Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Private / blocked number:

• 20-10-2016 8:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Am I the only one who is p1sseed off with getting calls from blocked numbers?
    It's even worse when you have a missed call from an unknown number and they don't leave a message or send a text.

Today my own cousin called me (we have each others' numbers) and he called on private. I was hesitant in answering it because I didn't know who it was. I hate answering private numbers.

You have no reason to block your number unless you are prank-calling, harassing or threatening someone. Just put your bastard number on display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Is that a trivial annoyance of yours?

Is this thread a bi-annual thing in AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Allinall

Is this thread a bi-annual thing in AH?

I always get confused with this.

Is it every two years or twice a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

dfeo wrote: »
    Am I the only one who is p1sseed off with getting calls from blocked numbers?
    It's even worse when you have a missed call from an unknown number and they don't leave a message or send a text.

Today my own cousin called me (we have each others' numbers) and he called on private. I was hesitant in answering it because I didn't know who it was. I hate answering private numbers.

You have no reason to block your number unless you are prank-calling, harassing or threatening someone. Just put your bastard number on display.

Maybe your cousin, is a prank calling. Harassing threatening bastard.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

dfeo wrote:

Just set your phone to block unknown/private numbers and you will never have to worry about anyone trying to ring you with a private number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I just don't get the reluctance of some people to answer private numbers. Many of my family and friends are private numbers. It's hardly life threatening to answer a phone.

Allinall wrote: »

Yeah, even when typing i was thinking that- I'm too lazy to google it- would someone mind?

Pretty please? :p

I only remember this because the ESB used to refer to their 2 month bills as bi-mensal. So, Bi-annual is once very two years. But the topic come up here a few times a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

Twice a year.

So, Bi-annual is once very two years. .
    b_mac2 wrote: »
    Twice a year.

One of you is wrong:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

One of you is wrong:D

It ain't me...

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/biannual

I think it's used both ways at this stage

But google says:

We have a special word--biennial--that means “occurring every two years.” The word biannual has only one meaning: “occurring twice a year.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

bi-annual
    twice in a two year period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Here lads ffs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Allinall

I only remember this because the ESB used to refer to their 2 month bills as bi-mental. So, Bi-annual is once very two years. But the topic come up here a few times a year.

Jaysus. My ESB bills are mental as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I don't answer private or blocked numbers unless I'm bored.
    They know who I am before calling but I don't know who they are until they tell me.
    I don't like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

People are very bloody paranoid. Not answering private numbers is really weird thing to care about. If you didn't have the number in your phone but it wasn't private would you answer? If so then what's the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I only remember this because the ESB used to refer to their 2 month bills as bi-mental. So, Bi-annual is once very two years. But the topic come up here a few times a year.
    What's the stage between bi-curious and bi-mental called? If there is one, of course.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Why? I can't understand that mentality at all. Unless you're trying to collect a debt or something I can see no reason why anyone would want to appear as a private number. Most people won't answer to them so why bother :confused:

It keeps your number secure from companies etc you may call. As for 'most' people not answering, I always get through when I phone people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

In my experience, private numbers are almost always someone you don't want to talk to... either someone wanting to sell you something, or someone wanting you to pay for something.

Either way it's an expensive call! I generally let such calls go to voicemail. If it's important they'll leave a message and I'll call them back. If not then no loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Holograph

5starpool wrote: »
    People are very bloody paranoid. Not answering private numbers is really weird thing to care about. If you didn't have the number in your phone but it wasn't private would you answer? If so then what's the difference?
    Yeah I get people questioning why a phone number is undisclosed but I also find it strange the way it really really bothers some people. As said, how did/do they manage in the case of a landline phone without caller ID?

There is a variety of reasons as to why people keep their phone number blocked. It is not always because they have something to hide. E.g. I have been called for interview/offered jobs via undisclosed telephone number - of completely legitimate companies! And they are not sales jobs by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I am very reluctant to answer private numbers as I have been getting nuisance calls from 'private number' - the ones that are silent because the machine dialled but no-one was free to take it. Anyway I discovered (I think) that if you do not answer a few times in succession they stop ringing, for a couple of months anyway. If you answer and there is silence they will try again half an hour later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭WhoWhatWhere

It just annoys me when I miss a call from private number and I don't know who's calling. Or if you're expecting like a sky engineer and he calls to arrange a time on private number and you can't phone them when they're late or that. **** off private number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I got three calls yesterday from a number, called it back and phone is of, sent message as well, Phone is still of , I want to know who it is ? And why they won't answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

My number is private and will stay private— I'm on a two-year contract and changing your number mid-contract (even if you agree to continue the contract!) is virtually impossible.

Between apps demanding access to people's contacts and the intolerable spam companies they sell the data to, I am enormously reluctant to allow anyone have my number, much less someone I have to make a call to once or twice for a trivial reason. If they sell it, get hacked, or otherwise decide to be a pain, I have over a year to wait before I can change it, and that's not good enough for me.

I'm not up to anything shady, I simply hate getting phonecalls from people who I've no desire to speak to as I'm an incredibly paranoid and asocial bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

sugarman wrote: »
    What is it with people not answering unknown numbers these days???

What on earth did people do before mobile phones and caller ID?

my ma answered the phone....

there is a huge difference between somebody ringing a house phone that was listed and the number known than your personal phone that pretty much follows you about everywhere.

I hate private numbers because mostly they are a waste of time or a head melt.

bank ringing with some stupid survey
    recruitment agents with non existent jobs
    etc...

that 1 in 100 calls is somebody who is on the verge of death...so I still fell obliged to answer.

Too much bother, why should I?. I always seem to get through as things are.

I got three calls yesterday from a number, called it back and phone is of, sent message as well, Phone is still of , I want to know who it is ? And why they won't answer!

But, that's not a blocked number is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm ex-directory (I have a job where I occasionally get threats) so my home number always comes up as private. I don't see anything wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I just don't get the reluctance of some people to answer private numbers. Many of my family and friends are private numbers. It's hardly life threatening to answer a phone.
    sugarman wrote: »
    What is it with people not answering unknown numbers these days???

What on earth did people do before mobile phones and caller ID?

I always laugh at this.

We're appartently in a world of social media saturation, yet we don't like answering calls to unknown numbers... are wary if the doorbell rings if we don't know who it could be, and get a fright if anything comes through the letterbox these days that isn't a bill!

Social my arse!

I'm ex-directory (I have a job where I occasionally get threats) so my home number always comes up as private. I don't see anything wrong with it.

And many are similar. We had to go ex-directory because of our jobs. It has never been a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

But, that's not a blocked number is it?

No ,It just bugs me that they ring three times and right up to now there phone is of...

Also when someone knocks at my door and I not expecting visitors I will ask through door who is it.

If someone wants to bother ring and obviously talk to me on the phone they could have the courtesy to show there number, Its nice to know who your answering to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

You can set most phones to ignore blocked numbers if you really don't like answering them. People can drop a voicemail or text if they really want to reach you.

Actually if you're on Virgin Media (UPC) you can activate Anonymous Caller Rejection where someone ringing you from a blocked number will get a message asking the to display their number and try again.

To start that service, key in *90 on any Virgin Media Ireland phone line.
    #90 switches it off again.

I don't answer blocked numbers as invariably it's some spam call with someone trying to sell me some business service I don't want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I work as a doctor (in a hospital, not a GP)so my home phone is ex-directory as I don't want patients/their families to be abe to disturb me at home when I'm not working. Similarly, I don't want my address listed in the phone directory. There are people out there who have no sense of boundaries and wouldn't think anything of disturbing someone in their own home out of hours. If I'm ringing my family/friends from the landline I usually dial 142 first which displays my number.

My personal mobile number is displayed for calls. I have a work mobile which I have set to private number. I use it quite a bit to contact the families of patients, and I don't want them having my mobile number and being able to contact me at any stage during the day, I wouldn't stand a chance of getting my work done if I was constantly fielding calls or texts from families. Works much better for me if messages are left with the secretary and I allocate some time at the end of the day to return calls.

If I take a call from a blocked number and it's someone cold-calling I just say "Can't talk right now" and hang up, you don't need to do anything more than that, you have all the power. I am always curious to find out who it is when the number is blocked - it could be a call you need to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'm just antisocial really, even when I know the number I rarely want to answer the phone.
    Numbers I don't recognise and blocked numbers I just don't answer. If they leave a message I'll check that and decide.

Even with my work mobile I let most calls go to message and I can filter out which ones really need me to call back or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

We know where you live!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

This.

***phone rings, private number***

*picks up phone. "Hello?"

"Hello Mr Stewart, this is (insert company name here) calling about an excluuuuuusive offer we have this month....."

**presses end call button**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't answer it because it's virtually always someone trying to sell me something.
    Nothing to do with fear or paranoia, I just couldn't be bothered answering to tell you to feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I don't answer calls from private numbers. Something sneaky about them.

This.

***phone rings, private number***

*picks up phone. "Hello?"

"Hello Mr Stewart, this is (insert company name here) calling about an excluuuuuusive offer we have this month....."

**presses end call button**

I don't get any such calls since I registered for no marketing calls years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I have private numbers blocked. Mine isn't private. I have a voice mail. Leave a message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I don't get any such calls since I registered for no marketing calls years ago.

Yeah but problem with this is, sky/Vodafone and 3 already have me on their systems as I have services from all three.

And all you have to do, when they call, is ask them to mark your account as not for unsolicited marketing and you'll contact them if you need them. It has always worked for me.

seamus wrote: »
    I don't answer it because it's virtually always someone trying to sell me something.
    Nothing to do with fear or paranoia, I just couldn't be bothered answering to tell you to feck off.
    That's completely understandable - it's just the sheer anger from some towards an undisclosed number that I don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

When your landline rings you expect to not see the caller i.d but when you see 'private no' on your mobile you know the caller's deliberately hiding their identity and that is what is annoying about it. You have my number yet you don't want me to know yours? F*** off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

When your landline rings you expect to not see the caller i.d but when you see 'private no' on your mobile you know the caller's deliberately hiding their identity and that is what is annoying about it. You have my number yet you don't want me to know yours? F*** off!

Landline phones that show the phone number calling are very common!