people might feel guilted into going to mass. Some might return to the catholic faith and children will be indoctrinated. Shock, horror! And imagine that hideous institution, the Catholic Church, will see their financial collections soar! The bishop of Limerick spoke in favour of Tony Foley's wishes. Who gave him a right to speak! Other's said it was a well known fact that Anthony Foley himself would have preferred investment in a rugby scholarship.

One of these people who feared what the 11 year old boy could do to the New Ireland decided to reinvigorate a facebook 'mass event' account by setting up a mass event for this Sunday.

Cue 'hilarious' posts, bants, craic from mostly generation facebook teenagers. Kids who have a lot of living to do. Fr. Ted memes and quotes done to death, but in fairness, with some funny ones thrown in. A lot were so offensive to Catholics but hey don't mind them or their beliefs just whack them down with clerical paedophile jokes. Call them 'oul wans' never mind a lot of them have lived through life and what it throws at you. Never mind that a lot of Catholics are abhorred by the crimes and cover ups of the church but still choose to believe in the message of Jesus Christ. Presume they all voted against gay marriage too.

Then one guy decides to link a donation to Pieta House. Ah shur it kinda takes the harm out of anything said and we're doing our bit for mental health. The cause celebré of the decade.

The irony being that since young people have nothing left to believe in suicide rates are soaring. But facebook is a land of illusion, more so than the catholic religion being scorned. All these kids 'never laughed so much in their lives' than when they read through the facebook banter. They liked and shared to their hearts' content. Some said it made them so proud to be Irish. How pathetically boring and sad it all is. But at the end of the day they're what american's would term 'whistling in the dark'. Trying to amuse themselves when they're struggling with fear and confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Facebook disabled my profile due to a post I made in the mass event with a page called ISIS.

Post - Is this still going ahead? Need to book flights..

Facebook is the worst.

The Onion described them best: http://www.theonion.com/article/horrible-facebook-algorithm-accident-results-expos-53841