Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cool Irish Traditions that just won't die

• 26-10-2016 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭

Eating baby sheep.

Eating coagulated pigs blood.

Taking in strangers for dinner (happened to me, done it too!)

Story telling.

Halloween.

Pubs.

Talking about the weather (obsessing)

Gaelic games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

This is going well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

The Irish Mammy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

People being nice

Wakes.

English/Irish... but sure, I'm struggling here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

The taco chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

That wave that country people do when you pass them in a car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Eating baby sheep.

Eating coagulated pigs blood.

Taking in strangers for dinner (happened to me, done it too!)

Story telling.

Halloween.

Pubs.

Talking about the weather (obsessing)

Gaelic games.

Only Gaelic games is exclusively Irish in that list.

Supporting your local soccer team, like Celtic, Liverpool & Man United

See Asia.

See Asia.

Yes, I must do before my days are done

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Maidens dancing at crossroads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

drowning the shamrock

Only Gaelic games is exclusively Irish in that list.

I know, but it's just a bit of fun Dr. and the others are fairly Irish, not exclusively, but Irish enough.

Any suggestions from yourself? Splitting hairs maybe, being pedantic? Actually, no, come up with something cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The traditional lack of imagination or originality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Tatyo

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Using the word "cunt" as a term of endearment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Any cool Irish traditions that I can think of are more or less obsolete already :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

RayM wrote: »
    Using the word "cunt" as a term of endearment.

Or any insult really.
    Met one of the lads on Saturday night, he just said hi..

I was all dfaq is wrong with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

A piss up for absolutely every occasion with a special mention going towards the wake before a funeral. Some of the maddest drinking sessions I've been on are family wakes down the country. And the afters of a funeral actually come to think of it.

Speak for yourself and yours Cain Mango Grommet, because in my world Oscar Wilde, Paul Heuston, James Joyce, Thomas Moore, Samuel Becket, Brendan Behan, G.B. Shaw, John M Sygne, Sean O'Casey, Donal Lunny, Mary Robinson, Roddy Doyle, John B Keane, Brian Friel, Shane McGowan, Hugh Leonard, Colm Tóibín, Christina Noble, Joseph O'Connor, Peter Sheridon, Seamus Heaney, Meave Binchy, Patrick Swift, Gabriel Byrne, Nell McAfferty, Orla Kiely, Philp Treacy, Eileen Grey, Paul Costello, J.B.Yeates, Francis Beaufort, Paul Henry, Rory Gallagher, Liam Neeson, Sarah Purser, Louis le Brocquy, Sinead O'Connor, John McCormack, Bob Geldof, Patrick Scott, Van Morrison, Francis Bacon, Robert Ballagh, Mary Battersby, John Behan, Pauline Bewick, Francis Bindon, Edwin Hayes, Oisín Kelly, Tony O'Mally, Séan O'Sullivan, Hugh Lane and Phill Lynott have all had an impact in the real world with their creativity, imagination and originality.

That's the tip of the iceberg. ;) PM me if you want to find out more and enlighten yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Or any insult really.
    Met one of the lads on Saturday night, he just said hi..

I was all dfaq is wrong with you?

Chatting to a US girl. Apparently they don't say "**** off!" if someone says something unbelievable. It took her a while to get used to.
    !
    (I'm fully expecting someone to reply with "Fcuk off!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Irish begrudgery will never die.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Irish begrudgery will never die.

Indeed, maybe we should post that in the "Cringeworthy irish traditions that won't just die" thread.

Knuckle headed begrudgery towards anyone that's done anything good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

The fecking traditional music like, you know, fiddles, concertinas, uilleann pipes, bodhrans, boxes, bones etc. There's a lot of fans of this, so a popular traditional culture.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Fierce mild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

'My God look at that rain!'

I love this. We're living in a rainy country but when it lashes the rain people seem surprised by it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Halloween.

Whatever about the other stuff, I refuse to accept that Halloween is cool. It's a complete pain in the bollix and I'm looking forward to Tuesday when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Evidently the tradition of thinking we're cool.

Zaph wrote: »
    Whatever about the other stuff, I refuse to accept that Halloween is cool. It's a complete pain in the bollix and I'm looking forward to Tuesday when it's all over.

I presume you're a grown man. How do you even notice it?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I presume you're a grown man. How do you even notice it?

Neighbours houses covered in decorations and displays in every bloody shop I go into for weeks. I've a pain in my arse looking at pumpkins. And that's before every little brat in the area starts annoying people calling from door to door while the older scrotes set fire to anything they can get their hands on.

This must be awful for you. Have you considered blinkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭the14thwarrior

bringing your own food to most anything
    bringing your own drink to most anything
    having a picnic most anywhere, in any weather

throwing confetti and not rice at a wedding (might be outdated now)

hanging clothes out in windy, cold weather and saying its a great drying day.

saying happy halloween instead of trick or treat. please don't lose this one, trick or treat is too naff and americanised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Speak for yourself and yours Srameen, because in my world Oscar Wilde, Paul Heuston, James Joyce, Thomas Moore, Samuel Becket, Brendan Behan, G.B. Shaw, John M Sygne, Sean O'Casey, Donal Lunny, Mary Robinson, Roddy Doyle, John B Keane, Brian Friel, Shane McGowan, Hugh Leonard, Colm Tóibín, Christina Noble, Joseph O'Connor, Peter Sheridon, Seamus Heaney, Meave Binchy, Patrick Swift, Gabriel Byrne, Nell McAfferty, Orla Kiely, Philp Treacy, Eileen Grey, Paul Costello, J.B.Yeates, Francis Beaufort, Paul Henry, Rory Gallagher, Liam Neeson, Sarah Purser, Louis le Brocquy, Sinead O'Connor, John McCormack, Bob Geldof, Patrick Scott, Van Morrison, Francis Bacon, Robert Ballagh, Mary Battersby, John Behan, Pauline Bewick, Francis Bindon, Edwin Hayes, Oisín Kelly, Tony O'Mally, Séan O'Sullivan, Hugh Lane and Phill Lynott have all had an impact in the real world with their creativity, imagination and originality.

That's the tip of the iceberg. ;) PM me if you want to find out more and enlighten yourself.

I'm surprised you left out Bram Stoker seeing as pretty much every vampire theme literature and film draws on the product of his own imagination.
    Quite a lot of useful stuff has been born of the Irish imagination, from the submarine to the beaufort scale to groundbreaking medical treatment. It kinda makes me sad to see comments that run the Irish down like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 drisx2

**** yourself.., say nothing and keep drinking..

Using the word Bollix

Also acceptable versions include bolleeks (North inner city Dublin) and Bollachs (South urban Dublin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Spice bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Using the word Bollix

So much to, that Colm Meaney got away with it on Star Trek as Americans didn't know what it meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Tornaxx

Not exactly a tradition but: Hiberno-English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Using the word Bollix

Also acceptable versions include bolleeks (North inner city Dublin) and Bollachs (South urban Dublin)

From the term "bollock knife" used for stabbing someone surprisingly enough in the bollix.

I'm off to the "things you just realised thread" :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Saying "sorry" instead of "excuse me." Feigning politeness by refusing the offer of food or tea until the host insists and then you finally relent. This is peculiarly Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Firesides being forums for the wisdom of serene old age; politicians who value material wealth only as a basis for right living…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Blessing yourself when passing a graveyard - just in case

Not looking into the mirror in the bathroom in the dark

Going through the lights on orange - always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Child abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Gay Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Every year we will watch a show where the host will abruptly interview kids !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Saying amn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Superficial froth and hot air being regarded as 'the friendliest nation on earth'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Big Joe Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Your Face wrote: »
    Child abuse.

Being edgy on an internet forum.

Though I think that's a relatively new tradition really.