Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your GP - How Often Do you Go?

• 20-10-2016 11:08AM
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I have some health issues (nothing very serious) and I visit my GP fairly regularly for check ups and tests. But many people don't even have a GP or go to their doctor very infrequently.

I've heard it said that men are notorious for not visiting their doctor often enough and develop serious symptoms of illnesses before they finally go.

Do you have a GP? How often do you go? Do you have a good relationship with them? Or do you think doctors are only for hypochondriacs and the elderly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I find mine very attractive so the prospect of seeing her is always the best medicine for a chest infection or whatever it is that I'm suffering with - often a broken heart because she is married, and about 20 years too old for me, but a GPILF nonetheless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Haven't been to a GP in about two decades.

The last lad I was with actually retired years ago and I've still not met the new guy........ who is retiring soon himself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'll go if I'm unwell or something is somewhere I'd not expect it to be.

Edit:

Just thinking you state "Your GP." I'm not registered with one. And due to them working on appointments these days, I'll just ring around to find the first that's available for me.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I pay into a GP scheme in work every month, think it's a fiver or something. The only time I went was when I needed a referral letter from her to get an appointment for a physio. So, once in about 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,213 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Don't have a GP and haven't been to one in about 5 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I don't go unless it's something fairly bad etc.
    I was thinking of getting into the routine of yearly check-ups though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I don't go a'tall. My ex forced me to go last year and the bloods basically reported "too much gargle". I ain't going back there again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,783 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Whenever I think I need medicine, say for something like a bad cough...maybe once a year, or twice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have a GP but rarely go simply because I have no need, touch wood. Having said that, I must organise a general NCT sort of thing. At my age I really should start doing that regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

at €60 a time i would only go if bits of me were hanging off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I go when I'm sick (really sick not colds or flu's or minor ailments) The last two times I was at my doctor were for sports injuries and I went and got full bloods done about 3 years ago just to see how I was (had no symptoms or anything just a check up) I should probably go again soon and get sane done.

Few times a year between chest problems and other little things that don't go away. Generally it's just a case of getting antibiotics and on my way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

I should of gone back about a year ago, but after a massive load of tests, a few more tests and several misdiagnosis nothing was found so I just put up with the (slight) pain and it went away. Now its back again and tbh found more information about the issue on the internet. Will get back to the Doctor if it really gets painful but its been going on so long (on and off 40 years) if it was terminal I'd be dead by now. Think that probably proves the OP's statement about "men are notorious for not visiting their doctor often enough".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I tend to wait until there's a few reasons. I never learn my lesson. So instead of not being tight, and just paying the 50 euro at the beginning of being unwell, it escalates to, the original ailment (usually an infection in my ear or kidneys) which drives my thyroid insane, which makes me more run down, which will cause a lot of acid and vomitting, which makes me less hungry, so a lot weaker, low blood pressure, sometimes depends on how sick I get it can trigger my epilepsy or make my heart race with palpatations (thyroid). Sometimes I'll get sent over to a+e, sometimes he can fix me up. But either way, at least I'm getting value for the 50 I suppose.

I get sick a lot so I couldn't afford to be going every single time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I've to have my BP checked every 6 months, and I'm due next week. Like the previous poster, I collect illnesses and save them all up for my six-monthly.

Sciatica, patellar tendonitis, maybe kidney function. I'm sure I'll think of a few more things to get my money's worth. Typical man, though. I wouldn't go if I didn't have to get my BP prescription renewed. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Last visit was about two years ago. I would not be the best for going to the doc when sick....kind cross the fingers and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I haven't been to the doctor since 1999. I'm in my mid 40s now with a medical card for a doctor I've never met. I suspect I have something up with my prostate as I'm getting up to go to the jacks in the middle of the night now but I don't want my first meeting with this female doctor to include a finger up my arse.

I don't want my first meeting with this female doctor to include a finger up my arse.

Better than a male Doctor who says he has his finger up your arse but you can see both of his hands :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

at €60 a time i would only go if bits of me were hanging off.

your bits should be hanging off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭circadian

Once every second blue moon. Those blue moons mess with your wellbeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

I'd say I go at least twice a year - if noting else to get my pill prescription. I'm lucky in that I have health cover through work, so my first visit each year is covered and 50% thereafter. I do try to cover as many other topics as I can while I'm there though, like I had a funny mark on my hand the last time (turned out to be nothing) and also got a nasal spray because my sinuses had been at me. May as well make it worth my while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I go to the physio far more than the GP, I've been to the GP about 3 times in the last 5 years and 2 of those were simple referrals onto the physio for back issues.

I used to save up my issues too but the work health insurance scheme covers 2 visits a year so if I was worried about something I'd happily go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

I've seen my family GP probably twice in four years, which he gave out to me for! Giving out to me for not being sick like?:confused:

We have a doctor in work so I would go to him for usual things, throat infections etc.. but I asked him would he become my GP as he knows my history better than my own doctor (plus my doctor is an A-hole), he said yes but when I actually went to him outside of work, he didn't put me on his system at all.
    So I'm kind of in between doctors at the moment :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,529 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I go when im sick and i visit whatever GP is available in my practice. I dont even know their names.

In the past 10 years i can remember the following doctors appointments, in no particular order.

1. Significantly reduced hearing in one ear. I knew it was just a build up of wax and i was pretty busy so i just ignore it for a few weeks and tried to fix it myself. Over the counter stuff wasnt working. GP sorted it pretty quick. I nearly defend myself when i got back into the car and turned on the radio. Haha.

2. Had a persistent cough for over a month. Got some antibiotics. Sorted.

3. My knee was in a lot of pain from playing football a few times a week. I already attempted to fix this myself with certain exercises. GP Just told me to keep up with the exercises. I just stopped playing football. Problem sorted. :)

4. Ear infection. Antibiotics.

5. Travel Vaccinations.

6. Throat infection. Antibiotics.

7. Infected Gum from some scratch. Antibiotics.

8. Had a twitch hand for a few weeks. Went to GP who told me i was healthy and couldnt see any twitching. To be fair it wasnt twitching when i was there. Problem went away by itself.

I couldnt imagine turning up at the gp and saying "Nothing is wrong, just thought id pop in for the craic and see how im doing". Not sure if thats even a regular thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭wiz569

I haven't been to the doctor since 1999. I'm in my mid 40s now with a medical card for a doctor I've never met. I suspect I have something up with my prostate as I'm getting up to go to the jacks in the middle of the night now but I don't want my first meeting with this female doctor to include a finger up my arse.

Go to the Doctor asap,please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭jenn1984

Request a male doctor - it's not necessary for you to go to the Doctor you've been assigned.

I'd say I go at least twice a year - if noting else to get my pill prescription!

What???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

I go twice a year for regular prescriptions, the pill, ventolin inhaler, nasal spray.

If I have anything niggling I wait until one of those visits to ask about it.

Outside of the above Id go if I needed an antibiotic (which is rare but I know all about it when I ignore ear infections).

Ive been for a few small orthopediac things the past year, requiring x rays and the like.

Jesus. wrote: »
    What???

A prescription. For the Pill. They will only prescribe 6 months at a time.

Really not sure what was unclear there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

A prescription. For the Pill. They will only prescribe 6 months at a time.

Really not sure what was unclear there.

You should use the LLoyds prescription service for this, you save on gp fee

I go twice a year for regular prescriptions, the pill.
    A prescription. For the Pill. They will only prescribe 6 months at a time. Really not sure what was unclear there.

Sorry for the surprised tone of my answer. I really didn't think it was this prevalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Sorry for the surprised tone of my answer. I really didn't think it was this prevalent.

I didn't think that was a prescription-only job either.

mimimcmc wrote: »

Yeah I know about it but prefer to go to my GP. I have health insurance through my job so my first visit each year is fully covered and subsequent ones are 50% off, so €25. At that point, I couldn't be bothered using LLoyds or similar services.

Are you surprised that women have to go to the cost/inconvenience of getting a prescription for the pill or that so many women take the pill?

Just another hidden cost of being female! Along with paying for the pill itself. The one I take is about €10 per month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭blue note

I haven't been in about 3 years. I have some pretty bad digestive issues that I really should get looked at. I mentioned them the last few times I was there and they brushed it off, but I poo far more than normal and it's far more mushy than it should be.

But I don't want to be told that I should avoid any particular foods so I don't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

My GP had a practice in a converted house. I went recently to be greeted by a man who had bought the house 3 years previously... Turns out she retired a few years ago. I was only going to get a medical assessment form filled in to renew a motorsport licence

I now have no GP, like most men I would imagine

mimimcmc wrote: »

I would only I need the other stuff as well.

The pill is a huge rip off imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

A couple of observations here. All cancers are better caught early. I go twice a year for BP and I get my bloods done on one of those trips and sometimes both. I consider the 2 x 55 I pay to be the best sleeping tablet money can buy.

Secondly a few people mention getting referrals to a Physio. What kind of posh Physio needs a referral? I just text my fella and get an appointment in a day or two.

Are you surprised that women have to go to the cost/inconvenience of getting a prescription for the pill or that so many women take the pill?

The latter. It just gave me a wee jolt is all. Maybe I'm a bit outta the loop!

blue note wrote: »
    I poo far more than normal.

At least we know you're not full of sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭blue note

Just another hidden cost of being female! Along with paying for the pill itself. The one I take is about €10 per month.

We use condoms and the pill. If it costs me more any month I'm a happy man :-)

At least condoms are pay as you play, does seem fairer than the pill.

Im a bit lost - how do you think most people are preventing unwanted pregnancy?

I thought the pill and the mirena were the top 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, there isn't much that cannot be cured with a hot whiskey..

I hope :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I generally only have to go once or twice a year, if I know something is wrong. Last couple times it was vertigo, and for a lump I was concerned about (which turned out to be scar tissue).

If I'm there I'll get the pill prescription anyway, whether I need to renew it or not. I use an online pharmacy too, but do they always give 6 months? I think the last one I used only gave me 3 months. Pain in the arse, but beats babies :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've got a decent stockpile of flat 7-Up so no need for the GP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Went for first time in 10 years after moving to UK, pretended I felt a bit ill to get a fill check up - ekg,bloods ect.. Cost me.. 0 :)

Honestly, I'd say most women between 18-30 and beyond are on the pill or some other form of long term contraception. Why do you think people don't have 12 children each these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

I go a few times a year but more to the nurse than to my actual GP. I have PCOS and I am on Metformin for it. I have to get bloods done every few months to make sure they're not screwing me over. I also need them as I have to see an Endocrinologist every six months and he/she requires my blood test results.

Think the last time I saw the GP was the end of May and she was prescribing me B12 injections which the Metformin screwed me over on :pac: I don't need to go see them for anything else.

Im a bit lost - how do you think most people are preventing unwanted pregnancy?I thought the pill and the mirena were the top 2?

The pill and the what?
    Honestly, I'd say most women between 18-30 and beyond are on the pill or some other form of long term contraception.

I find that quite depressing tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The pill and the what?

I find that quite depressing tbh

mirena. an IUD.