Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal trainer trying to sell me nutrition package.

• 23-10-2016 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭

Hey I'm starting a pt package tomorrow for 6 weeks of three sessions a week. I told him I wanted to lose inches and tone and obviously drop weight too but more so tighten up after having kids.so he's putting me on a weights program and asked about my diet. He said that if I don't eat more protein then il have to get a protein shake or supplements into me.
    At the moment I have no appetite since giving birth 5 months ago ,I can go until 2/3 pm without food,just living off coffees .then a small lunch of rice at work and whatever dinner is done at home.

Tomorrow for a week I'm going to have a breakfast everyday and 2lts of water,and make changes as I go .
    Should I base my diet on calories in vs calories out or should I look at a certain diet plan that will fuel my muscles. I need a plan that will give me lots of energy as I have a toddler and am doing night feeds with a baby and working and trying to do this too.

Any advice would be great before I pay this guy 200 Euro for a diet plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

My advice would be don't pay €200 for a diet plan. Calculate your TDEE and post it up here; google TDEE calculator it's free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭ja1986

jive wrote: »
    My advice would be don't pay €200 for a diet plan. Calculate your TDEE and post it up here; google TDEE calculator it's free.

Thank you.
    It's says my maintenance calories should be 2089 per day

ja1986 wrote: »
    Hey I'm starting a pt package tomorrow for 6 weeks of three sessions a week. I told him I wanted to lose inches and tone and obviously drop weight too but more so tighten up after having kids.so he's putting me on a weights program and asked about my diet. He said that if I don't eat more protein then il have to get a protein shake or supplements into me.
    At the moment I have no appetite since giving birth 5 months ago ,I can go until 2/3 pm without food,just living off coffees .then a small lunch of rice at work and whatever dinner is done at home.

Tomorrow for a week I'm going to have a breakfast everyday and 2lts of water,and make changes as I go .
    Should I base my diet on calories in vs calories out or should I look at a certain diet plan that will fuel my muscles. I need a plan that will give me lots of energy as I have a toddler and am doing night feeds with a baby and working and trying to do this too.

Any advice would be great before I pay this guy 200 Euro for a diet plan

As a PT of 15 years, I would never charge a client for a nutrition plan. It should be part of the service, especially with the cost of 3 sessions a week. He's fleecing you, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

whats your height weight and typical NOT predicted activity level

the fundamentals of nutrition need to be nailed first before throwing in protein shakes, plus addressing basics such as sleep

Hi I am 5'5 and 12.6lbs at the moment. Sleep isn't great ,I go down at 10,10.30 but am up at 4am for an hour for a night feed and up at 7am again. I have a waitressing job four days a week for about 20 I'm on my feet walking around.that would be the only exercise I'm getting at the moment.

I have lost 3 stone in the 5months after giving birth but need to start toning now before getting loose skin.

It's actually somebody that sees me 4 times over the 6 weeks to go through the diet plan with me for the 200euro. Apparently he makes a plan of anything I want within my calories I'm allowed. So it's separate from the personal training,sorry if that wasn't clear. I thought then I could just Google what he was going to tell me.

Anyway I'm up now and I have 2 boiled eggs on and having a coffee with a sweetener instead of 2sugar.

Hi I am 5'5 and 12.6lbs at the moment. Sleep isn't great ,I go down at 10,10.30 but am up at 4am for an hour for a night feed and up at 7am again. I have a waitressing job four days a week for about 20 I'm on my feet walking around.that would be the only exercise I'm getting at the moment.

I have lost 3 stone in the 5months after giving birth but need to start toning now before getting loose skin.

It's actually somebody that sees me 4 times over the 6 weeks to go through the diet plan with me for the 200euro. Apparently he makes a plan of anything I want within my calories I'm allowed. So it's separate from the personal training,sorry if that wasn't clear. I thought then I could just Google what he was going to tell me.

Anyway I'm up now and I have 2 boiled eggs on and having a coffee with a sweetener instead of 2sugar.
    id estimate calories on a deficit (meaning you want to drop body fat) to be 1,500-1,600 per day

that breaks down to (40% carbs,30% protein, 30% fat - 1,600cals) to be -
    160g carbs
    120g protein
    53g fat

start using myfitnesspal and then see how things match up.

There are a million and one recipe sites to give you ideas on what to cook

let us know how you get on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'd be surprised if you weren't losing weight on such a small intake. Especially when breastfeeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Mellor wrote:
    I'd be surprised if you weren't losing weight on such a small intake. Especially when breastfeeding

I'm surprised you're not falling apart, eating only that much and looking after 2 kids as well as the breastfeeding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I'm surprised you're not falling apart, eating only that much and looking after 2 kids as well as the breastfeeding.

When people say "I only eat..." and go on to explain how they can't lose weight, there's almost ALWAYS thousands of calories that just 'slip in' thru snacking or over eating at other meal times.

Paying €200 to have an expert tell you what to do isn't unreasonable.

Personal trainers are trainers.

You don't go to an accountant for legal advice, even though he could do a pretty good job at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Are you breastfeeding?
    If so your P T needs to be aware of your babies requiremts nutritionally.
    Is s/he medically qualified to advise you in this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Star_Nupa

Did you end up going with the PT in the end? I couldn't bring myself to pay someone for anything after looking for 200e for a f*cking diet plan! Chancer.

Star_Nupa wrote: »
    Did you end up going with the PT in the end? I couldn't bring myself to pay someone for anything after looking for 200e for a f*cking diet plan! Chancer.
    there are plenty of times its totally necessary for those that need the accountability and weekly check ins

Transform wrote: »
    there are plenty of times its totally necessary for those that need the accountability and weekly check ins

What I meant was, I'd look for another PT to train with and be accountable to as opposed to one who's trying to charge me an extortionate amount for a diet plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

I hope the sweetener is Stevia....anything else be careful.

Star_Nupa wrote: »
    What I meant was, I'd look for another PT to train with and be accountable to as opposed to one who's trying to charge me an extortionate amount for a diet plan.
    The PT wasn't charging them for a diet plan. They are going to the PT for 3xPT sessions were week.

The diet plan was from a different person, a nutritionist I'd guess. 4 visits over 6 weeks for 200. That's not in anyway extortionate imo (assuming visits are close to an hour).

Mellor wrote: »
    The PT wasn't charging them for a diet plan. They are going to the PT for 3xPT sessions were week.

The diet plan was from a different person, a nutritionist I'd guess. 4 visits over 6 weeks for 200. That's not in anyway extortionate imo (assuming visits are close to an hour).

Yeah. Nobody needs this from a 'nutrionist'. Especially not at that price and when it's free elsewhere...like the internet.

You could say the same thing about paying a doctor or electrician. All the info they studied is online too, somewhere.
    Finding info is easy. Understanding and implementing it is not always as easy for everyone.

Hey guys,don't know where I mentioned breastfeeding?!?! I stopped breastfeeding her at 10 weeks when I got diagnosed with postnatal depression,I was put on tablets to stabilize my moods but it stopped my appetite for a few weeks.then I noticed over those few weeks I wasn't losing weight either I think the tablets have a side effect of weight gain.

Anyway I stopped taking those tablets a few weeks ago and I'm making a conscious effort to eat right .
    I have downloaded MFP and it says my calories should be 1420 to lose 2lbs a week. But my goal in macros on the site says 50% carbs,30 fats,20 protein.

Today I had musli with natural yogurt and an Apple for breakfast.had tofu veg fried rice kids portion for lunch and have on pasta,salad and hake for dinner now. Drank 2lts of water today and had a protein milk 500mls after my pt today.

So does it look like I'm on the right path or no?
    Thanks so much

Hey guys,don't know where I mentioned breastfeeding?!?! I stopped breastfeeding her at 10 weeks when I got diagnosed with postnatal depression,I was put on tablets to stabilize my moods but it stopped my appetite for a few weeks.then I noticed over those few weeks I wasn't losing weight either I think the tablets have a side effect of weight gain.

Anyway I stopped taking those tablets a few weeks ago and I'm making a conscious effort to eat right .
    I have downloaded MFP and it says my calories should be 1420 to lose 2lbs a week. But my goal in macros on the site says 50% carbs,30 fats,20 protein.

Today I had musli with natural yogurt and an Apple for breakfast.had tofu veg fried rice kids portion for lunch and have on pasta,salad and hake for dinner now. Drank 2lts of water today and had a protein milk 500mls after my pt today.

So does it look like I'm on the right path or no?
    Thanks so much
    the question should be did you hit your target re e.g. protein intake on that day? re calorie intake on that day?

How are these numbers looking after you plugged into MFP, remember it will take about 2 weeks to dial this in

the question should be did you hit your target re e.g. protein intake on that day? re calorie intake on that day?

How are these numbers looking after you plugged into MFP, remember it will take about 2 weeks to dial this in

At the moment since Monday I'm under my cals everyday, but one or two days iv gone over my fat intake by a small bit. Does anyone know what I should change the % to ? Or does that depend on what I'm looking to do in the gym. Like should I have more protein than carbs everyday for weights ect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Hey, first off fair play to you being so proactive about it especially with a 5 month old!

So what you want to do is cut down on bodyfat and you have the basics right , know your calorie goal and are staying under it so that's all good.

The main component of your macros doing this is the protein, so that should be basis of every meal look to take in 1 to 1.2 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight, a lot of people have differant opinions on carbs and fat depending on the diet and goal low carb diet etc, fat is good for you but good fats. Fat isn't what causes weight gain or bodyfat too many calories of everything together are.

In my opinion , train hard and stay at it , stay under your calorie goals , take in enough protein per pound of bodyweight and then make up the rest in carbs and fat, don't overthink it as you've enough on your plate , do this and you will drop the weight you want!

If you want an example on a cut my macros are Protein 35/40 , carbs , 30/35 and fat 25/30

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Hey, first off fair play to you being so proactive about it especially with a 5 month old!

So what you want to do is cut down on bodyfat and you have the basics right , know your calorie goal and are staying under it so that's all good.

The main component of your macros doing this is the protein, so that should be basis of every meal look to take in 1 to 1.2 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight, a lot of people have differant opinions on carbs and fat depending on the diet and goal low carb diet etc, fat is good for you but good fats. Fat isn't what causes weight gain or bodyfat too many calories of everything together are.

In my opinion , train hard and stay at it , stay under your calorie goals , take in enough protein per pound of bodyweight and then make up the rest in carbs and fat, don't overthink it as you've enough on your plate , do this and you will drop the weight you want!

If you want an example on a cut my macros are Protein 35/40 , carbs , 30/35 and fat 25/30

Thanks so much that's after giving me a better understanding of it all. If I go by the protein per body weight I'm looking at 211.6g of protein per day? My aim in the gym is to lose inches all over so tone and sculpt because I'm literally like jelly all over ! So the number on the scales doesn't bother me anymore.

Does anyone think I should treat myself to a protein powder for recovery afterwards? I was thinking of making like protein balls as a snack instead of my chocolate bar at night. The chocolate is within my cals but it's making my fat intake go way up.

Thanks so much that's after giving me a better understanding of it all. If I go by the protein per body weight I'm looking at 211.6g of protein per day?

211g is way too much. That's about 845 cals. Over 50% of your 1600 target above.
    1.2g/lb BW is not a good guide for you. I would aim for that as a man trying to put on weight. You are complete opposite.

You were given good macro advice from Tramsform above;
    Transform wrote:
    ...that breaks down to (40% carbs,30% protein, 30% fat - 1,600cals) to be -
    160g carbs
    120g protein
    53g fat
    Does anyone think I should treat myself to a protein powder for recovery afterwards? I was thinking of making like protein balls as a snack instead of my chocolate bar at night. The chocolate is within my cals but it's making my fat intake go way up.
    Treating yourself to a protein shake? No. It's unnecessary tbh, and a treat after the gym is likely going to wipe out a large chuck of the energy your burned.

Protein Balls instead of chocolate as a snack. That's fine and a good idea.

211g is way too much. That's about 845 cals. Over 50% of your 1600 target above.
    1.2g/lb BW is not a good guide for you. I would aim for that as a man trying to put on weight. You are complete opposite.

You were given good macro advice from Tramsform above;

Treating yourself to a protein shake? No. It's unnecessary tbh, and a treat after the gym is likely going to wipe out a large chuck of the energy your burned.

Protein Balls instead of chocolate as a snack. That's fine and a good idea.

Ya but would I not need the protein powder to make them?! Ok thanks I'm gonna go by the above % .il move it around in myfitnesspal. I have another pt session today and was told to bring in my food diary so il report back.
    Have a good day everybody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What harm would it do once it's counted into her macro and calorie allowance for the day?

Ya but would I not need the protein powder to make them?!
    Yeah, but there's nothing wrong with protein powder. It's substituting something less than ideal in your diet
    Dtp1979 wrote: »
    What harm would it do once it's counted into her macro and calorie allowance for the day?
    Absolutely no harm at all.
    But it's a lot easier to stick to your calorie target without having to allow for extras like that.
    There are more satisfying ways to "spend" your calories imo.

Yeah, but there's nothing wrong with protein powder. It's substituting something less than ideal in your diet

Absolutely no harm at all.
    But it's a lot easier to stick to your calorie target without having to allow for extras like that.
    There are more satisfying ways to "spend" your calories imo.

True but the op views a protein shake as a treat so surely she'd find that a satisfying way to spend a few calories

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    True but the op views a protein shake as a treat so surely she'd find that a satisfying way to spend a few calories
    The question was about having a shake for recovery. Which is unnecessary imo.

If it's something they just like, then go for it, but surely that applies to any food really (within reason).

I wasn't looking for the shake for a replacement of anything really it was just for after the gym.its probably not needed I could just have a banana or something. Il Google what's good for that . I asked my trainer just about % and he said I should have 50% carbs,30% protein and 20% fat.

I dunno I feel **** after this evenings session.I got breathless and really couldn't push myself. Maybe because I didn't have enough food to give me some energy or maybe because it was an evening session.
    He weighed me and I'm the same weight as I was last week. I thought I might be a tiny bit down over the diet changes but obviously not. I only started my training on Monday so maybe he should have weighed me next Monday.

Ugh I feel crap .and sorry for myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭testtech05

I don't usually post on these topics as I'm not nearly as informed on the matter as some of the others but OP do not let this get to you. You have to give it a chance for the changes to happen. You have taken the hardest step by starting but you have to have faith in it and keep going! Sorry I don't have any real advice apart from that....

testtech05 wrote: »
    I don't usually post on these topics as I'm not nearly as informed on the matter as some of the others but OP do not let this get to you. You have to give it a chance for the changes to happen. You have taken the hardest step by starting but you have to have faith in it and keep going! Sorry I don't have any real advice apart from that....

Thanks for the encouragement.I'm being silly,I just can't see the finish line. I'm 100% doing this.I'l be grand again for the next session and push myself more. It will surely get easier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It takes time to get these things right. If you're going in the right direction in terms of food choices, then it's a case of tweaking.

The more you try to understand the reason behind choices and question the answers until you're happy you understand, you'll find it becomes easie to apply principles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

... I asked my trainer just about % and he said I should have 50% carbs,30% protein and 20% fat.
    any diet below 30% of fat is considered low-fat. it's unsustainable and unhealthy esp for women.
    you might be overthinking this a little bit. aim for 3 balanced meals a day, each of them should have some protein, carbs and fat in them. it's not hard to reach your protein goal when you include it in every meal.

Ya I think I'm being a bit obsessive here with the %. I'm eating around 35% fat in my diet now and my app said 30% so I dunno how I'm gonna cut it down to 20%. It's a good app to show you what your eating though .
    My aim for this week is to have my water again and a filling breakfast a bit of lunch and dinner is gonna be meat veg etc. I suppose I won't know if I'm doing everything ok until they take my inches on week3.
    Thanks for all the help.

Thanks for the encouragement.I'm being silly,I just can't see the finish line. I'm 100% doing this.I'l be grand again for the next session and push myself more. It will surely get easier!
    you're running a calorie deficit so dont expect to feel amazing all the time, plus doing a load of high intensity training during a fat loss cycle aint a good idea so make sure your trainer isnt turning everything into 45-60mins conditioning sessions

Ya I think I'm being a bit obsessive here with the %. I'm eating around 35% fat in my diet now and my app said 30% so I dunno how I'm gonna cut it down to 20%. It's a good app to show you what your eating though .
    My aim for this week is to have my water again and a filling breakfast a bit of lunch and dinner is gonna be meat veg etc. I suppose I won't know if I'm doing everything ok until they take my inches on week3.
    Thanks for all the help.
    i did already suggest 30% fat, 30% protein, 40% carbs

I know I saw that reply sorry I didn't acknowledge it . That's way more manageable for me to be honest anyway. Just having a protein bar with my coffee now. Instead of chocolate.not too bad at all I have to say! And I survived my Saturday night without the wine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Hanley wrote: »
    When people say "I only eat..." and go on to explain how they can't lose weight, there's almost ALWAYS thousands of calories that just 'slip in' thru snacking or over eating at other meal times.

Paying €200 to have an expert tell you what to do isn't unreasonable.

Personal trainers are trainers.

You don't go to an accountant for legal advice, even though he could do a pretty good job at it.

But a personal trainer is not a nutritionist.

I know I saw that reply sorry I didn't acknowledge it . That's way more manageable for me to be honest anyway. Just having a protein bar with my coffee now. Instead of chocolate.not too bad at all I have to say! And I survived my Saturday night without the wine!
    progress is mainly made at the weekends - easy to do mon-thurs, just be consistent on hitting the calories mainly

progress is mainly made at the weekends - easy to do mon-thurs
    Have to say ^^^^^^^^ is brilliant. It's Stating the obvious but it should be said more often

Well I'm down two pounds anyway! I'm shocked because I have stopped smoking two weeks ago and got hard sweets to keep me occupied and just by chance looked at the bag and its only 106 cals for three of them .Omg iv ate fecking **** loads of them. Thought I was being good with the cals and within my limit everyday only for the little sweets !
    Main thing is off the cigarettes and down two pounds and know to buy sugar free everything from now on !

Well I'm down two pounds anyway! I'm shocked because I have stopped smoking two weeks ago and got hard sweets to keep me occupied and just by chance looked at the bag and its only 106 cals for three of them .Omg iv ate fecking **** loads of them. Thought I was being good with the cals and within my limit everyday only for the little sweets !
    Main thing is off the cigarettes and down two pounds and know to buy sugar free everything from now on !
    keep on it and brilliant youre now reading the labels.

main foods most people vastly underestimate calories in - cheese, crisps, granola, muesli, alcohol, big dirty fry ups ala full irish

[
    main foods most people vastly underestimate calories in - cheese, crisps, granola, muesli, alcohol, big dirty fry ups ala full irish
    Do people really think there's not a load of calories in frys up?
    The granola and muesli I can understand.

Hey guys. Just to say I'm the exact same weight but I am down inches. 2 inches on my waist 1"on my hips. 1" off legs and 1" off arms. Does anyone know if that is a good drop for three weeks of pt or should I be down more? Iv never used tape before iv always gone with the scales.
    Actually going to post this in the fitness thread too as this is only nutrition.
    Also I'm sticking within my calories on mfp everyday ,although the clean eating is slacking with a few sweets here and there or a fizzy drink. If I ate **** food ( which I'm not going to) but am within my cals,should the weight still go down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Hey guys. Just to say I'm the exact same weight but I am down inches. 2 inches on my waist 1"on my hips. 1" off legs and 1" off arms. Does anyone know if that is a good drop for three weeks of pt or should I be down more? Iv never used tape before iv always gone with the scales.
    Actually going to post this in the fitness thread too as this is only nutrition.
    Also I'm sticking within my calories on mfp everyday ,although the clean eating is slacking with a few sweets here and there or a fizzy drink. If I ate **** food ( which I'm not going to) but am within my cals,should the weight still go down
    It's all about calories in vs calories out , yes you will still lose weight but your mind and body will feel worst from it as your not getting the right nutrients from the junk food. 90% needs to come from decent carbs , fats and proteins.
    Say you have 1800 to spend in a day , if you eat 1600 - 1650 calories and have met your protein goals and macros for the day that's the point where I might have a yogart and maybe a kit kat or something but only if I hit my goals otherwise it's easy to fall off the wagan completely.
    Is this your first time training? How much weight have you lost since you started dieting? Are you tracking all your calories as well as training?
    The first time I started a cut cycle I failed because I went in too hard. I lasted no longer than 2 week because I didn't allow any balance in my diet...it ended with me literally ordering a large pizza , dominos cookies and gorging myself on a Friday night and that was that I'd lost it. I had to re-start a few weeks later with a better plan that added balance to the cycle , allowed me to eat the foods I needed for my goals and enjoy them as well as looking forward to stepping out of that zone once a week.
    This is what worked, I've lost 22 pounds in the past couple of months and I was lean enough to begin with. You can do it.