Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Champions Day Ascot 2016

• 11-10-2016 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭

Long Distance Cup

Order of St George 1
    Simple Verse 4
    Forgotten Rules 6
    Quest For More 8
    Sheikhzayedroad 12
    Nearly Caught 14
    Litigant 16
    Pallasator 16
    Trip To Paris 25
    Burmese 33
    Sandro Botticelli 50
    Suegioo 50
    Gold Prince 100
    Sir Chauvelin 100

Champion Sprint Stakes

Limato 9/4
    Quiet Reflection 7/2
    Shalaa 6
    The Tin Man 7
    Librisa Breeze 10
    Twilight Son 8
    Meccas Angel 7
    Washington DC 14
    Brando 16
    Signs of Blessing 20
    Donjuan Triumphant 33
    Jimmy Two Times 50
    Dont Touch 40
    Mobsta 50
    Mr Lupton 50
    Jack Dexter 66
    Growl 66

Champions Fillies and Mares Stakes

Seventh Heaven 5/2
    Zhukova 3
    Journey 7
    Speedy Boarding 8
    Found 8
    Simple Verse 10
    Queens Trust 12
    Minding 7
    Architecture 16
    Bateel 20
    Endless Time 16
    Even Song 16
    Furia Cruzada 20
    Pretty Perfect 16
    California 25
    Bocca Baciata 25
    Promising Run 33
    Maleficent Queen 50

Queen Elizabeth II Stakes

Ribchester 2
    Minding 11/4
    Galileo Gold 7/2
    Awtaad 8
    Lightning Spear 10
    Alice Springs 10
    Jet Setting 8
    Hit It A Bomb 25
    Hathal 20
    Stormy Antarctic 25
    Cougar Mountain 40
    Mitchum Swagger 50
    Breton Rock 50
    Adaay 66
    Barchan 250

Champion Stakes

Almanzor 13/8
    Found 7/2
    Fascinating Rock 5
    Minding 11/2
    Jack Hobbs 14
    Highland Reel 12
    My Dream Boat 20
    Midterm 20
    Racing History 25
    Hawkbill 20
    Us Army Ranger 33
    Elliptique 33
    Success Days 40
    Long Island Sound 40
    One Foot In Heaven 40
    The Grey Gatsby 50
    Gabrial 66
    Moonlight Magic 50
    Maverick Wave 100

Some tasty prices there if ye can figure out who's definitely running and what the likely going will be. IIRC there are usually a few upsets to the form book at this meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

First thing that stikes me is that Alice Springs beats Minding over 1 mile on good ground. Hard to know if they run in the same race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

aidankkk wrote:
    First thing that stikes me is that Alice Springs beats Minding over 1 mile on good ground. Hard to know if they run in the same race.

They wont run against each other but what makes you think that given Minding beat her comfortably the one time they raced over 1m on good?

I know AOB is saying that Alice Springs has found speed from somewhere but she hasn't faced anything like Minding in her last two wins and I'd be surprised if she ever finished ahead of her.

Alice Springs will be saved for Breeders Cup, while Minding will run in (and win) QEII imo. Her defeat last time came in the race of the year with only an unbeaten animal and the Arc winner ahead of her (possibly track bias with strong headwind too) and the mile is her best trip imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Would love to see Shalaa win the sprint, such a classy horse. Wouldn't be rushing out to back at 6's however. Be great to see Jack Hobbs run a good race in the champion aswell, Gosden is happy with both apparently.

Nothing strikes me as particularly appealing betting wise to be honest but it will be some day of racing.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    They wont run against each other but what makes you think that given Minding beat her comfortably the one time they raced over 1m on good?

I know AOB is saying that Alice Springs has found speed from somewhere but she hasn't faced anything like Minding in her last two wins and I'd be surprised if she ever finished ahead of her.

Alice Springs will be saved for Breeders Cup, while Minding will run in (and win) QEII imo. Her defeat last time came in the race of the year with only an unbeaten animal and the Arc winner ahead of her (possibly track bias with strong headwind too) and the mile is her best trip imo.
    I realize they more than likely wont, but Ive been impressed with some on Alice Springs finishing lately i think she may be quicker over a mile.. Still some decent racing on to finish off the flat season. There is sure to be a surprise or two at this time of the year it just a matter of finding it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Alice Springs price is indicative of the odds of her running here. If she hadn't ran in the Sun Chariot I'd say she would but extremely unlikely now it's fairly clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ground should be some way decent here for once so can see most of the main protagonists showing up!

Think Seventh Heaven is the best bet of the day, think she has progressed to be Ballydoyle's best middle distance 3yo filly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Where has the money come from for the Tin Man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Can't see Minding or Seventh Heaven beaten, ill have a small play on the 11/1 double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

madmoose wrote: »
    Can't see Minding or Seventh Heaven beaten, ill have a small play on the 11/1 double.

Think I'll do the same and a single on Seventh Heaven too!

Minding is quite opposable I reckon. Why she is under half the price of the 2000 Guineas winner I am not sure

There is going to be a mad result somewhere in there, its just a matter of finding it.

aidankkk wrote: »
    There is going to be a mad result somewhere in there, its just a matter of finding it.

Could easily see My Dream Boat running well after he ran a nice race in the Irish Champion especially if the ground were to go on the soft side

Probably in the stayers, shame Litigant isn't 25/1 or so.

madmoose wrote: »
    Probably in the stayers, shame Litigant isn't 25/1 or so.

Thought the same myself . I'll fe interested in the w/0 osg in this race.

I think grey gatsby might place in the champion .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Minding is quite opposable I reckon. Why she is under half the price of the 2000 Guineas winner I am not sure
    Because he doesn't have the kind of class that could have finished 3rd after not having the best of runs in a monster Irish Champion Stakes type field at any distance.

Doesn't mean that he won't beat her, but an on song Minding should be able to kick his ass.

tryfix wrote: »
    Because he doesn't have the kind of class that could have finished 3rd after not having the best of runs in a monster Irish Champion Stakes type field at any distance.

Doesn't mean that he won't beat her, but an on song Minding should be able to kick his ass.

No but Minding was last seen over a mile being beaten by the smart but not outstanding Jet Setting. I think she may be opposable at the trip

Yeah, there's that for sure that she's opposable and Galileo Gold's trainer is a master of some strange art. She's a terrible price, I would fancy Ribchester more than anything else in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Mr Smuggles

With Limato not in the sprint it could be argued Librisa Breeze and Washington DC are good prices. The former last to first at Ascot lto looked every inch a candidate for a reduced trip and Washington DC finished the Prix De L 'Abbaye very strongly.

GM Hopkins for the big handicap. He fluffed the Cambridgeshire but I think from around 110 he is dangerous. Could be the strongest handicap field we've seen in ages.

Wash DC not running

Right, mentioned him given the market posted earlier not realising he's been pulled. Without Limato the prices will be different anyhow. Need to have a closer look at markets later.

I've gone with The Tin man and Brando in the sprint.

Forgotten Rules must ran well last time and got tired. Think he's worth a bet at 9s

I'm attracted to Zhui Feng in the Balmoral but haven't pulled the trigger.

Did the same with Tiger Roll last week and regretted the hesitation

Forgotten Rules is a really strange one. He won this a couple of years ago and when he got it all right looked really special.

I think he would have wanted Ascots usual softer to heavy Champions Day ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

My loop the loop picks are Right Touch and Hit It A Bomb.

Some of these have had a long hard season, I wouldn't be surprised if one or two fresher horses cause an upset.

Fancy Weld's two also Fascinating Rock and Zhukova.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

My Wildcard picks for the Day

Hit it a Bomb and Instant Attraction

Also on hit it a bomb.

Also added don't touch ew 66-1. 4 places and grey gatsby 50/1 ew w/o fav..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

My Wildcard picks for the Day

Hit it a Bomb and Instant Attraction

Instant attraction is a non runner

Backed it last night and didnt check before I posted. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

It drives me mad the big races not going to post/starting on time!! They deliberately delay it by 5/10 mins every time

Speaking of wild card bets, I had been thinking of having a silly EW punt on US Army Ranger merely because the O'Brien second string after gets placed in the big races. Now that he's been punted into 14/1 I wouldn't touch him a bargepole. He does have an interesting history in England but this is very high class race in which to be trying to redeem your reputation.

Should have left Frankie on OOSG, he knows how to ride him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Did Ryan Moore not learn anything from the Irish Leger ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I am not an armchair jockey but I am very disappointed in Ryan Moore there. He gave him too much to do in what was a very steady pace throughout the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Howler from Moore ,no other way to describe it. No doubt he'll blame the lack of pace for the defeat. Seems to **** up more often at ascot than anywhere else. Unlike a certain Italian!

Lads yer wrong there, the horse was no where near his best. Wouldn't matter who rode him there.

Not Having that he covered the last 2 furlongs quicker than anything else. poor position in a slowly run race=jockey error.:(

Hoping the skinny fella can make up for it here.

1st 8 The Tin Man 13/2
    2nd 3 Growl 50/1
    3rd 1 Brando 14/1

As the post below your's said he finished quicker than anything else, at this stage of his career he can maintain a relentless gallop that's too hard for the slower staying type horses to pass. Ryan repeated the Irish Leger hold up tactics when it had been shown in the Arc how good the horse is when he's close up and forcing a pace where none but the best can outstay him.

He also damaged the horse's likely stud fee again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Lumped on seventh heaven in the next,
    Should win comfortable if not well then I'm done for the day xD HAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Tried Zhukovo, good form and first time cheek pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭hudhastings

Ryan moore should retire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Moore.. What were you at there..

Jaysus.. Brutal ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Sweet & Divine Creator .
    Just how good was Joseph ?

The master shows again how its done at ascot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Yes Moore wasn't magical on OOSG but there was nothing wrong with the ride on 7th Heaven. A clear case of the horse not being good enough on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Minding if for no other reason than AOB bombing so far at Ascot and Cork. Due a winner. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭hudhastings

Gary Carrol in Mallow should have been in Ascot he just won easily on Brenden brackon over 1m

QEII is a watching race for me. Hoping for the top two to battle it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Think Ribchester will win it.

Awtaad for me 12-1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

As per Channel 4, a number of staff for connections in a number of races (I won't mention names, even though they were broadcasted) were found in possession with legal substances but with no permission to have them AND with some illegal substances. Anyone catch that? It was announced that certain horses shall be tested

Frankly, would not back anything today -saying that Midterm Each Way in the Champions Stakes