Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An post Christmas jobs 2016

• 21-10-2016 6:07am

Does anyone know if an post still hire for temporary work at Christmas?

My cousin is interested and has sent in a CV but heard nothing back. Haven't seen anything on their site about it either.

Just thought I might get some information for him on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Pablo_

I have a bad feeling the date just passed, just going by previous years posts. Lets hope someone replies soon :-)

On the morning I started the thread he actually did hear something back.

They sent him out application forms for temporary Christmas work so hopefully he can get it. I found it strange that there was a form included for bank details for wages. Bit weird when he hasn't even had an interview yet or is that normal?

I think that is normal enough for outsourced temporary jobs, I gave same for a three week job last year even though it wasnt guaranteed

On the morning I started the thread he actually did hear something back.

They sent him out application forms for temporary Christmas work so hopefully he can get it. I found it strange that there was a form included for bank details for wages. Bit weird when he hasn't even had an interview yet or is that normal?

If you can, could you pm me how he got the application. I'm not getting much luck online or over phone

Pablo_ wrote: »
    If you can, could you pm me how he got the application. I'm not getting much luck online or over phone

Honestly mate he just sent in a CV. I was shocked he got anything back because I've heard you have to be recommended by someone in an post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Honestly mate he just sent in a CV. I was shocked he got anything back because I've heard you have to be recommended by someone in an post.

They haven't asked staff for recommendations for a number of years now .

They seem to be working off a list of people who already worked for them the previous Xmas but a number of them fall through so there is no harm sending in a CV just in case

SPDUB wrote: »
    They haven't asked staff for recommendations for a number of years now .

They seem to be working off a list of people who already worked for them the previous Xmas but a number of them fall through so there is no harm sending in a CV just in case

I didn't know that. My cousin has sent in his CV the last few years for Christmas work and never even got an application form sent out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Got my forms and sent them back completed last week. Anyone know when they usually start taking people on in Dublin Mail Centre? Thought I had another Christmas job lined up, but it has fallen through so really hoping to get this and start working every hour available!

Cheers.

Got my forms and sent them back completed last week. Anyone know when they usually start taking people on in Dublin Mail Centre? Thought I had another Christmas job lined up, but it has fallen through so really hoping to get this and start working every hour available!

Cheers.

Have you done the Garda vet online yet?

No not yet. Bad sign?

I've heard it can take a while to go through. My cousin sent in his forms Friday a week ago, got an email for the Garda vet on the Wednesday just gone and did it the same day. He got an email that he would be notified when it goes through so he's hoping he might here something after the bank holiday.

I'm not sure when they usually do the Interviews. I was reading another thread on here that's it's usually around Halloween time so hopefully yous aren't too late.

Cheers, will just have to keep the fingers crossed so!

Got the Garda evet application mail this morning and submitted it!

My cousin got an email back today saying that the Garda E vet has been completed and sent back to an post. I'll let you know if he hears anything back.

My cousin hasn't heard anything back so I presume the Xmas work placements have been filled. I don't think there would be enough time now for him to do an interview and get training before the busy Xmas period starts.

Sorry for bumping another thread. Anyone hear any thing back after sending in your application forms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Stasya_x

They rang me today telling me to come in and start on Wednesday. Does anyone know how long they hire for? I'm going back home after December 29th so would be handy to know!

Edit: I had no interview etc

Stasya_x wrote: »
    They rang me today telling me to come in and start on Wednesday. Does anyone know how long they hire for? I'm going back home after December 29th so would be handy to know!

Hi. Hope you don't mind me asking. Where will you be working? Dublin?

Also is it a job in the sorting office or delivering the post?

Hi. Hope you don't mind me asking. Where will you be working? Dublin?

Also is it a job in the sorting office or delivering the post?

Hi it's sorting and it's in Dublin

You work with them before in previous years?

Hi it's sorting and it's in Dublin

Thanks for the reply. Good luck with the job!

You work with them before in previous years?

Yeah, sorry for another question but I'm interested to know as well. Did you work in an post in the past?

No I have never worked there before but my sister works there and put my name down for Christmas work. She was as in the dark as I was until I got the call during the week though.

Thanks again for the replies. That might explain why you didn't have to do an interview if your sister recommended you. I've heard in the past that you have more chance of getting a job in an post if you know someone that works there.

Just weird on my cousin's application form they took his bank details, copy of his passport, 2 up to date passport pics and even his shoe size. Add to that he had to complete a Garda vet online which was completed with no problems.

All that and not even an interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Buckfast W

Stasya_x wrote:

When I did it a few years ago I finished up on new year's Eve, think you'll have to work a back week aswell

My cousin has accepted another Xmas job today. The an post job was the one he really wanted but beggars can't be choosers really and to be honest it's too late for him to get the call now.

Got call Friday, starting Tuesday night.

Congrats mate! What hours is the night shift?

Haha my cousin got the call for Christmas work but he's already accepted another job.

They are really late this year in offering people Christmas work.

Hows the Christmas work going? Busy?

My cousin ended up getting some Christmas work off an post and he starts this week. Mix up with the other Christmas job he had accepted but he's happy he got his no 1 choice with an post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 howya200

anyone doing this job this year?