Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pete Burns R.I.P

• 24-10-2016 5:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭

The 'Dead or Alive' singer has died . . . .

Massive cardiac arrest according to SKY news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

LordSutch wrote: »
    The 'Dead or Alive' singer has died . . . .

I guess the 'or Alive' part will be coming out then…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

2016😫

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

So, dead then?

Sorry.....too soon! He'll be spinning in his grave, right round baby, spinning right round.

Ah il get my coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

He wasn't a bad lad on the auld celeb big brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

He liked to dabble with the old plastic surgery, so this was his latest (and last) reincarnation, http://www.retecool.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/pete-burns-freak.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,351 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Sorry to hear this. He always struck me as very witty and clever, but obviously fighting his own demons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,632 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Gael23 wrote: »
    2016😫

Just stop.

Stop.

Stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

He wasn't a bad lad on the auld celeb big brother.

Ah here he tore strips off your wan from Baywatch for fun,and what about his 'gorrilla'. Coat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Very sad and all the smart remarks on here.Have a bit of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Baraics Pollox

LordSutch wrote: »
    He liked to dabble with the old plastic surgery, so this was his latest (and last) reincarnation, http://www.retecool.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/pete-burns-freak.jpg

Looks like a Furby in the second pic

Furby-1-630x486.jpg

A tortured soul by all accounts.

Sad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Rest in peace Pete Burns. Don't care about how he looked or acted he was a human being beneath it all. Another gone before their time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

At least we've heard of him unlike that rugby player...

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Any news on Beiber ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,805 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Just sad news to hear , as someone else said , a tortured soul.

R.I.P.

The poor guy. What terrible self image issues he must have had to put himself through all that surgery.

So we can remember him at his best:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Nyctolust

Sad to hear that. He always struck me as a witty character struggling with his own demons a fair bit but he was a good laugh. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That disastrous combination of a need for celebrity and really bad self-image issues. So many people just completely lose all sense of the world.

No doubt the surgeries were a big factor in his premature death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Who?

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭CFlat

rafatoni wrote: »
    Who?

Monty Burns long lost son. He use to party a lot so....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

milehip wrote: »
    Ah here he tore strips off your wan from Baywatch for fun,and what about his 'gorrilla'. Coat?

He was completely vile on BB. I couldn't stand him. I won't say I'm glad he's died, but he's certainly not one I'm sorry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

milehip wrote: »

Is that where he got the fur?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

quickbeam wrote: »
    He was completely vile on BB. I couldn't stand him. I won't say I'm glad he's died, but he's certainly not one I'm sorry about.
    Aye, wouldn't really be a corpsehouse on me either, might go to the funeral if it's a middling day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Ar dheis Bainne go raibh a anam Sharon Ni Bheoláin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,632 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Not a good human being.

Whatever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

dubstarr wrote: »
    It's odd how it's "OK" to pull the piss out of Pete Burns but if you tried it on, say, the Anthony Foley RIP thread you'd be permabanned in a nanosecond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

dubstarr wrote: »
    Did you know him well?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Did you know him well?
    I suppose everybody in the RIP thread for Anthony Foley (for example) was his best mate? I suppose you were demanding all their credentials there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭furiousox

First Pete Burns, now Bobby Vee.
    And Bieber is still here......

CPL 593H

I suppose everybody in the RIP thread for Anthony Foley (for example) was his best mate? I suppose you were demanding all their credentials there?

I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

learn_more wrote: »
    At least we've heard of him unlike that rugby player...

Horrible and unnecessary comment.

Sad to hear of Pete Burns death. You Spin Me Round is a crackin tune. May he Rest In Peace.

I suppose.
    You saw I used the same word twice in my post so you decided to repeat it. Without answering the question or addressing the point in any way.
    Slow. Hand. Clap.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Ar dheis Bainne go raibh a anam Sharon Ni Bheoláin.

The news reader on RTE? what about her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

His last comment on twitter was 'counting down the days '

You saw I used the same word twice in my post so you decided to repeat it. Without answering the question or addressing the point in any way.
    Slow. Hand. Clap.

Well, if you ask a stupid question what do you get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Don't think there's been many people as incongruously named and accented as Pete Burns, you'd picture an Alexei Saylesque Donkey Jacketed Docker in a Woolly Hat at a picket line! :confused:

You get your post right here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

That's a shock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

As a teen in the 80s I dabbled in his music or at least in the incarnation that was the band Dead or Alive. Originally discovering them with Thats the way (I like it) in '84. Once Stock Aitken and Waterman got their hands on them it took off and the brief musical career kicked in. While I spin you round was the biggie, I preferred In too deep myself. Anything after that tended to be meh. But Something in my house was a clever exception, because it sounded more or less like I spin you round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

he's up there now with Bobby Vee doing a duet no doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Banned if ye don't give it a rest.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Any news on Beiber ?

More sad news from the music industry, Justin Bieber was found alive in his apartment earlier today.

Looking at his recent pictures it doesn't look like they'll need to worry about embalming him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Not a good human being.

Whatever.

Did your mammy never tell you to keep your mouth shut if you've nothing good to say?

He's dead and even if it doesn't affect you it does affect his loved ones and fans. He wasn't loved or even liked by some but if you have nothing good to say or post, say nothing, post nothing. He had his battles in life like most of us do and just because he was well known it doesn't mean he was invincible. The plastic surgeons who performed procedure after procedure on him didn't care either. Easy money for them to get from someone who was never going to be happy with his appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

You'd wonder when cosmetic surgery crosses a line and surgeons become complicit in self-harm of emotionally unwell people for profit.

RIP.

You'd wonder when cosmetic surgery crosses a line and surgeons become complicit in self-harm of emotionally unwell people for profit.

RIP.

Just look at most celebrities who have gone too far with plastic surgery. Maybe one or two plastic surgeons turned them away but there's always one who won't because of the financial gain to their surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

KKkitty wrote: »
    there's always one who won't because of the financial gain to their surgery.

Which, in my opinion, amounts to the surgeon being complicit is the self-harming of a person with emotional issues. I wouldn't have a clue how that could be regulated though.